S = Sisters

During last year’s A-Z Challenge I introduced my older brothers, so this year it seemed only appropriate to introduce my sisters.

Sisters

Year 2002 – Tina and Frances

I am the 4th of five children with Tina as the youngest of the clan and Frances as the oldest.

Brimley2

Circa 1960 – Me, Tina, Frances

It was a chaotic and noisy household with seven people in a 3 bedroom house.  We three girls shared the largest bedroom – which wasn’t large by any standard.

In hindsight that must have been very difficult for Frances who is eight years older than I am.  At least by the time I was a teenager, the 3 oldest had moved away and I had a room of my own. Frances, on the other hand, had to contend with a bratty little sister.

In case you’re wondering – Tina was the cute one.  I was considered the brat.  I prefer to think I was simply high-spirited.

Sisters 2

2002 – from left: Me, Mom, Tina, Frances

Having a sister with only 18 months difference in age, Tina and I grew up as best friends … at least until our teenage years kicked in and then our relationship took a bit of a beating. After we both married, we found our way back to each other.

My sisters have made me laugh.  They’ve made me cry.

I’ve loved them and hated them.  We have fought with each other, then kissed and made up … repeated many times over the years.

We’ve been kind to one another and we’ve been mean – sometimes deliberately, usually not.

We’ve shared ups, downs, and long talks into the evening.

We live far away from each other, but my heart always pulls towards them.

We are as different as 3 people can be, but they will be my sisters always.

S

 April A to Z Challenge – 2015

Thank you for visiting.  Please help yourself to a Sugar Cookie with Smarties.

sugar cookies

Image from abovetopsecret.com

 

 

About Joanne Sisco

Retired but not idle. Life is an adventure - I plan to continue to embrace it.
This entry was posted in A-Z Challenge - 2015, Family, Memories and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

68 Responses to S = Sisters

  1. What a lovely post. I don’t have any sisters and envy you yours especially since you all get along so well.

    Like

    • joannesisco says:

      I’m so happy I have a good relationship with my siblings. So many other people don’t and that’s such a shame.
      I wonder how much of it is due to the fact we don’t see each other very often so when we do get together, it’s special and we wish for more.

      Like

  2. LB says:

    I’ve enjoyed meeting and reading about your sisters, Joanne. Perfect for S!

    Like

  3. bkpyett says:

    How lucky you are to have such beautiful sisters Joanne! Lovely post.

    Like

    • joannesisco says:

      Thanks Barbara – I’m very lucky indeed!! Not all siblings in other families get along. I’m grateful that although we live far from one another and don’t see each other often, we can – and do – pick up the phone to say hi 🙂

      Like

  4. 4wallsnaroof says:

    Wonderful post. I have two older sisters (11 and 12 years older than me) so I was the brat! They are 18 months apart like you and your sis and they would fight all the time! They drove to school together when they were in high school and yelled every morning about who was late and who was rushing the other! I was pretty glad when they moved out and I had the nice quiet house to myself! 🙂

    Like

  5. I have brothers, Joanne. I was only going to say ‘I only have brothers’ but that seems demeaning to them. They’re great fellows but I do wish I’d had a sister. I was a brat too. Good for us!

    Like

  6. hilarymb says:

    Hi Joanne .. I was the eldest and am sure I was a total pain at times … but sadly my brothers and I aren’t that close .. so lovely to see you and your sisters .. and yes they will have known me longer than anyone else .. cheers Hilary

    Like

    • joannesisco says:

      I wonder if it’s a function of being the oldest. I seem to see that division more often than not in the oldest.
      So sorry for both you and your brothers. It’s such a special relationship when it works well 🙂

      Like

  7. Alex Hurst says:

    I am in the process of reconnecting with my sister after personal relationships took the time away from us… it has been so wonderful to talk to her again, and I’m looking forward to being on the same time zone once more, so I can call her at appropriate times of the day. 😉 Siblings can be awesome (and this meant as both meanings.. XD )

    Like

  8. Another lovely post, it was nice to meet your sisters.

    Like

  9. mickscogs says:

    I have 3 sisters but no brother and I’m the youngest. They keep telling me how spoilt I was. I keep reminding them how much they teased me. They drive me nuts but I love them to pieces. Nice post Joanne.

    Like

  10. Sammy D. says:

    This is so real, Joanne – a tribute to what sisters mean to each other through thick and thin.

    Like

  11. Like you, I recall the interaction, not always friendly.By the time I was seventeen (the oldest) of the siblings and a working girl), it mattered to no-one when there was a rush to the bathroom in the morning. First one in, too bad for the rest.) 😀 😀

    Like

  12. Sue Slaght says:

    Wonderful to ‘meet’ your sisters Joanne. I don’t have a sister but i have some fabulous sisters i n law which I am so grateful for.

    Like

  13. My sister and I are 11 months apart and have always been close. Your post made me wish I had picked the same topic. I guess there is always next year but I really enjoyed you post. Thanks!

