Things I Like

Several years ago, my lovely niece and godchild had a blog called Things I Like. It was a charming and creative place that gave me insight into the heart of this delightful young woman.

Then she married and became a new mom.  Her blog became a forgotten place – except to me.  I loved the concept and so … with her blessing … I have decided to post a regular feature on random Things I Like too.

I don’t know where it will take me in the weeks ahead, but I hope to have some fun with it and perhaps you might be inspired to join in with posts of your own.

For my inaugural post of Things I Like, I’ve selected the season of Autumn. There are just so many reasons to love this time of year.

1 – Nature dresses herself up in yellows, oranges, and reds … and WOW! She is beautiful!

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

2014 – on the Bruce Trail

2 – Celebrating Thanksgiving, my wedding anniversary, and my oldest child’s birthday … all wrapped up in the month of October.  This is the beginning of a busy season of socializing that doesn’t end until the New Year.  There aren’t many things better than happy get-togethers with family and friends – laughing and telling stories.

3 – Farmers’ markets jammed packed with an abundance of fresh vegetables that actually taste like they are supposed to because they haven’t travelled 3000+ km to get here.  The colours alone are bright and cheerful.

2014

2014

2014

2014

4 – Apples!!  Hard, crisp apples fresh from the orchards.  I like the warm, sweet smell of apples baking with cinnamon into sauces and pies.

2014

2014

5 – Pots of home-made soup chock full of chunky vegetables in a rich broth.  There’s something warm and comforting about a steaming bowl of home-made soup on a chilly day.

6 – Going for a walk, run, bike ride, or hike without feeling like I’m going to melt in the summer heat – or freeze in the winter cold.  Nature is putting on a spectacular display for us and being outdoors to fully appreciate it is considerably more enjoyable in autumn.  Did I mention no mosquitos?  It’s a bonus.

7 – Warm, snuggly blankets and sweaters.  Curling up under a blanket with a good book on a rainy autumn day is a time of simple bliss.

8 – A fire to take the chill off the cool morning or evening air.  I often catch the smell of a wood fire as I’m out walking after dinner.  It provides a feeling of being safe and warm.

2015 - Haliburton Forest

2015 – Haliburton Forest

Yes, autumn is here in the Northern Hemisphere and this is something I really like.

About Joanne Sisco

Retired but not idle. Life is an adventure - I plan to continue to embrace it.
This entry was posted in Random Stuff, Things I Like and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

69 Responses to Things I Like

  1. jannatwrites says:

    I like many of the things you like. I also like this idea- posting about things you like is so positive and uplifting.

    Like

  2. NancyTex says:

    All great things to like!

    Like

  3. nimi naren says:

    Simply loved all the simple thinga you have listed. The pictures are beautiful too

    Like

  4. I like this idea for a series but I must put in an official protest ( who do I do that to?)…while I too love autumn aren’t each of the things on the list a stand alone ‘thing’? Just saying…

    Like

  5. Mama Cormier says:

    I love autumn as well for all the same reasons, except that my anniversary is in the summer. One more reason I’m going to love autumn is celebrating my new granddaughter’s birthday in October. The date is yet to be determined. Her due date is today.

    Liked by 1 person

  6. Oh, Joanne! You just nailed everything my heart leaps with joy over in this beautiful post of yours. With each successive number, I made a small yelp of, “Me too!”
    I love autumn. I’m addicted to the things that live within your list, and I’m nearly giddy with delight that all of that happiness is beginning right now.
    Much to celebrate. So much to love.

    Liked by 1 person

  7. Mrs. P says:

    I love this idea! I too, have thought of doing something like this as well. I have never lived in a place that had actual seasons, though I have always thought I would like to experience them.

    I love the smell of apple pies and used to make a fresh pie each week during the fall using trees from my miniature apple tree.

