All Well And Furry

I’ve decided that my last blog post of the year will be about my furry baby, Theo.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

When last I mentioned him in November, Theo had been sick for some time and getting worse.  After spending too much money on diagnostics with still no definitive answers and unable to spend even more, we came to the unhappy conclusion that – at the tender age of only 6 years old – he had some kind of tumour or blockage and was dying.

By early December, Theo had lost 20% of his body weight and ate very little.

Two weeks before Christmas, Theo managed to throw up a long piece of string.  Shortly afterwards, 4 large fur balls followed.  Overnight he became like a new cat again.

I can’t imagine how sad my Christmas would have been – not to mention the thought of a new year – if I hadn’t been handed this miracle.  Now, instead of crying every day, I’m back to laughing every day because of something he’s done.

So I’m going to end this year by repeating from one of my first blog posts in 2013.

Life Lessons I’ve Learned From My Cat

1. The more affection you give, the more you get back in return.

2. Eat when you’re hungry.  Stop eating when you’re not.

3. Naps are good.  Stretching after a nap is also really good.

DSC00809

4. Patience really is a virtue.  You can learn a lot by listening and watching.  Whether or not you choose to do something with that information is a different matter.

5. Curiosity is great but sometimes it can get you into trouble.  Recognize when the risks are too high and simply walk away.

DSC00598

6. Sometimes we don’t recognize when someone is trying to help us.  We may hiss or bite the helping hand out of anger or fear.

7. Inside our adult body is a child who needs to play.  Let him/her out once in while.

8. Seeing the world through only a window (TV/computer screen) may be “safe” but it’s not “living”.  We are meant to touch, feel, and explore our world.  To do that we need to step outside.

DSC00797

Thank you for making me a part of your blogging community.   This past year has been an amazing experience and I’m ending the year with so many wonderful new friends.

Happy New Year!!

About Joanne Sisco

Retired but not idle. Life is an adventure - I plan to continue to embrace it.
This entry was posted in Family, Random Stuff and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

81 Responses to All Well And Furry

  1. Rebekah M says:

    Awww … what a terrible time that must have been … I can only imagine! Glad it all was sorted out.

    Yesterday, I asked you what your header image was … and tonight I saw the same place on TV 🙂

    Like

  2. I saw you over on Andrew’s site and clicked on your handle. Gee I’m so glad that you cat barfed up the dang string and all those fur balls- just in time to be saved from the grim reaper. Miracles do happen after all. He is a very handsome cat and I hope by now that he has gained most of his weight so that he is completely healthy.

    I just randomly picked a couple of posts to read and I like cats. 🙂

    Like

  3. I am so glad he recovered. String and fur balls – you wouldn’t have guessed it. Love the life lessons. Can learn from each one. I’m going to focus on stop eating when you are no longer hungry. Hope your 2015 is great Joanne.

    Like

  4. treerabold says:

    What a handsome young man Theo is. I’m so glad he is doing better. It is so hard to watch our furry children suffer and not be able to tell us what is happening.
    I really like the lessons you’ve listed….each is quite useful!
    Happy New Year Joanne!

    Like

  5. stvrsnbrgr says:

    Nice save, Theo! Happy ’15 to your people.

    Like

  6. What a great Christmas present for you Joanne – some thrown-up string and four fur balls! Happy New Year to you!

    Like

  7. Joanne, what a sweetheart Theo is! And the lessons you’ve learned are priceless! Thanks for all your great posts this year. Wishing you … and Theo … a wonderful New Year! 🙂 ~Terri

    Like

    • joannesisco says:

      Thanks Terri! Theo is a rather special little guy … funny how an animal can touch our lives like that 🙂

      Looking forward to more of your wonderful photos and adventures ahead 🙂

      Like

  8. Phil Taylor says:

    This post is the first time I’ve heard anyone refer to cat vomit as a miracle. I’ll keep that in mind as my little guy, Brady, tends to try to eat a lot of stuff he shouldn’t. Happy New Year Joanne!

    Like

  9. jannatwrites says:

    Oh, I’m so happy he’s better! And, I’m glad you posted this from last year – I didn’t “know” you then 🙂 Hope you have a happy new year!

