An Oddball In The Neighbourhood

This post was inspired by Treerabold at Conversations Around The Tree who was responding to Cee’s Oddball Photo Challenge.  She had posted photos of some very unusual landscaping using beer bottles.

This made me think of a house I encountered a few months ago on one of my ‘tours’ around the city.  A friend and I had headed down to an area of Toronto known as Lesleyville for lunch and a walk on a beautiful autumn day.

This house, known locally as the ‘Doll House’, felt a little bit more than creepy.  I can’t begin to imagine how the neighbours might feel about it.  I think I would be inclined to cross the street if I was walking by here at night.

Perhaps “Beer House” guy needs to be introduced to “Doll House” woman – for yes, we confirmed that the owner of this house was a woman.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

For more unusual and interesting photos, visit Cee’s Oddball Photo Challenge.

022714-odd-ball

About Joanne Sisco

Retired but not idle. Life is an adventure - I plan to continue to embrace it.
This entry was posted in Photo Challenges, Random Stuff and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

100 Responses to An Oddball In The Neighbourhood

  1. How did I miss this post?? Perhaps I blocked it out for fear they’d move next door – neighbour from hell for sure!

    Like

  2. I would cross the street away from it even in daylight unless I knew to expect it. I wonder why she has done that to her house?

    Like

  3. Pingback: Cee’s Weekly Wrap Up – January 24, 2015 and More Express Yourself | Cee's Photography

  4. Jay says:

    I can only imagine what the neighbours think! We have a similar situation nearby us with a house we call “the alien house” – will have to take a snap so we can compare. I feel weird about doing it, but if they don’t want to be photographed, why do it at all?

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Obsessive compulsive with a doll fetish, I’d say! Extraordinary! Great photos. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  6. I cannot imagine what it must be like to be that woman’s neighbor. Imagine trying to sell your house if you simply lived next to the doll house? UGH! Although I suppose you’d get a lot of traffic from the walkbys.
    I imagine it was worthy of seeing though. The amount of energy it must have taken to put it all together is mind-boggling.
    I’m off to check out Cee’s site. Cheers!

    Liked by 1 person

    • joannesisco says:

      No question that it was an attention getter. We stood there for a long time trying to absorb all the …. stuff.
      I came to the conclusion that selling this property will be a challenge. If it looks like this on the outside, can you imagine the inside? I’m thinking demolition might be the way to go!

      Like

  7. mickscogs says:

    Fantastic oddball. The neighbours must have some tolerance as it seems to slightly overhang in to their space. I think I could live with it if I knew it was coming down, like Christmas decos – but permanent, no way.

    Like

  8. I must admit I would be VERY UNHAPPY with my neighbors. I dislike clutter. This is my nightmare coming to life. BUT … a great photo entry for the challenge.
    Congratulations on being selected by Cee as on of her preferred photos. 😊

    Like

  9. Cee Neuner says:

    Hi Joanne, I still can’t believe this place.
    Congratulations! I have selected your post to be featured on Cee’s Odd Ball Photo Challenge!
    http://ceenphotography.com/2015/01/18/cees-odd-ball-photo-challenge-2015-week-3/
    I hope you have a terrific week.

    Liked by 1 person

  10. Pingback: Cee’s Odd Ball Photo Challenge: 2015 Week #3 | Cee's Photography

  11. LB says:

    yep. no better word.
    Creepy! WoW

    Like

  12. Holy shimolie! I can’t stand clutter Even looking at this picture made me panic!

    Like

  13. lumar1298 says:

    It’s so creepy they I like it… There’s always one that’s unusual in the neighborhood…

    Like

  14. Carter Vail says:

    Great pictures! Perfect house for Halloween, lol.

    Like

  15. Okaaaaay. It looks like someone put some stuff out for Halloween, couldn’t be bothered bringing it back in and just kept adding to it. And I’m really not sure about the torture doll on the right of the gate. :/

    Like

    • joannesisco says:

      There’s so much crap on there, I’m not sure which torture doll you’re referring to, but the doll hanging by its throat on the veranda really freaked me out. You can’t really see it in any of the photos, but it’s quite disturbing :/

      Like

  16. Good Lord! That house is way beyond creepy….were I the neighbour, I would move! Why was my first thought, ‘The people under the stairs’?

