The Changing Seasons – The Beauty Of June

This is month six in the Changing Seasons Photo Challenge hosted by Cardinal Guzman.  A location was chosen that we have been re-visiting every month to take a series of photos highlighting the seasons as they change.

My chosen location was Bluffer’s Park and Marina in the east end of Toronto.

Visiting Bluffer’s Park in the early morning on a sunny Sunday in June was a treat.  It was still very quiet with only a handful of cars in the parking lot.  Before the summer is over, I know I will need to visit when the park is packed with people and parking a car will be miracle.  I’m already cringing at the thought.

In the meantime, I was going to enjoy this tranquil oasis in a large city.  As I was pulling into the parking lot, a couple of boaters were already preparing to head out onto the lake beyond the small inner harbour.

The water is still very frigid and I was relieved to discover the kayaker was wearing a full drysuit.

Bluffer - June7

I chatted briefly with the couple getting ready to put their boat in the water.  I assumed they were locals and was quite surprised to discover they were from Florida and they would be docking at the marina for the next several days.

Bluffer - June8

In the inner harbour I noticed that floating docks have now been added for small watercraft.   Of course I had to venture out on each of them – only to discover they are VERY wobbly to walk on.   I didn’t linger long since an unplanned plunge in the water would have been rather unwelcome – not to mention the catastrophic damage it would cause to my new camera.

Bluffer - June9

Meanwhile, down on the beach, only a large flock of seagulls could be seen sunning themselves on the sand.  I didn’t appreciate exactly how much snow we had received this past winter until I compared this month’s photo of the lifeguard chair with one from March … when I could barely see the lake.

Bluffer - June5  OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

At the beginning of this challenge, I noticed a small lighthouse in the distance at the mouth of the harbour heading out from the marina. I finally found my way along the lakeshore to this battered and very sorry looking lighthouse.  I discovered a huge flock of assorted birds sweeping and soaring through the air.  It was nothing short of an aerial dance and it was a joy to watch.

Bluffer - June

The road leading down to the waterfront descends the Scarborough Bluff for over a kilometer.  It is a steep and twisty ride, favoured by cyclists doing hill repeats.  On this Sunday morning, I took advantage of the quiet road to stop (illegally) and photograph the view of the final descent into the marina where all the boats at dock are hidden behind a veil of trees.

Bluffer - June10

… and lastly, some final photos …

Bluffer - June11

Bluffer - June12

Bluffer - June13

My previous posts on The Changing Seasons can be found at the following links:

January 2015
February 2015
March 2015
April 2015
May 2015

The Changing Seasons is a Monthly Photo Challenge started by CardinalGuzman.wordpress.com.

The Changing Seasons is a Monthly Photo Challenge started by CardinalGuzman.wordpress.com.

About Joanne Sisco

Retired but not idle. Life is an adventure - I plan to continue to embrace it.
This entry was posted in Around Toronto, Nature, Photo Challenges and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

63 Responses to The Changing Seasons – The Beauty Of June

  1. Pingback: Changing Seasons: December Already!! | My Life Lived Full

  2. Pingback: November’s Unusual Charm – The Changing Seasons | My Life Lived Full

  3. Pingback: Changing Seasons: October Is Nature’s Costume Change | My Life Lived Full

  4. Pingback: Changing Seasons – A Steamy Start To September | My Life Lived Full

  5. Pingback: Welcome to August – The Changing Seasons | My Life Lived Full

  6. Pingback: Changing Seasons – July In The City | My Life Lived Full

  7. I nearly missed this one and that would have been a shame. Lovely photos. And, oh look, a ducky! But I feel sorry for the lighthouse. All the other lighthouses must laugh at the poor thing.

    Like

  8. treerabold says:

    I must say Bluffer’s Park looks much more inviting in June than it did in January!

    Like

  9. Alex Hurst says:

    Lovely. The lifeguard comparison is amazing! And I loved all of the photos, though the swans made me nervous. When I was little, a swan bit my hand, so I’ve never been able to see them as beautiful… just classier versions of the moody goose. 😛

    Like

  10. Quite a contrast to the earlier photos -a neat challenge! Great shot of the cyclist coming up the road with the lush trees and lake.

    Like

  11. beeblu says:

    Lovely photos, Joanne. The air looks so crisp and clean.
    I cannot imagine seeing snow on a beach! What sort of temperature is the water at this time of the year?

    Like

  12. Just beautiful Joanne. I can’t believe the extremes in the seasons.

    Like

  13. Lovely pictures Joanne… all of them. It is really befuddling to this MissouREE gal that spends a bit of time in Florida during the winter to see snow on a beach… neat with the side to side of the present picture! The lighthouse picture is awesome and would be very nice on a gallery wrap! I am a lover of water so these pictures make me smile this morning… love the floating docks. The last picture… very zen, no monkey brain there 😉

    Like

    • joannesisco says:

      Thank you . This beginner photographer is seriously pleased with such kind feedback {beaming happily}

      Snow befuddles me too. I might be a northern girl, but that doesn’t mean I have to care for snow 🙂

      Like

  14. Su Leslie says:

    Looks absolutely idyllic 🙂

    Like

  15. It’s a very beautiful area and that snowy vs sandy beach is excellent. I prefer the sand!

    Like

  16. Fancy bringing a boat up from Florida! Don’t they have enough water down there in a stage surrounded on three sides by the stuff?

