When Bloggers Meet Bloggers: V 5.0

When Gilles and I began planning our travels last winter, Oslo was a destination I lobbied to see.  Norway had been on my must-see list since the Lillehammer Olympics in 1994 and that desire to visit the country had only intensified as I was introduced to Oslo captured through the camera lens of Cardinal Guzman.

IMG_1073

Since I was going to be in Oslo, how could I not attempt to meet the Cardinal … especially since he had provided so much inspiration for this leg of our trip?

I’ve been lucky to meet several bloggers over the past year.  Each visit involved a certain amount of trepidation, but none of them made me as nervous as meeting Max.  Suddenly I felt very shy and was channeling every insecurity I ever had since kindergarten.  I mean, what if he didn’t like me?!

IMG_1121

I came painfully close to not sending the email … but in the end, I just had to.  It would have been rude to be in the Cardinal’s city and not make an attempt to connect.

Silly me.  My nervousness was completely misplaced energy.  Max’s enthusiasm to meet us exceeded my expectations.

IMG_1116

One of over 200 statues in Frogner Parken

Max met us after work.  He had cycled 7 km out of his way to join us at a restaurant where Gilles and I were having a very late lunch – or a very early dinner, depending on how you want to look at it.

We chatted over a bottle of wine before Max took us on a private tour of downtown.  He is quiet, soft-spoken and his knowledge of his city’s history is truly impressive.  I couldn’t help reflect on the fact that I would never be able to provide a visitor to Toronto with a similar well-informed tour of my city.

IMG_1095

Max and Gilles

Gilles and I started to fade long before Max.  I’m sure he could have kept going for hours.

There’s a moral to this story.

All too often we let our fears and insecurities stop us from trying something new or reaching out to someone.  In fact, how many great experiences do we miss because it was easier and safer to do nothing?

I can’t begin to say how glad I am that I stepped outside of my comfort level because if I hadn’t, I would never have made a cyber friend a “real world” friend.

IMG_1083

 

About Joanne Sisco

Retired but not idle. Life is an adventure - I plan to continue to embrace it.
This entry was posted in 52 New Things, Adventure, Friends, Travel and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

93 Responses to When Bloggers Meet Bloggers: V 5.0

  1. Rebekah M says:

    Lovely post! I have all of those insecurities you talk about and more, but strangely enough; Cardinal Guzman I would NOT hesitate to contact or meet up with. Feels like I know him …

    I’ve only met one person from the bloggy world — I met her briefly on Halifax’ Stanfield airport. It was such a delight, I’d love to meet with her again, but she has since moved to Ecuador.

    Like

  2. Pingback: O = Oslo, Norway | My Life Lived Full

  3. Pingback: Monthly Photo Challenge: The Changing Seasons 09 | Cardinal Guzman

  4. Pingback: 52 New Things – Been There. Done That. | My Life Lived Full

  5. treerabold says:

    How wonderful!!
    I heard advice from a 1st grader to a kindergartener “just walk up and say…will you be my friend?”
    So simple!!
    Sometimes I think we adults forget that the other party is probably as nervous as we are!

    Liked by 1 person

  6. I can understand your nervousness at the prospect of a real life meeting with a blogger perfectly and so admire you for following through! It’s funny how we can engage each other confidently on line and then second guess ourselves in person. I was in Oslo once many years ago and also visited that wonderful sculpture garden – but a tour from a friendly local blogger would have been perfect!

    Like

    • joannesisco says:

      I was talking about this very thing today with a friend.
      Online, we can carefully chose what we say, how we say it, and when it will be said. Talking to someone in real time who we’ve never met is much scarier.
      You are so right about having a local blogger as a tour guide. What a wonderful treat that was! Gilles and I joked when we got to Iceland that we needed a “Max” in Reykjavik. Alas, I didn’t have one 🙂

      Like

  7. Sounds like it was an amazing trip and what a great life lesson to share with all of us about embracing the opportunity to meet people you have connected with online.

    Like

  8. Blog friendships have been an unexpected bonus of having a blog. I’ve only met three fellow bloggers so far, but each one was a delight. Oslo looks beautiful and to have a personal guide must have been wonderful. Always, always hit “send.”

    Like

    • joannesisco says:

      I think every blogger would have a similar reaction … the friendships that have developed have been a phenomenal bonus. To then meet some of these friends in person is the icing on the cake 🙂

      Like

  9. Great story and a great lesson to all of us. I am glad it all worked out to exceed your expectations.

    Like

  10. Lovely Joanne 🙂 And very good advice about stepping out of the comfort zone.

    Like

  11. Mrs. P says:

    Wonderful! I think first meetings, no matter how fond you are of another blogger an be a bit nerve-wracking. I am glad you got over the jitters. You’d better start boning up on your local history because something tells me you will be having visitors sooner than you may think.

    Love the gates!!!

    Like

  12. Oslo is one of those places that I’ve always wanted to go, but there are so many places that we want to go, how do you decide where to go first!? Wonderful photos!

    Like

    • joannesisco says:

      Thank you so much. I have the same problem in planning a vacation.

      … then there is the issue of all the wonderful places we have visited before that I would like to re-experience. So often our trips are only a day or two in one place … just enough time to discover whether I’m in love with the place 😉

      So much to do, so little money 😉

      Liked by 1 person

  13. I have had quite a few blog meets and they have all been very good! Glad you went on with it… sounds like a great time and a wonderful new kind of friendship!

