Changing Seasons: May … A Promise Of More To Come

This is the 5th month in the Changing Seasons Photo Challenge initiated by Cardinal Guzman.  Once a month we return to a location we have chosen to take new photographs of the area to capture the changing seasons.  The location I chose for this challenge is Bluffer’s Park on the east end of Toronto.

Last Sunday I returned to Bluffer’s Park late in the morning.  I live only 12 km north of the lake and it was a beautiful 19C when I left.  You can imagine my surprise when I got to the park and discovered it was only 11C by the water.  I was definitely under-dressed for poking around taking photos in the chill.

Although all the trees in my neighbourhood were exploding with new life, I was disappointed to discover that spring was behind schedule here at the waterfront with only hints of green starting to show on some trees.

Bluffers - May2

Bluffers - May-3

It was strangely quiet for such a beautiful morning … even most of the ducks and geese were absent.  I was surprised however to find 2 little ones huddled alone on the shore with no mom nearby to shoo me away.

Bluffers - May-2

Meanwhile, at the Marina and Yacht Club there were more signs of activity.  Many boats were in the water and occasionally people could be seen scurrying around.  On one boat in particular, there was music blaring as 2 guys were obviously getting ready for a season on the water.

Bluffers - May3

I was captivated by the stillness of the water and the reflection of the clouds on it.  With this set of piers still empty and buds on the nearby tree, the contrast with the same scene in January is significant (click on images to enlarge).

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA Bluffers - May6

In the springtime as the world seems to come back from the dead, I’m reminded of how tenacious nature is … finding a foothold anywhere for new life to grow.

Bluffers - May

… but as much as I love birch trees, they are my current source of allergy hell.

For previous posts in this challenge:

January 2015
February 2015
March 2015
April 2015

The Changing Seasons is a Monthly Photo Challenge started by CardinalGuzman.wordpress.com.

The Changing Seasons is a Monthly Photo Challenge started by CardinalGuzman.wordpress.com.

About Joanne Sisco

Retired but not idle. Life is an adventure - I plan to continue to embrace it.
This entry was posted in Around Toronto, Nature, Outdoor Stuff, Photo Challenges and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

82 Responses to Changing Seasons: May … A Promise Of More To Come

  1. Pingback: Changing Seasons: December Already!! | My Life Lived Full

  2. Pingback: November’s Unusual Charm – The Changing Seasons | My Life Lived Full

  3. Pingback: Changing Seasons: October Is Nature’s Costume Change | My Life Lived Full

  4. Pingback: Changing Seasons – A Steamy Start To September | My Life Lived Full

  5. Pingback: Welcome to August – The Changing Seasons | My Life Lived Full

  6. Pingback: Changing Seasons – July In The City | My Life Lived Full

  7. Pingback: The Changing Seasons – The Beauty Of June | My Life Lived Full

  8. afairymind says:

    Lovely photos capturing spring’s spreading influence. I particularly like the comparison shots. 🙂 I hope mummy duck returned to her ducklings soon and they weren’t left completely vulnerable…

    Like

  9. Those pics remind me of home. We live on a mountain on a lake, and it’s positively glorious this time of year. The kids go fishing on the lake, run around like little crazy people, and everyone converges on the lake as a community. It’s very nice.
    Then it gets hot.

    Like

  10. kimlhine says:

    Great challenge idea!

    Like

  11. Mama Cormier says:

    Hi Joanne, I discovered that I had somehow stopped following you. I wondered why I wasn’t getting anymore emails about your posts. I have a lot of catching up to do. I love your posts about your family. It’s fun seeing how you and your family have changed over the years. I see that you adopted the perm in the 80s. I did as well and I cringe every time I see those photos. The first couple of perms weren’t bad but the last one was the last one for a good reason. As for the changing seasons we’ve completely passed over spring and gone straight into summer. Too quick. I’m not adjusting well to these extreme temperatures.

    Like

    • joannesisco says:

      hmmm – I’ll have to go back and look at the photos again. I can count the number of times I’ve had a perm in my life on one hand and have fingers left over.

      We have clearly leaped into summer mode this month and I’m not going to complain … for a while 😉

      Like

  12. Wow, that January vs May photo, it’s coool that you have the same vantage point in those shots.
    19 vs 11 is a huge tempreature drop! It’s also an annoying factor when it comes to spring: you ride your bike to work in the morning, the weather is cold (or warm) and when you’re returning after work the temperature and weather has totally changed and you’re either over- or under-dressed.

    Like

    • joannesisco says:

      I’ve lived in Canada my entire life, you’d think I would know the peculiarities of spring by now 🙂

      Glad you liked the comparison photos. I was pretty happy with the result.

      Like

  13. LB says:

    That 4th image down, with the lovely reflections, is particularly captivating.
    Good luck with those allergies!

    Like

    • joannesisco says:

      Thanks – today there is a bit of a breeze and I saw a large evergreen tree spewing green dust into the air as it waved in the breeze. It was like watching green smoke billow off the tree.
      My sinuses are twitching at just the memory of it!!

      Like

  14. lumar1298 says:

    Beautiful pictures…

    Like

  15. Melissa says:

    Gorgeous shots! Love the contrast between April and January! And yes, April brought a special kind of Allergy Hell to us in New Mexico, too…except in the form of our lovely Junipers. Grrr…

    Like

    • joannesisco says:

      Oh yes – the evergreens are the worst for spreading their green haze on everything. Yesterday I could actually see clouds of green mist billowing off a giant evergreen whenever there was a gust of wind.

