Changing Seasons – It’s March. I’m Ready for Spring!

It’s still Winter.  I attempted a re-boot to install Spring, but got an error message instead …. Try Again Later.

Some minor Spring functions succeeded in loading properly.  The sun feels warmer now – although the wind still carries too much bite – and temperatures have been nudging northwards.  They are now hugging the melting point with puddles showing up everywhere.

Meanwhile, down at Bluffer’s Marina, which is the site of my Changing Seasons project, everything is still ice covered and snowy.  I decided to explore further along the shoreline for a change of scenery – hoping to discover something new.

Just a short-ish walk down the road is a public beach.  How did I not know this?!

The ice has jammed up quite high along the shore so it’s a challenge to even see the water, let alone get anywhere near it … or we could simply pretend it’s a beautiful white sand beach.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

It was nice to see people out enjoying the gorgeous sunshine but the picnic areas were still pretty barren.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

During my walk, I never lost sight of the Scarborough Bluff which runs for miles along the shoreline to the east.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

In addition to Bluffer’s Marina, I found the Cathedral Bluffs Yacht Club just down the road.  No boats were wintering in the water at CBYC but it appears they have winter activities going on at this club.  That is not open water in the harbour … it appears this section may have been cleared for ice skating.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Meanwhile, at the other end of the marina, I needed to check out how my feathered friends were doing after the coldest February on record in the Toronto area.  Not very many ducks and swans around today, but lots of clumpy ice popping around in this sheltered inlet. The warm(er) weather must have encouraged the birds to get out and stretch their wings.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

As if to confirm my theory, a flock of seagulls celebrated the sunshine with a flypast.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

It was a beautiful day to be out walking along the shoreline.  It may still look and feel like winter, but spring is in the air.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

I couldn’t resist adding one more photo from earlier this week when Helen and I were walking along the shoreline trail several kilometers further east.  Helen spied this beauty trying to hide from us.  Wildlife in the city!

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Previous months of the Changing Seasons:
January 2015
February 2015

For more posts on the Changing Seasons Photo Challenge, please visit Cardinal Guzman.

thechangingseasons_6367

About Joanne Sisco

Retired but not idle. Life is an adventure - I plan to continue to embrace it.
This entry was posted in Around Toronto, Nature, Outdoor Stuff, Photo Challenges and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

109 Responses to Changing Seasons – It’s March. I’m Ready for Spring!

  1. Pingback: Changing Seasons: December Already!! | My Life Lived Full

  2. Pingback: November’s Unusual Charm – The Changing Seasons | My Life Lived Full

  3. Pingback: Changing Seasons: October Is Nature’s Costume Change | My Life Lived Full

  4. Pingback: Changing Seasons – A Steamy Start To September | My Life Lived Full

  5. Pingback: Welcome to August – The Changing Seasons | My Life Lived Full

  6. Pingback: Changing Seasons – July In The City | My Life Lived Full

  7. Pingback: The Changing Seasons – The Beauty Of June | My Life Lived Full

  8. Pingback: Changing Seasons: May … A Promise Of More To Come | My Life Lived Full

  9. I was ready for spring too and it had started, but today winter tried with a pathetic comeback. https://artishorseshit.wordpress.com/2015/03/26/the-return-of-winter/

    Like

  10. Some lovely photos here but I think we’re all fed up with this continuing winter…Can’t wait to see the warmer weather versions of these!

    Like

  11. I enjoyed your pictures. Spring came early in our part of the world. My daffodils bloomed so early that I keep forgetting to pick some for the house. This year I guess I’ll just use my pretty rubber boots in the garden and hope for enough rain to keep the garden watered. It doesn’t look like we have enough mountain snow to provide much water this summer.

    Like

    • joannesisco says:

      It seems we hogged all the snow on the east coast this year. I’m glad virtually all the snow is gone … for now. We can look forward to at least one more snowstorm before spring digs its heel in.

