Welcome to August – The Changing Seasons

It’s already the 8th edition of the Changing Seasons project. This summer seems to be slipping by with outrageous speed.  What’s its hurry?!  There is so much more to do and enjoy before winter returns.

This month I wanted to do something a bit differently and headed down to Bluffers Park as the sun was setting.  I hoped to start experimenting with fading light.

To my surprise, I discovered that fog had rolled in down at the waterfront.  Only recently I had commented on a couple of blogs that we don’t often get fog.  I guess I just don’t live in the right conditions to see it frequently … but travelling just a few kilometers to the water put me there.

Now I was not only challenged by fading light, but also foggy conditions.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

I couldn’t help but contrast these photos to their counterparts in February.  Now you know why I’m so reluctant to see summer speeding towards its conclusion.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Unfortunately I got only a couple of usable photos, so I had to make a second trip mid-afternoon Saturday hoping to catch a busy beach full of sun-worshippers.  It wasn’t to be … a busy beach also meant an impossibly busy parking lot.  I couldn’t get anywhere near the beach, with cars stacked up circling the parking lot like vultures.

I had to content myself with photos down at the marina.

Bluffers - Aug9

It’s taken eight months to finally see multiple boats in the small inner harbour.

Bluffers - Aug10

I expected to find the marina parking lot overflowing as well, but it wasn’t … although the number of trucks and trailers were not surprising.

Bluffers - Aug11

Since I was disappointed at not being able to get to the beach, I made a small detour on the way home to check out the park at the Guildwood.  I had been there for a walk recently with a friend and was impressed by how lush everything looked.

The park didn’t disappoint me.

Bluffers - Aug12

Bluffers - Aug13

I hope to see you back in September.

The Changing Seasons is a Monthly Photo Challenge by Cardinal Guzman. My previous posts on The Changing Seasons can be found at the following links:

January 2015
February 2015
March 2015
April 2015
May 2015
June 2015
July 2015

The Changing Seasons is a Monthly Photo Challenge started by CardinalGuzman.wordpress.com.

About Joanne Sisco

Retired but not idle. Life is an adventure - I plan to continue to embrace it.
This entry was posted in Around Toronto, Outdoor Stuff, Photo Challenges, Random Stuff and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

72 Responses to Welcome to August – The Changing Seasons

  1. Pingback: Changing Seasons: December Already!! | My Life Lived Full

  2. Pingback: November’s Unusual Charm – The Changing Seasons | My Life Lived Full

  3. Pingback: Changing Seasons: October Is Nature’s Costume Change | My Life Lived Full

  4. Pingback: Changing Seasons – A Steamy Start To September | My Life Lived Full

  5. mithriluna says:

    Such a lovely collection of images. I particularly like the fog ones. Recently I visited Maine for the first time and there were a few foggy days (which is typical). I was unhappy with the pictures I took on those days but when I shared my pictures, many of my friends commented on how they liked the fog ones. Now I am starting to appreciate those kind of pictures too.
    I am enjoying the changing seasons challenge (I started in June with May pictures). Hopefully I will be caught up by next week.

    Like

    • joannesisco says:

      I love fog and the ethereal quality it lends the landscape. I’ve never tried to photograph it before and was pleased with my attempt.

      It’s been a fun challenge and I’ve enjoyed going back each month to explore what’s new and different. I’m looking forward to the months ahead!

      Liked by 1 person

  6. treerabold says:

    I really like the “fading light – fog photos!”
    The coloring is beautiful

    Like

  7. Beautiful photographs. I particularly liked the first three. Stunning. As to the winter shots, they offered a great contrast. Really enjoyed looking through this post. 🙂

    Like

  8. A truly lovely post! I so enjoy water and seeing boats at marinas is always a treat. You captured some very nice pictures. Love the first three and the kayaker. The bride and groom shot is great!
    Looking forward to September!

    Like

    • joannesisco says:

      Thanks … I’ve really been enjoying this challenge since its made me try things I haven’t done before. I guess that’s the whole point of trying different challenges 🙂
      Thanks so much for the kind feedback!

      Like

  9. bikerchick57 says:

    I love the third fog photo and the framing of the bride and groom. Nice camera work! I could have done without the winter photos, though. I start to get sad about the end of summer in August – I want it to keep going and going and going, just like the Energizer bunny. I have far too many bike rides to get in and time is running short. Let’s hope for a beautiful and warm September and October.

    Like

  10. Oh, I do love these pix Joanne. It has been a neat trip watching your seasons change up there. My favourite pic on this post, though, is the bride and groom shot….the way you have that tree trunk framing the pic I feel almost as you must’ve…..like we’re secretly watching them from afar…..love that mood you captured.

