Things I Like – A Warm Memory

We all have them – a sudden powerful memory of a moment in time, often small and fleeting.  It might be triggered by a song, a smell, a landmark, or an unexpected find of something familiar.

The accumulation of these small moments are what gives our lives texture.  Perhaps that’s why they resonate so strongly when the memory is triggered.

I had one of those moments recently.

I’ve been on a bit of a cleaning frenzy lately and had dragged a box out of the basement that was full of old papers and tax returns dating back over 30 years.  It was time for a purge.

Tucked into the box was a much smaller box with my handwriting on it dated May 1994.  I remembered it well – it was Mother’s Day and the box was from my then 8-year-old son.

Mother's Day 1994 (2)

There is nothing that can warm a parent’s heart faster than the simple and innocent gesture of love demonstrated by their child.

Mother's Day 1994 (3)

Shortly after I found this box, we gathered as a family for Jordan’s 30th birthday.  Of course I was excited to show him my unexpected find.

To my surprise, he remembered it well and he had a chuckle over his use of fractured grammar.

I don’t tend to hoard stuff (contrary to what a box of 30 year old tax returns might suggest) and a find like this is very unusual.  Perhaps that’s what makes it so very special.

This is something I really like. My heart is full.

About Joanne Sisco

Retired but not idle. Life is an adventure - I plan to continue to embrace it.
This entry was posted in Family, Memories, Random Stuff, Things I Like and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

58 Responses to Things I Like – A Warm Memory

  1. Phil Taylor says:

    I love those things and often I hang on to tiny momentos from a particular time. Today, in the back of a drawer,I came across a pacifier my 23 year old son used. I also still have a corner of his blanket too.

    Like

  2. Lael says:

    What a treasure! You’ve inspired me to wear a certain piece of pre-school art today. It’s about twenty years old 🙂

    Like

  3. Beautifully said, Joanne – and what a great letter! I was just helping James’ sister go through some of her old papers and we stumbled across a Christmas Santa that James had made when he was 7 or 8. Priceless! I never knew he had this artistic streak. 🙂 ~Terri

    Like

  4. jannatwrites says:

    That is so sweet. I’ve struggled with what to keep and what not to keep (keeping it all would result in getting last and having to be rescued). I keep a few special things and scan whatever I can into the computer so I can see it but don’t have to physically store it.

    Like

  5. That is precious. Did he mind you pulling it out? No significant other to laugh at/with him?

    I started purging about a year ago, did well, and then forgot to continue. You’ve reminded me…

    Like

    • joannesisco says:

      I’m lucky that both of my sons are highly tolerant of their mother’s peculiarities 😉 Everyone – including the significant other – thought it was cute and endearing 🙂

      I’ve come to the conclusion that *stuff* accumulates on its own and our purging work is never done :/

      Like

  6. So special, and even special-er that Jordan remembered making it – lovely memories for both of you.

    Like

  7. Sue Slaght says:

    Such a wonderful find Joanne. I recently found a similar item from my Jordan at around 12. Like finding treasure!

    Like

    • joannesisco says:

      OMG Sue – how did I not know your son’s name was Jordan too?!
      … or did I know and it went into the great heap of thinking forgotten?

      It is like finding treasure!! We get to feel lucky all over again 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

      • Sue Slaght says:

        Joanne I thought we had hatted about it at one point but not to worry. It seems that so very often as we learn more and more about each other the similarities clearly show we were twins separated at birth. 🙂

        Like

        • joannesisco says:

          I guess it’s inevitable that out there in the vast world we are going to find a small handful of people who are just like us!!

          I thought of you the other day while we were out hiking. We finally made it to the section of the Escarpment where the rock climbers hang out (pun intended).
          Watching them was a bit tricky because of the interfering rock, trees, risk of plunging to my death …
          Yeah, I can’t see myself adding this to my list of 52 New Things anytime soon. Let’s just say we will continue to have some unique qualifiers 🙂

          Liked by 1 person

  8. What a sweet find! I don’t have children but I remember going through my parents’ home after they died and finding quite a few handmade gifts, cards and letters from my brothers and me. It meant so much to us that they kept them and each brought back a wonderful flood of memories.

    Like

  9. What a treasure. It’s the little written notes that move me and remind me of how pure and innocent a child’s love is…delightful post and now I too must pull mine out and have a look!

    Like

    • joannesisco says:

      You forget! You forget the small things about life with a young child until there is something to prompt it … like a handwritten note. The heart fills ❤

      Have fun with your own trip down memory lane!

      Like

  10. What a beautiful post, thank you so much for sharing. I am so glad your son remembered as well as you did. What a treasure you found in your basement.

