Things I Like – Smile For The Camera

It’s Friday and time for me to reflect on Things I Like.  This week it is no contest … my little Fuji X30 camera wins hands-down.

20151009_161319

My Sexy Little Fuji. Photo taken with my Samsung Galaxy.

Autumn is such a wonderful time of year to appreciate the changing face of nature, and Little Fuji has been feeding my creativity all week.  With each new batch of photos I’ve downloaded, my excitement and enthusiasm has been growing.

bridge

Earlier this year, Joe Giordano at The Visual Chronicle recommended this little jewel of a camera and for a beginner like me, the learning curve has been rather steep.  Yes – it has an Auto “Press-Here-Dummy” function for the unsophisticated photographer – but I wanted more.

Canada Life

For the past 6 months, I’ve been experimenting with my new toy and trying to learn some photography basics.  It’s been painful.

F-stops, shutter speeds, apertures, focal points, depth of field … it’s been enough to make me want to give up in defeat.  This stuff is COMPLICATED.

fountain

Experimenting with shutter speed at City Hall.

… but this week I’ve discovered that I seem to have accumulated enough basic knowledge that I’m squealing with delight at the results coming out of Little Fuji more often than not.

pic1

When I visited the new Aquarium in Toronto, I experimented with various functions trying to take a photo that wasn’t fuzzy and green.  I was just so impressed with the results I got using the *Underwater* setting. Obviously I wasn’t underwater, but Little Fuji didn’t seem to mind.

Sea Dragon

Sea Dragons 

sharks

Uh-oh – I think the sharks may have noticed me.

I’m really liking this camera.  A lot.

20151009_161402

Awww – I think I made her blush.

About Joanne Sisco

Retired but not idle. Life is an adventure - I plan to continue to embrace it.
This entry was posted in Random Stuff, Things I Like and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

72 Responses to Things I Like – Smile For The Camera

  1. treerabold says:

    She is a beauty!
    I enjoy your photos and can’t wait to see more from this little gem!!

    Like

  2. beeblu says:

    It is complicated, but many worthwhile pursuits are. Hang in there – you’re getting great results.

    Like

  3. nimi naren says:

    Loved the clarity of the water shots

    Like

  4. Mrs. P says:

    Thank you so much for this post! I am in exactly the same place as you were before you bought this camera. All of my elder family members have been photographers since way back when…literally (and in some cases, professionally) since the 1880s. Unbelievably, their knowledge was not shared and it’s all Greek to me. I want to know…but it’s all so overwhelming! I even inherited a fancy camera from my dad but it’s far too complex for a beginner. You have given me hope with your new toy…er..tool. 😀 I enjoy taking pictures, always have but it would be so wonderful to create pictures in the way you have learned to do.

    Like

  5. Fantastic pics, Jo – you are well on the way to taming the beast! Love, love, LOVE the fishy photos. Mrs Palymo is demanding that you become her official photographer.

    Like

  6. I like the sea dragon. You took great pictures Joanne..well done.

    Like

  7. Heyjude says:

    I like what is coming out of your sexy Fuji too [my poor old Fuji has been replaced by an Olympus and is now sitting on the dresser in a sulk] but I understand what you say about using the different functions. Sadly I still slip back into using the auto setting, although I have to use manual focus on the macro lens if I am to get anything decent.

    Like

    • joannesisco says:

      At first I was a bit reluctant when I realized I wouldn’t be able to exchange the lens … then I smacked myself and said it was a joke if I thought for a minute a different lens would make a difference to me at this point.
      If and when I’m ever ready for that step, a new camera will be in order 😉

      Liked by 1 person

  8. jannatwrites says:

    I think the Fuji is working well for you! Those “underwater” photos are gorgeous.

    Like

  9. Jealous, Joanne….both of your new baby and your results!

    Like

  10. I’ve tried several times over the years to nail down the technical stuff related to photography. As you can tell by my use of the word “stuff” I haven’t succeeded.
    I take great comfort in a piece of advice the camera store guy told me back in the pre-digital mid 80’s – a professional photographer can consider herself successful if one shot in a roll of film turns out not bad. Passing this along so that you can take comfort (and credit) for your success!

