A Powerful Force Called Theo

Facebook informed me this morning that Theo became a part of my life 4 years ago today.

Theo3

Gilles had always argued against having a pet because it didn’t fit into our lifestyle.  I always suspected the real reason was because he worked from a home office and any pet would become primarily his responsibility.

… but 4 years ago Theo needed a home and as a very large 4-year-old Alpha Male with a history of behavioural problems, it wasn’t looking promising for him.

Theo1

When I heard of Theo’s plight, I moped around for days with a big pout-y face before Gilles finally caved in and agreed to a 3-month trial visit.  The rest is history.

In the past 4 years, Theo has completely and firmly wedged himself into our hearts.  The damage is now irreparable.

He has taught Gilles many useful skills like:

(1) learning to close drawers and doors – especially to his dresser if he wants to have clothes that are reasonably free of cat hair.

(2) sharing his food.  Under Theo’s tutelage, Gilles has become an enabler to Theo’s connoisseur taste in shrimp, fish, pie, and brie.  Not any cheese will do – it has to be brie.

Theo3

If my cat is a bit chubby with a mooching problem, don’t look at me.  It’s not my fault and I’m powerless to correct it.

(3) opening and closing the patio door.  Repeatedly.  Many times a day – especially if the weather is bad.  A cat’s propensity to re-check the weather outside every 5 minutes is quite remarkable.

(4) not leaving clothes – or anything for that matter – lying on the bed, or furniture, or floor.  See point (1) above.

Theo

On the flip side, Gilles has taught Theo … well … uh … I might have to get back to you on that one.

For 4 years our home has been filled with the lively antics and unconditional love of a very affectionate furball named Theo.  Gilles says it feels like so much longer.

Theo and Gilles

 

About Joanne Sisco

Retired but not idle. Life is an adventure - I plan to continue to embrace it.
This entry was posted in Family, Memories and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

74 Responses to A Powerful Force Called Theo

  1. Rebekah M says:

    Ahh … what a handsome guy Theo is! And yes, he looks … ‘sturdy’ 🙂 It’s the first time for my husband too, living with a cat. It’s been eleven years now, but still, sometimes he’s struck by how attached he’s become to McDuff … guess he could never imagine that.

    Like

    • joannesisco says:

      Cat haters usually talk about how aloof cats are … but Theo isn’t at all. He actually behaves like a dog in many ways.

      … and I laughed out loud at the ‘sturdy’ part 😀
      According to the vet, his ideal weight should be around 16 lbs and he’s currently about 19.5. He’s well-fed 🙂

      Like

  2. I love the life lessons, Joanne. Accomplished only the way a crafty creature who sneaks into your heart can do. There is no going back. This guy is family.
    And what a beautiful family it is. 🙂

    Like

  3. treerabold says:

    I think Gilles and Theo love each other!! (Just don’t tell them!!)

    Like

  4. Best arguments I’ve ever heard for getting a cat! But……why haven’t my cats taught my guys ANY of these things? 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  5. mickscogs says:

    Nice story as usual Joanne. No cats at my house; I like the few little birds we manage to attract here. I think the dogs would be a little peeved about it too. Theo does look like a winner!

    Like

    • joannesisco says:

      Thanks Mick. I was brought up with dogs, but for some reason I have more of an affinity for cats.
      Having said that, I love birds and used to have bird feeders. I loved to watch the little scrappers, but having a bird feeder now with Theo would be a bad idea 😉

      Like

  6. Aw, who could resist that face?

    We got our first cat as a wee kitten just before we were married (long story) and so she was our ‘baby’. Then real babies started coming along and while she remained the number one baby for The Husband, to me she became The Cat, too consumed as I was with actual baby care. We had her for 15 years. We got Leo six months after Cas passed away and while he started out also as The Cat, I find it interesting now (8 years later) that I am becoming closer to him as the boys need me less. I guess most of us are hard-wired to look for that nurturing.

    Liked by 1 person

    • joannesisco says:

      Theo is my cat. He follows me around and I admit I think of him as my fur-baby. He has a high need for attention and I’m more than happy to give it to him.
      I think you are right about the instinct to nurture, but a cat is a lot easier than children though 😉
      I only wish cats were a lot cooler about going in the car. Theo makes every venture into the car a life-and-death situation and ends up pooping all over himself. *sigh* …. so uncool.

      Liked by 1 person

  7. Oh he is just gorgeous. Happy four year anniversary Theo of supervising Joanne and Giles. You are a winner with such lovely slaves to care for you x

    Like

  8. hilarymb says:

    Hi Joanne – great tale of cat-love .. love the photos and the story line .. and I can feel his tummy from here – not that one, that one – the Theo boy!! Cheers Hilary

    Like

  9. badfish says:

    So very cool. And you wrote it with such an interesting take!! Lessons! Ha. I once adopted a cat that had issues. Scratched my arms until they bled. But we got passed it, and I taught him to climb steps attached to my house outside, so he could climb in the attic window we left open. Thanks for the memory!

    Like

  10. Sue Slaght says:

    Joanne I chuckled away at your list of Theo teachings. These fur balls just melt hearts don’t they. In this case apparently also a weather cat in the making.

