Hail The “New”

Many people are uncomfortable with change and ‘newness’ … I’m not one of them.  I know I’m ready for a shake-up when I start to feel restless, which has been exactly my mood for the past month.

I tend to set goals throughout the year, but during this most recent restless period, I created a new plan … a goal to try at least 52 new things in the coming year.  I’m excited by the prospect of all the new possibilities.

Among other things, I wanted to shake-up my fitness regime.  I spent a year focused primarily on running and decided I needed a new challenge.  I joined a new gym, which opened recently nearby, and started attending classes in yoga and doing strength training.

I should be clear that I really detest resistance and core work, but I also know that I need it.  As I’m barrelling down approaching my 6th decade, building and retaining strong muscle mass is important.

So in my enthusiasm to try new things, I completely destroyed my arms earlier this week, using a mere 5 lb weight, in a Body Sculpting class.  Then yesterday, when I could finally dress myself and brush my hair without contorting my entire body, I killed my legs doing squats. Today I walk with a stiff and wobbly gait.  Apparently I need this new challenge more than I thought.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Meanwhile, during this first weekend of the New Year, we are currently being blanketed in new snow. It’s preventing me from my planned task today to collect paint samples for my next project … repainting the kitchen and family room.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

It really is as grey and bleak as it looks outside – at 2 pm in the afternoon.

Major renovations do not taunt this couple – but selecting a paint colour can send us into a spiral of argument and indecision for weeks, and even months.  Husband doesn’t know yet that I plan to disrupt the status quo, and it’s not likely to be pretty when I break the news. Nothing strikes terror in his heart faster than when I announce I want to paint something.

Then a short while ago, I discovered we have a new house guest … in the form of a small rodent who moved in looking for a warm place to spend the winter.  Actually to be more accurate, Theo made the discovery.

With Theo back in form with new-found energy, I guessed something was amiss by his skulking around corners and behind furniture.  Normally he spends his afternoons napping – but not today.

With a sudden flurry of activity, Theo came bounding out from behind the sofa with a mouse in his mouth.  That’s when the chaos started … for in true cat style, Theo wasn’t content with simply catching it.  He wanted to play with it.  I was chasing Theo, who was catching and releasing the mouse, from room to room, before it escaped underneath the refridgerator.

Now a new game of mouse stalking has begun.  I don’t know how long this stand-off at the refridgerator will last.  Even worse, I don’t know what we’ll do with a mouse in the dead of winter when we finally manage to get it away from Theo – assuming we do.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

So this now has me thinking that I should be careful what I ask for … because it’s possible that too much newness might be more than I can handle.

This post was inspired by the DP Weekly Photo Challenge: New.

 

About Joanne Sisco

Retired but not idle. Life is an adventure - I plan to continue to embrace it.
This entry was posted in Photo Challenges, Random Stuff and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

95 Responses to Hail The “New”

  1. Pingback: THE THING ABOUT JOANNE IS….. | A.PROMPTreply

  2. Good for you! So many people are hesitant or downright afraid to try new things. I think the formula to staying young (mind, body, and spirit) is to keep challenging yourself by introducing new things into your life. Here’s to your new life! 🙂

    Like

  3. Pixie says:

    Being on the edge of a wheat field, we have mice all the time! Last week our two cats had a fight over who got to keep the catch. Lol..neither won, my brave daughter got the kitchen gloves and removed the little corpse while her older sister and I stood watching from the dinner tabletop.
    I admire your resolve to try new things, starting a new workout routine, challenging yourself to face the ‘come-what-may’ to experience your life lived full 😉 Kudos!!

    Like

  4. treerabold says:

    By the way, I’m really glad I’m not the only one that has a difficult time dressing myself after a good workout!!

    Like

  5. treerabold says:

    What a great idea….52 new things! Of course i’m sure you would rather be in control of which new things you get to try….like, let’s not have a NEW houseguest!!