      Like

  12. LadyPinkRose says:

    Hi, Joanne, I just read about your adventure at the Falls. To know there are two photographers nearby who have the passion as I do, excites me to no end. You are one very brave woman to go through Customs by yourself. I told a very funny story about my experience in my post, “The American Falls Up Close and Personal” (Which is on my menu for easy access) which IF you read, I am sure you will laugh. I haven’t been to Canada since before 911, so I was just a bit wee nervous, and of course, as is per usual with my life at times, what could go wrong, did. (smile) It would be lovely if you came by to see my Fall pictures from the Canadian side. One of my passions is slow shutter speeds of water, so I did many closeups of the Falls in ways that is just IMO mystical, magical, and mind blowing. Yes, my work amazes me. LOL (((HUGS))) Amy

    Like

    • joannesisco says:

      Thanks for visiting! I’m so glad you enjoyed our adventures … it was so much fun meeting Torrie.
      I was so impressed with your photos. Obviously you are MUCH MORE talented behind a camera than I will ever be 🙂
      There is a saying I really like – today’s disaster is tomorrow’s really great story. Your misadventures at Customs certainly falls into the category 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

      • LadyPinkRose says:

        Joanne, please stop saying I am superior blah blah blah. That really makes me uncomfortable. We all are unique and we all have something to share. My talents are just different then yours, that is all. I enjoyed YOUR work just for what it is. I don’t critique according to such and such. NO. I fully accept all for not only their work, but for who they are as well. I experiment, honestly. I am also very curious and want to discover things in Nature as seen by few. Anyone could do what I did behind my camera. As for what I have learned in the editing room, that is another story, one that I have earned through hard study and practice. Again, anyone can learn if they so do choose. I do my best not only with my photography, but in Life in general. Let’s just embrace the other and enjoy what that person represents and does. Simple. (smile) (((HUGS))) Amy

        Liked by 1 person

  13. Susanne says:

    Aww.. that’s terrible. Here I think it’s too cold yet but at least we don’t have snow.

    Like

  14. As beautifully as you weave a tale with your words, Joanne, you increase the enjoyment a thousand fold with your photos. They really are stunning.
    Whatever those ducks are wearing for waders should really be studied by material science engineers. Imagine the new, funky, super thin winter coats we could all be sporting in ice cold weather!

    Like

  15. bulldog says:

    Love the photos and share… we are beginning to feel a turn in the season here already, now I know why, it was you rebooting the seasons… lol

    Like

  16. terryb says:

    I love, love the photo of the ducks and ice and the next one with the seagulls!
    Don’t worry, spring on its way. We’re experiencing the big melt here in the Hudson Valley, NY. I’m sure it’s creeping north to you! 🙂

    Like

  17. Phil Taylor says:

    As always, incredible pictures that I am envious of.

    Like

  18. jannatwrites says:

    Well, it does still look quite cold, but I would agree, there are definitely signs of spring 🙂

    Like

  19. Alex Hurst says:

    Those are so absolutely beautiful shots. I love autumn best, but when there’s as much snow as that, it’s hard not to feel happy, even as the spring air comes with the promise of color and comfortable weather (and allergies, yikes!)

    Alex Hurst, A Fantasy Author in Kyoto
    A-Z Blogging in April Participant

    Like

    • joannesisco says:

      Spring and fall are both bad times for me and allergies so I always have mixed feelings about them. They are beautiful, but I always feel miserable.
      I am really happy to watch the snow disappear though. The past week has been glorious 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

  20. LB says:

    I would rather have a bright beautiful snow day than a less than sunny warm day. That flock of seagulls image is wonderful! The birds are feelin’ it, too!

    Like

    • joannesisco says:

      It seems that my best photos are occurring when I shot wildly into the sun 😉
      I’m actually a shade person. When it’s sunny, I’m looking for shade … even in the winter.

      Like

  21. Cecilia says:

    That’s the thing, inside we feel spring, outside, I mean in front of our eyes, we see winter. Still. I hope spring is close anyway!

    Like

  22. treerabold says:

    I really like the No Lifeguard on duty 😉 It would be unbearable to see a bare chested young boy sitting on that chair….with a whistle frozen to his lips!

    Don’t you love “that” feeling….spring is in the air?! Even with snow still on the ground….that feeling can fill us with excitement and joy!!

    Like

  23. I’m sending a weather technician to you to install spring for you. It may take a few weeks but I’m sure you’ll notice an improvement!

