Y = Yearbook

My parents didn’t value photographs.  Photos were seldom taken and those that were got tossed into a box or lost in stacks of various papers.

Many years ago, I spent months sorting through their hundreds of loose photos, organizing them into chronological order, and putting them into photo albums.

After my parents passed away, I was horrified to get those albums back again with gaping holes where photos used to be … and another box of loose photos again.

In comparison, Gilles and I have kept our photos carefully preserved in albums over the years with appropriate labels and notes to preserve the memories.  In addition to the stacks of albums created before digital storage of images, I prepared 2 books for each of our sons from their birth to their graduation.

The album that is my pride and joy however is what I call our Yearbook.

I started it the year Gilles and I were married and it was intended to chronicle the changes in our family over the years – one page, one photo, each year.

Family - group-4

1988

At first it felt like a silly endeavour, but I kept assuring myself that one day in the distant future, I would look back on this book and be grateful I made the effort.

Family - group

1995

Over the years it slowly took shape and documented our journey as we all aged.

Family - group-2

2000

After the boys both left home, these annual photos together seemed to drop by the wayside.  I’m reminded that it’s time to make this a priority again.

Family - group-3

2004

If I had only one book to keep for the rest of my life, it would be our Yearbook – for in those pages, each photo brings me back to a story in our lives.

Fam Photo

2012

Y

April A to Z Challenge 2015

Thank you for visiting.  Please have a slice of Yellow Cake as a small treat.

yellow cake

Image from mynewoldschool.com

 

About Joanne Sisco

Retired but not idle. Life is an adventure - I plan to continue to embrace it.
This entry was posted in A-Z Challenge - 2015, Family, Memories and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

78 Responses to Y = Yearbook

  1. A lovely tradition that I wish I’d followed when our son was growing up…maybe I can start a new one with the grandkids! Thanks for the inspiration.

    Like

    • joannesisco says:

      I think that’s a great idea!! … especially if they are pictures of you with the grandchildren every year. It will be a treasure for them when they are older 🙂

      Like

  2. Alex Hurst says:

    Lovely. As you can tell from my theme, photography is really important in my life. My parents take a lot of photos, but I don’t really have access to them myself. I once took photos of their photos, so I have those, at least. It’s a great tradition. 🙂

    Like

  3. Terrific idea. I wish we had taken more pictures and taken better care of the ones we have. You have a beautiful family, Joanne.

    Like

    • joannesisco says:

      Thanks Barbara. When we were young and just getting by and juggling family with a career, 2 children felt like all I could handle. Now that they’re grown and on their own, I wish I had had more 🙂

      This post has encouraged me to ensure I continue to capture our family photos every year. In another 20 years from now, I’ll be glad I did 🙂

      Like

  4. treerabold says:

    What a great idea….a yearbook.
    My uncle was a photographer. Each year at Christmas he took a photo of his children and used it as the family Christmas card. When the first child moved away he photoshopped him into the photo. When the 1st grandchild was born she became part of the photo.
    Sadly my uncle died 3 years ago so the photos stopped.
    He too was very organized….on a recent visit to Ohio his daughter and I went through the 30+ years of Christmas cards. Great memories.

    Like

  5. I’ve jsut moved and the old family albums are now back in my living room (they’ve been storeed away in boxes for years). I’ll see if I can find some retro shots and post too.
    Thanks for the reminder!

    Liked by 1 person

  6. hilarymb says:

    Hi Joanne .. lots of comments – that’s great. Also a very sensible idea and one you as you say will treasure for always … love the Yearbook post and seeing you and the family grow and develop – handsome crowd … cheers Hilary

    Like

  7. Love the family photos, very special. Is the last photo from a wedding? You all look gorgeous!

    Like

    • joannesisco says:

      Thanks Annie – yes, the last one was at the wedding of one of my nephews.

      What’s funny about this photo (at least to me) is that both sons have a big head of very curly hair right now. They went through a buzz-head stage and now they are both at the polar opposite end 🙂

      Like

  8. bulldog says:

    I love the idea and the photos you shared are brilliant… it certainly documents the demise of Gilles hair line… lol…

    Like

  9. NancyTex says:

    What a lovely idea your yearbook is! I will have to start this tradition when grandkids come along! 🙂

    Like

  10. Heyjude says:

    How marvellous to have such a lovely record of your changing hair styles lives 😀

    Like

  11. Sue Slaght says:

    Joanne these are absolute treasures! What a lovely family you have at every stage. Good for you to be so diligent in preserving the memories. It’s harder to get these group shots once their grown isn’t it?

    Like

    • joannesisco says:

      Isn’t that the truth?!! I think I just need to be much more diligent about making it happen like I did when they were young.
      Just because they are grown, it doesn’t mean that we aren’t continuing to change 😉

      Liked by 1 person

  12. What a brilliant idea and a lovely family. You are blessed Joanne. But you know that.

    Like

  13. What a great idea! I am the photographer in the family and I love to take pictures, especially when we go to a special event or on vacation. Since my memory is not what it used to be, I love looking back through the yearbook (as you call it) and the memories flood back. 🙂 It’s funny, I saw the word yearbook and thought instantly of my high school yearbooks. Ugh, those were some horrid pictures! It was fun signing your name though. 🙂

    Like

  14. Sammy D. says:

    I forgot to add I’m not a fan of yellow cake. Don’t know why. I’m waiting for lemon poppyseed …

    WHAT DO YOU MEAN YOUR BAKING AND BLOGGING DAYS ARE ALMOST OVER ?!?!?!

    Like

  15. Sammy D. says:

    Such a fabuolous idea and one I’ve heard others do. You are such a handsome bunch.

