The Changing Seasons: Shedding Winter’s Mantle

This is a very rare double post from me today as I’m juggling two challenges this month.

This past weekend I took a drive down to the marina to see how spring and the melting temperatures had changed the area since my last visit in early March.  Since virtually all the snow had melted over the past few weeks, I expected to see a significantly different landscape … but the changes I encountered were not what I was expecting.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

There is still a thin layer of ice in places in the marina, but people could be spotted poking around the boats.

My first hint of what was ahead was the long line of cars heading down the battered road to the lakefront. People were everywhere.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

In spite of temperatures that were barely in the 10C range by the water, the picnic tables at the beach were full of families gathered outdoors for the day.  Small BBQs had been hauled out and the smell of grilling meat filled the air.  Soccer balls were being kicked around and the lively sound of conversation replaced the silence of nature I had heard all winter.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Winter weary Canadians had come out of hibernation.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

As I walked along the waterfront trail, I passed a picnic area filled with young people gathered around a hookah pipe.  It was such an interesting scene and I really wanted to capture it in a photo, but instead I shyly asked if I could simply photograph their pipe.  At first they were surprised, but they politely obliged.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

What happened next was totally unexpected.  They invited me to join them.  They claimed to be smoking shisha – a flavoured tobacco – but I had serious doubts that’s what was really being smoked! I was amused by the image of this frumpy old woman with a head full of grey hair toking with these kids the ages of my sons.

I declined with a laugh.  I’m pretty sure I would have coughed up a lung which would have been very uncool.  They made my day though, and I drove home with a smile.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

The next day it snowed.  Welcome to spring in Canada.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Thank you Cardinal Guzman for sponsoring this challenge of The Changing Seasons.

thechangingseasons_6367

About Joanne Sisco

Retired but not idle. Life is an adventure - I plan to continue to embrace it.
This entry was posted in Around Toronto, Nature, Outdoor Stuff, Photo Challenges, Random Stuff and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

63 Responses to The Changing Seasons: Shedding Winter’s Mantle

  1. Pingback: Changing Seasons: December Already!! | My Life Lived Full

  2. Pingback: November’s Unusual Charm – The Changing Seasons | My Life Lived Full

  3. Pingback: Changing Seasons: October Is Nature’s Costume Change | My Life Lived Full

  4. Pingback: Changing Seasons – A Steamy Start To September | My Life Lived Full

  5. Pingback: Welcome to August – The Changing Seasons | My Life Lived Full

  6. Pingback: Changing Seasons – July In The City | My Life Lived Full

  7. Pingback: The Changing Seasons – The Beauty Of June | My Life Lived Full

  8. Pingback: Changing Seasons: May … A Promise Of More To Come | My Life Lived Full

  9. afairymind says:

    I don’t think I’d be wanting a picnic in those temperatures! Great pictures. 🙂

    Like

  10. jannatwrites says:

    well, I didn’t even know what a hookah pipe was – I definitely wouldn’t have been smoking anything from it, haha.

    Liked by 1 person

  11. M-R says:

    Lovely, Joanne ! – and nothing like the earlier posts on this frozen place. Hope there’ll be posts in the future of it in full summer.
    🙂

    Like

  12. It was in the fifties last time we visited Vancouver and the crazy Canadians were SUNBATHING! On towels in Stanley Park. I had a coat and a scarf on. OMG. I so understand this post.

    Like

  13. I think I now understand this

    Liked by 1 person

  14. Alex Hurst says:

    It snowed yesterday in Japan, too, unfortunately. There were pictures on the news of cherry blossoms covered in snow. Probably the shortest, and grayest, spring season I’ve had in my five years here. Guess I better get used to it, moving to Vancouver! Brrr!

