A Different Kind Of Bad

What could we do on a beautiful sunny day after the rain and heavy grey skies of earlier this week? Go for a hike, of course!!

Our destination of choice was an hour’s drive west of Toronto to the Cheltenham Badlands.  My partner on this adventure was, of course – Helen, my indefatigable hiking buddy, running mentor, and overall good friend.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

“Badlands” is a term used to describe an area of soft rock without any soil to support vegetation.  The soft rock eventually molds into a rolling landscape of rounded hills.  These areas are rare in Ontario.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

The Badlands have a reddish hue that comes from iron oxide in the shale.  There are curious greyish-green stripes in the shale that look like someone spray-painted the rock. In fact it’s caused by the underground freshwater springs which turns the red iron oxide into green iron oxide.

Because of considerable overuse and misuse over the past years, signs now request visitors to stay off the sensitive rock which is easily eroded.  A viewing area is accessible from the road.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

The Bruce Trail system runs near the Badlands so we were able to enjoy a leisurely 5 km hike along the trail with many trees were still wearing their flashy autumn colours.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

We then ended our journey with a coffee and sandwich on the back deck at the local General Store.  In short, it was a perfect day to be outdoors.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

About Joanne Sisco

Retired but not idle. Life is an adventure - I plan to continue to embrace it.
This entry was posted in Active Lifestyle, Nature and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

47 Responses to A Different Kind Of Bad

  1. Carter Vail says:

    Beautiful picture! I love your photography!

    Like

  2. Phil Taylor says:

    Sounds like you had a lovely day. Beautiful pictures! I’d love to see the Badlands some time.

    Like

  3. kutukamus says:

    Yep, different indeed. This is badder. 🙂

    Like

  4. Heyjude says:

    Now that’s a hike I’d love to do. Those rocks are simply amazing and I love the golden leaves and the contrast of that blue sky.

    Like

  5. Sue Slaght says:

    Interesting to see your badlands Joanne. The area around Drumheller is called that as well. Are there fossils to be found in your area?

    Like

    • joannesisco says:

      I know the badlands in Alberta are quite famous – and a lot bigger than the ones we visited. I’m not aware of any fossils.
      In my research, I found an article that suggested the ones we visited were caused by poor farming techniques in the 30s which stripped the land of the thin topsoil exposing the shale underneath. Time and erosion would have done the rest. There’s a part of that which doesn’t ring true for me. The timeframe seems much too short.

      Like

  6. Lynn says:

    What a perfect way to spend a beautiful day Joanne. I had no idea that badlands existed in the nearby area, such an interesting formation. Happy weekend!

    Like

  7. I’m so jealous. I used to go hiking all the time, now I have medical issues with my back that prevent me from walking a 1/4 mile. Someday I’ll hike again. And I’ll see the badlands here– out west. Until then, I’ll live vicariously through you.

    Like

  8. I wonder if these are somehow related to the South Dakota badlands although yours are much farther east, come to think of it. Loved having a glimpse of such an unusual natural area which I’m happy to hear is now being protected.

    Like

    • joannesisco says:

      I didn’t know anything about badlands before I started to research it a bit. I’ve discovered there are various badlands predominantly in the west of both the US and Canada.
      They really are quite unusual – almost like an alien planet 🙂

      Like

  9. Oh, wow. Sounds like a perfect day. The colors in the tree and sky picture are nothing short of breathless. (Yes, colors can be breathless, I just decided. So there.) We have one of those ‘badlands’ areas near us, it’s magic. We go there to eat baguette and cheese and drink wine on picnics though 🙂

    Like

  10. Thanks for sharing/ We are hiking the Bruce from end to end and I didn’t know about the badlands area. Plus the outdoor patio at the General Store. Great new meeting place.

    Like

  11. Looks lunar, doesn’t it? Made me think of mars at first.
    Quite the hike. What a wonderful idea to go exploring like you do, camera at the ready. Thank you for sharing these pictures. I am enjoying them. XD

    Like

    • joannesisco says:

      It does look lunar or Mars-like! 🙂

      Helen and I had been out this way once before while we were hiking the Bruce Trail. We couldn’t figure out how we missed the Badlands since the trail map suggested we went right through it.
      We hiked this section in winter and I assumed we missed it because of snow coverage. It turns out the trail passes behind the Badlands and you don’t see it at all. I’m glad we went back for another look!!

      After spending 10 months together most weeks hiking the Bruce, we both missed our weekly excursions and Helen was more than willing to join me on the One Day One World outings in the middle of the night. I’m glad we’ve slid back into a weekly routine of an adventure outing again. There is so much to explore even within our own small corner of the world!

      I’m glad you enjoy it. I love doing it and I love writing about it 🙂

      Like

  12. You are right – not many good days left – I’m glad you had a chance to get out and enjoy.

    Like

  13. That sounds like a fabulous way to spend a sunny autumn day. Those pictures are just stunning xx

    Like

  14. What an intriguing area and such great photos. That looked like one spectacular day!

    Like

  15. jannatwrites says:

    Looking at the photos, I’d agree that the day was perfect for being outside! What a beautiful area!

    Like

  16. Sammy D. says:

    Beautiful! I love stark landscape this time of year because lower sun angle highlights colors in varying layers.

    Like

  17. TheLastWord says:

    Love that shot of the gold tree against the blue sky. I seem to have a thing about the sky and / or light shining through the branches of trees. I seem to have a lot of shots like that.

    Hmm – this place looks like barely 30 mins from my house. Thanks for bringing it to my attention. I shall definitely want to see this.

    Like

    • joannesisco says:

      Thanks – I loved the deep blue sky yesterday. We don’t see that colour in the city very often and it provides the perfect backdrop for the deep yellows.
      It’s worth the drive to check out the Badlands. It’s not very large and I was disappointed when I discovered walking on them is no longer allowed, but it is so interested.

      Like

  18. This looks fabulous. Love the colours still in the trees and those rolling hills. And you obviously had a good day for it. Nice one! 🙂

    Like

    • joannesisco says:

      Thanks. Helen is one of those people who believes that any day spent outdoors is a good day … but this one was particularly perfect 🙂
      I had so many great photos from our hike, the challenge was picking which ones I would post!

      Liked by 1 person

  19. NancyTex says:

    Beautiful! Ed and I went out to Glen Rouge yesterday, going around 1.5 km farther than you and I did during our hike. The final hill climb seemed WAY harder yesterday. 🙂

    Like

    • joannesisco says:

      I’m so glad we got out yesterday. I don’t think we will have many of these perfect days left. A day or two of good winds will strip the trees. As it was, we had a gentle ‘rain’ of leaves as we hiked on the trail.

      Liked by 1 person

  20. Looks like a lovely outing! I’ll skip your big runs, but I’d be glad to do this jaunt myself!

    Like

Leave a Reply

