Changing Seasons – A Steamy Start To September

My apologies to those of you who thought this post was going to be about hot sex.  Sorry to disappoint but … wrong blog.

In spite of mediocre weather this summer, September has come in strong with hot and humid temperatures … but it still hasn’t stopped the signs of autumn from popping up.

Everything has that bloated, overgrown, and over-ripe look of early fall. The goldenrod seems to have taken over and many trees are already starting to show signs of yellow and red.

image

I had heard about a fire at Bluffer’s Park that completely destroyed a boat, so I rushed down to the marina hoping to catch some photos.  As it turned out, the fire was at the nearby yacht club, and although I drove by hoping to catch a glimpse of a burnt-out hull, I could find nothing.

Instead, all I got was an assortment of lifeless, foggy photos on a very hot and still afternoon as the humidity simply hung in the air and left me a sticky, sweaty mess.

Sept9

Nor could I get anywhere near the beach – long lines of cars were circling the parking lot like vultures.  Not surprisingly, people had flocked down to the water to escape the heat.

A second trip down to the beach after school started a few days later told a different story.  It was still warm and humid, but the parking lot was deserted – and so was the beach.

Sept1

The picnic tables had all been dragged into the shade, but they sat empty surrounded by a growing pile of dead leaves as some of the trees have already started to shed.

Sept4

Do you ever wonder what happens at the beach when all the families go home in September?  I found out – the locals move in.

Sept

In the park, the Canada Geese (aka flying cows) had taken over – grazing and pooping, and pooping and grazing.

Sept3

All the signs are there – summer is over.

Sept6

The Changing Seasons is a Monthly Photo Challenge by Cardinal Guzman. My previous posts on The Changing Seasons can be found at the following links:

January 2015
February 2015
March 2015
April 2015
May 2015
June 2015
July 2015
August 2015

Sept5

About Joanne Sisco

Retired but not idle. Life is an adventure - I plan to continue to embrace it.
This entry was posted in Around Toronto and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

70 Responses to Changing Seasons – A Steamy Start To September

  1. Pingback: Changing Seasons: December Already!! | My Life Lived Full

  2. Pingback: November’s Unusual Charm – The Changing Seasons | My Life Lived Full

  3. Pingback: Changing Seasons: October Is Nature’s Costume Change | My Life Lived Full

  4. NancyTex says:

    Great photos, Joanne. I especially love the 2nd from the top and the 2nd from the bottom. Those are spectacular!

    Like

  5. Pingback: Share Your World 2015 – Week 37 | Mama Cormier

  6. reocochran says:

    The last photo was such a great overall shot of the water and surrounding beauty. I like your sense of humor! Not “steamy” here. . . 🙂

    Like

  7. treerabold says:

    Flying cows? I’ve never heard them called that….but grazing and pooping, pooping and grazing….it sounds like the name fits!!

    Like

  8. Joanne, it seems that September can be so unpredictable … and I’m always so ready for “real fall.” I love your description of the geese as “flying cows” – never heard that one. 🙂 And I really love your moody photo at the marina. Very cool … or should I say steamy? ~Terri

    Like

  9. You are torturing me with these geese pictures 🙂

    Like

  10. Your pictures illustrating how we’re gracefully–and abruptly moving from one season to the next are as stunning as ever, Joanne. I’m so magnetically drawn to the tiniest of details outside and measure the small incremental changes of month to month, and day to day with great enthusiasm. I love how you show those shifts in so many interesting ways with your photos. They are stories within stories.
    And I love the flying cows bit. I’ve never heard that description before, but now I’ll never forget it, and I’ll laugh every time I see the geese!

    Like

    • joannesisco says:

      I heard geese referred to as flying cows some ago and the description … it seemed so appropriate! Now whenever I see geese, I think cow. I’m rather proud I’ve managed to pass it along 😉

      Like

  11. Mrs. P says:

    What a great opener!

    The very first post I ever wrote was all about when the tourists go home. 🙂 Though we did not have geese pooping all over the place.

    https://mpozzanghera.wordpress.com/2012/09/05/when-the-tourists-go-home/

    Liked by 1 person

  12. lalalalalalalala It can’t be September already! But I’ll allow it because the forecast for today is a sunny 22C (24C tomorrow). Geez, I might even pull on the running gear. Gasp! Shock! Horror!

    Fab photos, Joanne! Love them all but the gulls one is excellent. (Your seagulls are dirtier than ours. But they look less annoying. The depiction of Australian seagulls in Finding Nemo was scarily accurate. Mine!)

    Like

    • joannesisco says:

      You hit on one of my favourite scenes in Finding Nemo. We used to re-wind that scene over and over again to laugh at exactly the same places 😀

      Liked by 1 person

      • My all time favourite scene from that movie (I think I may already have mentioned it) is when Dory is talking to the whale. Tears streaming down my face, every time!

        Guess what? I ran yesterday! Yay! On the depressing side, it was only 5km and I had to push myself to do that. Sigh. Use it or lose it indeed.

        28C today! Then 15C for the next four. That’s Spring for you….

