Be Afraid …

As we go about our daily routines, we are often oblivious to the dangers surrounding us … ready to catch us unaware and wreak certain havoc in our lives.  Such was the case this morning as I bounded out of the house without a care in the world.

Little did I know.  Real life should come with a sound track so we can be warned when danger is lurking.

As I was driving down the street, I caught a sudden movement out of the corner of my eye. To my horror, it was a large, bald, albino spider crawling on the door beside me.

A small strangled scream burped out as I pulled the car over to the side of the road as calmly as I could under the circumstances.  I’m rather proud at how deftly I managed that without killing anyone … or inadvertantly knocking the stowaway onto my lap.

I carefully pushed the car door open while trying to maintain as much distance between me and the deadly alien as possible.  Only then did I flick him (her?) off the door with a piece of paper.

Not seeing exactly where he (or she) landed, I leaped out of the car – rather gracefully I’d like to think – and jumped up and down frantically … you know, just in case there were others in the invasion.

spider

Alert level is now at DEF CON 2.

You’ve been warned.  No one is safe.

About Joanne Sisco

Retired but not idle. Life is an adventure - I plan to continue to embrace it.
This entry was posted in Nature, Random Stuff and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

107 Responses to Be Afraid …

  1. jannatwrites says:

    I shouldn’t laugh, but I have to just imagining the scene. The photo of the car on fire was perfect 🙂

    Like

    • joannesisco says:

      Thank’s Janna … this pretty well describes my typical over-reaction to any bug where they aren’t supposed to be.
      … but especially spiders.

      I’m grateful we don’t have snakes 😉

      Like

  2. Bees in the car now that is scary…but spiders? Anyway I’m impressed at how you overcame your fear to pull over safely and then herd it out! Last time I got in the car after a forest hike I felt something moving in my hair, when I reached up it bit my finger so I hurled it to the other side of the car…the swelling on my finger eventually went down but I’m still not sure what it was – so glad we don’t live in Australia!!!

    Like

    • joannesisco says:

      {shudder!!!}

      I used to get bees and flies stuck in my hair under my bike helmet all the time until I started wearing a cap under my helmet …. but I’ve never been bitten like that.
      Even worse … it was still in the car somewhere!!!

      I just learned today from Master of Something I’m Yet To Discover that they have leeches that aren’t aquatic and live in the forest (in Australia). How awful is that?!!
      Spiders are one thing but leeches totally creep me out.

      Like

  3. mickscogs says:

    I just saw this and thought it may amuse you Joanne.
    http://www.abc.net.au/news/2015-06-02/sea-of-cobwebs-captured-on-victorian-farm-in-ballooning/6515826
    The little critters are everywhere.

    Like

  4. hilarymb says:

    Hi Joanne – yes those pesky critters creep and crawl around my car too … and build their wonderful cob-like webs … though I think ours are probably not as serious contenders for monsters as yours … take care and watch that fire – cheers Hilary

    Like

  5. LB says:

    Thanks for the chuckle, Joanne! You’ve told your story well, so well in fact that I can almost visualize your experience!

    Like

  6. Pingback: Memories Are Made Of This… | Wasted Days And Wasted Nights

  7. Corina says:

    Oh wow! This reminded me of my own spider in the car story. I’ll have to write it up as a blog post in the next day or so. Thanks for the idea/reminder!

    Like

  8. Phil Taylor says:

    You should have let him (her) stay there. It would keep down the number of other bugs living in your car!

    Like

  9. treerabold says:

    I am impressed with your stealth ability to park and shoo the little guy without out him even realizing you were onto him.
    I can see him sharing the story with his little spider friends….”dude I have no idea what happened…one minute I’m thinking about jumping on this lady and the next thing I know I am kissing asphalt!!”

    Like

  10. Ah, yes. It is the small private moment that defines us.

    Like

  11. I’m not sure how you managed to handle this alien invasion so lucidly,but I am impressed. I.m.p.r.e.s.s.e.d.! Avoiding a collision through your calm is news-worthly. 😀 😀 😛
    I would have freaked and messed up. You were the cool, calm and collected ‘professional’. 😛 😛

    Like

  12. I’m perfectly happy to appreciate the presence of spiders outside. I actually think many of them are quite fascinating and beautiful in their natural habitat.

    But unless they’re willing to chip in with the rent or car insurance, then they can stay the heck out of my apartment and my vehicle, or face the consequences!

    Like

  13. Alex Hurst says:

    Ughhh… I am not necessarily scared of spiders small than a cherry, but this week, I woke up with a nasty itch. Turns out there’s a spider somewhere in my bed, and it has decided biting my chest is its favorite thing to do. YOWTCH!

    Like

  14. Megz says:

    so glad i’m not the only one that has that reaction. we have these big black scary ones in the basement. one of them was coming right at me once and i killed it with a sledgehammer. bryan implied i may have been over-reacting….