    Liked by 1 person

    • joannesisco says:

      I’ve heard the same thing from several sources – including the instructor at the photography course I took earlier this year.
      Unfortunately photography seems to be a lot of science-y stuff and, well … we know where my comprehension level is when it comes to science-y stuff. Poor Gilles has explained the concept of shutter speed to me at least a million times (AFTER I took the course) .. and I still need to double-check with him before I take a photo.
      I consider myself a pretty smart person but I know where my mental blocks are 😉

      Liked by 1 person

  11. Joe says:

    The learning curve on any camera is steep when you take it out of Program mode but its obvious by these beautiful images you are taking your photography to another level Joanne, they’re beautiful. Once you get rules and theory of photography under your belt it gets easier. If you ever need a quick primer on different aspects of photography (In simple terms) I have included a link to the tutorial page on The Visual Chronicle – http://thevisualchronicle.com/tutorials/

    I’m so glad you are enjoying your “Baby Fuji”.

    Like

    • joannesisco says:

      Thanks Joe for the encouragement. I actually bookmarked your link a while ago 😉
      I’m lucky that Gilles has sooooo much patience on this subject because he’s explained the same concepts to me over and over and over again.
      I love my Little Fuji. It’s a wonderful little camera.

      Liked by 1 person

  12. badfish says:

    Joanne…you just keep on amazing me. I love those underwater photos. My camera doesn’t have that function—whatever it does? Looks through glass? Makes things blue? And clear!!! Love the sea dragons…nice composition.

    Like

    • joannesisco says:

      I had tried all kinds of different settings trying to get a somewhat decent photo and then accidentally found this Underwater function intended for use with a waterproof case.
      I tried it (why not) and was blown away with the results. The glass caused distortion so I got the best results if I wasn’t too close.

      The sea dragons were a first for me and I was quite fascinated with them … as the dozen or so photos I took of them will attest to 😉

      Liked by 1 person

      • badfish says:

        Well it sounds like a perfect setting for taking photos through glass. I take pictures through my windows (usually very dirty) all the time. I could use that function! Maybe I’ll double check my camera??

        Like

  13. Su Leslie says:

    These are lovely photos Joanne; a great marriage of technology, skill and vision! Isn’t it a wonderful feeling to master something that has seemed to complex. Well done you!

    Like

  14. Solveig says:

    Hands down you are a good photographer. The camera just helps you develop and nurture your talent.
    Great photos!!!
    I saw in an earlier comment that you have w hard time taking credit… Well I am always reminded of the “professional” photos that were taken in the hospital of my daughter, they were all fuzzy and of bad quality and one would sell for 10€. I managed after much discussion to only get my free picture and not spend fortunes on picture books etc.
    The ones my fiancé took with his phone were by far if better quality…
    The underwater ones are magnificent!

    Like

    • joannesisco says:

      I know what you mean by having expectations of a *professional* and getting disappointing results. Thankfully your fiancé saved the day because there are just some scenarios that can’t be reproduced!
      I would never want someone to rely on my ability to take a decent photo!!

      Liked by 1 person

  15. You know, Joanne, I follow quite a few photography blogs and I’ve learned that this stuff is not easy. I really think you’ve done a great job ( from my inexperienced eyes anyway). I love the ‘underwater’ pictures.

    Like

  16. Hm. I am beginning to think a duty-free purchase may be in order. I’ve had my little Panasonic point-and-shoot for 6 years. (In fact, I bought it for the last community project trip I did.) I think I could be allowed an upgrade, don’t you? Can I get across this camera in less than two weeks?

    Love your photos (I think the aquarium ones were the clincher) and I feel your excitement. Isn’t it wonderful when you try something and the results are so much more than you’re expecting? I’m inclined to squee when that happens. 😀

    Like

    • joannesisco says:

      I definitely think an upgrade has been earned!! With so many cameras on the market and a dizzying array of features, it was intimidating to chose a camera. I was so grateful for Joe’s recommendation of this camera as a great beginner camera beyond the point-and-shoot (although in Auto mode it’s a great point-and-shoot).

      … and if you had been with me in the Aquarium, you would have definitely heard me squeal with delight when photo after photo was coming out remarkably clear 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

      • You know what I did (because I am a research junkie who needs serious help)? I looked it up. And that then led to other cameras and that then led to “Top 10” this and “Best Buy” that and THEN I did what I always do when I get to this point. I threw up my hands in despair and gave up because it’s all too hard.