    My daughter was born in October, too! For many years we would have pumpkin stew, cooked in the pumpkin shell…delicious! I used to love the holidays but after 17 years of teaching and holiday performances some of the simple joy went out of them. Don’t get me wrong, I loved all of the work I did but it was work and I admittedly lost some of the jolly doing it. On the other hand, I still enjoy the smells of food cooking, Christmas lights, the chill in the air and carolers singing. 😀 And I love fires! Any time, any where…except forest fires.

    Liked by 1 person

  8. Alex Hurst says:

    Two of my favorite things on this list too… farmers’ markets and autumn! Getting so excited with the leaves starting to change color over here…. so much to enjoy!

    Liked by 1 person

    • joannesisco says:

      It’s funny that as nature is dying all around us and getting ready to sleep through the winter, it creates this incredible burst of energy.
      I’m just going to continue to enjoy it while it lasts 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

  9. Phil Taylor says:

    I’m not a fan of the colder weather but I do like the apples

    Liked by 1 person

  10. A lovely post Joanne, I like all those things too; you say it so well. I do love autumn but for us it’s spring. Today is the first day that I’ve had to close the curtains against the heat to keep the house cool. Feels really strange but lovely too. I so love the seasons. Thanks for a happy post. Your niece sounds lovely.

    Like

  11. Su Leslie says:

    I’m definitely a fan of autumn; apart from anything else, it’s when the weather here is best. Not too hot and usually not too wet.

    Like

  12. Sue Slaght says:

    Joanne I agree such a beautiful display autumn puts on for us. I am typically a glass half full person but I admit a twinge of sadness comes to me with fall for her brother winter comes swiftly behind. Perhaps I need to do more embracing of the moment.

    Like

  13. Fortunately our Southern Californian weather seems to be cooling a bit and I can ALMOST feel autumn in the air. I love your list and am looking forward to enjoying many of the same things soon.

    Like

  14. Lael says:

    What a nice way to settle into the weekend! Right now I’m liking a delicious bowl of ramen noodles and the sun shining in through my front door. I’m determined to drag my Hubs out into the beauty this weekend. Enjoy yours!

    Like

  15. Lynn says:

    Autumn is my favourite time of year, even more so as I age & suffer from hot flashes! I love this idea Joanne, celebrating things we like. A wonderful way to find gratitude in the little things.

    Sounds like this weekend might be a fire burning kind of weekend, with a curl up on the sofa and a good book. Oh, and a glass of wine!

    Like

    • joannesisco says:

      Why is it we don’t feel any guilt about doing nothing more serious than curling up on the couch on a rainy day? 🙂

      … and I hear you about the hot flashes. It’s nice to simply step outside when the heat wave starts!

      Liked by 1 person

  16. I love your list of “things I like” what a marvelous idea. There is so much about my favorite season that I like. Cuddling up under a blanket, comfort food, hot chocolate, barn fires, the dogs playing with the leaves and many more.

    Great, great post…made me smile~!

    Like

  17. Heyjude says:

    I love all the things you like about autumn. What a great feature. I love autumn too, especially when the sun shines and the sky is blue and I can get out for a walk. Curling up with a good book is fine too and we share a love of soup and farmers’ markets. And of course there is the turning of the leaves that every photographer looks forward to. Have a great weekend Jo.

    Like

  18. Sammy D. says:

    Lovely idea for a feature post to carry on your niece’s tradition. I like what you like (with a tad less socializing ).

    Like

    • joannesisco says:

      I hope she likes what I do with her theme 🙂

      I have a party every weekend this month. At my age, that’s a full calender and I’m sure that by the end of the month, I’ll be ready to crawl into a corner under a blanket to hide.
      … but November and December are typically worse – or better, depending on your tolerance for loud boisterous parties 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

      • Sammy D. says:

        Yup! I think having them on the calendar stresses me as much as actually attending! I do a better job now of declining with sincere regrets but knowing that’s the best way to care for myself. You will have to do the dancing for both of us *wink*

        PS I didn’t realize last year that your Thanksgiving is in October! Is turkey your traditional meal as it is ours or do you have another main food?