    Like

    • joannesisco says:

      It is pouring rain outside as I write this and Theo is roaming around the house out of sorts because this is normally his outside time 😉

      I grew up with dogs, but for some reason it is cats that make my heart melt ❤

      Liked by 1 person

      • Sue Slaght says:

        Does he need to be on a leash opr does he stay close by Joanne. I would be so scared of losing a cat. Probably comes from my daughter’s cat being lost for a month a few years ago. A neighbour found her skinny self one block away where she had been hiding under a deck and living on garbage.

        Like

        • joannesisco says:

          Aww – that’s such a sad story. I wonder how she managed to get so disoriented when she was so close to home.

          At first Theo was on a leash with us, then as we both got more confident, we removed the leash and his *territory* grew gradually.
          Now he *owns* the street about 5 houses in one direction and 3 houses in the other. He rarely goes outside of this range. On a couple of occasions, he has gone for a walk with me around the block, but now he will just go the end of his *territory*, lay on the sidewalk and wait for me to come back.
          I’m lucky that I live on a very quiet street and he has the freedom to be outside.

          Liked by 1 person

  11. Sammy D. says:

    Very sweet. A match made in brie heaven!

    Like

  12. bikerchick57 says:

    I love the story of Theo and the photo Gilles and Mr. Chubby so much that I’m simply going to do this:

    ❤ ❤ ❤ ❤ ❤ ❤ ❤ ❤ ❤ ❤ ❤ ❤ ❤ ❤ ❤ ❤ ❤ ❤ ❤ ❤ ❤

    Like

  13. I wish it could be as easy as assuming a pouty face for awhile in order to get another kittie. My Chloe died about five years ago and we decided not to get another cat since we were headed for retirement and we wanted to travel. It’s been easier for my husband to stick to that agreement than me so, for now, I get my fix by visiting the local humane society now and then to preform ear-scratching duties. Theo is a very handsome fellow.

    Like

    • joannesisco says:

      Travelling with a pet at home is definitely a challenge. I would be away even more than I am if I didn’t have the obligation of a fur-baby at home.
      Theo’s not like a typical cat who can be left for hours and even days with a food dish. As an outside cat, his behaviours are closer to a dog’s and leaving him alone for prolonged periods of time are not an option. I’m lucky I have a neighbour who is willing to care for him and his schedule.

      I’m sorry to hear about the loss of your Chloe. They leave a big hole behind them. Thankfully you are getting furry affection at the humane society. I would find that soooo hard to do … I would want to bring every one of them home.

      Liked by 1 person

  14. And I have to wait another 34 hours till I get my cat fix in Portuguese class!

    Like

  15. I so enjoyed reading that. It’s funny how they train us isn’t? All our dogs, including the little puppy are cheese addicts. Dog treats..not so much, but they smell cheese and they are on their best behavior. I had to laugh when I read “I moped around for days with a big pout-y face” well done my friend 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  16. Nancy says:

    Cats are so good at training humans, aren’t they? I love Theo’s nose. It looks as if he was sniffing around in the ashes! Handsome boy.

    Like

    • joannesisco says:

      Much like our children, we tend to think our pets are the cutest, smartest, and best looking compared to anyone else’s 🙂
      … but Theo really is … 😉

      I love his 1/2 a mustache. His little face makes me laugh 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

  17. Your cat Theo is a handsome fellow. No doubt about it. He’s there to stay. A home without a cat is just not the same.
    As I try to poke at my keyboard to write this, Dickens leans over my left hand and I keep pushing him off my keyboard. Sigh.

    Like

  18. Su Leslie says:

    Love this! I especially love the cat-napping pic. I’m writing now with the cat on my lap, trying to simultaneously explore the keyboard and bury her head in my armpit. Gotta love em. 🙂

    Like

  19. NotAPunkRocker says:

    Aw, love that Theo worked his way into Gilles heart. Love the catnapping picture of the two of them 🙂

    Like

  20. I’m guessing Gilles means he can’t imagine his life without Theo!

    Liked by 1 person

  21. Love the last image of your two Alpha males napping. Do you suppose that they are two peas in a pod?

    Liked by 1 person

  22. Lynn says:

    Oh Joanne, this post just melts my heart. I have a soft spot for rescues, oh who am I kidding…I am just a sucker for animals! I love that Theo & Gilles have bonded so deeply. Our pet companions have a way of working their way into our hearts, despite our misgivings!

    Liked by 1 person

    • joannesisco says:

      I too am a softie, Lynn. My heart breaks a little more with each and every story of neglect and abuse. That’s why I avoid them like the plague.
      Without Gilles as a counterbalance, I would be one of *those* women with a dozen cats … and probably a few dogs thrown in for fun.

      The power struggle between these 2 alpha males can be quite funny. Periodically I have to remind Gilles that he’s the human and should know better 😉

      Liked by 1 person

  23. Well, he certainly is a cutie! There are so many pets out there that need a home. It is nice of you to adopt. We can’t have any in our building…much to my daughter’s chagrin.

    Liked by 1 person

    • joannesisco says:

      Theo is a cutie with a personality to match. There will never be another one like him ❤

      Unfortunately Theo has serious 'sharing' issues and can't be in a household with other animals. He gets a little territorial when one even ventures into our yard.
      That means that in spite of all the other older cats out there who need homes, I can't have more than Theo 😦

      Like

Leave a Reply