      Like

  16. Next month, Joanne, next month is going to be the biggie for transformation. I, too, am always amazed to see a sapling emerging from somewhere that you would think couldn’t possibly support life. So cool. I hope those allergies are getting better each day. This year was the first that I’ve really been bothered – mostly in my eyes. Hope you have a great weekend!

    Like

    • joannesisco says:

      Right now this is the time of spring I call Maple Keys. It isn’t the time that all those little helicopters fall off the trees … it’s the time those keys which didn’t get swept up last fall are now popping out as little seedlings EVERYWHERE.
      I swear I can pull out a few dozen in one area, come back an hour later and there will be a few dozen more.
      … and this is how I keep myself entertained 🙂

      Like

  17. I don’t think I’ll ever come to terms with how dramatically things change from season to season where you are. Things just turn a bit grey here (although the sun is out today) and only the imported Europeans lose their leaves. The natives stay verdant year round. I love the comparison photos. 🙂

    Like

  18. Pingback: Monthly Photo Challenge: The Changing Seasons 05 | Cardinal Guzman

  19. Sue Slaght says:

    The trees are likely frightened to bits to show their leaves after your horrendous winter Joanne. The change is still remarkable and imagine how fabulous it will be in full on summer!

    Like

  20. What a huge change in a month. I so love the seasons. We have snow on the peaks around the farm and wild wet weather at the moment. I know how much you’ve been looking forward to spring – I hope it continues to be a lovely one over there 🙂

    Like

  21. That ice took so long to leave the lakes this year and is keeping things cooler on the shores – here too. So interesting to see the changing seasons through the dock scene you’re using – it’s very effective.

    Liked by 1 person

  22. Sammy D. says:

    Lovely post, Joanne. I was afraid you hadn’t gotten out of bed since ‘Z’ 😂 should have known that little Challenge wouldn’t knock you off your stride!!

    Like

    • joannesisco says:

      hahaha! Not much rest happening on this end 🙂
      I’ve been trying to play catch-up on all the blogs I follow … not to mention all the additional work that comes with spring … ie yard work!
      I’m thrilled to discover that some plants managed to survive the exceptionally hard winter we had, but other plants – like the hydrangeas – I’m still waiting for signs of life. Fingers crossed.

      Like

      • Sammy D. says:

        I think hydrangeas (at least here) are typically late to show signs of rejuvenation. Hope that’s the case with yours.

        Oh those gardening muscles – new aches at start of season, eh?

        Like

  23. treerabold says:

    Spring does seem to be dragging its feet there….so sorry. By next month I’m sure the buds will bust wide open!
    The Birch tree has always been one of my favorites. Sorry it is attacking you 😦

    Like

  24. Alex Hurst says:

    The little baby ducks!!! ❤

    Like

  25. I worry about the babies all alone and cold (at least I think they are).
    This is an interesting challenge. I like how it’s panning out. 🙂 🙂

    Like

  26. Heyjude says:

    A very quiet day and I too am worried about those youngsters, they look so vulnerable huddled there. What a difference between January and May, but I do actually quite like the snow photos. The trees have gone mad here, you’d be sneezing and sniffing all day long! I shall go out and do my walk this weekend 🙂

    Like

  27. kimlhine says:

    Hi Joanne, I just nominated you for an award, not sure how you feel about them, but if you want to accept visit here: https://kimlhine.wordpress.com/2015/05/07/i-won-an-award/

    Like

  28. Stillness and chill. I get that from your photos. It’s actually quite peaceful viewing these – perhaps it’s the reflection in the water that contributes to that feeling. Lovely scenery even though spring hasn’t quite sprung yet and the contrast is still remarkable! Do hope those allergies don’t keep you down too long, Joanne.

    Like

  29. bikerchick57 says:

    I like the photo with the red ladder. Very pretty park! If birch is your allergy hell, mine will be the cottonwood.

    Like

  30. I seem to recall hundreds of birds in your previous posts. Where did everybody go?
    Hope allergy season is over quickly.

    Like

    • joannesisco says:

      I was wondering about all the birds too.
      I suspect that this cove is a nice sheltered area for the winter, but in the spring when the shoreline melts they migrate to other areas with better feeding.
      There were “some” birds, but only a handful.

      Liked by 1 person

  31. It’s a beautiful park, you are lucky to have it so close by. Love all your pictures, especially the one with the two little ones all curled up. Isn’t spring great?

    Like

    • joannesisco says:

      Spring is so wonderful … especially after a long winter 🙂
      I was a bit worried about the little ones. There didn’t seem to be a nest nearby and no adults to protect them.

      Like

  32. lovetotrav says:

    I haven’t been to this park before. Looks quaint and interesting. Must visit… I need to put it on the list.. which is somewhere… Thanks 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  33. I like your comparison pics of January to May. Looks balmy. It must be time to open the pool! You go first!

    Like

  34. You really did capture the stillness well. Funny how some pictures seem to be starting to show signs of spring while others look like they were taken in the dead of winter. Kind of crazy!

    Like

    • joannesisco says:

      Marissa – this time I can’t blame a spam filter … it’s just me having missed this comment 😦
      Spring comes much later here than you are probably used to … and then it is really patchy in places. Having said that, I have to admit, even I was surprised at the differences. It’s so obvious to me – now that I’m actually paying attention – that plants and trees have different cycles.

      Like

Leave a Reply