        Like

        • joannesisco says:

          Our Thanksgiving is next weekend and yes, turkey is normally centre stage.
          As much as I enjoy eating a turkey dinner, I hate cooking a turkey dinner. I find it stressful to get all the food to the table hot at the same time … not to mention the residual smell of roasting turkey in the house. Am I the only one who hates that smell?!

          Liked by 1 person

  19. Wow. Your leaves have already changed! We’re still green down here but I’m waiting. Thanks for whetting my appetite though…..you are speaking my language with your autumn likes!

    Like

    • joannesisco says:

      We’re seeing some colours but these were actually from last year. It’s still a little early here too.
      Since temperatures changed a few days ago, the autumn chill is really in the air now and I’m LOVING it!

      Liked by 1 person

  20. hilarymb says:

    Hi Joanne – those are wonderful “things I like” – what a great idea … and the blog will remain active. Am sure your niece is having the time of her life right now – starting on this long-lasting and important phase. Gorgeous ideas you’ve got here … it is a season of plenty – cheers Hilary

    Like

    • joannesisco says:

      Yes, my niece is in a very happy place in her life right now. She would say her heart is full 🙂

      You hit it right on the head – it is a season of plenty. Lately I’ve been noticing the swarms of birds and how active they are – especially in the morning. Two of my neighbours have large vegetable gardens and they attract the birds at this time of year. I love watching their dance 🙂

      Hilary – do you have a blog? It doesn’t show on your profile.

      Like

  21. I like Farmers’ markets, soup and going for a bike ride too!

    Like

  22. mickscogs says:

    It’s hard not to like Autumn wherever you are in the temperate zones. Spring is really beautiful here at the moment but some people suffer with hay fever. I will cop it later in November with grass pollen. I would like to experience a northern hemisphere, full on deciduous tree, Autumn before I croak it. This maybe so next year. That fire is a beast!

    Like

    • joannesisco says:

      I too have allergy issues in the spring and late summer, but for me, autumn is really relief from the summer humidity.

      I’m originally from the North above the deciduous tree line. I fell in love with all the colours of fall when I moved to the South to go to university and the love affair is still going strong! 🙂

      Like

  23. bkpyett says:

    You have captured such wonderful thoughts about autumn, Joanne. I think the in-between seasons are the best! I do love of the smell of burning wood fires too. Sharing the things we love is a very special thing to do.

    Like

    • joannesisco says:

      It would be pretty easy to get negative about the end of summer and the impending winter cold. I choose to simply enjoy this transition phase for all the wonderful things it really is 🙂

      I’m sure by January / February, I’ll be singing a very different song!!

      Like

  24. I love Autumn too. But Spring is being pretty cool. Well, actually, NOT cool. More like HOT. But it’s still rather nice. I like not rowing in the dark.
    I read No. 5 as “steaming bowl of chilli soup on a home-made day.” I think I’ve had too many early mornings….

    Like

    • joannesisco says:

      OMG -I do that too and come up with combinations that make me laugh out loud.
      I like the sound of a “home-made day”. It gives the impression we can make it anything we want it to be. hmmm – so much potential! 😉

      I have to admit that the shorter days are not my favourite part of fall. It seems to trigger a hibernation instinct. Goodness knows I’ve been building up the layer of fat part :/

      It’s interesting that we are sitting on opposite ends of the seasonal teeter-totter.

      Liked by 1 person

      • Now that you mention it, I rather like the phrase “home-made day” too. I think I’m going to have to use it in a song one day. 🙂

        I love it. It’s like getting to live through two seasons at once. (Unlike the four seasons in one day for which we are famous. 😀 )

        Like

  25. I miss that living in L.A. I mean we do have our seasons but they’re all messed up and unpredictable. Thanks for allowing me to reminisce with these vibrant pictures.

    Like

  26. bikerchick57 says:

    The weather has taken on the fall chill this week, but I’m not minding it at all. It feels pretty good and I love how the air smells. Looking forward to fall in Virginia next week…hopefully, there is nice color.

    Like

Leave a Reply

