Z = Zenith

Zenith … the time at which something is most powerful or successful

Well friends, we’ve made it to the end of this year’s A to Z Challenge.  It’s been a long ride and I’m sure you’re happy it’s finally over too.

I really liked the idea of ending this Challenge with a Big-Bang kind of word like Zenith, but it begged the question …. how do we know if we’ve peaked?

If you’ve embraced a life of constantly testing the edges of your comfort zone, then it seems to me that as long as you are setting new goals and working towards them, you don’t know where the summit is yet.

During this Challenge I’ve touched on some of the significant pinnacles in my life – marriage, children, career, travel, Ironman, Kilimanjaro – but in spite of my years, I want to believe I haven’t experienced the ZENITH yet.

Let’s all hope our best is still yet to come.

Z

April A to Z Challenge 2015

Thank so much for visiting … especially if you have been dropping in each day of this challenge.  Your company and the conversations we’ve had have been appreciated so much.

I hope you will enjoy a slice of Zuger Kirschtorte before you go.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Image from commons.wikimedia.org

… and because it is the last post of the Challenge, I’m also offering a cocktail to celebrate the occasion … Zombies – for all who are interested.

One last story … a Zombie was the first drink I ever ordered in a bar.  It was my 16th birthday.

Yes – I know the legal drinking age was 18.

No – I don’t drink rum anymore.

zombie

Image by scholarsandrogues.com

About Joanne Sisco

Retired but not idle. Life is an adventure - I plan to continue to embrace it.
This entry was posted in A-Z Challenge - 2015, Memories, Random Stuff and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

88 Responses to Z = Zenith

  1. A fun, hope filled end to the challenge. Well done!
    ~ We made it!!! ~
    Stopping in from Life & Faith in Caneyhead.
    I am Ensign B of Tremps’ Troops
    Don’t forget to snag the Survivor Badge for your sidebar and to add your A to Z Reflections post link at A to Z Challenge!

    Like

  2. jannatwrites says:

    You did a great job with this challenge, and I’ve enjoyed learning more about your life! Good question about when we peak. I would like to think I haven’t peaked yet, either… because that would mean it’s all downhill from here 🙂

    Like

    • joannesisco says:

      Thank you for sticking with me on this journey through the A-Z. It’s a long month of posts 🙂

      I have to believe I’m continuing to get better … otherwise the alternative is too depressing to contemplate 😉

      Like

  3. treerabold says:

    It is you that made me aware of the A – Z Challenge….thank you for that!

    I can’t imagine that I have reached the Zenith…..I often times feel like my life is just beginning!
    I’ve enjoyed following you during this challenge. Sadly I had a hard time keeping up each day and often responded late (like this very note!) but I still enjoyed it!

    And your desserts were awesome! I’m impressed you had a dessert for each letter!!

    Like

    • joannesisco says:

      Thank you Tree. I’m impressed you leaped aboard at the last minute – exactly what I did last year 🙂 What a ride!
      I’m glad you had fun with it … it’s certainly not as easy as it appears. Plus you still did your daily photo! You are hard-core, woman!!! 🙂

      The desserts were a last minute thing I threw in the first day. I *sampled* a lot of desserts in April!! … I now have a serious weight problem 😉

      Like

  4. LB says:

    Joanne, I’m so impressed that you completed the A to Z! I just wish I’d been able to read them all! And I am quite confident that you have NOT achieved your Zenith.
    Keep on, woman!!

    Like

  5. What a great word and sentiment to end with…of course there are many more challenges ahead! Really enjoyed your whole A-Z challenge here and feel I ‘know’ you a lot better than before.

    Like

  6. As it is rare to find just one lone mountain hanging about on its own, I somehow believe, Joanne, that you have had many zeniths thus far (ahem, a zombie at 16) and are continuing this up and down journey across a whole range of peaks.
    I look forward to reading about them all.
    Congratulations on completing this marvelous challenge. Yet another momentous summit.
    🙂

    Like

  7. badfish says:

    YOU DA MAN, WOMAN!!

    Like

  8. Marilyn McCaul says:

    I always look forward to your posts, Joanne. I especially enjoyed the A-Z challenge, which demonstrated your enormous creative skills. I loved the no cal desserts!
    I am just a few weeks into Year Two of being a widow. What a great thought that I may have not hit my Zenith, and the best might still be coming…..Thanks!

    Like

    • joannesisco says:

      Thank you for the lovely comment.

      I can’t begin to imagine what a massive upheaval Year 1 was for you and your life as you knew it.
      I hope year 2 is the beginning of a new chapter for you. There are so many wonderful and amazing things ahead of us waiting to be discovered when we’re ready.
      Best wishes!!