    Like

  15. Oh no, Joanne, that’s not good. Spiders in the car, bad bad bad! I once drove for an hour with a big hairy huntsman in the well where the seatbelt comes out (these have legs that span larger than a man’s hand but aren’t poisonous). Stress! It didn’t come out fortunately. One time we had to take our nasty old farm jeep into the city near by. We stopped and had a coffee at a café where tables are outside. I saw a big hairy huntsman drop out from behind a back mud flap, walk around on the road and then climb back up the wheel! Australia, we have the big hairy spiders!

    Like

  16. I’m extremely glad that we don’t have deadly spiders around here! I don’t even like the ones that are harmless!

    Like

    • joannesisco says:

      hahahaha … like you, our spiders are harmless … just completely unappreciated in my personal space 🙂

      As much as we might complain about our cold and long winters, at least it discourages those elements of the insect and reptile world more inclined to kill us 😉

      Liked by 1 person

  17. beeblu says:

    Oh, yes, I empathise and sympathise. An albino spider sounds positively ‘orrible. Mine was a large tarantula looking thing know as a Huntsman, which is completely harmless. Love the photo. 😀

    Like

    • joannesisco says:

      I called him an albino but really it was just a white spider. I don’t know why I find the white spiders that tend to life in dark places uglier than *regular* spiders.
      Spiders just creep me out … especially when they show up suddenly overly close to me.
      You have fearsome looking devils though {shudder}

      Like

  18. Sue Slaght says:

    You know what I love most about this? The fact that even with your obvious extreme dislike for the spider you pulled over and let him out alive. Good karma for you!
    This farm girl has no problems with spiders although I’m not so keen on mice. 🙂

    Like

    • joannesisco says:

      LOL – well, let’s assume he was still alive after my heebie-jeebie dance on the side of the road 😉

      Mice don’t overly bother me … unless they are in my house. Then I’m not so fond of them.
      Actually I saved one from the swimming pool a couple of weeks ago. I was amazed at what a remarkable little diver he was trying to get away. He finally tired out and I was able to scoop him out.

      Liked by 1 person

      • Sue Slaght says:

        Look at you saving little creatures left right and center. I don’;t mind mice outside but i was imagining a driving the car scene with one scurrying about.
        I hope you didn’t need to give mouth to mouth to the wee swimmer. 🙂

        Like

  19. M-R says:

    I think its being bald and albino are the icing on the spider cake.
    Sorry.

    Like

    • joannesisco says:

      LOL – our spiders are NOTHING compared to your spiders. Australian spiders are horror movie material!!!
      If the thing in my car yesterday was the spider I saw in the Outback many years ago, I would be a drooling, sorry mess in therapy for a long time!

      Liked by 1 person

  20. bikerchick57 says:

    Ohmigosh, I have to share that photo and your story with my girlfriend. She hates spiders. LOL!

    PS: Glad you are okay. Maybe you need to hire a ninja warrior to fend off the next spider attack.

    Like

  21. NancyTex says:

    I would have undoubtedly caused a multi-vehicle pile up.

    Like

  22. bulldog says:

    Shame the poor thing was probably wondering what the hell must I do to get away from this woman… thanks for the laugh….

    Like

  23. You are obviously a city mouse. I mean that in the best possible way, you big chicken. Or maybe i am just so inured to them from my daily sweeping down of assorted hornet’s nests and cobwebs. It’s a jungle out there, I tell you! However, I love the idea of a soundtrack. I could use one of those myself. Who do we talk to, I wonder?

    Like

    • joannesisco says:

      LOL – definitely a city mouse. No question.
      I was born and raised small town but have city blood 🙂

      Wouldn’t a soundtrack be amazing?! Sometimes I just want to burst into song 🙂

      Like

  24. Heyjude says:

    One consolation – you don’t have poisonous spiders there do you? Like they have in Australia?
    Sorry Jo, but I did have a chuckle over this, and Carol’s car full of spiders! I inadvertently knocked a leaf on one of my geraniums the other day and was horrified to see what I thought was bird poo on it explode into millions of teeny-tiny spiders – I kid you not – they fell down in a cascade to the floor and ran everywhere. I’m sad to say that I envisaged them as growing up so set too to destroy as many as I could. I am so ashamed. They had every right to live a full life. Just not on my patio… and I still have nightmares about how many survived.

    Like

    • joannesisco says:

      Thankfully we don’t have the same issues with dangerous spiders that Australia has … but as your story pointed out, it’s still really disconcerting when they show up where they aren’t supposed to be!

      I’m not surprised you still have nightmares … I would be therapy for a long time :/

      Liked by 1 person

  25. I laughed my head off. You’re hilarious! But then, we already knew we shared a warped sense of humour. 😀

    Like

    • joannesisco says:

      Yay!! I knew I could count on you to ‘get’ my humour 🙂

      Actually it wasn’t really funny at the time … and I’m pretty sure the young girl walking by at the time was alarmed by my behaviour.

      Liked by 1 person

  26. Sammy D. says:

    Was he bald??

    I don’t know ….

    All I know is he looked like a spider !!!

    Like

  27. Sammy D. says:

    LOL LOL. i’m sorry; I can’t help it … You noticed he was BALD ?!?! Is that as opposed to the proverbial hairy spider??? Geez when I worked at the bank I always feared getting robbed, not because I’d lose the money but because I’d be struck dumb with fear and not be able to describe the guy when our security iffucer was constantly haranguing us to notice details like height and weight.