    Like

  11. Some great twilight photos – especially like the 3rd one. I agree – slow down the summer!

    Like

  12. That park looks beautiful and I agree: it’s outrageous! Slow down summer! We seriously don’t need autumn/winter to approach that fast.
    I’m not built for this cold climate that I live in. I should consider to move somewhere warmer (the only problem with that would be my son, living in Norway…)

    Like

  13. mickscogs says:

    As I was scrolling I said to myself ‘she needs to put in some winter shots for comparison’ and bang! there they were. Uncanny. Nice gentle Summer you have there Joanne; more like our Spring – which is only a few weeks away 🙂

    Like

    • joannesisco says:

      LOL! You made me choke on my coffee 😀

      I know you are waiting expectedly for spring, but I’m considerably less enthusiastic for the arrival of fall 😉

      Like

      • mickscogs says:

        I know why Autumn is called fall where you live – makes sense. Our few deciduous trees gave up their leaves in early July. Some trees in Melbourne don’t let go of them until they get pushed out by new growth. Fall will be fine and I’m looking forward to the photos. As for your Winter……..well…..;)

        Liked by 1 person

  14. Sammy D. says:

    Oh gads that’s awful!! Don’t do that again, throwing those gloomy winter scenes at me on a summer’s day !!! I gotta say no wonder we’re so damned depressed all winter!! On the other hand those fog shots – especially the third one – were fabulous😎

    Like

  15. Sorry, that racing summer is probably my fault. I’ve been giving it the ‘hurry up’.
    I love a foggy photo and yours are stunning.

    Like

  16. Lynn says:

    What great captures Joanne! The ones of the fog in the harbour are wonderful, especially when you compare them to the snow! Well done my friend:)

    Like

  17. Sue Slaght says:

    Joanne I honestly almost dropped my phone when I scrolled to those winter photos. I much prefer your gorgeous captures of romantic reflections. A wonderful walk you have taken us on. The bride and groom framed by the tree is beautiful.

    Like

  18. What a marvelous project, Joanne. I so admire the compare and contrast beauty of your photos. The harbor ones are eerily bewitching. Just gorgeous.
    I love watching all the minute details of each season’s changes – which is one of the reasons I feel exceptionally fortunate to find myself in Virginia currently. This state seems to have an equal balance of four seasons – not unlike the storybooks I was raised reading. It’s almost too fable-like with it’s three precise months of spring, summer, fall and winter–although there have been plenty of summers that have bled into the autumnal months and snow cannot come soon enough for me.
    I’m looking forward to seeing the next photo captured changes you post.

    Like

    • joannesisco says:

      I’m with you – I absolutely love the seasons and all the changes that come with them. Unfortunately, being so much further north than you are, winter is just much longer than I would like. I would be happy with only 3 months of winter … but 6 weeks would be ideal 😉

      Like

  19. Great work, Joanne! I’m afraid if I were to do season changes around here they would all look the same. Except it did snow,once. A couple of days before Christmas. But by the next morning it was gone!

    Like

    • joannesisco says:

      Thanks Emilio. I appreciate the compliment 🙂 As much as I moan and complain about winter, I do really love the variations of the seasons. I would miss it if I lived someplace where there was little noticable change.
      … having said that, I would vote for a shorter winter 😉

      Like

  20. Heyjude says:

    I am totally in agreement with you about the year passing so fast! We have had such grey weather recently it almost feels as though summer has deserted us this year. I hope not! I love your ‘blue period’ and how circumstances forced you into different areas. Need to think of something a little different myself this month.

    Like

    • joannesisco says:

      Unfortunately I would say we’ve not had a banner summer either. Temperatures seem to have been generally a cooler than normal … well, except for the very hot and humid week I spent in a tent on the Bike Rally :/
      I don’t mind as long as it doesn’t signal an early start to winter. If we can continue to have this weather well into October I’d be happy …. delusional, but happy 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

  21. Mrs. P says:

    Oh, summer is closing too quickly. Love the dusky/foggy shots with the lights comeing on…and how lucky and fun it is to capture a wedding photographer mid session. I have had two opportunities and loved each one…just a serendipitous moment along my own photo memories that makes it extra special.

    Like

  22. I really love the sunset pictures Joann. The sky looks so beautiful. Believe it or not, we have a lot of fog here in L.A. In May and June most of the days start out foggy and then clear up later in the afternoon. Makes it very difficult to know what to wear those days since the mornings can be quite chilly but then it’s hot by afternoon.

    Like

  23. Really lovely photos! I used to think that bright sunlight was the best light for photos, but not anymore! Of course there are the “golden hours” (dusk and dawn), but also clouds, rain, fog and darkness. You should try to find that wedding couple, I bet they’d love to have that shot.

    And, thanks for “introducing” me to Norm 2.0 (via his comment), I will start following him too. I just love to see good photography – I learn so much!

    Like

  24. Alex Hurst says:

    That third capture down is stunning. Excellent shot. I think you did great with the low levels of light…. created some great atmosphere!

    Like

  25. Mara Eastern says:

    Wow, the photos are astonishing! And you’re an excellent photographer 🙂

    Like

  26. Norm 2.0 says:

    Nice shots 🙂

    Like

  27. Summer is passing by at warp speed, no question. I’m glad you are able to capture it in photos. Looks like you and your camera are completely up to the challenge of fog and dusk. And I LOVE the wedding image framed that way!

    Like

    • joannesisco says:

      I was hoping I would catch a bridal party or two in the park, but this was the only one. I didn’t want to get too close … somehow it felt obtrusive. I didn’t really appreciate the photo I had until I got home and looked at it on a bigger screen. Glad you liked it 🙂

      I keep saying that one day “when I have more time”, I’ll experiment more with my camera. It doesn’t seem to be happening :/ … but I was encouraged by this attempt!!

      Liked by 1 person

  28. What beautiful season changes! I of course love the flower times!
    I have been collecting photos like this of trees. I didn’t realise there was a photo challenge going on!
    I was doing these seasonal photos for an app I would love to make.

    Like

Leave a Reply

