We Are Failing

I’ve been tagged by Su Leslie at Zimmerbitch to participate in the 3 Days, 3 Quotes Challenge.  The idea is that over 3 days, a quote is posted with an explanation of why / how it inspires me or makes me think.

I had to ponder this challenge this for a while since my brain doesn’t necessarily work well “on demand”.  Like an old car engine, it needs time to warm up before its rusty ancient parts begin to fire.

Thankfully I finally found inspiration … at least for Day 1.

I encountered this bench on our travels in 2013 while hiking the Bruce Trail.  It is a poor photograph, but the message to me was very clear.

Stage 19 bench

Growing up in the 60s and early 70s with only 1 TV station, the Wednesday evening staple was The Nature Of Things with David Suzuki – a household name to most Canadians. Suzuki is a scientist and staunch environmentalist, still very active in his field as he approaches his 80th birthday.

Through The Nature of Things I began to learn about all the indignities mankind was inflicting on the earth. I learned about the various ways we were poisoning our environment and the impeding dangers of climate change.

I lived in fear of what kind of world I would grow old in.

Well, here I am 50 years later, and with a mixture of anger, sadness, and increasing dread, I’m witnessing these worse case scenarios becoming reality:

  • melting ice caps and the increasingly speedy retreat of ancient glaciers

Time lapse retreat of from dailymail.co.uk

  • increasing frequency and severity of extreme weather around the world
  • toxic chemicals in our air, water, and food supply
  • environmental rape through questionable practices such as fracking
FrackingWaterGraphic

Image from goldenageofgaia.com

… and mountaintop removal mining

mtn-top-removal

Image from hcpress.com

*Big Business* interests seem to rule the world.  They continue practices that are harmful to the environment while suppressing evidence to the contrary, and *Treehuggers* are mocked in their opposition.

This casual disregard for the environment is witnessed on a much smaller scale as Helen and I carry out garbage we’ve found and collected on the trails during our hikes.

We are failing in our obligation to respect and protect the world we live in.

Ultimately we will all suffer.

About Joanne Sisco

Retired but not idle. Life is an adventure - I plan to continue to embrace it.
This entry was posted in Attitude, Nature, Outdoor Stuff, Random Stuff and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

50 Responses to We Are Failing

  1. Another interesting discussion you’ve started here. I’ve been an activist on a number of issues but always avoided environmentalism because I feared it was too late to undo the damage and it was too depressing. I know in a way this is a cop out but with every new extinction, disappearing glacier or lost natural space I feel our grandchildren are inheriting a mortally wounded world.

    Like

  2. restlessjo says:

    I don’t think there’s any question, Joanne, that there’ll be a price to pay. It’s our youngsters that will have to dig heels in and find a solution. Sad that nobody seems to be listening, though we all love the beauty of our planet.

    Like

  3. Su Leslie says:

    Thanks so much for taking part in this Joanne. I love your quote, and in fact the whole post. I find myself increasingly angry and/or depressed at the destruction that we (the collective we) allow to happen. It is comforting to know that other people feel the same way as I do and act to take care of their own environment, as I do. I know it’s not much on a global scale, but it helps me stay positive (and vaguely sane. Cheers, Su.

    Like

    • joannesisco says:

      I get the part about trying to stay “vaguely sane”. I try not to dwell on the negative stuff or else I would end up bitterly railing at the world all the time. Instead I just do what small part I can and move on … and hope for the best.

      Liked by 1 person

      • Su Leslie says:

        I think that is probably the key to surviving in our world today. I love that blogging brings me closer to so many people living the same struggles in so many different parts of the world. Community makes such a difference. Happy weekend from a very celebratory little rugby-loving nation 🙂

        Liked by 1 person

  4. Lynn says:

    This all scares me so much Joanne. The evidence continues to mount & yet, it seems to fall on deaf ears for so many. I worry for our children & our grandchildren, the state we are leaving our beloved earth in. I certainly try to do my part but I fear, it is not enough to undo the harm we have done. Sigh.

    Like

  5. Lael says:

    I’m a proud Treehugger. The natural world is the only place I can relax and feel truly at ease. I have to be!

    Like

    • joannesisco says:

      Finally the positive effects of spending time in nature is being recognized on reducing stress levels and improving the feeling of well-being. that is something that many of us have known for a long time 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

  6. Joe says:

    Big business rules the world and I hate to say it but “I think we are all fracked !” 🙂

    Like

  7. Pingback: Being A Seeker | My Life Lived Full

  8. Sue Slaght says:

    Yikes Joanne. Mountaintop mining is a new thing to me.
    Like you I always pick up garbage but here in the mountains it is an unusual find.

    Like

    • joannesisco says:

      Mountaintop removal mining was something new to me too. After I did some reading about it I was absolutely appalled.
      There are so many layers of abhorrent practices here it would to tough to know where to start … except to say it needs to stop.

      Liked by 1 person

  9. bikerchick57 says:

    You already know that there’s noise and light pollution in my back yard and a huge building where geese and sandhill cranes used to land in a farmer’s field. Progress for big business, a loss for wildlife habitat. It makes me sad every day.

