Changing Seasons – July In The City

It’s that time of month again to capture the sights of seasonal change as part of a photo challenge hosted by Cardinal Guzman.

I tend to stretch rules a bit to suit my own purposes and so this month I’m going to deviate from my usual visit to Bluffer’s Park on the east end of the city and give you a snapshot of Toronto in July from downtown and the Harbourfront area.

Toronto is currently all cleaned up,  dressed up, and trying to show off her best as host of the PanAm Games which started on Friday.  For those of you who might not be familiar with them, the PanAm Games is a competition of summer sports involving the 41 countries of the Americas.

Over the past week, I’ve had reasons to be downtown on a couple of occasions and was busily snapping pictures like the best of the tourists.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

It is 5 pm on a Friday night and normally the roads would be heavily congested with traffic trying to get out of the downtown core for the weekend.  This particular Friday it was odd to see absolutely NO TRAFFIC.   The media had done such a great job of fear mongering how badly the Games were going to affect traffic, the roads ended up being deserted as people either stayed away or took public transit – like we did.

Summer finally decided to show up and temperatures have been warm and humid. Toronto’s shoreline for miles is dotted with marinas, including Harbourfront at the foot of downtown.  Boats of every shape and size could be seen in our walk along the waterfront.

Toronto - PanAm 7

We watched many groups of children of various ages in different day camps learning how to kayak, sail and generally just having a good time.

Toronto - PanAm 6

Typical summer conditions in Toronto … humid and very hazy.  A great day to be out on a boat.

From the top level of the stadium where the PanAm Opening Ceremonies were being held, we had views of the harbour and the various boaters out enjoying the warm Friday evening.  A Tall Ship sailed past dwarfing all the other boats in the harbour.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

During this past week I discovered that Toronto even has a Bed & Breakfast on a boat … a very different experience I’m sure.

Toronto - PanAm 8

July is clearly a wonderful time to visit this great city and this July is extra special.  Have I piqued your interest yet?

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

My previous posts on The Changing Seasons can be found at the following links:

January 2015
February 2015
March 2015
April 2015
May 2015
June 2015

The Changing Seasons is a Monthly Photo Challenge started by CardinalGuzman.wordpress.com.

The Changing Seasons is a Monthly Photo Challenge started by CardinalGuzman.wordpress.com.

About Joanne Sisco

Retired but not idle. Life is an adventure - I plan to continue to embrace it.
This entry was posted in Around Toronto, Photo Challenges and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

73 Responses to Changing Seasons – July In The City

  1. Pingback: Changing Seasons: December Already!! | My Life Lived Full

  2. Pingback: November’s Unusual Charm – The Changing Seasons | My Life Lived Full

  3. Pingback: Changing Seasons: October Is Nature’s Costume Change | My Life Lived Full

  4. Pingback: Changing Seasons – A Steamy Start To September | My Life Lived Full

  5. Pingback: Welcome to August – The Changing Seasons | My Life Lived Full

  6. Enjoyed your tour of Toronto – a City I know well but great to see it through your eyes.

    Like

  7. treerabold says:

    I really want to visit Toronto sometime. Your pictures make that desire even stronger. I looks like such a beautiful city.
    Next month when we go to Northern Ontario for our wedding several of our friends are flying into Toronto and driving up to camp. No such route for us…we are driving from Texas!
    Great photos Joanne!

    Like

  8. I’ve only been to Montreal, and Quebec City. Looks like next stop will be Toronto. A beautiful city!

    Like

  9. Alex Hurst says:

    Wow, I’d never imagined the city so beautiful, but it really is! You’ve made me want to visit, for sure!

    Liked by 1 person

  10. Wonderful gallery and I think it’s great that people use public transportation.

    Like

  11. Pingback: Monthly Photo Challenge: The Changing Seasons 07 | Cardinal Guzman

  12. I’ve only visited Toronto once, and if I recall correctly, I think it was in January. Cold, yes, and to be expected, but having grown up in Wisconsin I actually thrive in the cold weather. My general take on the city was that it was vibrant and beautiful–and had a super smart underground city. Boy, you folks are clever.
    And now, yes, I’m definitely interested in returning to see her summer glory too.
    Lovely, enticing photos, Joanne.

    Like

  13. aleksawal says:

    Great job in capturing the city and trying to boost our tourism dollars! 😉 did you have fun at the opening ceremonies?

