X = “X” Marks the Spot

An “X” marks this spot in the alphabet where I’ve tripped and fallen with my theme for this challenge.  It’s not because of a lack of effort.

I had an idea.

I was going to write a clever little piece about my life as an XX chromosome living in a household dominated by XY chromosomes.

Gilles & sons

1989 – Misha, Gilles, Jordan

As all women know,  the introduction of that strange little Y chromosome into the genetic mix creates an alien-being that baffles and frustrates the poor little XX …. but at the same time, the XY has enough endearing charm to ensure its continuing survival.

The problem is … the story refused to come together in spite of considerable gnashing of teeth and over-imbibing of bowls of ice cream for inspiration.  I finally realized this story just didn’t want to be told.

So I have nothing.  I hang my head in failure.

X marks the spot.

X

April A to Z Challenge 2015

Thank you for visiting today.  Please enjoy an XoXo Cupcake before you go.

xoxo cupcakes

Image from simply-sweet.ca

About Joanne Sisco

Retired but not idle. Life is an adventure - I plan to continue to embrace it.
This entry was posted in A-Z Challenge - 2015, Family, Memories and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

49 Responses to X = “X” Marks the Spot

  1. jannatwrites says:

    Don’t you just hate it when a good idea refuses to be put into words? 🙂 I am also the only female in the house so I can relate to that!

    Like

  2. You write such fun posts, even it seems when you don’t always mean to…as a not very competent Scrabble player I always hate this letter…followed closely by Z…must rush ahead and see what you’ve done with that little letter!

    Like

  3. I think you made a good job of having nothing. I’d never have thought of xx and xy. Nice photo of the xy’s. All three look like butter wouldn’t melt in their mouths.

    Like

  4. X is always the problem when constructing any alphabetised list. Honestly, who invented such a letter??

    Your idea was fantastic and had you written more, I would have a headache from nodding my head enthusiastically throughout my reading. So I think you said enough. Besides, we both know that being the XX in an XY household is enough of a challenge without constructing a lengthy, informative and witty post as well. (I also live with a male cat. Worse, a male ginger. I already had two of those of the human variety….)

    My brother’s dog is visiting us for six weeks. She’s a girl. I am in heaven. 😀

    Like

    • joannesisco says:

      hahaha … my cat is a male too. Worse, he’s an alpha male living in a house with Gilles, who is also an alpha male.
      Seriously! I wish I had a dollar for every time I have to tell Gilles “… but he’s a cat”.

      Liked by 1 person

  5. You always have such creative approaches to things. I love that idea of the XX/XY thing and I can definitely see that it would be so hard to write that up! But am glad you told us of your thought process anyway…….it still counts in my book!

    Like

  6. X is a tough one. Is there an ice cream flavor that starts with X to console you? 🙂

    Like

  7. Awww poor Joanne! I had a horrible time trying to come up with an X book review. Don’t think that you failed and hang your head. In fact, you did perfectly! Us followers can now bestow you with many X’s (hugs)!!! *HUGS* Love those cupcakes!

    Like

  8. I beg to differ. This post isn’t nothing. I finally know the difference between XX and XY chromosomes. See I learned SOMEthing. That’s not nothing. 😀 😀 😀

    Like

  9. Corina says:

    There’s always tomorrow…maybe it will come together for Y and you can still have an xY story!

    Like

  10. hilarymb says:

    Hi Joanne – I suspect you might have set a trend for next year with your XX .. great fun … and I’m sure there’s loads of differences – still if ‘them three goes out’ you get some space?! Cheers Hilary

    Like

    • joannesisco says:

      I was so excited when I came up with the xx-xy idea … x is such a hard letter to work with. Unfortunately at that point, my inspiration ran dry.
      Who knows? … maybe the story is still in me waiting for its day 🙂

      Like

  11. Oh fear not Joanne, a valiant effort indeed! Who invented the letter X anyway?? It’s like, only good for a few words! Heh, go blame that guy!!

    Liked by 1 person

  12. Sammy D. says:

    Oops wasn’t done!!! You did great – i still think it would be fun to do Z to A some year so the same hard letters don’t come at the tale end and Zap your spirit!!!

    Like

  13. Sammy D. says:

    So … If the story didn’t come together, you niXXXed it, or you XXX’d it out, or you stuck by your beloved XY spouse because you didn’t want to become an eX !!!

    Like

  14. You did just fine.

    Like

  15. Lynn says:

    I wondered what you would do for X! Tough letter! You handled it beautifully my friend:)

    Like

  16. Mrs. P says:

    Ha! I loved the way you approached this post! Sometimes great ideas run out of steam…and yet there was still enough humor to make it interesting. 😀

    Like

  17. bulldog says:

    Who cares about the x… the cupcakes are the best…. I love cupcakes

    Like

  18. Heyjude says:

    I reckon you have dealt with X very well. I like the idea of XX in a predominately XY environment. I fortunately had one daughter and three sons so we compensated by having 3 female cats and one male 😀

    My X last year was a little easier: https://smallbluegreenflowers.wordpress.com/2014/04/28/x-is-for-xanthosoma-roseum/

    Almost at the end Jo – you have done SO well and I have immensely enjoyed learning more about you and I hope that you will continue to drop in some interesting snippets of your past in your future posts 😉

    Like

    • joannesisco says:

      Oh my Jude, you had a FULL household!! Your comment about your 4 cats made me realize even my cat is male!

      I wouldn’t exchange my 2 sons for anything … but I can’t help reflect on how my life – and theirs – might have been different with a daughter too 🙂

      One of your comments a while back was part of the inspiration for my theme this year. It felt a little uncomfortable at times, so thank you so much for both your inspiration and encouragement 🙂

      Like

      • Heyjude says:

        You have done a great job; your posts have been interesting, informative, amusing, dramatic, historical, fun, thoughtful, light-hearted, self-deprecating and thought-provoking with just the right touch of insight into the real you. It may have been uncomfortable at times for you, but I think you kept the balance right. You have gone way UP in my esteem 😀

        Liked by 1 person

  19. lovetotrav says:

    In a family of 4 girls and a female sheltie, I don’t have too much experience with that Y thing! You sparked my interest in what that might be like. And I agree X sucks as a prompt!

    Like

    • joannesisco says:

      Gilles and I have often contemplated how different our lives might have been if we had had a girl. Watching my sister’s family grow with 2 of each, I can see how very different they are 🙂

      … yes, and X is in good company with Y and Z 😉

      Liked by 1 person

  20. mickscogs says:

    That’s a fine effort. I can think of a few things, like xenon and xanthorrhea australis for instance, but I would bore people to sleep.

    Like

Leave a Reply

