E = These Eyes Are Crying

We’re all guilty of going through the motions of a daily routine and not really paying much attention to the details of our actions.  I think of it as mental autopilot.  Sometimes though, the details come back to bite us.

I have vision issues.  Of my father’s 5 children, I was the only one to get his defective eye gene. I’ve worn glasses since I was 11 years old, graduated to contact lens in my late teens, eventually had corrective surgery in my early 40s, and by my early 50s, my vision had begun to deteriorate again … which meant I was back into the routine and hassle of contact lens and glasses.

Eye

One Friday morning as I was preparing for work, I was deep in thought about the busy day ahead of me.  I had put on my contact lens, but since allergies and contacts don’t go well together, my eyes felt very gritty and dry as usual.  I reached into the bathroom cabinet for my eye drops.

Are you familiar with liquid bandaid?

liq bandaid

It is an amazing little product … a glue-like polymer which can be applied to minor cuts and blisters to keep them clean and help them heal.  To a person who is distracted on other matters, that little bottle looks very similar to eye drops.

You just know what happened next.

As soon as that first drops of glue hit my eye, I knew I had made a very serious mistake. Funny how that realization always seems to happen a second too late.

I immediately pulled out the contact lens before it could adhere to my eye while at the same time screaming for Gilles.  He bounded up the stairs to investigate what I had done and announced he needed to immediately start flushing my eye with water to rinse out the glue.

For the next several minutes – which felt like a lifetime – Gilles saturated my eye with water while I squirmed like a fish on a hook from the panic I wasn’t containing very well.

Finally I could carefully blink my eye open and closed.  That was the good news.

The bad news was that the glue had streamed out of my eye all over the right side of my face.  I had glue in my eyebrows, in my hair, and my eyelashes stuck together every time I blinked.

To make matters worse, the injured eye was deeply offended by the experience.  It responded by going into protective mode and started to swell and tear up uncontrollably. Before long, the eye was swollen closed.

Between the gluey clumps in my hair and swollen eye, I looked a fright. Try making that fun phone call to work explaining why you’re not going to be there.

A subsequent trip to my opthamologist confirmed that there had been no damage to my eye from its accidental gluing and my vision wasn’t any worse than it had already been before. I’m so grateful Gilles was home that morning and for his calm and quick response to my emergency.

Today, the only liquid bandaid we keep in the house is a spray – not drops – and it remains in my hiking backpack … away from accidental misuse.

E

Thank so much for visiting today.  For today’s treat, I’m offering Eclairs.  Please help yourself!

choco-eclairs (1)

Photo by iadorefood.com

April A to Z Challenge 2015

About Joanne Sisco

Retired but not idle. Life is an adventure - I plan to continue to embrace it.
This entry was posted in A-Z Challenge - 2015, Memories and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

90 Responses to E = These Eyes Are Crying

  1. jannatwrites says:

    What a terrifying experience! I’m so glad there wasn’t permanent damage. (When I was in college, I ended up with paint stripper in my eyes. I got the familiar near drowning in the kitchen sink as my mom flushed it with water. They were bandaged up for a couple days but no permanent damage. But try watching TV with your eyes closed… everyone is is laughing at something and you’re saying, “what? What happened?” constantly 🙂 )

    Like

    • joannesisco says:

      OUCH!! That had to have been a terrifying with your eyes bandaged. At least I knew after the flushing that my eye would open and I could see … well at least until it swelled closed 🙂
      I’m sure you’re as grateful that your mother was there as I was to have Gilles. I couldn’t have done that flushing on my own.

      Like

  2. beeblu says:

    Aieeee! I would most certainly panic at that! I’ve had glass in my eye from a car accident and can’t say I enjoyed the eyewash experience (even though it was under topical anaesthetic). Glad your eye’s OK.

    Like

  3. kmarsell says:

    GOOD GRAVY! My eyes are tearing up just READING about this! And I though Vagisil on my toothbrush was bad….