        Like

        • joannesisco says:

          I didn’t remember the whale scene so I just googled it. Thanks for my morning laugh 🙂 Let’s face it, virtually everything out of Dory’s mouth was priceless 😀

          Congrats on your run! I think I would need CPR if I tried to run 5k today 😉

          Liked by 1 person

  13. What a great collection of photos, Joanne. They’re all good, but I especially thought the gulls and the last one were exceptional. I can’t believe how fast this year is going but summer most of all! I saw a billboard the other day that said, “Summer should get a speeding ticket.” I think I must agree!

    Like

  14. Heyjude says:

    Lovely image with the golden rod, but oh, how quickly the year has passed! I remember like it was yesterday these scenes in the snow. September has been nicer than August here too, though the jet stream is about to change course and bring rain and wind with it. I hope it holds off for the weekend as it is the Food Festival and I’d like to get out and grab some photos. Like your September everything here is sort of overgrown and going to seed, but not yet the changing colours that I love in autumn. And the swifts have gone back to Africa 😦

    Like

  15. I really love this time of year! The tourists are gone and we locals come out to play. Added retirement bonus are the kids back in school and those poor working stiffs are back at their desks. Our weather probably won’t cool down until sometime in October. I envy your fall leaves; we don’t get much of that around here.

    Like

  16. Love the shot through the goldenrod. This has been a neat series but it has reminded me how fast the year is going! Even without looking at past posts I can see this location with snow and ice in my minds eye – oh no!

    Like

  17. Sue Slaght says:

    Joanne I love how the ‘locals move in’. Great captures of the gulls on the beach. As you know we recently were in rain and snow so seeing your heat wave makes me shake my head in disbelief. Surely you could have shared some last weekend! 🙂

    Like

  18. Sammy D. says:

    Excellent post and super descriptions of how it all looks and feels right now. I’ve enjoyed this seasonal prompt and how you’ve approached it.

    We seem to have more geese every year who fly no further south than the pond here at roughly the 45th parallel. Every year at the annual HOA meeting, you can tell who moved in during the year because they are the ones who ask why the Board can’t ‘do something’ about all the goose poop on the sidewalks. But the proposal to diaper them all gets voted down ‘cuz no one wants the fee increase 😊

    Like

  19. Flying cows! That will stick with me also.
    September/October are my favorite months. Sadly, I wish it just rolled into May next…

    Like

  20. Yes, the signs are there (they’re here too): summer’s gone. As always, the summer was too quick. It never lasts long enough.

    Like

  21. Pingback: Monthly Photo Challenge: The Changing Seasons 09 | Cardinal Guzman

  22. Solveig says:

    There are a few days left in summer at least astrologically speaking…
    Those are some nice photos. I didn’t know that the geese were nicknamed flying cows, that’s a great title.

    Like

    • joannesisco says:

      The temperatures have changed overnight. The humidity is gone and a cool front has moved in. There is a 10C difference in temperature this morning. Frankly for someone like me who doesn’t really like the heat, I’m grateful.

      I heard the Canada Goose referred to as a flying cow on a talk show once and the name stuck with me. It is sooo appropriate!

      Liked by 1 person

  23. You’ve captured magnificent photos, Joanne. I’m not one of the poisoned by golden rod–thank goodness- but that’s the once that makes me cringe for anyone affected by it. 😦

    Like

  24. It’s funny, it seems that once you pass Labor Day, it’s much more likely for you to get a good spot on the beach, no matter how hot it is. No beach for us this summer sadly. Hopefully next year. Love your geese!

    Like

  25. bikerchick57 says:

    Nice photos, Joanne, especially the one with the grazing and pooping geese. They are even more dangerous when they fly right after eating.

    I don’t want summer to end. It was a nice one that went by too fast. Didn’t go fishing or camping this year, which makes me a little sad. Maybe next year…

    Like

    • joannesisco says:

      Stupid geese.
      Can you tell they’re not my favourite? :/

      I really like the cooler temperatures of fall better. The daytime temperatures are nice enough to do things outside without broiling, and nighttime temperatures are great for sleeping.
      I’m sad to see summer go only because I know winter’s coming.

      Liked by 2 people

      • bikerchick57 says:

        We had a nice cool night and rain, but the forecast for Friday and Saturday is highs in the upper 50’s and low 60’s. Not ready for that…

        Like

        • joannesisco says:

          It sounds like our forecasts are the same. Friday and Saturday night I’m going to be deep in the Haliburton forest as a volunteer for the 100-miler trail race again this year. I’m not worried so much about the cold night temperatures as I am about the prospect of rain. It could be a long, miserable 30 hours.

          On a positive note, I’m unlikely going to get eaten alive by insect vampires.

          Liked by 1 person

          • bikerchick57 says:

            Oh boy, rain would not be fun. Since you’ll be deep in the forest, I would think that you could find a nice big tree to stand under (as long as it’s not lightning) to protect yourself from the rain. In regard to the insects, good luck with that. Don’t let them carry you away.

            Like

            • joannesisco says:

              I’m packing rain gear, umbrellas, and extra warm clothes. Hopefully I won’t need any of them 😉

              We rely on a bonfire at night for warmth … and it helps alert the runners that an aid station is ahead. If it rains, lighting and maintaining a fire could be a problem.
              hmmm – must remember to pack tarps.

              Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