    Like

  17. Pingback: Monthly Photo Challenge: The Changing Seasons 06 | Cardinal Guzman

  18. Sammy D. says:

    Just lovely. The last photo is so serene.

    I’m envious of your new camera. Don’t tell me what it is; I DO NOT need one more hobby or project ni matter hiw much I wish I had better blog photos!!

    Like

    • joannesisco says:

      Thank you! I just took a beginner course on using ISO, aperture, and shutter speed. The quality of my photos is pretty hit and miss, but I’m hoping to get better. Thank God for the auto mode or I would have nothing 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

      • Joe says:

        Joanne I have some basic tutorials on photography on my site http://www.thevisualchronicle.com under the “Tutorial” menu. I like the images you are taking with the X30 but being you mentioned beginner course I figured I would let you know whats on my site and its free 🙂

        Like

        • joannesisco says:

          Thanks Joe. I remember reading several of these posts. I’ve bookmarked your tutorials to go back and revisit them. Now that I’ve taken this beginner course, I’ll actually understand your tutorials
          better. This old brain just doesn’t seem to process new information as well as it used to 😉

          I think I’ve only told you about 10 times already how much I love the X30 🙂

          Liked by 1 person

          • Joe says:

            I would much rather you like it than be pissed off at me for suggesting it 🙂

            Like

            • joannesisco says:

              Thanks for the good laugh!!

              Just so you know … all the reviews I read and the camera store I bought it at all concurred that it was an awesome little camera 🙂
              I did not read one single qualifier on this camera – not one. I’d say you have very high standards 🙂

              Like

  19. badfish says:

    VERY nicely done. Nice composition, nice color in all. And be careful with your camera around that water. I once dropped my camera in the ocean as I was getting off a ferry in Indonesia. Not pretty. It was toast immediately. What camera did you get?

    Like

    • joannesisco says:

      I’ve graduated from a basic point-and-shoot to a Fuji X30. It’s not a ‘big boy’ camera, but turning out to be an excellent little toy as I learn about ISO, aperture, and shutter speed. My learning curve is steep and rocky! My brain just doesn’t retain new information as well as it used to. I suspect I killed too many brain cells in my youth 😉

      I’ve learned from my hiking experiences that I must always use a wrist band with a camera. It’s just a habit now that I pick up a camera and immediately put the band on. However, I’m also aware that if I fall in the lake, the wrist band isn’t going to help me.

      Like

      • badfish says:

        Joanne, Fuji X30, a fine and (light) camera! I decided years ago not to carry all that gear anymore. I have a Sony RX -10, probably one of the best two of the “not-a-pro” cameras. And, I too, ALWAYS slip on the wrist band before shooting. I used to have a neckband, but like the shorter, less cumbersome wrist thingy.

        I hear you on not retaining info as well.

        Liked by 1 person

  20. Wow, I love how you captured the lifeguard chair in summer and winter. I don’t think I’ve ever seen a beach in winter, although there were plenty in Brooklyn. Snow on sand is an odd concept!

    Like

  21. bikerchick57 says:

    Love the photos, Joanne, and isn’t June wonderful? Blue skies, blue water, and warmth!

    Like

  22. I love that light on the last photo with the swans……last photo and first photo are my favourites, Joanne. Looks like a lovely walk for sure and much more enticing in June before the crowds but after the snow (and yes, I really said that!)

    Like

    • joannesisco says:

      It was soooo much nicer walking around on a warm June day compared to winter.
      I’m still trying to figure out my camera and there is a lot of experimentation going on. That last photo with the swans is a fav of mine too 🙂

      Like

  23. afairymind says:

    Beautiful shots! I love all the different boats. 🙂 It looks very different now to a few months ago.

    Like

  24. Mrs. P says:

    It is so pretty now and there is so much contrast to each month. This wouldn’t work well in Florida as the weather is so mild there really isn’t much in the way of seasons down here.

    Like

    • joannesisco says:

      I don’t know Florida at all, but I suspect there are still changes … just considerably more subtle.
      When we can go from -40C to 40C and everything inbetween, capturing change is not so hard 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

  25. lovetotrav says:

    I so much prefer the pics (gorgeous by the way) in June rather than in the snow. The lighthouse has such an authentic unique look to it. A fantastic area for shots.

    Like

  26. Heyjude says:

    Wow, what a difference! It is so interesting seeing these changes that otherwise get unnoticed. You will have to do a very early or very late visit to avoid the crowds! And I love your swans. Hope I see mine again when I do the June post.

    Like

Leave a Reply

