Treasured – Photo101

This is the final week of Photography 101 and this month feels like it’s blown by so quickly.

Today’s theme is something that we treasure … big or small, a person or a thing, maybe an experience.  I have many people and things I cherish because of the meaning or memories that I have attached to them.

My newest little treasure is a tiny watch that my mom wore throughout my childhood. The bracelet broke decades ago and the watch no longer works.

My mom didn’t have many pieces of jewellry.  Unlike her second daughter, she didn’t like a lot of flash and sparkle.  She considered it ostentatious.  When she passed away 3 years ago at the age of 86, her three daughters sat down one day and divided up the few things in her jewellry box.  I chose this delicate little anachronism – smaller than a Canadian 25 cent piece.

Since then, this old-fashioned time piece has sat on a shelf in my bedroom closet.  I really didn’t know what to do with it … until 2 weeks ago when I suddenly had the idea to put it on a simple chain and wear it as a pendant.

I’ve worn it every day since then.  I think my mom would have liked that.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

 

About Joanne Sisco

Retired but not idle. Life is an adventure - I plan to continue to embrace it.
This entry was posted in Family, Photo Challenges, Random Stuff and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

51 Responses to Treasured – Photo101

  1. Such a wonderful idea, Joanne, and such a special thing to have. Congratulations on the race, too! (Sorry to be late to the commenting party – life has been a bit too full of life lately…)

    Like

  2. terryb says:

    This is a really lovely, elegant photo. I love the way you arranged the chain and “pendant” in the frame and the way the curve of the chain ethos the curves in the pendant. I also really like your choice of background fabric for this piece and the orientation of the weave of the fabric in the frame. Nice! 🙂

    Like

  3. How very special . This is my favourite kind of jewelry – something with meaning. Thanks for sharing.

    Like

  4. M-R says:

    It looks wonderful as a pendant ! – and you KNOW she would … 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  5. jannatwrites says:

    I think it’s a beautiful photo and I love the sentiment behind it. I’m glad you get to wear it now- great idea to use it as a necklace.

    Like

  6. Beautiful Photo. I like your treasure, it looks like a tiny piece of wrapped candy. I can’t believe it’s the last week of Photo 101 too. It’s been great getting to know you through your photos.

    Like

  7. LB says:

    How wonderful!! Does it work? Even if not, what a gift to have something so precious with you daily.

    Like

  8. NancyTex says:

    What a great idea! I think it’s just beautiful.

    Like

  9. bulldog says:

    What a great way of honouring your Mom….

    Like

  10. mihrank says:

    wow – great and appreciative – creative and elegant! Happy Thanksgiving!

    Like

  11. Megz says:

    what a beautiful treasure!

    Like

  12. Lynn says:

    What a wonderful way to wear such a treasured piece. Beautiful Joanne!

    Like

  13. Mrs. P says:

    What a great idea!

    Like

  14. THAT, is an ingenious idea. 💡 ❤ ❤ ❤

    Like

  15. Lovely Joanne. I was given my grandmother’s wedding band and had a bracelet made for myself with the diamonds. I love having that part of her with me always, knowing she loved and was loved in return. I’m sure the watch is a comforting piece for you to wear as well, remembering your mother’s simple tastes and the days of your childhood. A wonderful treasure!

    Like

  16. Very creative of you.. and what a lively tribute to your mother.

    Like

  17. Aw that’s beautiful Jo. My eyes are leaking again We’re all a bit sentimental today *sniff, sniff* 🙂 xx

    Like

  18. Sue Slaght says:

    That is a wonderful treasure Joanne!

    How did things go on the weekend?

    Like

  19. Perfect, Joanne, just perfect. I want you to please just peek at this post I’m going to attach. My friend, Betsy, does jewelry work out of vintage pieces. Just look at the photograph of her in the beginning of the post. She is wearing a necklace made from a delicate wrist watch of her grandmother’s. I think you’ll like it!
    http://silverinthebarn.wordpress.com/2014/04/07/crafts-jewelry/

    Like

  20. What a beautiful way to keep something so precious close to you! I wear my mom’s wedding ring that I had admired all those years. Simple but perfect just like your mom’s watch. It’s nice to be able to have something of a loved ones so close to you!

    Like

Leave a Reply