    Like

  4. OMG, Joanne, this was just awful! I can’t imagine what would have happened if Gilles….never mind, let’s not think about it. And the thing is – who among us hasn’t done something like this at one time or another but not with such potentially devastating consequences. I once sprayed my trousers with Lemon Pledge instead of the Static Guard I thought I had in my hand , but that little story is NOTHING compared to yours. YIKES.

    Like

    • joannesisco says:

      LOL – thanks for the great laugh!! Not exactly a scent you could ignore 😉

      You are right though. We’ve all done – or come really close to doing – something really, really dumb because we weren’t paying attention.
      I’d like to think I’m exercising considerably more caution now 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

  5. I’m only liking out of support. Oh my word, that sounds horrendous!! (And very much like something I would do!)

    I’m so glad you’re okay and there was no damage, it could’ve been so much worse xx

    Like

  6. I really love this, Joanne. You do seem to have a knack for ending up in the worst-case scenarios, don’t you? Thankfully, you also seem to have a knack for escaping relatively unscathed with only added wisdom as the result! Very glad for that!

    Like

  7. M-R says:

    I WILL have an éclair. Two maybe. 😀
    That’s a horrible story, Joanne. That product should never have been allowed to be produced: it’s bloody odds-on that someone is going to do what you did ! I’ll take all bets that you are far from the only one to have inadvertently tried to glue her eye shut.

    Like

  8. treerabold says:

    A very scary moment I’m sure! It would take a lot for me to put anything in my eye…but I did almost brush my teeth with hair gel (many times). Yet I still keep my hair gel and toothpaste on the same side of the sink. I wonder if I will need to actually make the mistake before I decide its best I move one of the objects?!!
    Thanks for the eclairs!

    Like

  9. Mrs. P says:

    How terribly scary that must have been. I am so glad that things turned out the way they did. It’s those near misses which make us grateful for friends and loved ones coming to our rescue and also a reminder to slow down and really look so that we don’t do something we will regret later.

    I have two issues with dangerous packaging that looks like something else. One is an all purpose cleaner called Fabulosa and it looks very much like the sports drinks that are in the grocers. I found an almost identical problem that I created on my own. I had mixed up some plant fertilizer in water and put it in a Gatorade bottle and tucked it on one of my plant shelves. Twice I caught myself being thirsty and reaching for the bottle thinking it was a Gatorade, only to catch myself at the last minute. After the second near miss I went and poured all the fertilizer on my outdoor plants and threw the bottle away.

    Like

    • joannesisco says:

      Yikes – not a good mistake to make for sure! Smart move to toss the bottle. I avoid using old containers for that very reason – unless it’s something obvious like nails in a yogurt tub. It’s very easy to forget what’s in the bottle.

      Like

  10. Ow, I felt your pain, anguish and discomfort with every word (hugs).

    Like

  11. Oh boy I needed that eclair to calm my nerves after that frightening story! so glad it all turned out alright in the end.

    Like

  12. Helen C says:

    Wow, what an experience. Thanks for sharing it with us, Joanne. I will be careful from now on. I am so glad your eye is ok. 😉

    Like

  13. OMG! I would’ve totally freaked out! I know what you mean by going through the motions in our daily routine. I have eye and ear drop bottles that look similar. Last summer, I accidentally put the eye drops in my right ear. Lordy, I screamed and screamed. MR N came running into the washroom and we flew to the clinic. They had to suck the liquid out and I couldn’t hear for two days. Now, I double-check before using the drops.

    Mmm yummy, eclairs. Have a fabulous day, Joanne! 😀

    Like

  14. Sue Slaght says:

    Oh my heavens I would be absolutely frantic! Thank heavens for the quick thinking of your husband. I can totally understand how it could happen being a long time contact lens wearer. wow1

    Like

  15. April Moore says:

    I’m sorry you had to go through that!Just thinking about it makes me cringe. I’ve once mistaken the peroxide lens cleaner as saline solution…talk about painful. Usually, it only takes once! (And it’s definitely not as bad as glue!)

