Doors That Attract

Doors come in all kinds of shapes, sizes, and colours, but until I started following Norm 2.0’s weekly feature called Thursday Doors, I hadn’t really given much thought to what kind of door captured my attention and imagination.

So I started musing on some of the photos I’ve taken recently.

Like this plain wooden door found at Guildwood Park in Toronto. I can’t help but be drawn in by the wooden Viking-type carvings which frame the otherwise ordinary doorway – like Sentinels that guard the entrance as if to intimidate anyone meaning harm.

It was several visits to this park before a friend recently pointed out the owl carving around the keyhole – a detail I had never noticed.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

This doorway in Oslo is so beautifully imposing with its grand pillars complete with *Guardians* steadfastly watching the street below.

The door itself is unremarkable except maybe for the grillwork on top, but it’s the curved turret-like facade to the entrance that caught my eye.

Door 1 - Oslo

This door closing off the courtyard at the old fortress in Oslo captured my attention for all its metal studs and simple metal bar.  Metal and studs combined with brick … a combination guaranteed to get my attention.

Door 2 - Oslo

Little Hobbit-type doors are always interesting … the kind with a doorknob that seems to be closer to knee level than normal and forces a wise person to duck their head upon entering.

Door5 - Elora

Found in a shop in Elora, Ontario

However, my favourite tend to be doors that turn out to be portals that lead to a courtyard where there are other doors – like this passageway found in Kalmar, Sweden.

I’m attracted to these courtyards like bees to honey.  It speaks to a different time when security was measured by the number of physical barriers between the outside world and that which was valued.

Door4 - Kalmar

Today that security seems to be measured by more intangible barriers like firewalls, encryption protocols, and passwords.  These fail to capture my imagination in quite the same way.

Call me old-fashioned.

About Joanne Sisco

Retired but not idle. Life is an adventure - I plan to continue to embrace it.
This entry was posted in Photo Challenges, Random Stuff, Travel and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

66 Responses to Doors That Attract

  1. As you were mentioning the Viking, I was thinking “Ooh, look! An owl!” 🙂 Of course, it helped having a lovely clear photograph to highlight it.

    If you love doors and doorways, you should put the Fes Medina on your list. I’m not usually one for door photography, but there are an awful lot of doors, doorways and gates in my Morocco photo collection!

    Like

    • joannesisco says:

      I have to say, there is something about doors, doorways, archways, gates, etc that catch my imagination. They make me look and ponder – if only for a moment.

      I’ve heard wonderful things about Morocco …maybe someday!

      Liked by 1 person

      • My one piece of advice re Morocco is use a tour company. Doing it off your own bat is exhausting. Extra hard for someone from a non-tipping culture, I’ll admit. But it’s certainly something to experience.

        Like

        • joannesisco says:

          You’re not the first person who has suggested the need for a local guide when visiting Morocco. There have been a number of occasions in our travels when we’ve used a guide and have been glad we did. Sometimes when the location has some unique challenges, a guide is the only way to go.

          Liked by 1 person

  2. treerabold says:

    I think my favorite is the 1st one. The owl carved key hole is wonderful. I’m not sure I would have noticed it if you had not mentioned it!

    Like

  3. When building the house I currently live in, I was overwhelmed with all the details of decisions that needed to be made. So much of it was way beyond my ken and so outside my wheelhouse that at some point I think I simply started pointing at pictures in catalogs and said, “get the 2nd cheapest version of that.” Stupid. I know. I learned a lot. BUT, the one thing I refused to ignore and spent gobs of time over were THE DOORS. I love doors. So much symbolism. They give me goosebumps.
    Like the great Viking and his tiny feathered friend. I so want to know that story.
    Great photos, Joanne!

    Like

    • joannesisco says:

      A great door captures our attention and our imagination. Even a simple wooden shack is elevated by an interesting detail on its door. If I ever find out the story behind this door, I will happily share it 🙂

      Like

  4. Phil Taylor says:

    I like the doors too. They represent something. I started one of my books with a description of a door.

    Like

  5. badfish says:

    For some reason, I like taking photos of doors, have many of them. Maybe it’s a “thing” in the psyches of humans? Entry into…something. Something safe, something dangerous, something forbidden. I might enter this Norm’s thing…if it is a weekly event? Your writing in this piece is very…hmmm…what’s the word…artistic, maybe.

    Like

  6. Splendid collection of doors Joanne – the viking and the owl are irresistible!

    Like

  7. bikerchick57 says:

    I absolutely love, love, love the door with the Viking and owl. Anything else interesting about the park?

    Like

  8. Lynn says:

    I love photographing doors & windows, in particularly ones that tell a story. Your selections are beautiful Joanne. Love the 1st one with the owl keyhole, it makes me wonder, why the combination of a viking head & an owl????

    Like

  9. These are great portals to what lays beyond. My favourite is your first and imagine it’s practically on your doorstep! Even if they aren’t ornate, I’m always intrigued by the way many doors in Sweden open out – a small change but so different.

    Like

    • joannesisco says:

      That’s interesting … I hadn’t given any thought to doors opening outwards or in, but it certainly does change the character of a door.

      I’m glad you liked the wooden Viking and owl. This little wood cabin just sitting there in Guildwood Park must have a story behind it, but I’ve yet to discover it!

      Like

  10. It’s fun to see places that I recognize!

    Like

  11. tgeriatrix says:

    Great selection!

    Like

  12. Sue Slaght says:

    Well I would not have thought of you as old fashioned but like you I am always enthralled with these intricate and beautiful doors and knockers. that owl is fabulous!

    Like

  13. Norm 2.0 says:

    Wow what a great collection of doors Joanne. So glad you joined us this week. The fortress door with the metal studs and the one leading to the courtyard are my faves 🙂

    Like

    • joannesisco says:

      I find your weekly series really interesting and I’ve discovered I’m paying a lot more attention to doors than I ever did before.

      I’ve always liked interesting doors, but certainly have never stopped to start taking photos or attempt to analyze why I found it attractive.

      Great series Norm! I’m glad you enjoyed my contribution. 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

  14. bkpyett says:

    These are remarkable doors, Joanne. For me, they are more that doors, they are symbols of what lies beyond them. Modern buildings have lost the romance of possibility. As for computers, don’t get me started! ❤

    Like

  15. Sammy D. says:

    Ooh I’m so glad you joined ‘The Doors’ this week 😀. Fantastic array of grandeur and materials. I agree with you and Janis – those gates that give a glimpse of further gates, doors or courtyards will pique my curiosity every time. Thanks for the visual dessert!

    Like

  16. Dan Antion says:

    What a fantastic collection of doors. I love the heavy wooden one with the large center rail and mail slot. Functional strength – Great door.

    Like

  17. I love doors that make me want to know what is behind them. All of yours are lovely.

    Like

  18. Paula says:

    I’m a big door & doorknob fan. Thanks for sharing these and I’ll go check out the Thursday door scene too..

    Like

  19. dancingshark says:

    so cool i want the 1st one.

    Like

  20. I’ve been reading Robin’s blog at witlessdatingafterfifty and she is covering some of these as well. Of the cuff, I can’t really think of any doors that catch my attention but I’m sure that’s just because I’m not really looking. On the cover of Kiss’ album The Elder, there is an ominous looking door and door knocker which was actually recreated at a Kiss mini golf place that we visited not too long ago in Vegas. When you mention unusual doors, that is the first that crosses my mind.

    Like

  21. Heyjude says:

    I love your doors and I love your last sentence even more!

    Like

  22. Fabulous entry to Norm’s weekly event. You made me think.

    Like

Leave a Reply

