Life On The Edge – Photo101

As we are heading into the home stretch after a month of Photo101, today’s theme is edges and editing our photos to ensure the edges are straight and … well, edgy.

I went back into my photo archive of the Bruce Trail in 2013 and the final weeks of our 10 month adventure hiking the 900 km trail.  This was a particularly challenging section of the trail near Hope Bay with many steep ascents and descents – sometimes with ladders, sometimes with rock scrambles.

We were always respectful of footing since a medical evacuation from many parts of the trail would be challenging.

In this photo, the railing on the right was used as a guide for straightening the image.

Cape Croker Stairs

In the second photo, the edge of the escarpment was used to straighten the image of the same ladder.

Cape Croker Stairs 2

Life “on the edge” doesn’t get much better than when I’m outdoors enjoying nature.

About Joanne Sisco

Retired but not idle. Life is an adventure - I plan to continue to embrace it.
This entry was posted in Adventure, Nature, Outdoor Stuff, Photo Challenges and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

36 Responses to Life On The Edge – Photo101

  1. oliviarutt says:

    I just read your full account of the Bruce Trail End-to-End hike you completed in 2013, It looked like such a fun time! A friend and I are going to be tackling the hike starting next spring. Have any advice?

    Like

  2. jannatwrites says:

    Great photos! That would be a fun hike, but a bit scary 🙂

    Like

  3. Joanne, did I read that right – 10 months and 900km of hiking? Very impressive and a huge undertaking indeed. It makes my feet hurt just thinking about it. As a wannabe photographer, when it comes to edges, I’m always a bit concerned about too much symmetry, which can make for boring shots. Have a fun and decadent Thanksgiving! ~James

    Like

    • joannesisco says:

      You read that right James – we did 51 hikes averaging 17km per hike over 10 months to complete the trail end to end. It was an amazing journey 🙂

      Thanks for the observation about too much symmetry … much appreciated!!

      Like

  4. I look at those photos and my knees hurt. Great options for edges. 🙂

    Like

  5. LB says:

    10 month hiking adventure!!!!! WOW!! Did you blog about that? Share a link if so (when you have time, of course) 🙂

    Like

    • joannesisco says:

      Thank you so much for your interest! My first foray into blogging was our adventure on the Bruce Trail at
      http://joannesisco.wordpress.com/

      Neither of us were really experienced hikers, so this was a huge undertaking in my eyes. There were certainly days I thought we were crazy, but I had no idea exactly how beautiful our province was … it’s full of hidden treasure!! I’m sure that’s true of just about everywhere if we stop and look.

      I enjoyed blogging so much, I started my new one about life in general.

      Like

      • LB says:

        I finally got a chance to check out a few of the posts about your 10 month adventure. I so wish I’d been along for the hike when you did it as I fear I’ll never find time to read the whole way through. What a great thing you and your friend did!
        I too started blogging to keep record of an adventure (solo motorcycle rides). To keep a diary and to let folks back home know I was okay.
        How fun that we both kept right on blogging 🙂

        Like

  6. bulldog says:

    “Life “on the edge” doesn’t get much better than when I’m outdoors enjoying nature.” Oh how I can agree on that…

    Liked by 1 person

  7. Looking up was nice and non-threatening…looking down was a bit scarier. The second shot really enforced the need for careful footing that you mentioned. Great shots, both of them. I love all the greenery.

    Like

    • joannesisco says:

      It’s true that going down was always scarier than going up! Both of us took a number of tumbles over the 10 months … thankfully nothing more serious than scratches and bruises … and one time I broke a hiking pole.

      Liked by 1 person

  8. M-R says:

    How FASCINATING, Joanne – that the straightening in fact shows how very wobbly the steps are ! Terrific pair of shots !

    Like

  9. I’ve heard many good reports of this trail. Very popular. Your photographs are perfect for the challenge. You have a steady hand.
    Dizzy me whether looking up or looking down, let alone climbing or descending. :-)s

    Like

  10. Sue Slaght says:

    Looks like a wonderful hike Joanne. I especially like the perspective of the second photo, as if I could slide down that railing. 🙂

    Like

  11. NancyTex says:

    Love it, Joanne! Scrambles and stairs add so much fun to a hike. I’m still so envious that you got to do the entire Bruce Trail! Wicked cool!

    Like

  12. Megz says:

    looks fun! now i may have to dig out some of my hiking pics for being on the edge. and 10 months of adventure hiking sounds like a blast!

    Like

  13. Sammy D. says:

    Oh wow – those got my heart pounding – either climbing up OR looking down!! Great shots, Joanne.

    Like

  14. My heart skipped a beat when I saw the vantage point of the second shot atop the stairs. Eep!

    Like

  15. Wow…edgy in so many ways…not only in the sense of being on the edge but also because I could see this as the background for a band photo shoot! Ha, ha!

    Like

Leave a Reply

