The Family That Plays Together

When the boys were young, we would travel at least once a year to Quebec City to visit Gilles’ family, but once they reached their mid-teens and an age for part-time jobs, our family trips became fewer and far between.

This past weekend was one of those rare trips – to celebrate my mother-in-law’s 80th birthday.  Combined with Father’s Day, it was a busy weekend of family visiting and catching up with relatives we hadn’t seen in a long time … but it was also a chance for us to have fun together playing tourist again.

Early on Sunday morning – intent on playing our own version of Game of Thrones – our first goal was to attack the great wall surrounding this very old city.

Quebec 7

Jordan, Dempsey, and Misha …. this is going to be a piece of cake.

Much to our surprise, we found the city undefended and met no resistance to our invasion plan.

Quebec 1

Once on the wall, we found and seized control of the cannons while most of the city continued to sleep.

Quebec 4

Misha, Jordan, and Gilles manning the cannons

Quebec 2

Wait! … who put that tree in front of our targets?

With the cannons under our control and sure victory in our sights, we then stormed the castle – aka Chateau Frontenac, now a Fairmount Hotel.

Quebec 5

After conquering the Chateau – ie finding the washrooms – we paraded up and down numerous steep hills while we admired our newest treasure.

Quebec 6

If you see this fearsome gang on the streets of your city, be afraid.

Quebec 8

Who? Us? Nothing to see here … we’re just tourists.

Yes … it was a great weekend.

About Joanne Sisco

Retired but not idle. Life is an adventure - I plan to continue to embrace it.
This entry was posted in Family, Travel and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

68 Responses to The Family That Plays Together

  1. Pingback: Q = Québec City, Canada | My Life Lived Full

  2. mickscogs says:

    T shirts and shorts. I knew I was missing something. Shortest day has past (for us) Summer here we come. Nice gang you got there joanne

    Like

    • joannesisco says:

      LOL! this opposite season thing can be really confusing.

      If you’re on the long upward climb to summer, we are on the long downward slide to winter. I better make sure I squeeze in as such summer as I can over the next few months 🙂

      Like

      • mickscogs says:

        I just had to say it because I remember you and all your friends saying it in December and feeling as you do now, then. There are things about our Winter I don’t mind; I don’t miss the big heat; I usually work harder in Summer. So in some ways our season preferences are aligned. Your Summer is more like our Spring and there many things I like about that season. Many of my friends have been to QC and to the Chateau. Must get there one day.

        Like

  3. Okay, putting Quebec City on the bucket list for when we make it to Canada. (If I say “when” not “if”, it will happen, right?) We love walled cities and castles. (Yes, yes, it’s a Chateau but it’s definitely castle-y so close enough.) They’re the funnest places. 🙂

    Like

  4. bkpyett says:

    What a handsome bunch! Lovely to share time with family and enjoy seeing new sights too.

    Like

  5. Pingback: You Are Not Welcome Here | My Life Lived Full

  6. Cecilia says:

    It really does sound like a great weekend, awesome pictures. Thanks for sharing.

    Like

  7. Mrs. P says:

    Fun presentation! 😀

    Like

  8. treerabold says:

    It looks like a fun weekend!
    I can’t believe someone thought it was a good idea to put a tree in front of the cannon. How can you possibly defend your new territory! Down with the tree!

    Like

  9. How wonderful to get this family time together and in a great city! Love the photo of the guys manning the cannons.

    Like

  10. Lynn says:

    Looks like a fabulous weekend spent together! Love, love, love this city!

    Like

  11. NancyTex says:

    I’m partial to the Fairmont chain. At Microsoft those hotels were always “in policy”. At this new place, not so much. 😦

    Looks like you had a great weekend in a lovely city!