    Like

  24. Megz says:

    My spring is shaping up very similarly! Granted the dog must know what’s to come, she is bounding through the deep snow more and more these days…

    Like

  25. Stunning pictures, Jo. The sign on the beach made me chuckle 😀 xx

    Like

  26. tildy1 says:

    Snow on the beach is quite a sight to see. I love the birds in flight photo!

    Like

  27. Look at the possibilities for contrast in future posts! Hunky lifeguards, families picnicking, and Jay Gatsby-types out on their yachts. I’m happy you detected a bit of spring today – it’s about time it makes its appearance.

    Like

  28. Joe says:

    Beautiful images Joanne and hopefully we are on our way to some warmer weather now (unless I just jinxed it) 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  29. Lynn says:

    It has been a tough winter with the temperatures being so freaking cold! Spring is just around corner, I can feel it! Love the capture of the seagulls in flight. The sun shining on the water looks likes jewels sparkling:)

    Like

    • joannesisco says:

      All it takes is a day or two of above freezing temperatures and we’re all smiling and happy. When you think about it, that says a lot about us … simple needs … and an inexhaustible capacity to whine about the weather 😉

      Like

  30. NancyTex says:

    I am going to miss daily walks along that shoreline this spring. Sigh.

    Like

  31. Heyjude says:

    I had a good laugh at your first sentence 😀

    Spring arrived here on Saturday, sadly it went away again on Sunday and today we are back to a dull grey sky and a bitterly cold wind 😦

    But… it is supposed to be getting warmer towards the end of the week – I hope so as I have my monthly round-up to do!

    Like

  32. We might get to 40 this week. I’m getting the baby pool out and switching to my flip flops.

    Like

  33. Sammy D. says:

    Hang in there, Joanne. That spring system ‘install’ will be coming any day now. Crocus!! daffodils!! Dandolions!! Oh My 😆

    Way th make the best of your blue sky days in the meantime!

    Like

  34. Ohhhh….some great shots there, Joanne! Spring may not be here, but you can at least glory in seeing the signs of winter disappearing (and not having to eat any faux elephant parts!) Liked your opening line btw…….Trying to reboot spring and getting an error message……..classically you!

    Like

  35. Hee, hee! Love your attempt to reboot! Bet there will be a sighting of shorts being worn this week. Beautiful pictures!

    Like

  36. Mrs. P says:

    I loved your attempt to reboot spring. The server has been down but they say it will be up soon. Try rebooting later in the day. 🙂 Beautiful pics, especially the deer and ice skating areas! 😀

    Like

  37. Oh, come on!! Snow on the beach?? Really??? I’m sorry, but that’s just….wrong. So very, very wrong….

    Like

  38. No lifeguard in sight, but you did manage to spot a deer! Impressive!

    Like

  39. Pingback: Monthly Photo Challenge: The Changing Seasons 03 | Cardinal Guzman

  40. Never enough ducks. Only 46 of them today. 😀
    These are lovely posts, Joanne: the turnings of your seasons are amazing to us !

    Like

  41. All great shots here. What a beautiful white sand beach! 🙂

    Like

  42. Sue Slaght says:

    You still have so much snow! Beautiful and vibrant photos Jo. That lifeguard chair is quite something on the ‘white sand’ beach.

    Like

    • joannesisco says:

      Thanks Sue! I’m starting to discover that on a beautiful sunny day, it’s much easier to take a good photo 😉
      That beach blew me away though. How sad is it that I’ve lived in this area for over 20 years and didn’t know there was a beach there. I’m now looking forward to summer and actually SEEING the beach 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

  43. Helen C says:

    Beautiful photos, Joanne. If you keep taking beautiful photos like these, I may wish spring never comes… 😉 (I am happy to say that it is getting warmer here too!)

    Like

  44. bikerchick57 says:

    Spring is coming. We had a beautiful weekend and it’s supposed to continue all week. I’m going for a walk every day and breath it in!

    Like

  45. Feathered friends, get your tails OuT of the water. Want to freeeeeeze. Oh my. I FEEL the cold. Don’t they? Count me out. 😮

    Like

  46. No picnickers yet you say? Scared of by some snow in their deviled eggs?

    Like

Leave a Reply

