Reading Until The Early Hours

Like most of you, I’ve had a long love affair with reading … books, magazines, newspapers, cereal boxes … it’s a compulsion.

My days are usually pretty busy, so I rarely get a chance to sit down and read purely for pleasure.  To compensate, my night time ritual for years has been to read for at least 20 or 30 minutes before I go to bed.  It’s not a lot, but it’s precious decompression time that helps me unwind and go to sleep …. most of the time.

Every once in a while a book will actually wind me up and I can’t go to sleep.  It might be the characters or the story line – or both – but I can’t shut it down when I turn out the lights. The characters won’t stop talking to me, causing me to toss and turn until I inevitably get up and continue reading.

Last night was one of THOSE nights.

The lovely and funny Lorna Lee has entertained me with her blog “Lorna’s Voice” for some time and I finally bought both her books – How Was I Supposed to Know? and Never Turn Back.  Over the past few weeks, I’ve read both of them – finishing the second book in the wee hours of this morning.  In fact, Lorna has caused me more than a few sleepless nights since neither of her books would give me rest.

How Was I Supposed to Know? is a memoir of Lorna’s life.  Her writing has a very intimate and engaging conversational style.  She shares her very bumpy journey of self-discovery and overcoming huge personal obstacles … from alcoholism and debilitating illness to relationship chaos.  Her dramatic story is told with blunt honesty and a healthy dose of her trademark humour.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Never Turn Back is a fictional story based on the real events in her maternal grandmother’s life – leaving Finland as a young adult, surviving in Nazi-occupied Paris, and subsequently immigrating to the US.  Armed with only snippets of stories from her grandmother, Lorna weaved a fictional tale to link together the known pieces of her grandmother’s life.  This is a serious read told with the gravity the subject matter deserves, but Lorna’s easy writing style continued to pull me along page after page.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

I’ve never written a book review before now, but I enjoy Lorna’s blog and both of her books delivered to my high expectations.  The dark circles under my eyes today provide evidence of my enjoyment.

Tonight, I look forward to a good night’s sleep!

About Joanne Sisco

Retired but not idle. Life is an adventure - I plan to continue to embrace it.
This entry was posted in Random Stuff and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

40 Responses to Reading Until The Early Hours

  1. Zambian Lady says:

    I also enjoy reading in preparation for sleep and have the same dilemma of not wanting to put down an interesting book until I have finished it. I get restless until I have finished reading it. Ah, what a pleasure to have good books.

    Like

  2. So much good stuff to read. So little time. Popped over to Lorna’s page and am now following her. Thanks for the tip off.
    Happy New Year Joanne!

    Like

  3. jannatwrites says:

    How fun to find books that capture your interest like that! I know better than to read before bed… I’ve tried that and had nights where sleep didn’t happen. I’m getting too old for that, haha!

    Liked by 1 person

    • joannesisco says:

      Thanks Janna … a good book seems to capture my attention and imagination in a way a movie can’t. I have fallen asleep trying to watch a good movie but never a good book 🙂

      Like

  4. bulldog says:

    I enjoyed Lorna’s book … hope you’re going to enjoy mine when it comes out early next year….

    Like

  5. Wow, they sound fabulous! I’ve had a couple of books that’ve done that to me-I end up absolutely worshiping them and secretly hating them lol xx

    Like

    • joannesisco says:

      I KNOW!! It is a love-hate relationship!!

      I confess that in my younger years I’ve spent entire nights reading and then called in sick to work in the morning.
      I’m not proud of that … but really good stories can be evil task masters sometimes 😉

      Liked by 1 person

  6. Phil Taylor says:

    That’s awesome. I love when a book is good enough to make me look forward to going to bed and good enough to keep me awake. I’m following Lorna’s blog now. Thanks Joanne!

    Like

  7. It seems, Joanne, we have the same passions for reading material, and the same time slot dedicated for it (although my bathroom library is requiring more of a commitment each day). I hope with the last couple days of the holidays you’ll find a few extra minutes to slip in a quick kip and an extra chapter.
    Happy New Year!
    PS – checked out Lorna’s blog and I believe I’m hooked. Many thanks for the review and the link.

    Like

    • joannesisco says:

      I’m so glad you visited Lorna’s blog 🙂

      I confess I like to hide in a hot tub of water with a book or magazine. Problem is .. I have a tendency to get them wet and I completed destroyed a book once when I dropped it in the water. It tripled in size when it dried. That will teach me for taking John Lennon into the tub with me 😉

      Like

  8. Sue Slaght says:

    These sound like wonderful reads Joanne. One can get very caught up late at night….as I look at the clock here at my bedside. 🙂

    Like

  9. treerabold says:

    You have peaked my interest with your review…I will be looking up Lorna’s Voice and her books.

    Like

  10. NotAPunkRocker says:

    Glad you enjoyed the book. Get some rest so you can be ready for the next one! 🙂

    Like

  11. ChristineR says:

    I’ve taken to sometimes reading on the laptop – after going to bed, not before – instead of a library book. I usually read about an hour or until my eyes begin closing. Sometimes I just have to read until the book is done, no matter the time. Mr R, who doesn’t do fiction, just cannot understand that compulsion, since the book will still be there tomorrow! I wouldn’t have guessed that these are your first book reviews, Joanne. Nicely done.

    Like

    • joannesisco says:

      Thanks Christine 🙂 Since Gilles and I don’t share the same interest in books, I don’t usually have someone to discuss a book while and after I read it.

      I don’t know why the characters in some books simply won’t be quiet in my head after I close the book 🙂

      Like

  12. Great book reviews, Joanne.
    I’d love to read for 20 or 30 minutes after I go to bed but these days I seem to manage about 2-3 minutes before the book drops out of my hand, no matter how compelling. I did, however, take some afternoon time the other day to finish a book that the Eldest Son has been hassling me for weeks to have next. I love holidays. 🙂

    Like

    • joannesisco says:

      I’ve had those nights too … 2 pages and my eyes are crossing 🙂
      For us the holidays have often resulted in a vegetative state watching marathon TV. This year #2 son was home for 3 days and we ended up hooked on Harry Potter movies. Although I’ve read all the books, I had not seen the movies and quite enjoyed the quiet time 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

  13. Joanne, I just read yesterday that reading before bed is an excellent method of decompression unless you’re reading on a e-reader or Kindle. Something about how the light from the screen activates our brain. I am sooo behind in my own reading and it’s somewhat on my mind to really attack my own book pile which, as you can see, is not exactly happening at the moment. Very nicely done book reviews.

    Like

  14. Sammy D. says:

    Joanne – this is perfect!!! A fresh blog and a couple of good books. No better way to ring in the New Year. My problem is putting the book down after 20-30 minutes; during the day I don’t sit still, but at night I don’t want to put the book down!! Mis timing all the way ’round!

    Thanks for recommendations and Happy New Year 😊

    Like

  15. Mrs. P says:

    You brought back fond memories of how I spent many years reading a book just before the close of day. I miss that routine.

    What a wonderful compliment…an author’s story was so good you didn’t want to put it down!

    Liked by 1 person

  16. ima_soulman says:

    Thanks much. Gonna check those books out. Wishing you many peaceful nights in the new year.

    Like

  17. Yes, I try to snatch those 20
    Or 30 minutes before I go to bed too, and if my children interrupt me, so help them!!! The book sounds intriguing. Great review and support of a fellow blogger and author.

    Like

Leave a Reply

