G = Girl Guides

A long time ago in what seems like another lifetime, I was a Girl Guide … a card carrying, badge earning, cookie selling Girl Guide.

I have to confess I probably wasn’t a very good Girl Guide – I was kicked out of our group for insubordination – something I’m not necessarily proud of today.  Young, prepubescent girls tend to develop a bit of  – shall we say – an attitude.  I wore mine like a badge of honour.

Girl Guides

Judging from the look on my face, I would suspect there was some attempt at behaviour modification.

I really liked Girl Guides though … the weekly meetings, the friendships, learning new things, the sing-alongs at ‘campfire’. I loved it all – even the horrible navy-blue uniform and beret. One of my proudest moments as a Girl Guide was being a flag-bearer in a Remembrance Day parade to the Cenotaph.  It was a lot harder than it looked.

Things started to go badly when the leadership of our troop changed.  Suddenly it wasn’t fun anymore – it became overly regimented with girls being reprimanded for minor “infractions” like forgetting a piece of their uniform.  Instead of learning new things in an encouraging environment, the focus became discipline and mind-numbing rules.

I don’t remember exactly the incident that resulted in me being asked to leave.  Quite frankly, at the time I was happy to go. I do know that it likely included a refusal to follow some order followed by a heavy dose of sarcasm on my part. In hindsight though, I recognize that I didn’t exercise any measure of maturity or respect.

In my time as a Girl Guide, I didn’t get to attend a summer camp or a jamboree, but I enjoyed myself enough to cherish the memories.  Here I am – many decades later and I still have all the badges I earned as a Guide.

G

Thank you so much for visiting.  Please have a cookie … today I am offering – you guessed it, Girl Guide cookies!

girl-guide-cookies

Photo from cooksinfo.com

April A to Z Challenge 2015

About Joanne Sisco

Retired but not idle. Life is an adventure - I plan to continue to embrace it.
This entry was posted in A-Z Challenge - 2015, Memories and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

50 Responses to G = Girl Guides

  1. That’s hilarious! I was kicked out of Brownies, at least you got to the next level!

    Like

  2. See? I said you weren’t a follower.

    Like

  3. We moved so frequently I didn’t have to get kicked out of Camp Fire Girls – we just landed somewhere they weren’t, and that was the end of it. Love this picture. Very Che Guevara. Bahahaha.

    Like

  4. Girl Guide cookies! We never had those (so I’ll forgive you the lack of something gooey). I was a Brownie and a Girl Guide. The first Company I joined was awful so my mother moved me to a different one. That one had the most wonderful leader, a much older woman (well, at 12 I thought she was old). Loved the Easter camp every year and I got to go to a state camp too. Never achieved the heights of my sisters though who both got their Queen’s Guide award. I was just there to have fun.

    Like

  5. Brings back memories… have a photo somewhere of my Girl Scout Troop and I’m the only one in the picture sticking my tongue out. And my mom was one of the leaders. 🙂

    Like

  6. Learning has to be fun. I was a Brownie and then made the leap to be a Leader for the group my girls attended. I think the other leaders thought our group was too casual most of the time but we did lots of Girl Guidey stuff and the girls kept coming back. The other leader and I were known for setting things on fire (accidentally of course). We took the girls to a gazillion camps and things and tried hard to be model leaders. But there was always a secret pocket of firelighters to help the girls out when the old stuffy leaders weren’t looking to get those old stoves burning 😉 And of course when it came to knot tying…ugh we’d just hope for the best!

    Like

  7. You got kicked out of Girl Guides? Well, forget them! They obviously don’t know a fabulous person when they see one. I do love the look on your face! 😉 Growing up, I couldn’t afford the fees for the Girl Guides so I’m a little envious. But I make up for it in all my purchasing of Girl Guide cookies. 😉 *takes three cookies* Thank you! 🙂

    Like

  8. Joe says:

    The look on your face is priceless Joanne 🙂 Sort of a oh, shit not again moment. I’m not big on following rules either, great post.

    Like

    • joannesisco says:

      Thanks Joe … I think that picture is hilarious – like a deer caught in the headlights.
      … and I’m glad to hear I’m not the only one who thinks rules can be suffocating 🙂

      Like

  9. Heyjude says:

    The look on your face says it all! And go girl with those pig-tails 😉
    I only lasted a month in the Guides. I enjoyed Brownies, but hated Guides – like yours, there seemed to be too many rules and although I was a “good girl” until I reached 15 when I hit the rebellious streak… even then I knew I wouldn’t last. Girl Guide cookies are a new one on me – tasty?

    Like

  10. NotAPunkRocker says:

    You look like you are getting ready to march into war!

    Like

  11. Oh Joanne, you rebel you! Exactly the type of thing i would have done. So often i look back at things i did as a teen and preteen and I’m half proud of myself and half cant believe how disrespectful I was. All a right of passage which contributed to the glorious results of my misspent youth!

    Like

    • joannesisco says:

      LOL! I’m really starting to appreciate how wonderful your blog title really is!! I always focused on the misspent youth part rather than the glorious results!!

      I was more of a closet-rebel-passive-aggressive type. I didn’t mind rocking the boat but preferred to have an exit strategy in case things went badly.
      Remember the 11th Commandment? Thou Shalt Not Get Caught.

      Like

  12. mel says:

    Haha love that photo! And fully agree that leadership by fear is wrong!

    Like

  13. Sammy D. says:

    You’re so cute!!! I didn’t realize there were other versions of our Girl Scouts. You must have had a more ‘unconditional love’ Mother than I did to risk your attitude and insubordination. I would have suffered mightily in the ‘withheld love’ consequence of such a public infraction (what would the neighbors think?!?)

    Like

  14. Challenging authority even as a girl? Doesn’t happen often enough to my mind – must be why I enjoy your blog so much! I think I’ll pass on those cookies though…

    Like

  15. Lynn says:

    Clearly by the serious look on your face, this picture was taken when the Attila the Hun was in charge! OMG…so funny!

    I too, was a girl guide for a brief period of time. I don’t think I took well to authority either….just sayin’!

    Like

  16. This is a delightful post. You were kicked out! I like a feisty kid, especially when it’s a girl. ^^’
    I never made it past Brownies. 😀 😀

    Like

  17. Love the pigtails. It sounds like you made the right choice – leaving the troop. Whether by invitation or otherwise.

    Like

  18. OMG. What a face on you up there! I love that pic! And again, here we are with the same theme of not being a follower……you’re not proud of having your own mind and being confident enough in yourself to forge your own path? I think you should be very proud, Joanne…..this shows you were a trendsetter from the word Go!

    Like

    • joannesisco says:

      A trendsetter … or a pain in the butt 😉

      I recognize in hindsight that I’ve often had authority issues. There is a story coming up that likely explains why. Leadership by fear is just wrong.

      I tripped across this photo not long ago. There aren’t many pictures of me when I was young so this one caught me by surprise … much like the stunned look on my face 😉

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