    Like

  6. LB says:

    I’m envious of your snow (I know, I know …) but am impressed with all of your newness.
    I had to chuckle over your sorenes after your new workouts. I like to joke that I have an overblown perception that I am in shape … and then am quite suprised when I am so sore after a work out. I definitely need to do better!
    I’ll look to you for inspiration (don’t let me down now – hee hee!)

    Like

    • joannesisco says:

      I think we are all in the same boat …. try something new that’s physical in nature and the body cries afterwards. At least I didn’t humiliate myself in the 2nd session of weights training yesterday 🙂

      I will do my best to find new and interesting things to do all year 😉

      Like

  7. 52 new things? Hot diggidy! I love your can do attitude. It’s marvelously inspiring, Joanne. Fingers are crossed there’s an accompanying post for many of them. And just hearing about your determined efforts to reawaken a few muscles that may have been resisting participation is motivating as well. I shall throw in a couple of push ups on your behalf before I hit the hay tonight.
    And speaking of sleeping, I’m guessing that poor little squeaker is in for a few rough nights with Theo on patrol.
    Happy Newness Year to you!

    Like

  8. I thought all old people (older than, let’s say, 45) walk with a stiff and wobbly gait. So you’d fit right in, no? 😉

    Like

    • joannesisco says:

      Sadly, it’s kind of true.

      … but I am an endurance athlete, so I’m pretty sure I could shuffle and wobble along for a VERY long time – like the Energizer Bunny except with smaller ears and feet 😉

      Like

  9. Megz says:

    One of the “new” things Bryan and I are doing is playing racketball. The last time I played I was in college 15 years ago. I had a foolish thought that coming back to it wouldn’t be all that hard. It took a good 4 days for my arm to stop being useless…

    Looking forward to hearing more about your 52 “new” endeavors

    Like

    • joannesisco says:

      Funny you should mention racketball. The new gym I joined has squash courts … apparently everything old is new again.
      Like you, I haven’t played squash in a million years and I’ve been eyeing the courts everytime I go in.
      Thanks for the warning about the post-game lurched gorilla arm 🙂

      Like

  10. la_lasciata says:

    Quite delightful, JS ! 🙂 – ‘specially because it has the gorgeous and recently trim again Theo !!!

    Like

  11. What an inspired ‘new’ post Joanne. Good luck with your self-imposed challenge(s). Oh yes, they’re called resolutions!
    I’m pleased to see Theo is looking perky!

    Like

  12. i love your blog.. read it daily…i may not comment but you are a fave of mine 🙂

    Like

    • joannesisco says:

      awww thanks. That’s really nice of you to tell me. I really appreciate it. Consider yourself hugged 🙂

      I would have to admit the same about yours. I’m in total awe of what you have achieved!! …. not to mention your kickass shoes 😉

      Liked by 1 person

  13. stvrsnbrgr says:

    Your picture of Theo trying to levitate the fridge is a classic! Though what a nightmare scenario for the mouse, eh? Maybe they’re just playing hide ‘n seek. Cheers Joanne.

    Like

  14. Haha I’m doing exactly the same thing right now with the redecorating and ‘exercise’ 😉 xx

    Like

  15. Uhm… once you turn 60, you’ll be in your 7th decade…

    Has he got that mouse yet???

    Like

  16. Happy New Year, Joanne. Sounds like you’re in for an exciting year. Hope you’ll share your 52 new things with us along the way.
    A new visitor for the winter, you say? I don’t like mice. They make a mess. Phew!
    BTW, Theo is a handsome fur-ball. He’s doing his job: earning his keep. 😀 😀 😀

    Like

    • joannesisco says:

      Happy New Year to you too, Tess! We certainly seem to be off to an interesting start for this new year if the past 3 days have been any indication 🙂

      I’m not a huge fan of mice either … especially in my house. This is the first time Theo has caught one in the house – usually he catches them outside and then wants to bring them in.

