Seeing Red – Photo101 Colour

I missed Friday’s theme, but I’m back for today’s challenge to show a pop of colour.

It’s a dull, snowy day in Toronto and it seems that everything has been reduced to grays and whites.  It reminded me of our winter hiking on the Bruce Trail, so I went back into my archive.

Coincidentally, Helen and I both wore red jackets on our hikes and we would certainly stand out against the flat winter palate of the forest.  On those occasions when I would lose sight of her on the trail, it would be easy to ‘find’ her again.

A pop of colour, Stage 8

Helen on the Bruce Trail in the Dundas Valley Conservation Area.

Photo was taken in February 2013 with my battered Sony Cybershot.

 

 

 

About Joanne Sisco

Retired but not idle. Life is an adventure - I plan to continue to embrace it.
This entry was posted in Active Lifestyle, Nature, Photo Challenges and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

46 Responses to Seeing Red – Photo101 Colour

  1. jannatwrites says:

    I love bright colored coats… Mine is purple 🙂

    Like

  2. OK…I’m in for Sammy D’s RED…Retired; Extremely Dangerous, and Helen Mirren, a favorite actor! Can remember a red ski outfit years ago when I skied in Europe. Just so family could spot me in case I disappeared in the snow. Love the picture look! hope Theo is getting better by now. So sad when our furry kids get sick.

    Like

  3. bulldog says:

    The red jacket makes the photo look as though you’ve done some photo shopping on a B&w photo… I love it..

    Like

  4. NancyTex says:

    I FINALLY booked my flight to Vegas. Headed there Thursday night. With any luck, I’ll be climbing the mountains by Friday late afternoon (after putting in a full work day – Eastern time zone). 🙂

    Today’s run (mostly walk) on the waterfront at lunch was a slick, cold, wet, slippery mess.

    Like

  5. I will never, ever cease to be amazed (and jealous) at your ability to walk out the door into that sort of scenery. Yes, I know this is not outside your door, but… snow! Without a four hour drive and the cost of hiring snow gear like lovely red winter snow coats! If you get my snowdrift…

    Like

  6. Heyjude says:

    So YOU are the person in the red jacket who ALWAYS creeps into my landscape photos!
    😀

    Like

  7. M-R says:

    It may be battered, but it’s still working – and well, Joanne !!! 😀

    Like

  8. Sammy D. says:

    Probably because I watched a spook movie last night ( called RED!!) where assassin Helen Mirren was wearing the most gorgeous white parka against a snowy background and hiding in trees, etc, I thought of spies and stakeouts the moment I saw this. Wouldn’t THAT be an adventure for you and Helen 😍

    Like

  9. Sue Slaght says:

    A wonderful pop of colour Joanne. How is Theo today?

    Like

  10. Lynn says:

    What a lovely pop of colour!

    Like

  11. Love the trails around Dundas! You should move there. You should. 😉

    Like

  12. Bright colours is a fabulous idea when undertaking something like this. It certainly is a pop of colour 🙂 xx

    Like

  13. Megz says:

    I the dull wintry mix weather 😦 I love wearing bright clothes in the dull days of winter. Plus I always figure that if they have to send out the search helicopters I’ll have a better chance of being rescued when wearing red instead of black!

    Like

  14. The Bruce Trail in winter is too intimidating a thought! Wearing red to be able to spot each other is brilliant (literally) though.

    Like

    • joannesisco says:

      If the winter was like the last one, I would agree with you completely. We did some hiking and needed snowshoes for most of them.

      We were lucky that when we hiked the end-to-end, it wasn’t a bad winter. I really learned to enjoy the winter hikes.

      Like

  15. If that isn’t a pop of color, I don’t know what is. 😀 😀
    Like the comparison to the cardinal by Silver.
    The Dundas Valley Conservation Area is almost within handshake distance way. :o.

    Like

  16. Reminds me of seeing our state bird, the red cardinal, on a bleak winter’s day.

    Like

Leave a Reply