    Like

  14. Phil Taylor says:

    It always cracks me up how you Canadians call M&M’s Smarties.

    Like

  15. I have two sisters too, Joanne, both younger. They have much more in common with each other than with me and the reason is partly that they are both extroverts and I am not. And I’m the older sister who spent most of their childhood holed up in my room with my books and my music. But now, oh my gosh, my sisters are incredibly close to me. I’m the one they come to with everything which is a good thing. I know they trust me and value my opinion. Big sisters and all that. And they keep me young(er) informing me to lose the Mom jeans and that sort of thing. Your sisters are who will be there all your life, I hope. I love that you were the high-spirited one and, in my opinion, awfully high on the cute scale too. You and Tina look a lot alike.

    Like

    • joannesisco says:

      Awww – that’s so nice to hear! Tina and I have been hearing that all our lives. We of course look at each other and say ‘really?!’ We don’t see it.
      It’s funny that although I may be the middle sister, I’m the trailblazer. Both of my sisters are more – traditional? Not sure that’s the right word.

      Like

  16. NancyTex says:

    I’ve only got one sibling, a sister who is 6 years my senior, and as a result of the age gap, we weren’t particularly close growing up, and then not at all until we hit our 40s. Even now, I wish the relationship was closer, but I suppose rather than wishing, I could make an effort to make it happen. Thanks for a post that made me realize this.

    Like

    • joannesisco says:

      Quite a few years ago I was driving to work when I suddenly thought about a former colleague. The fact he popped into my head was totally random because I didn’t know him very well.
      Later that day I heard he had been killed in a car accident that same morning while I was driving to work.
      To say it rattled me would be an understatement.

      Ever since then, whenever someone is on my mind, I try to make a point of reaching out to them – a phone call, an email.
      At first some people were a little stiff – as in, I wonder what she wants – but now I get happy conversations instead whereas otherwise it would have been just a thought that came and went.

      That’s all it takes – a random hello when the thought crosses your mind.

      Like

  17. treerabold says:

    Beautiful tribute to your sisters!!
    How could you ever be a brat?! Of course you were high spirited! 😉
    Thanks for the cookies!

    Like

  18. Something about big families…something about the bond between sisters… that will always be sweet no matter how old we get.

    Like

  19. Lynn says:

    I have a brother on either side, no sisters. I think that is why I so value my relationships with my girlfriends. It’s funny how children can be born of the same parents and yet all be so very different. Regardless of the distance between you, it sounds like you have a great relationship!

    Like

    • joannesisco says:

      I consider myself very lucky that I’m friends with my siblings. I know many families where there is tension and rivalries especially as the parents start to fail in health. In fact the opposite happened with us. It made us closer.

      Like

  20. lbeth1950 says:

    Sisters have to be one of God’s best ideas. Yours are lovely.

    Like

  21. I went over and met your brothers first. They’re the best! I also have an older brother whom I idolised as a child. Then things happened in the wake of my sister’s death and our relationship has never been the same. But I’m very close to my younger brother. We were the “little kids”, there being a five year gap between me and the next sister up. Fought like anything as kids but close now.
    I also have two sisters (both older in my case). One lost to me in a car accident 20+ years ago and the other never someone I got along with. Ever. I am jealous of the relationship you have with yours – even if they did make you cry.
    Lovely post, Joanne. 🙂

    Like

    • joannesisco says:

      I remember the loss of your sister, Heather and the pain it continues to cause you. I can’t imagine the heaviness of your loss … not to mention the rift it appears to have triggered with your older brother 😦

      I’ve had ups and downs with my sisters. Sisters sometimes have a tendency to compete with one another in an unhealthy way … but I’m grateful to be on excellent terms with them now.

      I was never particularly close to my brothers growing up – largely because of the age difference, not to mention the fact I’ve lived 700km away from them since I was 19.
      When my mother was in poor health in her final years, I spent a lot of time at home helping with her care. The experience brought me close to my brothers and now I enjoy a relationship with them I never had before 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

  22. bulldog says:

    What a beautiful family you have… you and Tina could be twins… but I have to ask, are your sisters also runners/swimmers/climbers or are you alone in that ??

    Like

  23. “I prefer to think I was simply high-spirited.” Laughing out loud over here, Joanne. Of course you weren’t a brat..High-spirited is exactly right!

    You’re all lovely looking girls and all a blessing to each other I’m sure even with those moments of tension here and there. Even now when you get a bit miffed, you’ll smile because they’re your sisters and laugh because there’s nothing they can do about it as the saying goes……

    Like

    • joannesisco says:

      If I was to be totally honest, I’d admit I could be a brat … and still am 😉

      I find it sad that time and the eventual loss of the parents often results in siblings drifting apart and rivalries escalating. In fact the opposite has happened with us. I’m lucky 🙂

      I read a touching piece once about siblings … that they are the most significant relationship in our lives because no one else will have known us as long as they do.
      I’m sure there are tons of exceptions, but for me that certainly hangs true.

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