      Theo is a good looking guy and has the nicest personality of a cat I’ve ever seen. Although he came to us by accident rather than design, he’s brought us endless affection and entertainment 🙂

      Like

      • How long have you had Theo?

        I’ve been thinking about a second cat for a few months. Hope to hear about one someone gave their son, but then found out he’s allergic. Cats are awesome–every single one I’ve had over the past 30+ years. 😀

        Like

        • joannesisco says:

          I’ve had Theo for 3 years – my first pet in over 30 years. He was actually my son’s cat, but then he started to develop major behavioural problems living in a small condo.
          I ended up adopting him when he was 3 years old. I instinctively felt he wasn’t a bad cat – just unhappy – and I was right. He’s the sweetest animal … but would be extremely upset by the introduction of another animal. He’s very much an alpha male.

          Like

  17. Mrs. P says:

    As soon as you said “mouse” I thought of our cat chasing one under the fridge. It seems that mice must have radar for safe places…and “get under the refrigerator” must be intuitive. The last picture of Theo is a very familiar one. So happy to see him playing and excited!

    Like

    • joannesisco says:

      Unfortunately for this little guy, he didn’t make it under the fridge fast enough. He appears to have died under there and now we have to pull out the fridge to get his body out.
      Pulling out the fridge never seems to be an easy job and one that Husband doesn’t like.
      Never a dull moment with a pet in the house 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

  18. bulldog says:

    I have two fox terriers that are great at catching mice and rats… can’t have a cat Linda is allergic to them… but the dogs don’t play with them so there is never anything to rescue, always just a body to dispose of… I have decided to walk more this year and presently clip off 10 – 12 km almost daily… found it hard at first, but now so much easier… gets the camera out there and the games have begun…

    Like

    • joannesisco says:

      I wish cats didn’t have the need to play with their prey. Eventually the poor thing dies of shock or a heart attack … which this little mouse appears to have done under our fridge.
      We will have to pull it out today 😦

      Walking 10’ish km a day is excellent … with the added bonus of countless photo opportunties. Indeed, the games have begun!!

      Like

  19. jannatwrites says:

    I wish I could embrace new with the enthusiasm you have! The cat and mouse game… that could make for a fun winter in your house 🙂

    Like

    • joannesisco says:

      Yes – where there is one mouse, there will be more … and I had thought Theo had become a complacent and pampered cat. Apparently the thrill of the hunt hasn’t died 🙂

      Said mouse appears to have died under the fridge … for it hasn’t moved since yesterday … and now we have to pull out the fridge to get rid of it. Never a dull moment :/

      Like

  20. Wow…you are doing things by halves are you?! Most impressive goal, that 52-weeks of newness! I look forward to your posts!

    Liked by 1 person

  21. Heyjude says:

    Such a lot of new things happening in you life Jo. I admire your energy! And I am looking forward to seeing and sharing the 52 new things this year – but I shall pass on the gym. I hate gyms.

    Liked by 1 person

  22. Theo (and how awesome it is to see him looking hale and hearty) looks exactly like Max when he senses a mouse in the house which is almost old hat around here. Old house in the country = mice! It amazes me how patiently they can sit…..poised to pounce…..but eventually Max breaks down into a yipping little frenzy. Ahhhh, country life.

    Congratulations on the new fitness regime. I know what you mean by heading towards 60 and wanting to keep in shape. I just turned 58, are we close? Anyway, my “new” thing is sitting on my wrist in the form of a fitbit. Have you tried one of those?

    Paint colors. What a nightmare. Why does the paint never, ever come close to the swatch? I swear the paint manufacturers are all practical jokers!

    Cheers to an awesome new year!! Loved this first post of the New Year, Joanne.

    Liked by 1 person

    • joannesisco says:

      Thanks Barbara – cheers to you too!

      I had a Fitbit – the little one that clipped to your belt. Unfortunately it went through the washing machine a few times too many and finally died. I’ve been considering getting a new one, but ….