    Like

    • joannesisco says:

      I’m convinced that bloggers-meeting-bloggers by definition has to be a positive experience. If you like the content and style of the blogger in the cyber world, why wouldn’t you like that person in the real world too? 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

  14. hilarymb says:

    Hi Joanne – wonderful you met up with Max … and as someone said above – meeting fellow bloggers just enhances the friendship and we can even more easily relate – so happy to read this. Apart from the fact you’ve been having a wonderful holiday too – seeing new sites … and that tour with Max sounds wonderful … cheers Hilary

    Like

  15. Alex Hurst says:

    That’s a great story. I’m glad you guys got to meet! I am a huge proponent of online relationships, seeing as my Canadian partner and I never would have met without an online forum about books being there to introduce us! Those photos are stunning too. Did your camera change recently? They are so crisp!!

    Like

  16. Sammy D. says:

    Oh well done, Joanne!! I’m glad you decided to seize this opportunity, and that your meeting was so pleasant. A good example for the rest of us.

    Like

  17. Sue Slaght says:

    That’s wonderful Jo! I am nervous too when I meet a blogger in person but always so absolutely thrilled to connect. Good for you for not letting fear be the deciding factor.

    Like

  18. mickscogs says:

    What a beautiful city Oslo appears to be from your photographs. I too would really struggle showing tourists what is grand about Melbourne. I would have to do it myself; maybe I will one day. Too much of old Melbourne has been destroyed, replaced by concrete and glass. Melbourne is special for many things, however. I take these things for granted.
    Well done on your blogger meeting. I would find this difficult too.

    Like

    • joannesisco says:

      It sounds like Melbourne is a lot like Toronto. The powers-that-be decided to tear everything down in favour of concrete and glass – not even particularly interesting structures – rather than try to preserve the history.

      I should start planning for an eventual blogger meeting in Toronto. If I start planning now, I won’t be in such a panic if/when the day finally arrives 😉

      Like

  19. As you know, I’ve only met one fellow blogger and even though I’d not only come to know her through the blog but spoken to her on the phone, I was still nervous about meeting her in person to the point of nausea. And it was all silly. I don’t know why we do it either.

    On my reckoning, you have approximately three years to brush up on Toronto….. 😉

    Like

  20. Corina says:

    I’ve been lucky enough to meet about seven or eight of my cyber friends in person. I wish to meet more some day. It’s always like seeing an old friend again. I’m glad you followed through with that email!

    Like

  21. Heyjude says:

    Odd isn’t that no matter how old we are we still have the same uncertainties and nerves we had as teenagers. The worst thing to happen, in my mind, is what if you don’t have anything to talk about? Thank goodness that hasn’t happened to me yet, but the horror never quite leaves me when I contemplate meeting a fellow blogger. Glad you enjoyed your time with Max, he seems quite a character and a wonderful photographer! Your photos however show a much softer side to Oslo than the city scenes Max usually shares.

    Like

    • joannesisco says:

      I worried too about being tongue-tied and not knowing what to say. On the other hand, I had Gilles with me and he can talk anyone under the table!! 😉

      Max is a great photographer and his creative side is really evident in his pictures.
      I, on the other hand, am still trying to figure out one end of the camera from the other 😉

      Liked by 1 person

  22. Paula says:

    What a great story! I am inspired to travel and visit all of my blogger acquaintances….

    Like

  23. First pic is an awesome thing, Joanne. But seriously now….you have a sparkling personality…..I can’t imagine anyone not rejoicing in a meetup with you! Truly…you should never hesitate on that account ever! Trust me on this one…..I actually know this first-hand!

    Like

  24. Ruth says:

    I’ve not met any blog friends in real life so far, but the idea is definitely growing on me… 🙂

    Like

  25. ALWAYS MEET BLOGGY FRIENDS. Best thing ever. You already know each other, it’s like meeting an old friend for the first time. You’re on my list, Joanne, so when we get to travel… Someday… Naptimethoughts is comin’.

    Like

  26. Mara Eastern says:

    A beautiful story! It’s great to hear that you had so much fun 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  27. Well the pictures are absolutely gorgeous Joanne! I love the fence. You are right about the whole, not letting your fears get in the way thing, but Joanne, you have such a great personality. I have a hard time believing you would think anyone wouldn’t like you! Anyway, I’m glad you had a good experience and got to meet another blogger.

    Liked by 1 person

  28. I’m so happy to hear you sent that email and enjoyed a nice afternoon together. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  29. bikerchick57 says:

    I’m glad you were able to connect with Max and have such a lovely time together. I am with you, Joanne, not a good historian of my city. The brother’s girlfriend always asks me questions about Appleton that I can never answer. Then again, I can always lead them to a good place for beer and eats. Does that count?

    Liked by 2 people

    • joannesisco says:

      Then you’re still one step ahead of me! Knowing where to take people for beer and eats is very important stuff … I better step up my game and start a different kind of recon around Toronto 😉

      Like

  30. Lynn says:

    This is so awesome Joanne! What a wonderful way to tour the city!

    Like

  31. pike says:

    That was great, Joanne! Thank you for sharing your feelings 🙂

    Like

  32. Reblogged this on artishorseshit and commented:
    Have you ever made a cyber friend a “real world” friend? Visit Joanne’s post to read about it.

    Like

  33. Woohoo! I’m glad that you contacted me so that we could all meet. The wine was good, the company was fantastic and I thoroughly enjoyed meeting you guys in Oslo.
    For me this was the highlight of the week and it’s a good feeling to turn cyber friends into “real world” friends.
    Another plus is that I got photo of a helicopter taking off from a place where you normally won’t see a helicopter (I’ve never seen one there before and I’ve been there countless times).
    Now I’m looking forward to see what you guys are up/have been up to on Iceland!
    Safe travels Joanne & Gilles! Hopefully wee’ll meet again in Toronto some day.

    Liked by 1 person

  34. So true Joanne, so true. I do best when I follow my first instinct…if not I start overthinking everything. “What if”, “What if not”.

    Glad you send the email 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