    Like

  10. Love your cat pictures….Love the lessons you wrote. They make good sense. Happy New Year friend..

    Liked by 1 person

  11. la_lasciata says:

    That’s right up there amongst my favourite posts, Joanne !!!! Even putting aside the wonderful Good News aspect of Theo’s being given back to you through the simple expedient of throwing up (!), your lessons learned are simply marvellous.
    Bloody MARVELLOUS !!!!

    Like

  12. Pixie says:

    I’m so happy for you and for Theo, now 2015 can start with a smile! What happened to Theo is why I tell my kiddos all the time that they need to keep things like strings and rubberbands and stuff picked up, our cats will eat anything. I’m very glad he recovered. Our furry friends are so important!

    Like

    • joannesisco says:

      I know Theo has a passion for elastic bands so I’m really careful about picking them up whenever I see one. The string has had me rather baffled … it’s not really his style.

      At any rate, he’s currently acting like a kitten again – bouncy and full of energy. I’ll glad to have him back to good health!!

      Liked by 1 person

  13. LB says:

    So very glad you’ll be able to start 2015 with a big smile on your face. Really great news! Phew!!!
    I very much enjoyed your life lessons. Very Clever and fitting for both human and cat.
    May you have more blessings and happiness in the coming year, Joanne!

    Like

  14. HURRAAAAH!!!!!! Delighted to hear this great news 🙂 🙂 🙂
    What are you doing feeding him string?!?! Never heard of prawns????

    Like

  15. terryb says:

    So glad Theo is OK! What an excellent Christmas present! Now… Theo needs to make a New Years resolution and go on a string free diet…
    I love the lessons learned. Very wise indeed.
    Happy new Year!

    Like

  16. Sammy D. says:

    Holy hairball, Theo !!!! No wonder Joanne has been so quiet lately. That is truly a remarkable recovery and certainly you need to give Theo a new rule for 2015: DON’T EAT THE STRING!!!

    Now I know you will have a big smile on your face to ring in the new year.

    Like

    • joannesisco says:

      Holy Hairball indeed!!

      Thanks Sammy. You know how sometimes we fear the worst but pray for the best? … I’m always totally blown away when the best actually happens. I believe in miracles … I’ve been the lucky recipient of a few in my life 🙂

      I hope you have lots of laughter and joy in the new year!!

      Like

  17. bulldog says:

    The lessons we learn from those around us….. amazing…. so glad to hear all is now well with your pet…

    Like

  18. Wonderful news, Joanne! Very happy for you both!

    Like

  19. Woolly Muses says:

    Glad to hear that Theo is okay now. And I love the life lessons…so true. Have a Happy New Year

    Like

  20. Joanne, my Canadian blogging buddy. I am so grateful to know you. Here’s to 2015.

    “Seeing the world through only a window (TV/computer screen) may be “safe” but it’s not “living”. We are meant to touch, feel, and explore our world. To do that we need to step outside.”

    Amen.

    Like

  21. Mrs. P says:

    I am so happy to hear that your cat’s problem has been resolved. We went through something similar with our can but sadly did not have the same outcome. I think your cat worked really hard to show you he was trying to get better for you…what a sweet cat you have.

    I love your lessons learned…bravo…I adree with them all! 😀

    Like

    • joannesisco says:

      So sad that your cat didn’t make it. In hindsight, I think Theo had that string in his stomach for some time before his liver function started to deteriorate and caused his first trip to the vet.

      Thank you for your kind comments 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

  22. Sue Slaght says:

    Joanne this is fantastic…both the post and the fact that he solved the issue himself. Our Bichon Shitsu once ate a 28 inch rope. Apparently our life similarities continue on and on.

    Like

  23. Leo is asleep on the couch next to me and I just had to go and give him a cuddle. So happy that Theo is on the mend. (Leo and Theo! Rhyming cats! Yeah, small things amuse me…) One day, someone will invent an app so you can hold your smartphone up to a cat (or dog or baby) and it will translate what they are thinking. Wouldn’t life be so much easier?
    Looking forward to more fun and games with you next year, Joanne!