    Like

  11. Lynn says:

    What a beautiful treasure to find from Jordan!

    I kept one of those big plastic bin for both of our kids. It started out as one of those School Day Treasure books but as the years went on, it just kept expanding. When my son recently turned 30, I gifted it to him for safekeeping. Before doing so, I went through it, reading random notes he had left over the years, pictures, projects etc. It was both an emotional and wonderful walk down memory lane. We are such saps as we age:)

    Like

    • joannesisco says:

      What is it about aging that makes us so sentimental and hopelessly nostalgic?!!

      I too kept a book for each son during their childhood. I haven’t given much thought about when to make it theirs. With Jordan just having turned 30, maybe the time is soon 😉

      Liked by 1 person

  12. A very sweet find. I still have a scrappy bit of paper from over 30 years ago on which my son wrote a loving message and drew a picture of him and myself. It’s almost falling apart, but I still take it out of my wallet and look at it. 🙂

    Like

  13. A delightful and warming find. I love ‘finding’ lost things I didn’t know I had lost. 🙂 ❤ ❤
    When the winter weather hits and I'm stuck at home, I should go through some of my o.l.d. boxes to see what I'll find.

    Like

  14. Mrs. P says:

    I have saved a few treasures from Michelle’s childhood, enough to fit in a small box. Having been the teacher…and one year her teacher, saving everything wasn’t an option for me. But, I have a few memories and recordings which I cherish. She has done a much better job of saving things and taking recordings so I know there will be lots of neat memories of my grandson.

    I love Jordan’s creativity…pull the string. Only the creative ones would come up with something like this as part of a gift. I would know, my students were all 7-9 years old. You are blessed.

    Like

  15. badfish says:

    THAT is so very cool. What a great find! The only thing like that I might find is my barrel racing saddle from the 70’s…in storage since then.

    Like

  16. What a lovely thing to come across, Joanne. I’ve saved snippets here and there from both boys and recently (during one of our moves) came across a cassette tape of my oldest boy age 4 or 5. Remember cassette tapes? And can you believe we still had a cassette tape player right there? What a thing to be transported almost 20 years in an instant. A bit Doctor Who-ish!

    Like

    • joannesisco says:

      I know what you mean. Seeing a photo is one thing, but hearing a voice is sooo magical.
      A few years ago, I went through a process of converting VHF tapes with videos of the boys when they were young to digital.
      Gilles and I sat mesmerized for hours watching the boys playing, laughing, singing. It was amazing. We were also REALLY young. Wow. You don’t realize it until you see it!

      Liked by 1 person

  17. That is so wonderful and adorable. How great you saved it and chuckled over it with your son. I have a folder of homemade cards from my daughter when she was little. They’re better than diamonds 🙂

    Like

  18. bikerchick57 says:

    Oh, flying hearts everywhere for this treasure, a wonderful gift from your son then and now.

    Like

  19. NancyTex says:

    I had file cabinets in my then home office filled with every drawing, every project. When we moved out of that massive suburban nightmare of a house and into the one you visited, I purged around 60% of that stuff. Then came the 15 years in the house on the lake. And, well, you read all about my massive, massive purge before we listed. 🙂 So now, all I have from when the kids were little are 1-2 items from each of them. Sigh. I guess I won’t be in for any sweet surprises 20 years from now. 😀

    Like

    • joannesisco says:

      I would imagine that each purge was difficult in its own way. Our home is very small so being a packrat has never been an option. There are some things I’ve saved over the years and they are indeed treasures. The little surprises are indeed special though 🙂

      Like

  20. Corina says:

    I’m a keeper of all of those cards and gifts made by the kids. They’re put away some place and when I come across them, I feel just like you. I’ve kept some things for my kids, too. Like the other day I found a packet of letters to my daughter on her “very special person” week. It was from second grade. Each child was a “very special person” during their birthday week and the kids would all write letters to them saying what it was they liked about them that made them a very special person. I kept the packet and gave it to her about two weeks ago. She loved seeing it as much as I love finding all of those things!

    Like

  21. Heyjude says:

    So sweet. I must admit I’m not very sentimental and with 4 children a lot of what they made for me has long gone. Regrettably. But to come upon something like that is very special and lump in the throat… “I love you very musch “<3

    Like

    • joannesisco says:

      I find as I get older, I’m getting more sentimental. There are some things I’ve preserved, but little pieces of art like this often didn’t get saved. With a small house, there just wasn’t the space.
      Finding something like this is a treat.

      Like

      • Heyjude says:

        I have moved a bit in recent years too, into smaller places with little storage so lots of things got dumped. And even the kids don’t want things as they have the same problems. Nice to come across something that survived 🙂

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

