Welcome Home – Photo 101

I’m excited to be participating in this month’s Photography 101 where we will be posting a photo each weekday on a given theme.

Today is Day 1 and the theme is ‘Home’.

After considerable thought, I came to the conclusion that I carry ‘home’ with me everywhereΒ I go – in the form of my key to the front door.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Photo taken with my Olympus TG3 and cropped in PicMonkey.

About Joanne Sisco

Retired but not idle. Life is an adventure - I plan to continue to embrace it.
This entry was posted in Photo Challenges and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

32 Responses to Welcome Home – Photo 101

  1. I love pictures of doors and doorways. They are so intriguing and bring out the curiosity in me. This is a great one! πŸ™‚

    Like

  2. jannatwrites says:

    Great idea! Having the door cracked open is a nice touch!

    Like

  3. ishkishmish says:

    My caption for your photo: “Where doors are always open.”

    Like

  4. NancyTex says:

    I have an idea for this challenge, but wanted it to be official first. So…I’ll be posting a couple days late!

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Megz says:

    I love your take on home. And it looks like quite the lovely home πŸ™‚

    Like

  6. I found myself wanting to peek inside but not wanting to be nosy. πŸ™‚ I like the angle of this shot. It’s about the keys.

    Like

    • joannesisco says:

      Thank you – that means I got the shot right! I wanted to make it look inviting so you would want to peek inside πŸ™‚

      I took a series of shots with just the keys on the table, but the door had a better feel. Thanks for noticing πŸ™‚

      Liked by 1 person

  7. As Sue and Heather and M-R said, very welcoming and inviting. I’m trying to think of another word but can’t right now. Anyway, zucchini cake with cream cheese did not activate my gag reflex in case you’re wondering…..

    Like

  8. Sue Slaght says:

    Very inviting photo Joanne. Good choice for the theme. Do you have the coffee pot on?

    Like

  9. It looks very inviting. Coffee?

    Like

  10. M-R says:

    Amazingly pleasant door-fittings, Joanne ! – a most welcoming front door !

    Like

  11. Very creative. I just use the windows editor I have. What do you like best about PicMonkey?

    Like

    • joannesisco says:

      PicMonkey is a free online tool that I find really easy to use. I’ve tried many and I keep going back to PicMonkey.
      I’m taking a course this weekend on Lightroom. I gagged a bit at the price tag, but I’m at the stage where I need a good tool for managing my photos and learning how to process them with more flexibility than the free tools provide.

      Like

      • I tried PicMonkey a long time ago, perhaps I need to go check them out again. I know what you mean about free vs paid editing tools for photographs. The free stuff is fun to play with though. Thanks for the advice I’ll keep Lighroom in mind if I’m shopping around for editing and management tools.

        Liked by 1 person

  12. Lynn says:

    A great start to your challenge! Looking forward to the rest:)

    Like

    • joannesisco says:

      I have a goal to learn how to take better photos. This will hopefully help that process πŸ™‚
      I just worry a bit about clogging up people’s mailboxes with a post every day. Thankfully photos are fast and easy to ‘read’ πŸ˜‰

      Like

  13. bulldog says:

    Now that was a clever thought… and a great photo…

    Like

  14. Lovely idea, Jo πŸ™‚ xx

    Like

  15. Perfect idea for the challenge and a lovely front door it is too. πŸ™‚

    Like

Leave a Reply