    Like

  14. beeblu says:

    I’ve always thought of Toronto as an extremely cold place, so have learned something from this post. It looks like a beautiful city. Enjoy the games.

    Like

  15. I enjoyed the tour through Toronto…thank you!

    Like

  16. Heyjude says:

    I like the way you stretch the rules 🙂 I have also veered away from the usual places this month, mostly because there is not a whole lot of change from last month! Toronto is looking lovely in the sunshine, but I hope you will go to Bluffer’s Marina and capture ALL the people next month 🙂

    Like

  17. NancyTex says:

    I was pleased to be away from TO for the start of the games and all that endless bitching about traffic. 🙂 p.s. Clearly the sun and heat did not follow me back. 😦

    Like

  18. garym6059 says:

    Indianapolis had the PanAm games many years ago I didn’t realize they still had them. Your city is looking fairly sharp and ready to show itself off.

    Like

    • joannesisco says:

      Thanks Gary. I think the average person not following sport through international competitions wouldn’t necessarily know about the PanAm Games. They certainly don’t have the same attention or prestige as the Olympics.

      Liked by 1 person

  19. Summer has finally arrived – just in time for the games, too.

    Like

  20. That all looks rool noice, Joanne. Taking note of Botel. I was about to say I haven’t stayed on a boat when I realised how ridiculous that was. Bass Strait overnight ferry, sailing Halong Bay, felucca down the Nile. (Does sleeping on the floor of the Dover to Oostend ferry count too, do you think?) Okay so I haven’t stayed in a ‘Boat Hotel’. 😀

    Like

    • joannesisco says:

      We stayed on a large old boat years ago when we were visiting the west coast of Canada. The boys were quite young but it made such an impression on them, they seem to remember it better than I do 🙂
      Although they weren’t luxurious quarters by any stretch of the imagination, doing something different and unusual is always memorable … good or bad 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

      • That would be very memorable. I’m not surprised the boys remember. 🙂 The place I remember staying in most vividly on a trip to New Zealand 10 years ago was the prison in Napier. It had been converted into a Youth Hostel. The prison had closed in the early 1990s so you had to have a security key to get in through the gate because they still got nostalgic visits from past inmates. 🙂
        (I went to look it up and found out it doesn’t offer accommodation any more. 😦 )

        Like

  21. bulldog says:

    What a lovely looking place… love the photos and share

    Like

  22. Sue Slaght says:

    We have had the pleasure of being in Toronto several times. Loved being with you and seeing things getting all primed up for the Pan Am games. I love that there was no traffic due to fear mongering of the media.

    Like

  23. Lynn says:

    What a great weekend for the opening of the games. I understand the city was buzzing with activity. Great shots Joanne!

    Like

  24. bikerchick57 says:

    What a lovely city! The former husband and I rode the outskirts of Toronto several years ago on the motorcycle. No time to stop as we were on our way to Niagara Falls. I do remember that it was the first time I saw a city limit sign with a population of over a million. For some reason, I had no clue that Toronto was so big.

    Like

  25. Joe says:

    Great post and images Joanne, well done 🙂

    Like

  26. lovetotrav says:

    A great job playing tourist in Toronto! It all looks great and I did not know about the boatel. Quite cute. We have been enjoying driving in the HOVER- high occupancy vehicle lane lately as well thanks to the games!

    Like

    • joannesisco says:

      Ha! I’m glad someone is happy about the HOV lanes. Seriously, I’ve never heard so much whining and complaining before. Torontonians can take moaning to a whole new level.
      I’m glad that people are finally starting to get excited about the Games.

      Liked by 1 person

      • lovetotrav says:

        It is probably better now that it has started… a lot of pre-talk and pre-planning that makes the driving anxiety increase. Now that it is here, people will hopefully enjoy.

        Like

        • joannesisco says:

          So far I’ve heard nothing but great things from the various competitions that have already started.
          It makes me happy to hear that the stands are filled with fans who are cheering for everyone … not just Canada 🙂

          Liked by 1 person

  27. Whoa! Toronto does look all spiffed up, Joanne. Beautiful shots!

    Like

  28. Oh sure, book me a ticket! It looks great! Bed and breakfast on a boat…hmmm…yes please!

    Like

Leave a Reply