    Like

  16. Aw Fuck! What a horrifying experience 😦 I had to read this peering at the screen through my hands! I’m one of these pathetic people who can’t even put eye drops in… never mind contact lenses… I flinch every time I watch someone else do it to themselves! I

    ‘ve also got screwed-up eyes, my mother’s, and her mother’s. Both my brother and I are lumbered with them, coz blue is dominant, sigh. My father had beautiful hazelnut brown eyes, which were in perfect working order until the end.

    Hope the swelling goes down soon!

    Like

  17. C.E.Robinson says:

    Joanne, what a horrifying scare for you! Can’t imagine the panic you went through from beginning to end. So glad to know your eye was not damaged. That’s a blessing! I always think about how other things like medicine can get mixed up and taken by mistake with a bad outcome. Scary! Christine

    Like

  18. Trust you to inject a little humour into a story about what must have been an horrendous experience. I keep my vitamin D drops (for the tongue) in the kitchen and my dry eye drops in the bathroom upstairs. The bottles are very similar and it doesn’t take much to confuse me. I’ve had some close calls but I’ll think of you now when I pick them up and try to always put the drops in the right place!

    Like

  19. Sammy D. says:

    I think everyone of us gasped in dismay at your liquid bandage question knowing what was coming!! How scary those events are in the moment. I, too, have to pay more attention to many things – as you say, the medicinal bottle we reach for, the vegetable we’re slicing, the stair railing we should be holding, the eclair filling dripping on my shirt …

    Like

  20. Chrys Fey says:

    Glue in the eye? That is horrifying! I was literally cupping my eye while reading that. Eek! I’m glad your eye is okay after that.

    Like

  21. Ack. Sounds like something I’d do. Glad to hear there’s no damage and that hubby was on hand to help. I can feel your pain, not the physical but the psychological. Eek. ❤
    I once fell asleep with my contacts and couldn't get them out. My daughter had to walk me to the hospital, which was around our block.

    Liked by 1 person

  22. Oh goodness, sitting here cringing for you! I’m very sensitive to eye issues!

    Like

  23. lovetotrav says:

    OH my goodness. I can so relate but thank goodness for me, it wasn’t a glue like substance. I used to accidentally put the cleaning solution on them and then pop them in, instead of a rinsing solution (way back when solutions were so different) and that was painful. I can’t even imagine how scary that would have been. At least it had a happy ending. Would be wonderful to have perfect eyesight wouldn’t it? Cheryl

    Like

    • joannesisco says:

      I used to do that with the cleaning solutions too. If I was in too much of hurry and didn’t rinse well – or forgot completely – yikes!!
      The 10 years after eye surgery – before my vision started to deteriorate again – were WONDERFUL. I did not miss my glasses or contacts for a second!!!

      Liked by 1 person

  24. Lynn says:

    Joanne, that must have been a terrifying experience for you! Our eyes are so very precious, anything we do to possibly damage them, is so very frightening. I am so relieved no permanent damage was done. A lesson to all who may have difficulty seeing without glasses or contacts! Know what you are reaching for!

    Like

  25. Alex Hurst says:

    That is an absolutely terrifying story!!! I am so glad your eye was okay. I would have been freaking out! 😫 Though, I once had a poison ivy infection that swelled up one side of my face as big as a watermelon. I tried to call in sick and my boss didn’t believe me (despite that I had never called in sick before). He demanded that I come in anyway…. so I did… and he promptly sent me home after I revealed my Quasimodo facade… haha. It was worth all the agony and embarrassment to see him jump two feet in the air. 😉

    Alex Hurst, A Fantasy Author in Kyoto
    A-Z Blogging in April Participant

    Like

    • joannesisco says:

      OMG!!! Sorry, but I howled at the part about being sent home after revealing your Quasimodo facade!! 😀
      In fact your scenario could have been life threatening with that kind of swelling. Thankfully it didn’t extend to your throat and start to restrict breathing!!