      Like

  9. Great job on the A to Z, loved your post and this last post is a nice finish.

    Like

  10. Alex Hurst says:

    Congratulations on getting to the end of the challenge. Given everything I’ve learned about you this month, I sincerely doubt you’ve reached your zenith yet! I’ll look forward to reading about it in the future. 🙂

    Like

  11. The Widow Badass says:

    Excellent last post of the challenge, Joanne! I agree with you and am still waiting to peak also. I can’t imagine reaching the summit, nor do I want to because it’s all downhill from there…;-)

    Like

  12. I’ve really enjoyed your A-Z challenge and learning more about you and your family. Really loved the story of you and Giles meeting, that was just lovely. I like to think there is always something more to come, more living, more joy, more happiness and more love. Life is what we make it and by the looks Joanne you make a whole lot of awesomeness out of life xxx (I didn’t eat any cake all the way through the challenge but I’m having a Zombie, yum, thank you!)

    Like

    • joannesisco says:

      Thank you Annie. I’ve really appreciate all your kind comments along the way.
      Life really is what we make of it and I think you too try to squeeze all the awesomeness of out it that you can 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

  13. Corina says:

    Congratulations. May you reach many more zeniths in your life.

    Like

  14. Sue Slaght says:

    So happy I didn’t miss cocktail hour! Congrats on your month long challenge. I have no idea how you wrote that much. So impressive. I also learned a lot of great things about you. Those five Ironman attempts still have my jaw hanging on the floor. You rock girl.

    Like

  15. Oh! I’m glad I’m home in time to see your last post on this challenge. Zombies, huh? Oh, we have so much in common. I hope to get back and read the posts of yours I’ve missed – this has been a fun trip with you down memory lane and I’m sure you are pooped. And probably exhilarated a bit by the experience? Just think, tomorrow you don’t “have” to post a thing!!

    Like

    • joannesisco says:

      LOL – I think I’m going to be taking a rest for a while. I’m tired of writing Joanne stories so I can imagine how everyone else feels about seeing them everyday in their mailbox 🙂

      I detect a Zombie story on your end that will need to be shared … I’ll add it to the list of things we shall talk about on your porch one day 😉

      Like

  16. WHOO HOO! You made it! I like that word, Zenith! It reminds me of a shooting star just being born. We’re just starting and it feels so great! 🙂 Thank you for all the goodies and for making me smile every single day. Oooh a cocktail too! You’re the best! 🙂

    Like

    • joannesisco says:

      I am going to enjoy a nice long rest now 🙂
      … actually I wish that was true. Now I have to catch up on all the other things I’ve let slide the past month :/

      Thanks for coming along on this journey with me. I appreciated your company along the way 🙂

      Like

  17. Congratulations Joanne! You made it! And I’m sure the best is yet to come for you.
    Just one question. What is that torte thing? Yum! Send me some? That’s two questions.

    Like

  18. timsbrannan says:

    Congratulations on completing the A to Z blogging challenge!
    Don’t forget about the A to Z Reflections post coming up in May.


    Tim Brannan, The Other Side Blog
    2015 A to Z of Vampires
    http://theotherside.timsbrannan.com/

    Like

  19. Heyjude says:

    Forget the Zenith, I think you are avoiding a very interesting story here about Zombie cocktails…
    Mmmm… well deflected there Jo.
    😀 😀

    Like

  20. Tim H says:

    The best part of life is anticipation. You’ve done great things but there is always more. More unique, more challenging, and more awesome that can be packed into a life. At least I hope so, because that’s how I’m trying to live mine.

    Like

  21. Sammy D. says:

    Congratulations, Joanne!!! Despite some hair-pulling on your end, your April series has been utterly charming for me. I’d be hard-pressed to choose your narrative, your reminiscent photos or your delectable desserts as my favorite part. I thoroughly enjoyed all of it. 🎶🎶🎀💞

    Like

    • joannesisco says:

      Awww – that’s as good as a hug 🙂
      I’m glad you enjoyed yourself on this trip down memory lane … or what my kids like to call ‘surfing the past’.
      I really enjoyed our conversations every day. I think I shall miss that part 🙂

      Like

      • Sammy D. says:

        I had a hard time picking up blogging after last year’s challenge, and quite a few bloggers I followed fell off the radar and never returned! If you need a rest, take it, but DO COME BACK 💐😝😘

        I’m really looking forward to the Reflections posts and hope participation is good for that final look back at April.

        Like

        • joannesisco says:

          I didn’t do the reflections post last year and I wasn’t thinking about doing it this year either. Not sure what I would want to say reflecting on a month of reflecting.
          I too met some wonderful blogging last year and was disappointed when they – and their blog – disappeared after the challenge.
          I’m afraid you haven’t got rid of me yet 😉

          Liked by 1 person

          • Heyjude says:

            WOOT – thank goodness. And now you are telling me you did this last year too? What a glutton for punishment you are… I didn’t do a reflections post last year either. It’s a great way to meet people, but a lot (except for darling Sammy) didn’t remain with me afterwards, and all the visiting was exhausting!!