        What is wrong with me?? Here I have a recommendation from someone I trust, with evidence of its performance and all I can do is go “Yes, but…”

        AAAAARRRGGHH! 😀

        Like

        • joannesisco says:

          hahahaha! I’m married to a man who has the same researchitis that you have 🙂
          I – on the other hand – am lazy, and trying to research something that I don’t understand would have made me crazy.

          If it helps, when I bought my camera, the salesperson at the camera store said it was an excellent choice and she didn’t understand why they didn’t sell more of them because it was such an excellent little camera with a great reputation.
          She was both surprised and impressed when I said a blogger had recommended it 🙂

          Liked by 1 person

          • I’m completely hopeless. Reading your previous comment sent me off on the merry-go-round again for another hour. And I’m still none the wiser. (Hi, my name is Heather and I’m a research addict….)
            I shall sleep on it. Can’t think any more. Besides, I have three boat races tomorrow. Er…make that later today. 😉 (It’s okay. It’s a local Corporate Head of the River thing. It’s just a bit of fun for a good cause. No sheep stations to be lost.)

            Liked by 1 person

            • Heyjude says:

              If it is any consolation to you Heather it has taken me 7 years to make a decision on a new camera. I wanted one with interchangeable lenses because I wanted to do better macro shots (my passion for flower ) but I could not decide on which one. For a year I subscribed to a What Digital magazine and each month would devour the reviews, mark the cameras I liked with a coloured sticker and then look up more reviews online. Each birthday and xmas I’d tell the OH not to buy me anything big as I was saving for my NEW camera. Each year passed by… eventually I upgraded my Fuji bridge to the next version as a stand-by and liked it so much that I put the interchangeable option to one side. Eventually after setting up a spreadsheet and making comparisons I went for the Olympus compact camera (mirrorless) as I had read good reviews, know several bloggers who use one (so I can beg for tips) and it was on a special offer. But I could have gone on forever dithering. I like my new camera, it is light and small enough with a small zoom lens to fit into a small bag. I love the macro lens. Whether it is the best on the market who knows? (And only a week after buying it I got an email from Olympus telling me about the newest model – arrgh!!!)

              Liked by 1 person

            • joannesisco says:

              Yeah, riiiiight. I can see you competing “just for fun” without giving everything you’ve got until you’re ready to drop …. yup. Gonna happen 😉

              Liked by 1 person

  17. Sue Slaght says:

    wonderful Joanne to be feeling more comfortable with your camera. That shark photo is tremendous. Brilliant perspective.

    Like

    • joannesisco says:

      Thanks Sue. I was like the paparazzi in the Aquarium … click, click, clicking away. When all three sharks turned around to look in my direction I actually squealed out loud! 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

      • Sue Slaght says:

        Oh we are kindred spirits. I find laying on the floor attracts quite a lot of attention, both human and animal wondering what in the world is happening. Anything for a photo. 🙂

        Like

        • joannesisco says:

          This aquarium has tons of attractions for small children … tunnels, pop-up windows etc. The aquarium was very quiet while we were there and I was SERIOUSLY itching to crawl into the tunnels and pop-up windows. There is a part of me that’s still 5-years-old 🙂

          Liked by 1 person

  18. This is something I can really relate to – some great photo experiments here! Getting off the automatic setting is so hard but once you get started it’s amazing what happens…unfortunately for me though I get lazy and then forget how to work with the settings again. Good for you for staying at it

    Liked by 1 person

    • joannesisco says:

      That Auto button is a seductive temptress and I’m still usually taking a photo in Auto mode as a *control*.
      This was a good week for photos … hopefully I’ll get some consistency going forward.

      Like

  19. Mama Cormier says:

    Can you exchange the lenses on this camera? I love my iPhone but I’d like to get a camera that allows me to attach a zoom lens for close-up shots of birds and wildlife.

    Like

  20. mihrank says:

    lovely photos with positive energy!

    Liked by 1 person

  21. Love all your photos, but the water ones take the cake. You are fantastic at this photography stuff. The camera cannot take all the credit. ^^’

    Like

Leave a Reply