    Like

  16. You know what’s funny Joanne…I too always kept yearbooks…or better photo albums, a bit of a different concept because it loses the whole ‘yearly thing’ but still, a book to preserve memories. I always loved these books. Now, with everything being digital, we just load them into iPhoto and that has become our new photo album. I tried to resist it and still kept up the whole photo album thing for a few years but it became expensive and I just thought after a while ‘why am I still doing this?’ Yet, I kind of miss it…

    Like

  17. Such a great idea. It would be wonderful to look back at the yearly changes. I’m afraid I’m like your mother. The camera tends to only come out for birthdays, Christmas and holidays. And there are decreasing numbers of each subsequent child. I have boxes of loose photos. Have had hardly any printed since digital came in. I know, I’m a slack parent. But think what fun the boys could have doing it all for me one day??? No?

    Oh, I thought you might have gone back to cookies and offered Yo-Yos. I love a good Yo-Yo. Passionfruit filling for preference. (I’m telling you this just in case. You know, for next year.)

    Like

  18. Ahh, your youngest son’s face in that first photo is cracking me up! How funny. I think you and I must share that organizational gene……I can’t stand boxes of loose photos either. Another great post, Joanne!

    Like

  19. Chris Hale says:

    Great post! It makes me think my wife and I should do something with the thousands of photos we have and that scrapbook she has in the closet. Great to see your family grow!
    C

    Like

    • joannesisco says:

      Thanks Chris.
      It is such a big undertaking when it’s ‘out of control’, I can understand why many people simply don’t try.
      With my mom’s photos, I’ve currently only got them sorted between ‘scanned’ and ‘unscanned’. Slowly the unscanned pile is getting smaller 🙂

      Like

  20. Relax says:

    Joanne, what wonderful generations-to-come gifts you’ve provided your loved ones. I have organized and reorganized (borrowed/displaced/misplaced) photos for eventual albums and it was so hard — I cannot imagine your horror at receiving back albums with gaps and loose photos again! I got so messed up along the way after– another in-law family came along, and another child came along, and then another.. and then, grandchildren.. Last year with the aid of scanner and thumb drives, etc., I started trying to put together albums and I think I lost hope — but your post today convinces me to give it another go!

    Like

    • joannesisco says:

      Excellent! My philosophy is that if you do nothing, in 5 years it will still be the same. If you chip away at it, in 5 years it could be finished … and what an interesting journey it will be along the way. Organizing and scanning these photos have triggered many conversations 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

  21. Mrs. P says:

    What you did with the family photos is one of my big “to do” items. That and developing fifty years of film after our pictures were lost. It’s an ongoing process and I can appreciate what you put into your project.

    We never did family pictures like the ones in your yearbook but I have done two things that I am proud of. The first is every year I make a photo book of my daughter and her son’s life and give it to her for Mother’s Day. I love those books.

    I also scanned all of the boxes of vintage pictures (of which there were hundreds if not thousands) of our family going back to the mid 1800s and I made a Genealogy in pictures book. I made two copies and gave them as gifts to the oldest living relatives with the intention of having them passed down through the generations. When my father died my eldest sister immediately claimed the photo book as hers. We are not exactly a close knit family and so I was glad that I was able to create a connection that would be a positive one and last throughout time.

    Like

    • Relax says:

      Wow, what wondrous gifts you’ve put together, too!

      Like

    • joannesisco says:

      Those are beautiful and unique gifts … and you’re absolutely right, they will be handed down. I would be beside myself with excitement if I had photographs going back to the 1800s!!! What an amazing treasure to have!

      Liked by 1 person

      • Mrs. P says:

        It was my own personal excitement about having these photographs that inspire creating the book. We have had many photographers in our family, professionally and otherwise. My aunt has been the keeper of the family history…and I will be the next keeper! 😀 😀 I can hardly wait.

        Like

  22. Your idea p.a.i.d. off. You have a wonderful family and fantastic photos to look at anytime you wish.
    ❤ ❤

    Like

  23. Solveig says:

    That is really something adorable. I do like the idea of one picture per year.

    Like

  24. I love the idea of a yearbook. I particularly like to be able to see the transitions through the years.
    My favourite photo here is the hands in pocket studio shot. – playful and fun.

    Like

  25. mickscogs says:

    A great effort Joanne. I’ve never done anything like that but I do try to print photos because they shouldn’t all be on computers. I hope to get it all together post retirement. I was lucky I didn’t lose the lot in the fire.

    Like

  26. Lynn says:

    Oh Joanne, what a beautiful idea. I have always been a picture person, I was that kid in highschool with her camera & have continued to be that person throughout the years. Years ago, after my parents divorce, I gathered up the family photos from my Mom & put together similar kinds of albums, chronicling the life of my parents, my brothers & me. That labour of love continued as we raised our own children, leaving me with numurous albums filled with memories. To this day, I love to peruse those books, they are such a treasures.

    Like

    • joannesisco says:

      As much as I love the flexibility of digital photography,, the sheer volume makes traditional cataloging in albums rather impractical. Sometimes I really miss the ability to simply pick up an album and flip through its contents.
      I am discovering though that photos I thought were amazing 30 years ago, look like hell now 🙂
      Gilles was always the picture taker in our home. I didn’t discover the joys of photography until I started the Bruce Trail and had a compelling desire to capture the journey.

      Like

  27. Corina says:

    I love taking photos but I’m horrible at found anything with them once I’ve taken them. When I win the lottery I will pay someone to organize them in some way that makes sense and allows others to enjoy them.

    Like

    • joannesisco says:

      LOL!! … the list of things I want to do when I win the lottery is long 😀

      I have this *organization gene* that compells me to constantly try to create order out of chaos. I can’t stop myself 🙂

      Like

Leave a Reply

