What Is Bliss? Photo101

For today’s theme of “bliss”, my thoughts drifted back to basics.

For me, bliss is gentle and ethereal … a fleeting feeling based on who I’m with and what I’m doing.  It’s rarely complicated.

Bliss is feeling comfortable and content, knowing I’m in a safe place with those I love, and who love me back in equal measure.

Bliss is that delicious tired feeling after a day of adventure, exploration, and fun.

Bliss is a much needed nap in the afternoon, or a full night’s uninterrupted sleep.

DSC05029-F

Theo … my not-so-little bundle of furry bliss.

Bliss is the anticipation of doing it all again.

About Joanne Sisco

Retired but not idle. Life is an adventure - I plan to continue to embrace it.
This entry was posted in Photo Challenges and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

50 Responses to What Is Bliss? Photo101

  1. NancyTex says:

    I just love the word bliss! Just saying it makes me smile.

    Like

  2. You hit it right on. Bliss – that place where one just belongs. Where every little corner breeds familiarity, where it is safe and warm and comfortable. And where one is completely and totally accepted. The cat sure has found his “bliss”. That really is a wonderful photo.

    Like

  3. bikerchick57 says:

    Sleeping Cat = Bliss. Simple equation, one that Theo has no issue following 😉

    Like

  4. M-R says:

    YESSSSSsss ! Theo IS bliss, you are absolutely correct, Joanne ! Please give him a very loud and smacking kiss from me, OK ? 😀

    Like

    • joannesisco says:

      I will do!
      Right now he’s “resting” on my bed like he normally does at this hour, shedding hair all over.
      Because I’m allergic to cats, I have to keep a special Theo-Blanket over the bed to keep his hair off any surface I will actually sleep near. Thankfully this actually works, so we can live together peacefully 🙂

      Like

  5. Ditto to all that and beautifully said. Love the photo of Theo. In my next life, I’m coming back as a pampered cat.

    Like

  6. Gorgeous boy. And totally blissed out for sure 😉

    Like

  7. Debra says:

    Cats have bliss down to a way of life I think. I love this photo so much =)

    Like

  8. It is true bliss often comes at the simpler times in our day or life…well done!!

    Like

  9. jannatwrites says:

    Beautiful cat! We have three in our house and I think they’ve got the bliss thing perfected 🙂

    Like

  10. Sue Slaght says:

    Lovely words to go with your photo. Simplicity in life is often blissful. 🙂

    Like

  11. Theo sure is a handsome cat! Everything you say about bliss is purr-fect.
    Bliss if falling asleep with your cat on your lap. For me anyway. ❤ ❤

    Like

  12. Megz says:

    Love the sentiment, love the cat! Granted I was planning on doing a sleeping cat photo too so now I have to think of a different angle…

    Like

  13. Lynn says:

    I think Theo has bliss covered!

    Like

  14. mithriluna says:

    Such a a sweet post. 🙂

    Like

  15. Carter Vail says:

    Love this!

    Like

  16. Aw he’s so lovely! Another beautiful piece of poetic writing too 🙂 I’m really enjoying this so far! xx

    Like

  17. Sweet dreams, Theo.

    Like

  18. Theo is most handsome in his blissful state. Agree that bliss is uncomplicated….a good night’s sleep is the definition of it for me lately!

    Like

    • joannesisco says:

      Isn’t that the truth?!!
      The quality of the previous night’s sleep sets the tone for everything the following day. Sleep can be a very fickle and elusive little bitch, but when she decides to visit … ahhhh!

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