    Like

    • joannesisco says:

      Funny you should say that … my friend and I made a similar comment. This looks like the type of place where one wouldn’t be surprised to hear that bodies were found buried in the basement 😉

      Like

  17. This terrifies the crap out of me!

    Like

  18. Oh my goodness! I simply don’t have the words. I certainly wouldn’t want to live anywhere near to that, it’d scare the Bejesus out of me :O xx

    Like

  19. Thank goodness I don’t live next door…or even on that street where I’d have to see this every day. Creepy and incredibly annoying, but great oddball photos.

    janet

    Like

  20. Each to their own? Gosh, I wonder if the theme is carried on inside the house too. There was a house in the little town I lived in before I married and moved to the farm that had lots of toilets in the front yard. The loos were used like others might use garden sculptures. That was odd enough. Cute post!

    Like

    • joannesisco says:

      OMG – it never occurred to me that the inside might be a continuation of the outside … but I guess that makes total ‘sense’.

      Yeah – I don’t think I’d be thrilled with a neighbour with toilets on their front lawn either …. flowers or no flowers.

      Liked by 1 person

  21. Helen C says:

    Very odd. This reminds me of a house, in Minneapolis long time ago, that was completely covered with shoes. If all these people live on the same street, I bet it will become a tourist spot. 😉 Helen

    Like

  22. la_lasciata says:

    Savage old thing that I am, I wouldn’t tolerate that for a moment ! – that’s the kind of thing that says “I’m going to do what *I* like, and you can go to hell !”

    Like

  23. NancyTex says:

    I feel sorry for the neighbours…

    Like

  24. Sue Slaght says:

    Wow! Now that is …something. I wonder how the neighbors feel about the landscaping. 🙂

    Like

  25. I scratch my head. How is this even allowed. Surely someone would have complained long ago. I sure wouldn’t want to be on the same street, let alone next door. Tsk. Tsk.

    Thanks for my morning laugh.

    Like

  26. jannatwrites says:

    Um, that is seriously creepy – day or night! This is the sort of things that horror movies are made of. Chuckie is probably in there somewhere. {shivers}

    Like

  27. An ex refused to consider the purchase of a house in the country because, you know, biker gangs might buy the house across the road and then what would be do? I rolled my eyes at him. It’s true, though, city or country, you are completely vulnerable to the actions of your neighbours. If you asked me to choose between dollies and bikers, I’d ask if there’s a door number 3.

    Like

    • joannesisco says:

      We once lived across the street from a house that seemed to be a biker hang-out … leather, chains, smoking, drinking, loud parties ….
      Having said that, they weren’t bad neighbours 🙂

      Like

  28. Cee Neuner says:

    OMG … I’d be horrified to live next to them….although it is a perfect place for odd balls. Love it 🙂

    Like

  29. Kristin says:

    Wow, this is a very interesting post and house!! I think I might cross the street at night, too… 🙂 Happy Monday! Have a great week! XOXO

    Like

  30. Pixie says:

    Is that a Home Alone “Kevin” doll I saw by the gate next to Ariel? Well, I thought I had some weird neighbors,(or that I was one) but wow… good Oddball post Joanne!

    Like

  31. bulldog says:

    That is what I call a nicky nacky house…. one to avoid…

    Like

  32. Mara Eastern says:

    This is more than creepy! I wonder if it’s woodoo 😉

    Like

  33. Oh my goodness…nope nothing creepy here.

    Like

  34. Mrs. P says:

    Creepy is right. Dont you have some kind of code for this. Im not sure this would be allowed in my neighborhood.

    Like

    • joannesisco says:

      Certainly in condo and some new housing developments there would be rules and regulations. From a city code perspective – especially in an old neighbourhood like this one – I really don’t have a clue. I wouldn’t like it in my neighbourhood!

      Liked by 1 person

  35. Lynn says:

    Wow! I would hate to be the person living in the other side of this semi. Even if you wanted to sell, your chance of unloading would be next to nil!

    Like

  36. pike says:

    Very odd! 🙂

    Like

  37. So THAT’S why developers insist on Covenants and Restrictions in new communities! Out here in the country we don’t have restrictions and for two years we watched a lady across the road fill her front yard with stuffed animals and toys. She even added a soundtrack played through little speakers on her porch. It was so bad it was sort of awesome. I always meant to get a picture but never did. Eventually she moved and the yard looked awfully bereft with one stone rabbit left behind.

    Like

  38. treerabold says:

    Oh my! First…thanks for the shout out Joanne!
    2nd….I just don’t know what to say other than maybe you’re right and some long distance dating is appropriate for doll woman and beer man!!
    This “doll house” is creepy!!

    Like

Leave a Reply