      You and I are the same vintage. I’ll be turning 59 in a few months. I plan to keep “moving” as much as I can, for as long as I can … likely with my body groaning all the way 😉

      Like

      • Just want you to know that every single muscle in my body is screaming at me this morning. OMG. I can’t believe how out of shape I am. Carry on!

        Like

        • joannesisco says:

          I can’t help but laugh because there are so many of us in the same boat right now. The challenge will be to keep at it through this stage.
          I’m supposed to try and run today on these angry stiff stumps I have for legs. It’s not going to be pretty :/

          Like

  23. Lynn says:

    What a fun & challenging goal Joanne! It seems whenever we introduce a new form of exercise, we are reminded of parts of our bodies we never knew we had! Just your muscles giving you a little gratitude for using them!

    Theo is too funny standing patiently in front of the fridge. Just waiting for the big pounce!

    Liked by 1 person

    • joannesisco says:

      I don’t know about the gratitude part … there’s a lot of complaining going on 😉

      I’m looking forward to finding 52 new and hopefully interesting things to try. It’ll be fun!! 🙂

      I can’t look at the picture of Theo without laughing. He sat there for a very long time before he decided it was time to take a nap!

      Like

  24. Where to even start? Oh yes, when I lived in NYC, mice are so prevalent, it was pretty much the reason behind getting a cat in the first place. We mistakenly thought they would catch the rodents and then neatly dispose of their bodies. Ha! They love to play with the mice. Then you have to dispose of the body!!

    I think core training is really the best for over all body training. I like pilates personally.

    Can’t wait to hear about all the new things happening in the new year. Hope they will all be for the best!

    Like

    • joannesisco says:

      I’ve started to create a high level list of some of the new things I’d like to do this year. Places to visit, recipes to try, courses to take … it’ll be interesting 🙂

      I always had the same thought about cats ‘guarding’ the house. I’ve learned in fact they contribute to the problem. Theo catches mice outside in the summer and then tries to bring them indoors to play. We have to be careful before we let him in to make sure he’s ‘alone’. This is the first time he’s caught one inside.

      Core work is so important and mine has improved a lot over the years … but I still have a long way to go!

      Like

  25. NancyTex says:

    OMG, that pic of Theo slays me! Fantastic!

    I feel your DOMS pain as I’ve been more focused on strength than cardio since the calf injury. My quads are SCREAMING from too many squats and lunges.

    Liked by 1 person

  26. Zambian Lady says:

    I hope there is no nest of mice in the house. Starting a new exercise regime can be brutal, but at least your body will get used if you continue. Wishing you a fit and healthy 2015.

    Liked by 1 person

    • joannesisco says:

      Unfortunately where there is one mouse, there is likely more. So far the stand-off at the refridgerator continues. Husband has used a flashlight to confirm that the mouse is still there, but he can’t reach it. The drama continues 🙂

      Like

  27. bikerchick57 says:

    Keep going with the weight workouts. I could barely walk for two days after I attended my first weight class over a decade ago. It gets better – keep going because you will need those muscles to chase down Theo and wrestle the mouse away from him.

    Liked by 1 person

  28. Our farm cats are in a catch and release program: they catch mice and rabbits outside and release then inside. Lovely! I hope you find the mouse. All the best with the 52 new things – sounds like the way to keep 2015 alive and vibrant 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    • joannesisco says:

      LOL! – that’s exactly what Theo does in the summer. We have to watch him carefully to make sure he doesn’t bring anything in with him. A few times we’ve had to chase a mouse around the room and release him back outside.
      Meanwhile the mouse is still barricaded under the fridge … Husband checks periodically with a flashlight but can’t reach it.

