January at Scarborough Bluffs

Jude at Travel Words has introduced me to a new monthly photo challenge started by Cardinal Guzman.

The purpose of this challenge is choose a location near your home and take several pictures every month. The idea is to capture all the changes that occur over the year – the seasons, the weather, and different times of the day.

This sounded like exactly the kind of thing I love to do.  Even though I was somewhat behind everyone else who embraced this challenge, I hurried out this afternoon to photograph the Scarborough Bluffs at the east end of Toronto.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERAToday was a beautiful sunny day with temperatures hovering around 0C.  We’ve had frigid temperatures the past couple of weeks between -10C and -15C with the windchill.  In comparison, today felt like a spring day.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERAI’m embarrassed to say that even though I live relatively close to the Bluffs, this is not an area that’s very familiar to me.  It was fun to explore someplace new.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Lake Ontario was open and ice-free, but inside the harbour, there was a layer of ice.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Many piers were empty with most boats in dry dock.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Although it was 2:30 and still early in the afternoon when I arrived, it was very quiet at the waterfront with only a handful of people out walking around.  It never ceases to amaze me how low the sun is in the sky during the winter months.

I’m looking forward to revisiting the Bluffs Marina every month this year and capturing its changing moods.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

About Joanne Sisco

Retired but not idle. Life is an adventure - I plan to continue to embrace it.
This entry was posted in Nature, Photo Challenges, Random Stuff and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

95 Responses to January at Scarborough Bluffs

  1. Pingback: Changing Seasons: December Already!! | My Life Lived Full

  2. Pingback: November’s Unusual Charm – The Changing Seasons | My Life Lived Full

  3. Pingback: Changing Seasons: October Is Nature’s Costume Change | My Life Lived Full

  4. Pingback: Changing Seasons – A Steamy Start To September | My Life Lived Full

  5. Pingback: Welcome to August – The Changing Seasons | My Life Lived Full

  6. Pingback: Changing Seasons – July In The City | My Life Lived Full

  7. Pingback: The Changing Seasons – The Beauty Of June | My Life Lived Full

  8. Pingback: Changing Seasons: May … A Promise Of More To Come | My Life Lived Full

  9. Pingback: Changing Seasons – It’s March. I’m Ready for Spring! | My Life Lived Full

  10. bkpyett says:

    Beautiful photos Joanne and I really like the idea of the challenge too. 😀

    Like

  11. Pingback: Changing Seasons – February’s 50 Shades of Grey | My Life Lived Full

  12. Pingback: Monthly Photo Challenge: Ice in the Wheelbarrow | Silver in the Barn

  13. Pingback: Monthly Photo Challenge: The Changing Seasons 01 | Cardinal Guzman

  14. ChristineR says:

    Stunning images, Joanne, and such a perfect spot for the challenge. I’m looking forward to seeing the seasonal changes and the different times of day over the water. Since I’ve started taking photos for my blog, I see so much stuff that has been hidden in plain sight for over twenty years!

    Like

  15. desleyjane says:

    Gorgeous images! Can’t wait to see how the year progresses.

    Like

  16. Jean says:

    I used to live in Scarborough not far from Victoria Park station for nearly 15 yrs. before moving to western Canada. Thx for the winter bluff photos which I never visited in winter.

    Like

  17. Oh, this is going to be fun! Can’t wait to see the changes. I don’t think the challenge would work so well here – we don’t have the seasonal extremes to change the landscape significantly. ‘Oh look, here’s a sunny day. Oh, and here is a not-sunny day.’ Could get boring over a year…

    Like

  18. Isn’t it wonderful discovering something new on your own doorstep? They’re all beautiful pictures but that last one is my favourite xx

    Like

  19. Great photographs of a lovely area and I look forward to other seasons…boy do I look forward to other seasons!! Are the houseboats occupied year round?

    Like

    • joannesisco says:

      I only saw one houseboat and it appeared to be lived in.

      In the one photo, it appears they might be houseboats on the left side, but I’m pretty sure they were buildings.
      Since you’re the second person to mention it, the next time I go, I will have to pay more attention to them.

      Like

  20. LB says:

    I do love winter photography and winter on the water. Thanks for introducing us to the Bluffs

    Like

  21. Sue Slaght says:

    Wonderful photos Joanne! Really spectacular captures.

    Like

  22. jannatwrites says:

    I like your choice of location for this challenge ad look forward to observing its seasons. It looks so peaceful and relaxing. Except for the ducks in the water- that just seems like it would be cold!

    Liked by 1 person

  23. Heyjude says:

    Lovely images Jo, such clean air! I don’t know where the Bluffs are so I’m off to Google them. I really liked Toronto when I visited it (2005), but only spent a few days there. For a city it seems to have a lot to offer.

