Rocks, Roots, and Leaves

I’m sitting here listening to the rain from the remnants of Hurricane Patricia pound the skylight.  It is forecast that by early this afternoon, the winds are going to pick up dramatically, and I’m guessing this will finally be the death knell for the golden canopy of leaves currently gracing the landscape.

Earlier this week, the weather was playing nicely, so Helen and I took advantage of the clear skies to get out for more hiking on the nearby Bruce Trail.

I can’t resist posting more photos of the autumn colours that were still so jaw-droppingly gorgeous. This time of year is so special and seems to pass so quickly … it would be a shame not to celebrate every minute of it while we can.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

The Bruce Trail is very well marked … as long as you are paying attention.

This was the view from the top of the Niagara Escarpment overlooking the Nassagaweya Canyon with the Midland Outlier on the other side forming the opposite wall.  We had hiked along the ridge of the Outlier, through the Canyon up to the top of the Escarpment.

I’m sure that by the time this storm passes, little of this glory will be left.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

We encountered several groups of rock climbers scaling the walls of the Outlier into the Canyon below.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

… hanging by the proverbial thread …

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

No – this is not on my list of new things to try … something about being adverse to plunging to my death.  Besides, I don’t know how to tie a decent, reliable knot … and it’s not from the lack of trying.

Our 17 km hike took us along several side trails we hadn’t travelled before, including Crawford Lake which is the site of a reconstructed 15th century Iroquois village.  It was here that we discovered a number of wonderful wooden carvings – several in the form of benchs.

These were a few of my favourites:

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

This hike – like many parts of the Bruce Trail – featured an endless dance on rocks, tree roots, and a thick carpet of golden leaves … usually hiding the tripping hazards of smaller rocks and roots.

We try to be cautious of our footing since a fall would not have pretty results.  Over our various hiking adventures, we’ve narrowly avoided serious injury on more than a few occasions and we’re sensitive to the challenges of attempting a medical evacuation from several kilometres into the trail.  This is definitely not something we would like to experience.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

In spite of the physical effort and complaining muscles of hiking on this trail, the beauty and peacefulness of nature keeps drawing me back.  It’s like a drug I’ve become hopelessly addicted to and I can’t seem to get enough.

Then there is Helen – the person who inspired me to start this hiking lifestyle 2 years ago. She simply turns towards the sun – her face like a solar panel – recharging her energy for more.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

About Joanne Sisco

Retired but not idle. Life is an adventure - I plan to continue to embrace it.
This entry was posted in Active Lifestyle, Nature, Outdoor Stuff, Random Stuff and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

59 Responses to Rocks, Roots, and Leaves

  1. jannatwrites says:

    That is a beautiful hike. It’s exhilarating to be outdoors.

    Like

  2. Sue Slaght says:

    I love the photos but the one of Helen makes me smile ear to ear. Definitely full of positive energy.

    Like

  3. What a beautiful post with gorgeous photos. Makes me long to step outside and recharge my batteries in the sun. I’m wearing yellow today, just like Helen. It’s a sign, right?

    Like

  4. Solveig says:

    You have such great adventures! I love those wooden sculptures/benches.

    Like

  5. Your writing… blows me away. As does the report of you both hiking 17 km! I feel accomplished if I manage the 3.5 km round trip to the library!
    We visited Crawford Lake last year – walked the boardwalk around the water. I don’t recall the carvings, so they might be a new installation. Must return to see them.

    Like

    • joannesisco says:

      Thank you for your kind compliment. It’s amazing how easily Helen and I have been able to slip back into our old habit of early morning meetings to be on the trail shortly after dawn … but my body had forgotten how hard 17 km on the Bruce can be!
      Personally, I would prefer hiking much shorter distances, but that is the hazard of hiking with an Ultra runner. 17km is considered ‘short’ :/

      Since you mentioned it, the carvings at Crawford Lake did look rather shiny and new. It is quite possible they are new. I think it would be worth the drive to check them out.

      Like

  6. BunKaryudo says:

    I loved that bench. I’d like one for my living room, but there’s no way I’d get it through the front door.

    Liked by 1 person

  7. bikerchick57 says:

    Beautiful,beautiful fall. It is far too short. Today has been windy and rainy, with more wind on Thursday. It’s making short work of the remaining leaves here

    The Bruce Trail sounds and looks so inviting. Perhaps you will have a nice November day that will allow you to go back.

