Being A Seeker

This is Day 2 of the 3 Days, 3 Quotes Challenge that Su Leslie at Zimmerbitch tagged me to participate in.  As I noted in Day 1 of the challenge, the idea is to provide a different quote over 3 days with an explanation of why / how it inspires me or makes me think.

The obvious quote for me to work with would be the one on the header of my blog, but well … that is too obvious, so I’m heading in a different direction.

seek-and-you-will-find-used-with-permission-ibible-verses

Image from winsomespeaking.com

Now, I’m not a religious person by any stretch of the imagination, but I would be delusional if I pretended that I haven’t been strongly influenced by my Catholic upbringing.

This quote really began to resonate with me during my teen years.  I was one of those kids who spent way too much time deep in my own head pondering the meaning of life.  I was convinced the answer was “out there” – just beyond my grasp.

For the purpose of this blog post, I actually did some research on the meaning of the biblical passage – of which I discovered the above line is only one part.  To my surprise, I found that I had been misinterpreting this quote all these years.

It’s actually a metaphor for prayer … with the implication that prayer needs to be a continual habit to be effective.  Who would have guessed that?  Apparently not me.

I had taken this quote literally … like I do most things … and as a result, I’ve been *seeking* for the vast majority of my life.  In fact I actually wrote about it once where I identified myself as A Seeker.

After some careful consideration, I’ve decided I’m going to stick to my original interpretation.  My version has served me well all these years – after all, if you have the habit of always curiously watching and observing the world around you, you are bound to see and discover things you might not have otherwise noticed.

That’s not such a bad way to go through life.

One thing I overlooked in my Day 1 post, was tagging 3 people to participate with their own 3 days, 3 quotes.  Since I forgot (remember the rusty, ancient brain?), I’m hoping some of you will be inspired to participate on your own.  We all have little sayings that seem to provide a touchstone to guide us along.  I’d be interested in reading about yours.

For this Day 2 post, I’d like to tag Lynn at Life After 50 and Torrie at A Prompt Reply. Two is all I have today .. but they are two very excellent ones!

About Joanne Sisco

Retired but not idle. Life is an adventure - I plan to continue to embrace it.
This entry was posted in Attitude, Random Stuff and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

16 Responses to Being A Seeker

  1. All these years I had no idea that quote was from the bible. It’s a great one, Joanne, and my interpretation has always been similar to yours. I believe that we create our lives through what we “put out there” in beliefs, wishes, prayers, our words and actions. So in a sense, for me, seeking is about being what we desire. Great, thought-provoking quote. Thanks!

    Like

  2. Joanne, I have no idea how I missed this post! I got to wondering if I had missed something because I knew there were supposed to be 3 posts on quotes so I came looking. I, too, took this quote literally…had no idea there was a backstory! I’m keeping my interpretation on it the same as you. I agree you are definitely a seeker and quite a good one at that….you’re probably my definition of that word!

    Like

    • joannesisco says:

      Thanks Torrie! It’s always good to keep an eye of the world around us … we never know what we might find 😉

      I’ve been too busy to focus on the 3rd and last quote. At the rate I’m going, it might be a while … maybe that’s a good thing. I worry sometimes about posting too frequently.

      Like

  3. Sue Slaght says:

    No surprise that our similarities again show themselves Jo. I was raised Catholic an certainly not religious now but left with influences. I would say I have always been a seeker. No matter the original meaning I love the quote/passage in the literal sense.

    Like

  4. C.E.Robinson says:

    Joanne, love the quote! Have some biblical favorites too. Sometimes I just wait for the return. It’s like growing into the answer! Happy Halloween! 🎃👻🎃 Chryssa

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Awesome quote and I see where you’re coming from.
    Being curious, open to life and it’s possibilities and doing the work to make what you need happen fits with this quote for me. 🙂

    Like

  6. The concept of a seeker is a very strange one for me. I know that you labeled yourself as a seeker but I had a friend who I will always think of as the ultimate. She was always looking towards yoga and trying different crafts. She also went through job changes, is now on her third marriage, has three kids by two different men, and lives in, (of all places) Canada, while her husband is still in L.A. and she splits custody of her two young boys. I don’t know, seems kind of sad. It reminds me of the Wizard of Oz quote, something like, you can go all over the world seeking for what is often in your own backyard. Oh well. Also, there is a song by The Who called The Seeker that resonates very strongly with me lyrically. Do you know it?

    Like

Leave a Reply

