Triumph – It’s A Wrap: Photo101

This is the last day of Photo101 and I’m playing a little bit of catch-up by combining yesterday’s theme and today’s.

Yesterday’s theme was “double” and after trying on a dozen different ideas, I finally settled on the ‘double’ hanging on the wall in my family room.

I often refer to my husband as Mr. Science … it was his field of study in university and his career.  It seemed perfectly natural for us to have a piece of our DNA sequence framed. There is an online company called DNA11.com from which there are many options to create truly personalized art.

This photo was taken in rather dull light giving it a muted, grainy look.

In case you’re wondering, mine is on the bottom and no, we have no clue what it means.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Today’s theme is ‘triumph’ which seems appropriate for the final day of this challenge. What is still sitting fresh in my mind is the completion of the Philadelphia Half Marathon on Sunday.

It was the culmination of 10 months of hard training after taking a year off running and foot surgery to repair a 40 year old injury.  I fought despair in June after a disasterous race in Niagara Falls and almost gave up running completely.

This was my last race of the season and I finished happy … yes, even triumphant!

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Thank you for joining me all month for the photo of the day.  I learned a lot on this challenge … I don’t know whether my photography has improved, but I did have fun.  I hope you enjoyed it too.

About Joanne Sisco

Retired but not idle. Life is an adventure - I plan to continue to embrace it.
This entry was posted in Family, Photo Challenges, Random Stuff and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

42 Responses to Triumph – It’s A Wrap: Photo101

  1. It’s been so interesting to follow your determination to improve your running and move on to marathons – you are very impressive! Love those funky DNA sequencing art pieces – glad you sorted out who was who though.

    Like

  2. Pixie says:

    It has for sure been challenging! I love your little corner, the red in the dancing figurines lends a nice complimenting color base for the DNA pictures and adds great movement to the setting. I’ve got a science chic in my house, 5th grade with 11th grade scores in science, I wonder what I’m in for with her 😉 Congrats on the half marathon, that’s wonderful that you can put your mind to something like that and just do it without letting your obstacles stop you. Haha, I would have died after the first two blocks! How’s Theo doin?

    Like

    • joannesisco says:

      Thanks for your words! Right now I’m really enjoying NOT running 😉
      It’s really sweet of you to think of Theo. It’s been a bit of a roller coaster ride … he has good days when he seems to be himself again and I think the worst is behind us, and then he’ll have a bad day (like today) when he doesn’t eat 😦

      Like

      • Pixie says:

        I hope Theo continues to get better. I’m a kitty mom too, when any of our babes are sick it weighs heavy on our hearts. Watching them approach the beginning of crossing over is the worst part, so much joy for the good days and only silence for the rough ones in between. May your good days be plentiful…and of course, I hope and pray for full recovery and many more years for you guys to be together.

        Like

  3. Yay! to the half-marathon. Yay! to your very cool DNA artwork. Booooo! to the fact they don’t ship to Oz (as my instant friend Wade at DNA11.com has kindly just informed me). 😦

    Like

  4. M-R says:

    Did. Lots. You’re the best.

    Like

  5. Framed personal DNA. Wow. It’s just a little hard to get my head wrapped around that one. But that is definitely one gift to give the person who has nearly everything else, right? Remarkable, Joanne.
    And a huge congrats on the massive effort of training and completing your race. Again, even a half marathon is an idea I would struggle with realizing. Here I am thinking I’m topping out at around 6 miles. Well done, you!!

    Like

    • joannesisco says:

      10k/6 miles is my favourite race distance … I’d say you were doing very well 🙂

      DNA11.com also has fingerprints and lip prints that can be done. It is a very unique and highly personal piece of art … I really wish I had my mother’s done before she passed away a few years ago. Lost opportunity.

      Like

  6. Carter Vail says:

    Loved following your adventures in photography! Congrats on the race!

    Like

  7. jannatwrites says:

    You should feel happy with finishing the race – I don’t think I could 🙂 Cool DNA photos…I’ve not seen anything like that.

    Like

  8. terryb says:

    Congratulations on an awesome triumph!
    The DNA photos are quite cool!
    And thank you for your comments on my posts. I appreciate the encouragement very much! 🙂

    Like

  9. That is so COOL! Both the triumph of getting back to successful running and the framed DNA! I enjoyed your photographs for this challenge, Joanne.

    Like

  10. Framed DNA, Joanne that is brilliant. I am going to make great use of that little tidbit….my house seems to breed only male science guys………

    Like

  11. Yay, for ‘trumping’ the marathon Sunday. You are a real trooper. 🙂
    Those framed DNA sequences are attractive because I love those shades of blue. What a cool idea!
    And last, but not least, hurray for blogging everyday because it IS a lot of work. Congratulations to stepping over the finish line. 😀

    Like

    • joannesisco says:

      Thanks Tess … it’s been an endurance month in many ways! I appreciate your comments and enthusiasm throughout the entire month!! Thanks for taking this journey with me ❤

      Like

      • I’m an armchair traveler, at my best. 😀
        I’m always happy when someone sets a goal of any kind and surpasses it. I have no problem with jumping up and down with exuberance as if I had anything to do with their accomplishment. Kudos to you, again.
        😀

        Liked by 1 person

  12. mihrank says:

    have never seen anything like those DNA – This is a great presentation!

    Like

  13. Wow! I have never seen anything like those DNA sequences. That’s pretty crazy, but cool at the same time. I like how you kind of extended the ‘doubles’ theme with the 2 medals.

    Like

  14. Helen C says:

    I was wondering if that were DNA sequence pictures before reading your post. Cool. Helen

    Like

  15. Sue Slaght says:

    I did not even know you could have a photo of your own DNA. How cool is that?!
    Congratulations on your triumphant race. You really have had a great deal of adversity and to come back even stronger well that is no small feat. Congrats to you my friend!
    Oh and definitely I see great strides in your photography! Not that I am any expert that’s for sure but I know what I like. 🙂

    Like

  16. NancyTex says:

    Hooray for the triumph of finishing an entire month’s blogging challenge!
    p.s. Those framed DNA strands are pretty cool!

    Like

    • joannesisco says:

      I’m not used to blogging every day, so these month-long challenges are a lot of work! I feel somewhat relieved I made it to the end … almost like a marathon 😉

      We’ve had our framed DNA for many years now. They really are one-of-a-kind 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

