Danger On The Streets – Photo101

I rummaged through my photo archive for today’s theme on “street” and chose a picture I had taken this summer in Berlin.

I was fascinated with the Berlin Wall and its path dividing the city, now marked by brick in the road or sidewalk.  Sometimes the Wall seemed to follow on odd path in its odd division of the city.

DSC05697-F

Sections of the Wall had been preserved and on this street, ironically it was protected from souvenir seekers behind a wire fence.  In the foreground is the path of the 2nd wall – marked by the narrow contrasting band of brick.  In the middle, now clogged with pedestrians or cars, was the no-man’s land – or “kill zone”.

I had not been aware there had been a double wall and I found this visible reminder very chilling.

Photo taken with my battered and bent little Sony Cybershot.

 

About Joanne Sisco

Retired but not idle. Life is an adventure - I plan to continue to embrace it.
This entry was posted in Photo Challenges, Random Stuff and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

42 Responses to Danger On The Streets – Photo101

  1. Joanne, have you seen google.com today? It’s commemorating the 25th anniversary of the fall of the Berlin Wall and has a great little video. I didn’t know that bits of the wall had been sent all over the world.

    Like

    • joannesisco says:

      Thanks for letting me know. Great photo, but I can’t get the video to play 😦
      I didn’t know that a complete section of the double wall – including the kill zone inbetween – had been maintained. I wish I had seen that when I was there.

      Like

  2. The Berlin Wall is one of those sites that you stare at thinking it can’t possibly be real, it can’t possibly have happened, and yet there it is in solid, chilling evidence. Love the photo and your explanation.

    Like

  3. M-R says:

    We arrived in Germany just after the wall came down … amazing times, Joanne …

    Like

  4. I’ve always wanted to visit Berlin – such a fascinating history and dynamic present. Great shot of the old walls.

    Like

    • joannesisco says:

      Thank you. I really didn’t know much about Berlin (except the wall, of course) and was very pleasantly surprised. We spent 4 days there and barely scratched the surface of things to see.

      Like

  5. NancyTex says:

    So interesting, Joanne. thank you for sharing.

    Like

  6. Sue Slaght says:

    I did not know there was a double wall either. Definitely something i would like to see one day. than you for bringing it to me.

    Like

  7. I thought it was also remarkable that no one in the photo was looking at the camera, they must be really used to tourists there. You took a great shot with your lil’ Sony!

    Like

  8. jannatwrites says:

    That space between the double wall gave me a shiver.

    Like

  9. I had no idea about the double wall either. It’s a perfect shot for the street theme xx

    Like

  10. The images seered in my brain of this terrible wall include a German couple holding up their baby for their East German relatives to see. I had no idea about the double wall either, Joanne. Fascinating image.

    Like

  11. This is certainly unsettling, more-so because of the double wall I think. Either way, too creepy.

    Like

  12. bulldog says:

    Yep the signs of the past, that need to remain as a reminder, hopefully never to happen again…

    Like

  13. How very interesting that there was a double wall. A very interesting pic for your theme today!

    Like

    • joannesisco says:

      Thank you. I’m glad I’m not the only one who didn’t know there was a double wall. I had heard about the no-man’s land but I thought it referred to a space leading up to the wall.
      This is even more horrific.

      Like

  14. What a great photo and it is a chilling reminder of the past.

    Like

Leave a Reply