    Like

  10. mickscogs says:

    Don’t know if you have ever had to subject yourself to glucose tolerance test., but that is what I am doing now. It involves a lot of waiting. I first heard about Dr Suzuki in the early 80’s and read one of his books then. I joined the Tasmanian Wilderness Society, now the Wilderness Society and walked extensively through the Victorian forests. We had some wins in those days, the biggest being the stopping of the damming of the Franklin River in Tasmania. These days I feel less optimistic. While waiting earlier I spotted a great quote by David Attenborough, see if I can remember it. “Those who think in a finite world we have the ability to continue to grow is either mad or an economist”
    My son constantly hammers me about being a fake because I continue to eat meat. His argument is that meat production is the biggest single contributer to climate change and I should follow suit with him. This magnanimity allows him to do anything else. This bugs me. It just seems duplicitous.
    Anyway off the whining box, back to the wait.

    Like

    • joannesisco says:

      I’ve never had a glucose tolerance test, but I’m not a big fan of waiting. It’s not my strong suit 😉

      I really like that quote by David Attenborough … it’s bang on. It is this insane quest for more and more growth that’s the problem. Unfortunately it’s starting to feel like more growth at any cost. The most recent shame at VW over their diesel engine is a good example of what is happening in the world.
      Like you, I’m feeling less optimistic that the powers-that-be will do the right thing. It seems that the *right* thing is now evaluated in terms of what best lines their pockets.

      Like

      • mickscogs says:

        Here’s what he really said “Anyone who thinks that you can have infinite growth in a finite environment is either a madman or an economist”. The test was a pre-diabetes test. I don’t eat a lot of sugar and I’m not obese, nor is there family history but my sugar is 6.5 and 7.0 is the type 2 trigger. Go figure. The VW thing was a shame.

        Like

  11. I am always proud to declare that I am a treehugger… even though I sometimes get funny looks. Unfortunately, I fear that we have waited too long and will do too little to save our planet. I’m not usually a pessimist, but there really aren’t any signs that we will act until it’s too late. We can (and should) change our light bulbs and stop buying bottled water, etc., but unless corporations and regimes make the big changes necessary, it’s just drops of water in a polluted sea.

    Like

  12. Wow,Joanne. Fantastic post. You’ve done a lot of research to explain your choice of quote. Outstanding. Lots to think about. Thank YOU. 🙂 ❤

    Like

  13. treerabold says:

    Thought provoking post.
    It angers me deeply to see how much disregard humans have for the planet that allows them to have life.
    I will never understand why “we” think it will all be ok…there are only so many resources available. We just keep taking.
    I enjoy fossil hunting. frequently I take advantage of new construction sites. But it saddens me…that the fossils not found will be buried below concrete forever. Our earth’s history barricaded.
    Final comment….I think of the earth as a living, breathing thing (because it is) how would the people who continue abusing this planet feel if they were buried alive under 12 inches of concrete? Obviously a silly question…but in my brain I wish they could see the damage they cause.

    Like

  14. Heyjude says:

    On a small scale, littering bugs the hell out of me. If people can carry stuff into a nature site then why on earth can’t they carry it out again? You’d think people on trails, in parks etc would have an empathy with nature, so why litter? Laziness? Selfishness? I have no idea how to solve the bigger picture if we can’t even educate people at this level…

    Like

    • joannesisco says:

      Well said, Jude.

      I think on a bigger scale, the powers-that-be don’t want to solve the problem because it doesn’t make money. If it made money, they’d be all over it.

      … but then, that’s just me wearing my very cynical skin today.

      Like

      • Heyjude says:

        Money – the root of all evil. I have been watching a TV programme about million pound houses in the UK and have been left slack-jawed at the price of property in London – and the people who buy them. Dizzy 18 year old socialites spending £1.5m for a 1 bed flat? Russian investors £14m for a 3 bed house in Mayfair, expecting to sell for £25m in ten years time? I just think of how many families that sort of money could house if used to build houses. Everyone seems so greedy. Makes me sad, sick and furious all at the same time.

        Like

  15. Very important and timely quote Joanne. If only we could all just do our part.

    Like

  16. Corina says:

    A very important message. Our time is limited. We have to start caring and changing off we wish to prolong our home’s existence.

    Like

  17. Yes, you are right…big business is ruling this world and it saddens me, it makes me mad, very mad and sick.

    Like

    • joannesisco says:

      Very recently I was reading about mountaintop removal mining … a subject I knew absolutely nothing about.
      I was horrified – not only by its blatant disregard for the environment but for human life as well.
      … but because there is so much money involved, it appears to be completely legal.

      Yes, it makes me sick too.

      Liked by 1 person

      • I am so disgusted, by so many things that are going on. I looked into the GMO seeds and the laws about it, because I have an autoimmune disorder and it matters what I put in my body.
        It’s a shame what we are doing and I am scared about what it will do to us in the long run.

        Liked by 1 person

  18. “On demand”…Laughter here. I feel the same way, like a foreplay for my brain. Let me deal with small and easy stuff first and let me warm up that thinking cap 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