      Like

  29. I can’t wait to hear about your 52 new things over the year. I so get that restlessness. Explains why I own multiple half-learned instruments and I am simultaneously training for a half-marathon and my first rowing regatta… Hm, speaking of which, I’d best get on my running shoes. Hope the John Wayne walk eases for you soon. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    • joannesisco says:

      Since this year has started off with a bang, it’ll be interesting to see what I get into for the rest of the year 🙂
      The hard part I’m trying to figure out right now is how to schedule all this stuff I want to do.
      … and I hope my quad muscles loosen up by tomorrow!

      Hope you had a good run and are managing to stay cool.

      Liked by 1 person

      • You need a spreadsheet. 😉

        We’ve got a couple of days respite of mid 20s before it heats up again on Wednesday. Lovely run today. And I am gratefully eyeing the not-too-hot predicted temperatures for the regatta next weekend. 🙂

        Like

        • joannesisco says:

          While your temperatures have cooled down, so have ours. We are expected -18C windchills next week. Brrr – won’t be planning anything outdoors if I can help it 🙂

          I laughed at your idea of a spreadsheet … so far I’m using the old fashioned carbon-based technology – paper and pencil 🙂

          Liked by 1 person

  30. Sammy D. says:

    Hilarious – only ‘cuz I feel your pain. Believe me, any NEW physical activity gives me 3 days of aches in muscles I never knew I had. If you didn’t hurt from your NEW gym, you’ll hurt from chasing Theo and his NEW BFF.

    How about one week of NEW – oh, look, the week is over and call it ‘good’.

    Too funny – hey look – is that a NEW paint store over there??

    Liked by 1 person

  31. Great news about Theo! Not so much regarding the mouse. Hubby tells me that where there’s one, there’s more than one. We trapped a half dozen or so, behind the kitchen counter.
    You must forgive me for giggling over my wine. The image of you chasing Theo chasing mouse has brightened this day. The only bright spot (other than this post) is the fact that the freezing rain has ended and the rain rain has begun. Wonky weather.
    Sorry to hear about the aches and pains. Hope that heals soon.

    Liked by 1 person

    • joannesisco says:

      I can forgive your giggling because I must admit I was half-laughing at the same time … it felt like such a ridiculous situation.
      … and I fear Reiner is correct. It’s highly improbable there’s only one. Can you blame them? It’s cold out there and they’re just looking for a warm and dry place to winter 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

  32. Joe says:

    You are absolutely correct Joanne, be careful what you wish for 🙂 Thats some watch cat, LOL.

    Liked by 1 person

    • joannesisco says:

      LOL – it’s so true that what we wish for isn’t necessarily what we were expecting 🙂

      … and the standoff at the fridge continues. Cats have remarkable patience … at least Theo does!

      Like

  33. Sue Slaght says:

    I am imagine the cat and mouse chaos. Oh dear that’s a bit too much newness but thank heavens Theo is now without fur balls and string and in fine hunting form. I love the 52 new ideas for the year. Can not wait to read about them.
    I’m just home from the gym. Can you open the fridge for me I can’t lift my arms. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    • joannesisco says:

      The day after you made the comment about not being able to feed yourself, I knew EXACTLY what you meant!!! I had trouble bending my arm to eat! It was brutal.
      I sympathize with you right now because I fear that will be me again after Tuesday’s workout :/

      Mouse is still under the fridge. Theo is still on guard duty. I’m in awe of his patience.

      Liked by 1 person

      • Sue Slaght says:

        Sounds like a follow up blog post in the making Joanne. Perhaps your next new thing can be wrestling a mouse from the mouth of the cat. Good kitty Theo!

        Like

        • joannesisco says:

          I’ve discovered that having a pet is like having a perpetual 2 year old in the house. It didn’t help that my legs were stiff and uncooperative as I was trying to catch him :/

          As I pursue this new strength training program over the next year, I’m sure there will be many repeat opportunities of abject humiliation in store for me.

          Liked by 1 person

  34. kanzensakura says:

    Not mention the 50 thousand shades of green!

    Liked by 1 person

  35. mihrank says:

    wow – you have such unique way to introduce your message – I consider the weapon of energy!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