    Like

  15. I’m delighted to have gone on your walk to the Marina after the last snow-covered one.
    Lightens the heart to see people out even in the cold with little BBQs to enjoy fresh air. Thanks so much for sharing your wonderful pictures. ❤

    Like

  16. Heyjude says:

    How delightful to find so many people! But it still looks cold. Brrrr…
    Love the hookah story, these pipes seem to be quite popular at the moment – possibly since the decline in smoking tobacco? I saw them in a café in Auckland and like you, couldn’t resist a snap 🙂

    Like

    • joannesisco says:

      I agree Jude – a little too cold for me to consider a picnic. I hadn’t brought any gloves and my hands were freezing.

      I just loved the group dynamic around that hookah pipe. I would have really liked to photograph that but I didn’t want to make them uncomfortable. As you said, I now know that hookah bars are very popular right now!

      Like

  17. Joe says:

    A couple of hits on that pipe and you would have said, “like wow man I really could go for a cinnamon bun”, LOL. At least thats what I would have said 🙂

    Like

  18. Sue Slaght says:

    For a minute Joanne I thought the post was going to take a very different turn with the invitation to hookah. 🙂

    Like

  19. Renee says:

    Great post, I love the way it turned into such a story!
    Enjoy the challenge!
    Fellow A-Z blogger: http://www.spokenfingers.blogspot.com

    Like

  20. Sammy D. says:

    I shook my head when I saw two posts scrolling through thinking “she’s a superstar!” The hookah story is wonderful … Sort of like being carded when you order a cocktail 😆. OK THAT hasn’t happened for two decades. 👵

    Like

  21. Definitely surprising that so many people came out in such low temps. They must have been pretty hard core…and desperately bored!! Ha, ha! Nice that you were invited to smoke the dubious tobacco!

    Like

  22. Helen C says:

    Beautiful photos and a great story, Joanne. This is the first time I see a hookah pipe. Next time, would you consider smoke it but don’t inhale (if you don’t want to) and let them take a picture of you and post it? 😉
    Have a great day!

    Like

  23. We are a hardy lot we Canadians – taking advantage of even a little warmth! Great post that speaks to so much that is good about our communities – you made me smile too!

    Liked by 1 person

    • joannesisco says:

      I shouldn’t have been surprised, but I was … especially the picnicking at such cool temperatures. Everyone was just soooo happy to be outdoors!! It really did make my day 😀

      Like

    • aleksawal says:

      I completely agree…we are a hardy lot! This is so typically Toronto, first sign of “warm” weather and half the city is outdoors, on patios or wearing shorts! This city is ready for summer 🙂

      Like

      • joannesisco says:

        LOL!! You are so right – the shorts!

        I didn’t see them at the waterfront but I got home in time to witness Husband – dressed in shorts – ready to head out for a run. Sheesh! 10C is still too cold for me to brave shorts 🙂

        Liked by 1 person

  24. Sixth pic is a dream, Joanne! Love a double-post day from you……now you’re blog is living life full too! 🙂

    Like

    • joannesisco says:

      Thanks Torrie. I was so excited to finally get to that little lighthouse at the mouth of the marina. I had been eyeing it for the past few months and finally found the way there!
      I wasn’t overly happy with the photos I took that day, but the mood it left me in made up for it 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

  25. Lynn says:

    Sigh, warmer weather is on its’ away! I hope:)

    Like

  26. Mara Eastern says:

    Ha! Now I not only want to move to Canada but also want some of the shisha stuff…

    Like

  27. Nice post. I smoke shisha sometimes, but only during the summer (I bring the pipe if we’re going out to barbeque or just to hang out in the park). I haven’t smoked for along time now, probably last September. It’s actually not that strong and I don’t smoke normal cigarettes/tobacco.

    Like

    • joannesisco says:

      I haven’t smoked – anything – in a very, very long time. I think my lungs would go into shock 😉
      … and I also still have my doubts they were really smoking shisha 🙂

      Like

  28. Pingback: Monthly Photo Challenge: The Changing Seasons 04 | Cardinal Guzman

Leave a Reply