    Like

    • joannesisco says:

      The Fairmount can always be counted on for a quality experience. I was lucky to stay at very high-end places when I worked … unfortunately my personal finances are considerably more modest 🙂

      Like

      • NancyTex says:

        Fairmont Vancouver Airport is the most architecturally amazing. You are literally on the runway, and yet the room is 100% sound-proofed. It was my happy place for early morning flights back to TO. Wake up at 5am, roll out of bed, take an elevator and then an escalator down, and boom, I’m at security. Love it!

        Like

  12. barbedwords says:

    What a great city and a fun gang!

    Like

  13. Norm 2.0 says:

    Looks like you guys had a great time. Reminds me that we’re due to go back again this summer. I want to capture some more of those great old doors, but without the snow this time 😉

    Like

  14. lovetotrav says:

    You definitely livened up the city. They could hire you and your family for a new way to view the old. You probably would be a lot of people’s ideas of amazing tour guides!

    Like

    • joannesisco says:

      LOL!! I think most people would have had trouble keeping up with us … I know these guys had me gasping for air sometimes … especially on all those stairs!! 😀

      It amazes me that I always find something new to discover and it was such an unexpected treat to have the old city almost to ourselves on the Sunday morning. Usually it is swarming with people!

      Liked by 1 person

  15. Looks like a fun time and the “castle” is gorgeous. You have a handsome family, Joanne and I love that they enjoyed the game!

    Like

  16. Joe says:

    Looks like all of you had a great time Joanne 🙂 Remember “Rome wasn’t built in a day” conquer one fortress at at time.

    Like

  17. Solveig says:

    It looks like you guys had a lot of fun, and that your boys have kept a nice youthful spirit. 🙂

    Like

  18. A handsome and fun-loving bunch. It delights me to see such playfulness!

    Like

  19. bikerchick57 says:

    Such a fabulous weekend with a beautiful family! I’m glad you were able to celebrate a birthday, Father’s Day and invade Quebec in glorious and fun fashion.

    Like

  20. hilarymb says:

    Hi Joanne .. I’d love to see Quebec one day … and how lovely to be able to spend family time together and celebrate MIL’s 80th – a special occasion … and then Father’s Day easily breaching the fortress walls … lovely photos of sights, thoughts and family … cheers Hilary

    Like

    • joannesisco says:

      We all share a love of adventure, discovery, and a dash of shenanigans. When we get to indulge in it together, it just makes the occasion that much sweeter 🙂

      If you get the chance to see Quebec some day, I do recommend it. I think of it as a mini European-style vacation 🙂

      Like

  21. Corina says:

    It sounds like and looks like a very fun weekend! Thank you for sharing it with us!

    Like

  22. A very humorous tour of Quebec, Joanne.

    Like

  23. Long time no see – this post is a blast! That’s a fine gang you have there- I bet you were envied by all the other damsels along the way 🙂

    Like

  24. bulldog says:

    Now I am afraid… love the post

    Like

  25. I have never been, but it does look gorgeous. ❤
    Sounds you all had a fabulous time.

    Like

  26. Sammy D. says:

    Live the whimsical fantasy and everyone playing along😅 en garde!!

    Like

  27. Oh, a most excellent revolution! I HAVE to go there, Joanne. Looks just awesome! (Of course, the “soldiers” aren’t bad either!) 🙂

    Like

  28. Mama Cormier says:

    I love Quebec City as well. For nine years in a row I went with the grade 8 classes from my last school. It was always fun and even the worst kids were well behaved. My husband, who also volunteered as a chaperone, talk about those trips fondly.

    Like

    • joannesisco says:

      It’s funny you should mention the Grade 8 school trips. That was my first time to Quebec City and I was completely smitten with it.
      Little did I know that I would eventually marry a Quebecker and find myself back there many times 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

  29. I see through that touristy disguise! I bet their cameras shoot lasers! The next time someone asks me directions, I’ll run for cover. You can never be too careful you know!

    Like

  30. Phil Taylor says:

    Great pictures! I’ve never been there but I’d love to visit sometime!

    Like

Leave a Reply