            Like

  22. NancyTex says:

    Mine was a Singapore Sling. Blech.

    Like

  23. Congratulations on making it through this challenge. Not sure how you did it! Well done! So did you take off a couple of days to make the 26 letters fit into 30 days? Sorry I haven’t been paying that close attention but I’m guessing you must have. Was that part of the official rules?

    Like

  24. lovetotrav says:

    I have reading you from A to Z and getting a little insight into what makes you tick. I look forward to more adventures in the future whatever they may entail. Best of luck as you strive onward to your Zenith which will be amazing. Happy travels, Cheryl

    Like

  25. Congratulations on completing the A – A challenge with a b.a.n.g.! I’ve enjoyed every post and am delighted to know you better. Not by a long shot have you reach your zenith. The best is yet to come, Joanne. I know it. It’s too early in the morning to propose a toast with anything but coffee. Here’s mud in your eye. ❤ ❤ ❤

    Like

  26. bulldog says:

    I’m actually sorry it has ended… but I don’t think you’ve reached your zenith. .. you seem to me one that will slide into your grave, fist in the air shouting “what a ride”…. thats how I want to go… but you have too much life in you to have reached your zenith… I’ve got to know so much about you on this challenge… I’ve loved every minute of it…

    Like

    • joannesisco says:

      Those are kind words, Bulldog. It was so nice having you along for this long journey. I’ve enjoyed the conversation … I now know you too are an outlier 😉
      For sure, we aren’t going to go quietly into the night ….

      Liked by 1 person

  27. Mrs. P says:

    It’s strange to talk about a zenith as it does have the implication that the best and brightest part of your life is over and I just can’t buy that. That part of my life can only really be over when I stop breasting. Until then, I will create new life every day. Some may be less challenging than others…but I do believe it is the create that we infuse into our lives which makes it all worthwhile.

    Like

  28. Lynn says:

    Congratulations on completing your A-Z challenge. I am sure it took a lot of work to compile interesting posts each & every day. I love that you tied your theme up with Z, a reflection of the person you have become in life. Someone who, despite all of your accomplishments & wonderful adventures, is still seeking more! Good on you girlfriend!

    Like

    • joannesisco says:

      Thank you – I’m happy and relieved to make it to the end of the month. There were a few days I started to despair 🙂
      I’m looking forward to being a bit quiet in my corner of the blogging world for a while 🙂
      Thanks for your conversation every day. I’ve enjoyed and really appreciated your visits!

      Like

  29. hilarymb says:

    Hi Joanne – well done on all the postings and the range of subjects – I too like to zenith, but at different times and for different reasons, while there are plenty of more zeniths ahead … which I shall aspire to and rise to when the occasion arises … cheers Hilary

    Like

  30. Well done, Joanne! A most impressive marathon you have run on here. It’s been awesome learning so much about you. Think I might go into withdrawal without your daily posts to look forward to!

    Like

  31. WOOT! You are a champion! Congratulations on traversing the alphabet for another year.

    And just quietly: Thank you for this post. When you wrote “How do we know we’ve peaked?”, my response was “I think I may have”. I’m going to confess that I’m tired. Tired of pushing the boundaries, tired of being outside my comfort zone, tired of wearing too many hats. The idea of becoming a recluse is looking mighty attractive right now. But then you went and wrote “Let’s all hope our best is still yet to come.” Darn you. So I guess I’ll hang in there, somehow, and try not to become a hermit instead.

    And you finished with ZOMBIES!! Actually, I’ve never had the cocktail, but ZOMBIES!! 😀

    Like

    • joannesisco says:

      LOL!!! Thank you for a good laugh first thing in the morning 😀

      I too need to retreat into a corner and recharge occasionally. Running in high gear on adrenaline takes its toll. This challenge has been one of those. I will need to rest for a while. I’m pooped.

      … plus you just finished a gruelling training program to get to a Half Marathon. Plus rowing. Plus singing. Plus being a mom. Plus, plus, plus. You need to recharge my friend! ❤

      Obviously you weren't expecting a zombie at the end. Glad I have the ability to surprise 😉

      Liked by 1 person

  32. This A to Z has been an absolute joy for me. Love the stories and the chance to know a little more about you. Plus, the Zombie thing? First laugh out loud of the day when I read “I don’t drink rum anymore.”

    Cheers, dear. Enjoy the glow of accomplishing this project.

    Like

    • joannesisco says:

      LOL – obviously I thought of you when I decided to drop a zombie in there 🙂
      It’s funny but I had totally forgotten about my one and only experience with zombies until I was looking up images to put in my post. It literally was a spur of the moment comment at the end 🙂
      Rum … shudder!

      Like

  33. mickscogs says:

    I’m happy for you, but I’ll have find something else to do at 9PM from now on. I’m sure I’ll get over it. Thanks Joanne, it has been enjoyable. You are a very interesting person.

    Like

Leave a Reply

