Shadows in Snow

The theme for this week’s DP Photo Challenge is “Shadowed”, which works well with the long shadows cast by the winter’s sun.  The further north you travel – at least in the Northern Hemisphere – the longer the daytime shadows become.

I’ve spent this weekend sorting and tagging old photos and I came across a few of my favourites – including these, with their deep winter shadows.

The year was 1986 and I was a young mother of a 3-month-old visiting my home town in Northern Ontario on a very cold January day.  I’m talking in the -30C territory – without a windchill. These photos were taken just after lunch time, around 1:30 pm.

1985 - with Jordan in Cochrane #3

My father’s dog, Scamp, joined us for a walk in the fresh winter air.  My young son was cocooned in several layers of warm clothing and blankets.  I don’t remember where we borrowed the little sled.

1985 - with Jordan in Cochrane #2-3

It was the kind of cold that makes the snow squeak when you walk or drive on it, and your eyes water from the brightness of the sun sparkling on the snow.  I’ve always thought of it as ‘noisy snow’ … something you become familiar with when you grow up in the north.

1985 - with Jordan in Cochrane-2

… but I always remember the long shadows that made it look like late afternoon even though it was still early in the day.  At least that’s what the clock suggested.

For more photos on the theme, visit  Shadowed.

 

About Joanne Sisco

Retired but not idle. Life is an adventure - I plan to continue to embrace it.
This entry was posted in Family, Outdoor Stuff, Photo Challenges, Random Stuff and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

58 Responses to Shadows in Snow

  1. Lovely memories and you can feel the cold and hear that noisy snow coming off those photos.

    Like

  2. Near Portland, it rarely snows. Rain is what we get. I might miss the beauty of the snow, but at least I won’t have to shovel rain!

    Like

  3. Tina says:

    Lovely memories! Thanks for sharing this window to the past, seeing 13th Ave in the dead of winter once again. I love the long winter shadows, and the snap of you and Jordan all bundled up against the cold. I do have to admit that snow crunching underfoot sets my teeth on edge, and sadly, that is not yet just a memory.

    Like

  4. beeblu says:

    I’ve stood in snow and had one ski lesson in my life (in Australia) but have never experienced what it’s like to live in a snowy climate, or snow falling. Your photos are lovely.

    Like

    • joannesisco says:

      Thank you … I’ll have to give my husband the photo credits 🙂

      You are one ski lesson ahead of me. For all the adventurous things I’ve done in my life, I’ve never been on down hill skiis … and I suspect I’m too old now to try – without risk of injury 😉

      Like

  5. I love the way your son is looking at you as if to say, “What the heck are you putting me in??” 😀

    Squeaky snow? Wow, gotta try that one day. I can offer you a squeaky beach in return, if you like. http://parkweb.vic.gov.au/explore/parks/wilsons-promontory-national-park/things-to-do/squeaky-beach

    Like

  6. Mrs. P says:

    The first one is so precious…and the last? What is that around your neck? A really long raccoon tail?

    Like

  7. Aw they’re just lovely! xx

    Like

  8. I love the photos, so lovely to look back and remember happy things. Great shadows too. I can’t imagine that sort of cold!

    Like

  9. Sammy D. says:

    Ah yes, noisy snow – heard that squeaky crunch often in my Michigan years. I am so aware of the deep south, low angle of the sun this time of year, but did not connect it to how the shadows lengthen until I read this. Great writing, Joanne, and your photos illustrate so nicely what you’ve written. I’m such a sucker for ‘young-Mom-with-baby’ inposed photos. So sweet.

    Like

  10. jannatwrites says:

    Great photos – that’s some serious bundling there. I can say that even in the cold where I’ve lived in Arizona, we haven’t bundled up that much.

    Like

  11. Lynn says:

    I can feel the cold you describe in this post Joanne. The kind where as soon as you inhale, the nose hairs freeze!

    Love the shot of you bundling up your wee son. He is looking up with you with such intensity!

    Like

  12. Mara Eastern says:

    The shadows are truly extraordinary! These are beautiful photos, it feels privileged that you shared them on your blog!

    Like

  13. Phil Taylor says:

    I know noisy snow, but I’ve never noticed the length of the shadows. I’ll have to pay attention today. Northern Ontario? Isn’t that in the Arctic Circle? Isn’t it always -30C there?

    Like

  14. bulldog says:

    Love the old photos and reminiscing…

    Like

  15. Love the way baby is peering into your face. I remember first encounter with squeaky snow one frigid winter as I walked to school in Kitchener. I was so taken by it I asked my Dad about it. I remember him explaining how it was a function of the cold. Huh. Just as if it was yesterday, as you say.

    So glad yo have these photos. You haven’t changed a bit. Is Gilles the photographer?

    Like

    • joannesisco says:

      It’s funny that I’ve never questioned the why of squeaky snow … it just ‘was’.

      I’m really glad you enjoyed my trip down memory lane. Yes – Gilles was the photographer … and I love you a little bit more for thinking I haven’t changed in 29 years 😉

      Liked by 1 person

  16. Meghan says:

    That sled looks familiar! I think there are pictures of me in it in Thunder Bay 🙂

    Like

  17. Joe says:

    These photos are so cool Joanne 😀 Great Memories.

    Like

  18. NotAPunkRocker says:

    Great pictures 🙂

    Like

  19. Sue Slaght says:

    Oh what a great trip down memory lane. Such fun to see you in those early days. Aren’t the shadows incredible?

    Like

  20. How precious these photos are now! Your baby boy looking up at you with those trusting eyes. I forgot it about until reading this post, but now I recall the squeaky snow of Massachusetts. Thanks for this glimpse into your past, Joanne.

    Like

    • joannesisco says:

      Squeaky snow means really ‘cold’ in my book!! I didn’t appreciate how cold the northeastern states got until last year’s winter from hell. It seemed everything we got, they had x2.

      Glad you enjoyed my trip down memory lane 🙂

      Like

  21. Lovely pictures and heartwarming memories. Thank you for sharing. Where d.o.e.s. the time go?
    The crunch our footfalls made on the snow are clear as yesterday for me as well. B-r-r-r. 😮 ❤

    Like

  22. NancyTex says:

    Hard to believe there was a baby under all those layers and blankets! 🙂

    Great photos. Perfect for the theme!

    Like

  23. This is so cute!! Love the fuzzy fleece snow suit and the baby in the sled. Actually the shadows are kind of amazing too. Can’t believe it was so early in the day!

    Like

  24. Kristin says:

    Wow, what beautiful photos. Absolutely lovely!! Great memories! Fun to revisit past times. XOXO

    Like

  25. Such fun, but oh so cold! Great photos, I love the shard of light near your foot in the first pic; beautiful.

    Like

  26. la_lasciata says:

    Especially that first one, Joanne – it must give you such pleasure in remembering … a young woman’s tender care for her baby … simply lovely !

    Liked by 1 person

    • joannesisco says:

      Thanks M-R. It’s funny how some photos trigger a memory so strong it was like last week. These three fall in that category even though in some ways, it feels like a lifetime ago.

      I was hopelessly over my head with this little one I didn’t have a clue what to do with. Thankfully he was so easy-going and made it easy to be a mother … and still is 🙂

      Liked by 3 people

Leave a Reply