    Like

  24. Do you think it’s too late for me to jump in?

    Like

  25. pike says:

    Stunning photos! You have beautiful environment, Joanne 🙂

    Like

  26. First of all, what an awesome idea for a photo challenge. And secondly, I love your choice of location. It’ll be fun to watch that marina, in particular, get livened up with boaters in the summer. Summer will come, won’t it?

    Like

    • joannesisco says:

      Yes – the promise of summer returning is what keeps me sane in January and February!

      When I was wandering around the marina alone, it did occur to me that it will look VERY different when it’s humming with boaters again.

      Witnessing the changes every month will be very interesting!

      Like

  27. Mrs. P says:

    Wow…that is a neat twist on the photo challenge and in the end it will show a great series. You picked a beautiful spot. We don’t have seasons, about the biggest change from winter to spring is that the grass turns brown and some trees loose their leaves.

    Like

    • joannesisco says:

      I really do love the seasons and I think I would have difficulty living in a place where the weather didn’t vary much.
      Having said that, I just wish winter wasn’t quite so long, although this winter we can’t really complain. The lack of snow is making me very happy 🙂

      When I ventured down to the waterfront to consider it as a location for the challenge, it immediately captured my attention. I’m really looking forward to visiting this area every month 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

  28. You’ve picked a lovely spot for this challenge. It won’t be a hardship to visit!

    Like

  29. Excellent shots Joanne and such a beautiful area. It’ll be nice to see the seasons change here!

    Like

  30. aleksawal says:

    Very nice! As a fellow Torontonian (albeit a westender), I’m also embarrassed to say that I have not explored this area nearly enough. Looking forward to doing so vicariously through your photos and in real life one day too.

    Like

  31. bulldog says:

    What a great idea… and I love the area you’ve chosen…

    Like

  32. Awe-sommmme. Of course we haven’t had the usual frozen winter yet this year, but still it feels odd to see such pretty water free of ice. Wonderful pictures. So blue and clear. A little mind-boggling, but then it doesn’t take much to boggle my mind. 😀 😀 😀

    Like

  33. Lynn says:

    Lovely shots Joanne. I am surprised by the number of boats in the water, despite the ice. I would have thought they would suffer much damage being left in the water over winter.

    Like

    • joannesisco says:

      It surprised me too. I didn’t expect to see any in the water .. but what do I know about boats? 🙂
      This challenge gave me a reason to wander down to the waterfront when I wouldn’t otherwise have any inclination to do so. I rather like that!

      Like

  34. Beautiful pics! I love the icy lakes! The poor duckies look cold.

    Like

  35. Joe says:

    Beautiful shots Joanne 🙂 In the fourth photo there seem to still be boats in the water which is kind of hellish on the hulls. Are those houseboats to the left in that same image ?

    Like

    • joannesisco says:

      I was surprised to see boats wintering in the water too … but I don’t know much about boats. To the left in that photo, they are buildings. I got the impression that they were like summer homes … not boats.
      There was one houseboat I noticed in the harbour that’s not in any of the pictures I posted. It appeared that someone was actually living there. Brrr.

      Liked by 1 person

  36. kanzensakura says:

    I like. A friend in Japan does something similar, same view different day…..it is a view of Fuji as he goes to work everyday. Mainly, it shows a curve of the road, looking out on the sea with Fuji in the background, raiy weather, snow, people on the beach in the summer….I like it.

    Like

    • joannesisco says:

      It’s a very appealing project and I’m looking forward to it … especially since I wouldn’t normally have a reason to go down to the waterfront.
      I’m glad you like it.
      Check out Cardinal Guzman’s challenge. Maybe you will be inspired to join the challenge too 🙂

      Like

      • kanzensakura says:

        I will! LOL, I’ve done the crazy thing of joining a couple of writers’ tingies that do prompts, trying to expand my writing. I’m inconsistent at the best of times! But I’ll waddle over and see what I see. thanks for the suggestion.

        Liked by 1 person

  37. Wonderful! You’d never know that this is part of Toronto! I think this is an amazing project. Love the sort of theme and variation shots.

    Like

    • joannesisco says:

      Toronto has many wonderful pockets that don’t have a city vibe. It was nice to discover how pretty it was down at the Bluffs – even in the dead of winter.

      I’m really looking forward to this project. It’s going to be interesting to see it change from month to month 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

  38. Wow. What a beautiful area and great shots! And it seems to me embracing this challenge qualifies as “something new” so chalk up one for that too!

    Like

Leave a Reply

