In A Blaze Of Glory

I know that 99.9% of the world couldn’t care less about other people’s races, but that’s not going to stop me from telling the world about my race yesterday.  You can already guess that it was a glorious event, otherwise instead of writing this post, I’d be weeping quietly in the corner eating chocolate until I felt sick.

To put it simply, I ran my best race in 8 years.  Eight – Long – Years.  That’s an amazing comeback considering the disastrous race I had in June which had me seriously prepared to stop running – forever.

It takes a special kind of crazy to get up at 5:30 on a dark Sunday morning in October to queue with almost 15,000 other runners for 45 minutes in 3C / 37F temperatures to run a long distance race. On a positive note, it wasn’t raining.  Far ahead of me in the faster corrals were my husband, my oldest son, and two of my “adopted” sons.  One of them – Dempsey – would successfully run his first marathon (42.2km / 26.2 miles).

By the time some people were just starting to get their day moving, all five of us were celebrating at the finish line – each of us having had a great run.  However, to put my accomplishment in perspective, I should mention that of the 10,513 people running the Toronto Waterfront Half Marathon, I finished in 9,977th place.  I’m ok with that – I’m in my happy place.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

 

About Joanne Sisco

Retired but not idle. Life is an adventure - I plan to continue to embrace it.
This entry was posted in Active Lifestyle, Random Stuff and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

72 Responses to In A Blaze Of Glory

  1. Carter Vail says:

    Congrats! Very inspiring!

    Like

  2. beeblu says:

    Well done! Worth all the training and getting up in the dark.

    Like

  3. Woolly Muses says:

    My feet, knees and ankles applaud every stride you to took, Joanne. I would give anything to be able to jog around the block again. Congrats to all.

    Like

  4. jannatwrites says:

    Great finish! I don’t run, but I liked reading about your successful finish. To me, finishing the race is quite an accomplishment… just an added bonus to not be the very last one done 🙂

    Like

  5. Lynn says:

    It matters not where you place, unless you were attempting to qualify for the Olympics I suppose! You are an inspiration Joanne, to all of us who have the desire to live our best life. In every regard! Kudos to you my friend;)

    Like

    • joannesisco says:

      Thanks for the really kind words! We all manage to inspire each other in some way, don’t we? 🙂
      I’m just so happy to see that there still is potential to improve as an athlete – even at my age 🙂

      Like

  6. Megz says:

    Awesome! Great Job! I had a horrible half that made me want to quit running a year. I still have issues getting out the door for a run from it. I’ll have to keep your come back story in the back of my head for the next time I need motivation.

    Like

    • joannesisco says:

      Thanks so much! The only thing that stopped me from quitting was deciding to try something totally different … ie do the same thing, get the same results.

      I hired a running coach who didn’t know me and had no preconceived ideas of what I could or couldn’t do. He REALLY challenged me. The last 3 months have been tough – but I can’t argue with the results. Quite frankly I think even he’s surprised by the progress.

      Maybe if what you’re doing isn’t working for you anymore, it’s time to try something different too – whatever that might be. Good luck with your running and your “come back” 🙂

      Like

  7. Pingback: A Run-O With Karen-O | Master of Something I'm Yet To Discover

  8. Wow!! Well done Jo, you brave woman you! Congratulations 🙂

    I hope you celebrated in style last night xx

    Like

    • joannesisco says:

      Thanks Sam! Not much celebrating on this end … this was “just” a training run for my target race at the end of November. It does imply I’m in a pretty good place though so I was doing a happy dance yesterday.
      Today – I’m back to the training program and hitting the pavement again 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

  9. mihrank says:

    Bravo – Congrats – I am jealous – I missed attending the marathon last week, since I had to perform!

    Like

  10. bulldog says:

    A lumbering elephant ?? No way… I love the story, the accomplishment of finishing (I’d probably make it, at max 200m before I’d collapse..) you can be proud, to beat all other races in the last 8 years is one hell of an achievement… Sheeez I wish I was nearer to pat you on the back…. but a lumbering elephant you aren’t, even they wouldn’t take on a race like that, they’d find an excuse like I would…
    I have to admit on posts like this, I love all the comments as well… it shows those that can’t and those that try and the rest of us that just admire those that can…

    Like

    • joannesisco says:

      Thanks Bulldog for the kind words. I don’t LOOK like a runner. I’m pretty pudgy (to put it kindly), but one thing I’ve learned at races is that runners come in a wide variety of shapes and sizes.
      I was a couch potato until my mid-40s when I decided that I too could be an athlete. People who have known me most of my life find it amusing that I run because they remember the younger me 🙂
      I too like the comments on posts and love to read through them on other people’s blogs. They add so much texture to the original story – it’s my favourite part!!

      Liked by 1 person

  11. Excellent work, lady! Most impressed! (Also quite liked MOSY’s Canadian Moose snafu!…..very fun!) Congrats on your major comeback!

    Like

    • joannesisco says:

      LOL! I don’t know why, but just the word “moose” I find amusing … and the animal lives up to its name 🙂
      Moose – Muse … it all works 😉

      Thanks for your kind words!