      It’s great that we can see the humour in the stories which were crises at the time 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

      • Alex Hurst says:

        Oh, yes, I know. I was taking penicillin and some other drugs via the doctor. Hahah. My dad is also a retired doctor, so my bases were covered…. Oddly, the thing that finally got rid of the swelling? Dish soap. Regular old dish soap. Since it sucks the moisture out of everything. I showered with it for three days and BAM! all cured. 😛

        Like

        • joannesisco says:

          Really?!!! That’s something I’m going to file away for future reference.
          When we’re out hiking, I’m really paranoid about poison ivy. I’ve heard so many horror stories and I live in fear of coming into contact with it. The problem is I simply can’t accurately identify it. I’ve defaulted now to avoiding absolutely everything with 3 leaves.

          Liked by 1 person

          • Alex Hurst says:

            Hahaha, me too. But yeah, the dish soap works! Basically it feeds off moisture and humidity, and I had a sort of “Aha” in the shower one morning because I felt like a greasy dish plate. XD The dish soap (liquid for handwashing, obviously not the detergent stuff!) made me feel worlds better.

            Liked by 1 person

  26. Paardje says:

    OMG, I’m glad you’re okay. That must’ve been pretty scary!

    Like

  27. Joe says:

    I cannot imagine the panic that set in after you realized you put glue in your eye Joanne and thank God no permanent damage resulted. Your story reminds me of an older senior citizen I had met while I was still working. I could not help but notice that he had two gigantic bandages on both of his ears. I finally gave in to my curiosity and asked him what happened. He explained to me that he was ironing one morning and the phone rang. He mistakingly put the iron up to one ear instead of the phone. I paused for a while and asked him what happened to his other ear and he said well I had to call the doctor 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  28. You nearly gave me a heart attack! As soon as I read “Are you familiar with liquid bandaid?”, I almost stopped reading, not wanting to know what came next. (I’m not, by the way. Familiar with it.) I did keep reading and I felt sick and then relieved. And now I need coffee. And at least three eclairs. Is anybody else coming? I might need four.
    PS Out of five children, I am the only one who has never needed glasses. But then, I was the only one to get my mother’s blue eyes. Maybe there’s something in that.

    Like

  29. I’m going to focus my eyes on those eclairs. Otherwise, I’ll be shuddering the rest of the morning. That was a very close call!

    Liked by 1 person

  30. mickscogs says:

    Many years ago, an almost full, 4 litre, bottle of concentrated nitric acid fell out of my hands direct to the floor. It landed and remained upright but the shock of the fall caused the acid to spit straight back up at me, underneath my safety glasses. I squealed in fear and ran to the eyewash where I remained for quite a long time. Thankfully no damage apart the battering from all the water. Your story took me right back there. Looking forward to your next installment.

    Like

    • joannesisco says:

      For the most part, I can handle the inevitable bumps, scrapes, and cuts that come with life … but injuries to the eyes fill me with panic.

      Unfortunately I can imagine the scare you had. Thankfully the eyewash station was there … I believe the speedy response of flushing our eyes likely saved them from damage.

      Like

  31. Heyjude says:

    Well actually I don’t LIKE. EEK was my first response. I am awfully squeamish when it comes to eyes. I could never wear contact lenses. Thank goodness you got that out in time and there was no lasting damage, it must have been very frightening though! Phew!
    I think I am going to have to sit down and have a cup of coffee now… with a chocolate éclair. fresh cream I hope?

    Liked by 1 person

  32. EmmaJCarson says:

    Hope your eye’s feeling better now! Sounds like the sort of thing I’d do LOL

    Like

    • joannesisco says:

      I must say I’m much more aware of the perils of our fast-paced world and trying to rush through multiple tasks at once. I now exercise a lot more attention to what I’m doing in the moment!

      Like

Leave a Reply