    Like

    • joannesisco says:

      hahahahaha … Leo and Theo!! That’s cute 🙂

      There are times I would LOVE to know what’s going on in his little head. Having said that, I’m rather impressed with how well he communicates what exactly he wants.
      … and yes, I’m one of those cat servants who answers Theo’s meows 😉

      Liked by 1 person

  24. So glad it’s all turned out well for your furry family member. Great list of life lessons and look forward to following you in 2015!

    Like

  25. Heyjude says:

    So glad he is on the way to recovery, it’s amazing how these creatures get under our skin and become part of the family. Wishing you a great 2015 Jo.
    Jude xx

    Like

  26. ima_soulman says:

    Heartfelt post and although im not much of an animal lover, one has made a didference in my life.
    http://onehappyhapa.com/2014/12/21/tita/

    Liked by 1 person

  27. Diana says:

    Wow, I’m so glad to hear that he’s ok now! What a lovely gift from the universe this holiday season.

    Like

  28. Oh, just the very best news. I’ve been wondering how things were going with Theo but figured no news is good news. And I was a bit hesitant to ask, so thank you for this marvelous news. And I should be thanking YOU for being part of my blogging community. You are a bright light that I’m always happy to see on my Reader. Happy New Year, Joanne! And Theo. Oh yes, Mr. Science too.

    Like

    • joannesisco says:

      Oh Barbara – I never imagined how interesting and funny and caring and supportive this blogging community could be!!

      I’m thrilled to have met you and it’s always a treat to see a post or comment from you.

      Happy New Year to you and yours. Looking forward to more adventures and laughs in the year ahead! 🙂

      Like

  29. Lynn says:

    So glad to hear Theo is returning to the healthy kitten he is meant to be. There is no greater gift we can receive than to know that our loved ones are happy & healthy. All the best Joanne!

    Like

  30. So glad your furry boy is ok! We have two ancient pussy cats who are more family than pet so I so relate to you. Love the lessons that cats teach us. I often look at our boy and girl and the big stretches they do after sleeping. They do teach us lots about life and make our life so much sweeter (and hairier). Lovely post. Happy New Year x

    Like

    • joannesisco says:

      LOL – I can definitely relate to all the hair everywhere. We routinely extract miniTheo’s out of the vacuum cleaner canister 🙂

      Until Theo became part of our lives 3 years ago, I didn’t understand this member-of-the-family mentality. Now I do. They really do become our fur-babies and the thought of losing Theo so young was devastating.

      I like the idea of coming back in my next life as a pampered cat 😉

      Like

      • OMG Joanne, I tell my children I’m coming back as an old lady’s cat so I can sleep a lot and do all the fun cat things you wrote about! And as far as cat hair goes, I went snorkelling on the Great Barrier Reef this year…after getting out of the water, removing my stinger suit I found a cat hair on my bikini! My children say that cat hair is a sign of love. There are signs of love everywhere in this house despite being an OCD vacuumer 🙂

        Like

        • joannesisco says:

          I like that thought – cat hair is a sign of love 🙂

          I’m so jealous of your snorkelling on the Great Barrier Reef!! I would love dearly to go back.
          We spent 3 days on a boat scuba diving on the GBR a number of years ago. In spite of the seasickness (which magically disappears when you go underwater), it was one of the biggest highlights of my life!

          Liked by 1 person

  31. NancyTex says:

    I was already reaching for the tissues a couple of sentences in (…and I don’t even LIKE cats!). THANK HEAVENS Theo is okay (and my tissues are still dry).

    Like

  32. I’m so glad he’s feeling better. Funny how you can judge a life threatening disease on what could very well be a bad case of indigestion!! So nice to have met you this year Joanne!

    Like

    • joannesisco says:

      In Theo’s case, his indigestion lasted over 2 months. I can laugh now … ok, no. I’m still not ready … the Drama Queen is still in the house 😉

      I thank Phil for introducing me to your blog. I’m so glad to have discovered your wonderful world of rhyming 🙂

      Like

      • Oh yes, not doubt it was a pretty scary case to have worried you so badly. I’m surprised it was not diagnosed sooner!

        Same her Joanne! I look forward to reading more of your blogs in the coming year!

        Like

  33. Oh my word!! So he’s okay?! Wow, how fantastic!!

    Happy new year to you missus xxx

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