    Liked by 1 person

  8. Joe says:

    Gorgeous images Joanne 🙂

    Like

  9. Wow! Those carvings are really wonderful, especially the benches. Great idea to capture those gorgeous leaf colours before they blow away. 🙂

    Like

    • joannesisco says:

      Those carvings were just such an unexpected bonus to find on this hike.

      Now I’m looking at all the leafy goldness littering the street and driveways as this storm continues to pelt us. I think the golden days of autumn are now behind us 😦

      Liked by 1 person

  10. Celia says:

    Beautiful autumn colours! I love the view from the top of the rock climbing wall with all of those orange/yellow tinted trees off in the distance. 🙂

    Like

  11. I love those wood/bench carvings. How wonderful to find them along a nature trail where I’m sure they are not seen too often. Hopefully the storm has passed by now and you have gotten through unscathed.

    Like

  12. It looks like a fabulous day. I love the wood carvings.What a unique thing to come across – so magical. have a great day, Joanne.

    Like

  13. Looks like a lovely setting for a lovely friendship Joanne. However, it must be said, were I hiking along admiring the beauty and enjoying the company and I happened upon a HAND holding a BIRD sticking up out of the ground, I might begin to question things……..how very odd that is! Actually, I don’t even need to be out there and happen upon it….I’ve had to scroll back and look at it 4 times now just to be sure I was seeing it right!

    Like

    • joannesisco says:

      hahahaha!! I have to admit I did a double-take when I saw the giant hand. This carving was WAY taller than I am and my immediate reaction was to take a step back! Glad someone else had a similar reaction! 😉

      Liked by 1 person

  14. Lael says:

    What a beautiful, unique place. Most of our glorious leaves have blown off the trees. I so appreciate your photos!

    Like

  15. Heyjude says:

    I can see why you are continuously drawn here – those trees and those views are awe-inspiring. And yes, it is time to capture all these beautiful colours before they are gone. Beautiful carved benches too. They would fit nicely into the bench challenge next month in their autumn setting. 🙂

    Like

  16. Love the photographs! And the way you describe how your-inspiration-to-hike – Helen – energizes herself from the sun! Thank you for sharing.

    Like

  17. Sammy D. says:

    This is beautiful, Joanne, on so many levels. Thank you for sharing 💖

    Like

  18. Lynn says:

    The woodcarvings are so beautiful Joanne. I particularly love the photo of the tree roots entwined through the rockwall WOW!

    I was thinking this morning that so many of these beautiful leaves will most likely come down today with all of this rain! Here’s hoping for a few more beautiful hikes in the leaves!

    Like

    • joannesisco says:

      The winds are supposed to pick up considerably this afternoon so I’m not too hopeful much of the foliage will remain by the time this is over. Already I’m seeing a lot of leaves blowing with the rain 😦

      Like

  19. This is a beautiful train, I want one of these benches. I love how Helen turns her face to the sun. It’s raining here too, I just convinced our puppy that it’s not going to melt.

    Like

  20. What a great tribute to the bruce trail and friendship. The benches are wonderful and I must try and find this section – can you hike into just this side trail from a road? Your photos are wonderful and I love the one of your friend Helen…you can see her loving the sun’s energy. As I listen to the same rain beating and the wind already gusting I envy you your timing – we were planning on a hike this Friday and Saturday!!

    Like

    • joannesisco says:

      I suspect it’s going to be a slippery mess on Friday. Wet leaves are as bad as ice! What section will you be hiking in?

      We started and ended our hike this week at Rattlesnake Point in the Iroquoia Section. It’s at the end of an out-and-back side trail.
      Since we no longer feel limited to the main trail, we plan our hikes in and out of the side trails depending on what we want to visit … using the main trail as a ‘connector’ to the side trails.

      It takes a lot more concentration and paying attention to the blazes / map than simply following the white blazes in one direction.
      This week we hadn’t planned on a 17 km hike. We took a wrong turn coming off a side trail and didn’t realize we were going in the wrong direction until we hit a road we weren’t supposed to see. Much gnashing of teeth at that point!
      That’s when hiking with someone like Helen has its advantages. She simply shrugs and says it’s a beautiful day, what else do we have to do? Hard to argue with that logic 🙂

      Like

    • joannesisco says:

      Sorry Carol – in answer to your question about Crawford Lake, I’m pretty sure the answer is yes – you should be able to drive into it.
      Compared to the main trail of the Bruce, we call this type of trail at Crawford Lake “superhighway” 🙂

      It’s been fun re-doing these sections of the trail we did originally during the winter. You can imagine how different it is now without the snow softening the rocks and roots of the trail!

      Like

Leave a Reply