      Like

  12. Sammy D. says:

    Woo Hoo!! You Rock😘. Congratulations and I’m so glad you let us know. I was wondering earlier today how you did and hoping you were happy with your efforts.

    Like

  13. treerabold says:

    Good for you Joan!! I am part of that .1% that actually likes to hear about races….I know how exciting it can be to have a good run and burst with excitement wanting to chat incessantly about it!!

    Like

    • joannesisco says:

      Thank you – you are a rare breed 🙂
      I’m guessing you are a runner too? Runners love to gather and rehash their running stories 🙂

      Like

      • treerabold says:

        Yes I am and yes we do!! I’m currently a long distance walker (recovery from knee surgery). I’ll be doing the 60 miles in 3 days in November for breast cancer.
        My goal at this point is to return to running by the Cowtown (1/2 marathon) in February….these old body parts don’t recover the way they did in the younger days!! I look forward to hearing about your next run!

        Like

        • joannesisco says:

          I bow to you … 60 miles in 3 days is MAJOR … and LD walking is not easy!!
          I had foot surgery last year at this time, so I know what you mean about the recovery time.
          The only reason I can run is because I have a good support team – massage therapist, athletic therapist – who keep the body parts moving properly 🙂

          Like

  14. Congratulations. I’m going home tonight and lifting a glass to your accomplishment. Maybe two glasses. And some chocolate.

    Liked by 1 person

  15. NancyTex says:

    How perfectly AWESOME, Joanne!!! I’m so delighted to read that you are thrilled with your results! You are a warrior! Congrats on a fantastic race! xoxo

    Like

  16. Sue Slaght says:

    Congrats to you Joanne! Way to get back on the running horse. The best in 8 years? Amazing! You go girl!

    Like

  17. Glorious you!! Not being afraid to challenge yourself and then to triumph is a special thing indeed…and you’ve worked so hard to get there. I hope your wonderful feelings last a long, long time. Now have that chocolate you mentioned to celebrate!

    Like

  18. So delighted to hear this news! Congratulations! Now rest up. Eat chocolate. You know the drill!

    Like

  19. Janet Duffus says:

    Congratulations Joanne, well done.

    j

    Like

  20. M-R says:

    WONDERFUL ! FABULOUS ! Every accolade I can think of is now heaped upon your Canuck head, Joanne ! 🙂 This particular kind of masochism denotes will, drive and energy – all of which trio are consummations devoutly to be wished.
    You go girl ! 😀

    Like

  21. Congratulations! Kudos! Three Cheers! Ausgeziechnet! Feichang Hao! You get the idea. I’m super-duper impressed. My husband and brother-in-law are runners and I have an idea what it takes. You go, girl!

    Like

  22. Heyjude says:

    I think H and Tess have said it all! Well done you! I can’t run – dodgy knees and any impact causes pain, but I admire anyone who can and does. You deserve a pat on the back :thumbs:

    Like

  23. Races are not as bad as poems. Not by a long shot 😉

    CONGRATS!!!!

    Like

    • joannesisco says:

      Awww thanks! 🙂

      Like

    • TheLastWord says:

      Hey! Some of us write poetry… (well, ok, we don’t mean to, it just kind of escapes…).

      Running is just as bad as poetry. I used to run, only because they wouldn’t let me play cricket otherwise, damn them! Once I was stopped from playing in 2009 Feb, I stopped bothering to run too, which is why I’m now a well rounded individual.

      Joanne: Even though I myself don’t run, I do admire people who do because it takes a special skill and determination, lots of it. I used to set arbitrary milestones, just get to that tree, that lamp post, just get up the hill, then you can take it easy, hey, you made it up, now just get to the bottom. It was very hard work for me and I was kind of glad to give it up, but I also miss it, just a wee bit.

      By now, of course, you have realized that I cannot say anything in 20 words or less. Or can I? Let’s see now.

      Congratulations on the best personal best in eight years, Joanne. You should bask in the glory of the achievement now.

      (20 words, exactly, count ’em)

      Liked by 1 person

      • joannesisco says:

        You are exactly right about setting little milestone when the going gets tough. In a race it might be the next aid station or km marker, but often on a training run, it’s simply the next fire hydrant!

        I have quit running several times over the past dozen years and eventually keep coming back to it. I simply like the way I feel because I run 🙂

        Like

  24. I live with someone who does a lot of races so I like hearing about them 🙂 Congrats on your accomplishment! Best race in 8 years is fantastic!

    Like

  25. Awesome. Exciting. Congratulations. Wooo hooooo. You completed, didn’t poop out and this was the best run in 8 years. What can be better than that? Okay. A million dollars maybe but not necessary. Right?
    Sounds crowded. No wonder you couldn’t elbow your way forward. ❤ 😀

    Like

  26. WOOT!! That’s so fab! Congratulations, Joanne! 🙂
    (I was just thinking to myself ‘looks like school isn’t going to call today, I should go for a run’ and your post popped up. So that settled that. Maybe I’ll even have a crack at a 10km run today. It’s a beautiful morning here.)

    Like

Leave a Reply

