A Swarm of … Zebras? Photo101

Today’s challenge was to capture a swarm / a group of “something” gathering in large numbers.

With a long to-do list in front of me today, I decided to venture into my archive and take you back to one of my most memorable adventures – in Tanzania and the Serengeti.

The zebras and wildebeest were on the move for their annual migration looking for fresh grazing and water.  I was in awe of the sheer numbers of animals all travelling together – thousands and thousands as far as I could see.

Even more awe inspiring was how quiet it was.  I guess I’m used to the movie version of cowboys herding cattle … the noise of thundering hooves and the constant complaining of the cows, as if running against their will.

… but here on the Serengeti, there was no bleeting, no calling, no mooing … no whatever-it-is-they-do.  No stomping, no clomping, nada, nothing as they ran at full speed across the plain.  Silence.

It was by far, one of the most magical things I’ve ever experienced.

tanzania - swarming

tanzania - swarming-3

Even the humans were swarming …

tanzania - swarming-2

 

About Joanne Sisco

Retired but not idle. Life is an adventure - I plan to continue to embrace it.
This entry was posted in Adventure, Nature, Photo Challenges, Travel and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

57 Responses to A Swarm of … Zebras? Photo101

  1. LB says:

    Your photos are great, but your words along with them really evevate the whole post! I can’t even imagine the silence as those incredible animals running by.
    “there was no bleeting, no calling, no mooing … no whatever-it-is-they-do. No stomping, no clomping, nada, nothing” – Excellent!!

    Like

  2. A very good take on the prompt though…going back into your archives…are you pining for warmer climes? 🙂

    Like

  3. Mrs. P says:

    Beautiful! I do see the majestic quality in a serene gathering of these incredible beasts. What a treat to have been there to experience this first hand. The silence makes it even more awe inspiring.

    Like

  4. jannatwrites says:

    Oh, wow, those photos are wonderful! And your description of the experience – the silence – that must’ve been amazing 🙂

    Like

  5. terryb says:

    These are wonderful! How fortunate to have witnessed this swarm of zebras and to have visited Tanzania and the Serengeti.
    I thought I was following your blog already, but I see I’m not. I’m not sure if that was a WP glitch or an oversight on my part, but I’m going to click the follow button now 🙂

    Like

  6. My daughter just returned from doing this same thing before she climbed Kilimanjaro. She was amazed at the size of the elephants, and yes, the swarms of vehicles.

    Like

  7. M-R says:

    While I do envy you that wonderful exeprience, Joanne, I am obliged to say that they do not appear to be racing across the plains. {grin}

    Like

  8. Heyjude says:

    Ah, the migration. I would LOVE to see that. And I like your swarm of jeeps – that’s one thing which puts me off. I hate crowds.

    Like

  9. Great photos of the Zebra swarm …And lucky you! Would love to see the Serengeti and I have the same question as Sue.

    Like

  10. Sue Slaght says:

    Those are unbelievable photos Joanne! A safari is on the list and these photos definitely stir up some wanderlust. What tour company did you go with?

    Like

    • joannesisco says:

      We used a company called Zara Tours … but I wouldn’t necessarily recommend them. Our drivers and guides were fantastic … but the company, not so much.
      At one point we had to be rescued by another tour company (Livingstone) in the Ngorongoro Crater because BOTH our vehicles broke down … not a good situation!
      At the time I didn’t think it was very funny … actually I still don’t :/

      Like

  11. Now THAT is a Bucket List photo. What an amazing experience! I loved your last photo. 😀

    Like

    • joannesisco says:

      It was one of those occasions when good friends get together over several bottles of wine – sometimes a little risky in my circle of friends.
      Pie-in-the-sky bucket list items get discussed and before you know it, commitments are made and plans get hatched.

      Liked by 1 person

  12. You have been so lucky in your travels!

    Like

  13. Swarming or one at a time, zebras are fascinating. Great pictures. Takes my breath away. ^^’

    Like

  14. bulldog says:

    One of those things on my bucket list that I will get to do hopefully before I die… My cousin travels to see it ever year… I’ll be going with some year in the future…

    Like

  15. Mara Eastern says:

    I would have ducked and run. As long as ducking and running can be done simultaneously. Thank you for your zeal of zebras. Yes, apparently, a group of zebras is called a zeal.

    Like

  16. You continue to amaze me with the quality of photos and the reach of your travels. That’s an interesting revelation that the herds make no noise as the cross the plains. I expect that documentary makers like David Attenborough or the National Geographic enhanced the movies to fill the silence.

    Like

  17. That must have been an amazing adventure for you.

    Like

  18. That’s a fabulous picture, Jo! What an amazing experience-I’m so jealous 🙂 xx

    Like

    • joannesisco says:

      Thanks Sam. I fell in love with zebras. They just make me smile 🙂
      … not to mention that they make me think of Chris Rock as Marty in Madagascar.

      Liked by 1 person

      • Ohh that film is ace!! I wish Oscar would get into it! My favourite has to be King Julian 🙂

        You’re gonna have to shoot a meerkat ‘swarm’ now! 😀 xx

        Like

        • joannesisco says:

          I LOVE animated movies and dragged Gilles to the theatre to see Madagascar when it was first released. Us – and a theatre full of small children.

          In spite of his whining and complaining, Gilles laughed so hard, the kids were staring at us. I think I spent more time laughing at Gilles laughing than at the actual movie 😀

          … but I do love Marty 🙂

          Liked by 1 person

  19. NancyTex says:

    Amazing, Joanne! it must have been an incredible thing to witness in person.

    Like

  20. That is fascinating, Joanne. The grasslands muffled the hooves, I guess? Or maybe the sound editors of those Westerns have misled us all these years? I can only imagine how magical an experience this must have been and your photos are outstanding. Particularly surprised to see the wildebeest and zebras grazing together peacefully.

    Like

    • joannesisco says:

      Well – the zebras and wildebeest are a lot more graceful then your average cow, so maybe that’s part of the explanation 😉

      I was surprised too by how closely these different animals coexist. I’m guessing that there is a certain safety in the large numbers.

      Like

Leave a Reply

