It’s Looking A Lot Like Christmas

With Christmas less than two weeks away, my holiday spirit has been growing a little bit with each passing day.  Colourful lights, decorations, and music seem to be everywhere.

Two weeks ago, we headed downtown for the official lighting of the Christmas tree at City Hall.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

I hadn’t realized that this ceremonial lighting of the tree and the subsequent fireworks was such a popular event.  I’ve never seen crowds so densely packed in the downtown core.  I managed to keep my claustrophobia under control and admittedly I oooh’d and awww’d in equal measure with the 5 year old beside me sitting on her dad’s shoulders.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Meanwhile at home,  I have finished my holiday decorating.  Admittedly, my decorations are considerably more subdued compared to many others, but I always look forward to bringing out my collection of Father Christmas statues who greet all those who enter the front door.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

… and my Christmas tree has been glowing in the darkness every evening.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

There are not many photos of Christmas from my family’s past, but this fuzzy picture from the mid-1950s is a personal favourite.  It pre-dates me, with my older sister and 2 brothers, but what makes it special is that it’s a rare photo of my Italian grandparents.

As the photo suggests, my grandmother apparently loved to sip her red vermouth … and added it generously to much of her Christmas baking.

Christmas 1955

I hope your world is filled with twinkling lights and sparkling decorations that bring you joy – whatever your traditions might be.

This post was inspired by the DP photo challenge to *capture a twinkle*.

About Joanne Sisco

Retired but not idle. Life is an adventure - I plan to continue to embrace it.
This entry was posted in Random Stuff and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

51 Responses to It’s Looking A Lot Like Christmas

  1. LB says:

    That old family photo is a treasure!! I love Grandma and her bottle of Vermouth!
    I cannot wait to get a tree up (hopefully on Saturday). Sitting by the tree lights at night is one of the best parts of the season!

    Like

  2. jannatwrites says:

    That tree in the first photo looks huge (and bright!) We live in a small town, but went to a tree-lighting at a neighboring small town. It was kind of a non-event, as it was pretty much a few strands of lights in a ponderosa pine tree. They had food, though 🙂 I’m glad you were able to keep the claustrophobia in check. I don’t do well in crowds at all (I even had an episode at my younger son’s concert last week.)

    Like

    • joannesisco says:

      That poor tree at City Hall didn’t have an inch without a light on it … and yes, it is HUGE!

      My fear of crowds is the thought in the back of my mind that if anything goes wrong, people will get trampled and killed in the panic … like being pulled underwater by the weight of your clothes. That feeling of drowning is always there on the edge.

      Like

  3. NancyTex says:

    Wow, do you and your eldest brother look alike!!

    Like

  4. These are great photos! Christmas is a time to remember our childhoods isn’t it? Toronto does do itself proud with the city hall light display.

    Like

    • joannesisco says:

      I think the lights have to be my favourite part of the season. I remember as a kid the magic of the lights on the tree. In our house, it seemed we had strict rules on when and how long the lights could be on. In contrast, now I can happily have them on all day when it’s gloomy outside and no one can tell me otherwise 🙂

      Like

  5. Grace says:

    I watched the fireworks from the roof of my building. It was beautiful. I can’t imagine how exciting it must’ve been to have been so close to the action as you were!

    Like

  6. Capturing a few twinkles here….wonderful pix (do love those Father Christmases) and the grandmother shot made me laugh. A good Christmas post!

    Like

  7. Love those quirky-looking Santas 🙂

    Like

  8. Beautiful post and lovely photos. Christmas is wonderful for relieving happy family memories. It must be fun to have the lights on in the dark. We have to wait until nearly 9:30pm now before it’s dark enough to see them twinkling.

    Like

  9. I was out late on Friday night and, coming home, suddenly noticed all the Christmas lights on people’s houses. It’s a bit hard when it doesn’t get dark until after nine o’clock but they do look pretty if you’re out late enough.

    I love the Father Christmas on the left who seems to be saying, “Really? You’re gonna make me wear this garb again? Sheesh.” 😀

    Like

  10. Lynn says:

    Oh Joanne, the photo with your grandmother is absolutely priceless! What a hoot!

    Like

  11. NotAPunkRocker says:

    Wonderful pictures! Very festive 🙂

    Like

  12. Mrs. P says:

    I love your decorations, especially the ribbon wrapped arounf Father Christmas’. How wonderful to have such a beautiful keepsake of your grandparents.

    I married Scrooge. 😦 Decorations are minimal…but even Scrooge couldn’t resist my Christmas cookies after smelling them all morning. 🙂 We do enjoy going to St Augustine to see the Festival of Lights when the whole town is lit up… 🙂

    Like

  13. I used to be terrified of Toronto. Now I’m just mildly paralyzed by the trip to the town. But it is a magnificent place. I’m glad you had a chance to see the lights and share them with us.

    I love your Grandma in the family photo.

    Speaking of the theme of the post, would it be safe to say that you were just a twinkle in your papa’s eye? 😉

    Like

  14. beeblu says:

    Love your collection of Father Christmas statues and the backstory on your grandmother. 😀

    Like

  15. I like you Wise Men with the ribbon rolled that way. Attractive. I’m a sucker for old pictures and stories of Christmases past. Thank you for sharing. I believe I’d like your Nonna. ❤

    Like

  16. la_lasciata says:

    YOU HAD A NONNO AND A NONNA !!!!! Beata te, JS !!!! – you lucky thing ! 😀
    Your decorations are bee-yoo-ti-ful !

    Like

  17. I like the Father Christmas on the left…he looks like an old man of the woods type fella xx

    Like

  18. Sue Slaght says:

    Joanne the fist two photos have such creative perspective! The one of your Grandma with her Vermouth bottle is priceless. ! Love it.

    Like

  19. Love your twinkle post. Especially the twinkle in the eyes of the children.

    Like

  20. These are all lovely! I like your subdued Father Christmas decorations. It doesn’t have to be all lights; very cool and vintagey, much like the picture of your grandmother and siblings.

    Like

  21. bulldog says:

    Joanne your post has brought cheer to me… we have no decorations this year as we are not at home but in the Kalahari… it some how doesn’t feel like Christmas is just around the corner. … but I suppose when we get to son’s house with all the decorations and tree we will get the feeling. … I love you statues and the photo from yesteryear is very special. .. I love it

    Like

Leave a Reply