    Like

  28. Mrs. P says:

    Ha Ha…that’s totally me. In 7th grade during math class the boy behind me told me there was a spider in my hair. I immediately stood up and put my head down shaking it wildly while I screamed, “Get it out, get it out”. Needless to say that when I calmed down enough to lift my head up…everyone was staring at me.

    Like

    • joannesisco says:

      THE HORROR!!!!

      I’m not sure which would have been the best scenario …. boy was just teasing you and there really wasn’t a spider, or, there was a spider and he was kindly pointing it out for you (obviously a very valuable friend – although he would have been infinitely more valuable if he had removed the spider)

      No … no question. The best scenario would be no spider.

      Liked by 1 person

  29. Joe says:

    Sound like a case of Arachnophobia Joanne. If this happened to my wife she would have called 911 and ran from the car until the rescue team got there 🙂

    Like

  30. Oh thank heavens you survived. I feared for your life.
    We filled my new car with hedge clippings a few months ago to take to the dump. We were plagued with spiders for weeks. Won’t be doing that again.:-/

    Like

  31. Purpleanais says:

    Hahaha, that SO could have been me!

    Like

  32. Oh my. You really had me…am so glad Marissa did the search first so I could segue from the horror in your post directly to her words and your response reassuring me that indeed, this was not a new enemy I needed to fear, but instead just a different sort of an enemy I already feared! Oh, I am so with you on this one……many a time have I pulled a car over for just the same reason. And it never feels safe to go back in there….really like the idea of the leaf blower…..might start carrying ours around in my car at all times!

    Like

  33. 4wallsnaroof says:

    Ewww! I don’t like spiders either but my son is much worse than me. He found one in the shower with him one day and started jumping around screaming! We couldn’t figure out what the heck was going on! Now he checks befor he gets in! Glad you survived your encounter. 😊

    Like

  34. mickscogs says:

    I can usually deal with spiders in the car with me.One hung down off the sun visor as I was attempting to pull off an amazing cut in to the left into a small gap, with the sun in my eyes. There was a small moment of panic and then I realised a car accident may be more serious. Apart from the ugliness and scariness of the spider, nothing really happened; I arrived at work and could not find her. Just remember we are a million times bigger than spiders and they eat a lot of things we don’t like, like flies etc. There are some I won’t fathom though, because of their habits.
    White tip spiders – they like sheets and clothing, especially the washed variety. They must die because a bite from them can cause necrosis.
    Black house spiders – apart from being ugly, they can carry all of their young on their back. You whack them then all of a sudden you have 30 or 40 of the pests to deal with.
    Red backs – they like to hide in dark moist, but large, places, like meter boxes. Bite can be fatal
    https://regionalcognisance.wordpress.com/2014/10/29/one-word-photo-challenge-scarlet/

    Like

    • joannesisco says:

      I’ve had a life-long dislike for spiders … in spite of the fact that Canadian spiders are harmless.
      Now Australian spiders …. OMG!!OMG!!OMG!! I’ve been forever traumatized by a night camping in the Outback!!

      Like

  35. So. I think you can check off “see if I can fool my readers” from you list of 52 things to accomplish this year. If it weren’t for Marissa posting first about her failed Google search, I would have done same.
    Well done!

    Like

  36. Joanne, this lead me on an entire google search because I have seen spiders that were white (although I’m not sure technically albino) and never thought twice about it. Are these spiders deadly? I couldn’t really find anything definitive on it although I did see some albino tarantulas that were actually quite cute (but no, not sure I’lll take that as a pet!!) Either way, the thought of being trapped in a car with something potentially dangerous is frightening. I’ve had some close calls with bees and wasps. Glad you are okay.

    Like

    • joannesisco says:

      LOL!! Actually I’m 100% confident it was harmless … except I REALLY don’t like spiders, especially when they are violating my personal space. 🙂

      Like

      • Oh, okay, wasn’t sure but then I saw you referred to it as a ‘deadly alien’.

        Funny story time…once when I was about 9 or so, I was in some amusement park, just a small one, with my day camp and I got in the little car I was supposed to ride in (can’t remember what ride it was.) Anyway, I saw there was a spider in my car and I told the ride operator and he said “So? What are you, Queen Elizabeth?” and I had to share my entire ride with the spider. I was mortified on so many levels.

        Like

        • joannesisco says:

          GASP!! I’m convinced that ride operators have to pass an aptitude test for insensitive behaviour before they are considered for the job :/

          Sorry – it didn’t occur to me that anyone might think it was anything other than my attempt at humour 🙂

          Like

  37. lovetotrav says:

    Too funny. Glad to hear you and the other drivers survived the incident. Be sure to do a security check on vehicle next time upon entering!

    Like

  38. TheLastWord says:

    oohh! Glad you didn’t hit anyone or anything! You should get a leaf blower, open all the doors of the car and blow it all out.. That should learn them!

    Like

Leave a Reply

