Things I Like – Mailboxes

As I peruse the contents of my mailbox, I’m faced with just another sorry pile of flyers from local businesses. Gone are the days of looking with anticipation for a possible letter or card from someone I haven’t heard from in a while.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Letters from my father to my mother – 1945 – 46

Is it inevitable that as we age we think back wistfully to the things that are disappearing? Lots has already been written about the changing ways we communicate with each other due to the prevalence of social media, so I’m not going to travel down that road.

However, in my real travels up and down country roads while hiking, I couldn’t help but notice the unusual mailboxes that often pop up … symbols of connectivity to the outside world from an often isolated place far away from any urban area.

Are personal mailboxes posed to become one more thing that faces redundancy?

Mailboxes with personality that appear to reflect the interests of the home owner …

Mailbox1

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

…. or a reflection of the environment …

Mailbox2

Mailbox4

Either way, they bring a smile to my face when I encounter one that stands out from the crowd.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Union Proud

…. because this is something I like … a symbol of people connecting with people.

About Joanne Sisco

Retired but not idle. Life is an adventure - I plan to continue to embrace it.
This entry was posted in Random Stuff, Things I Like and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

76 Responses to Things I Like – Mailboxes

  1. nimi naren says:

    Love these mailboxes. And I totally agree…letters were so personal and the best!

    Like

  2. I still do letters and have stationary embossed and fountain pen and stamps. I can’t remember receiving a real letter in decades. It’s great when the mailbox is empty – no news is good news and of course no bills either.

    Like

  3. treerabold says:

    Fun mailboxes. Our neighborhood has became the kind where we have to walk down the street to a community stand of mailboxes…I don’t like it 😦

    Like

  4. I love those mailboxes! And what they represent 🙂
    I am originally from Newfoundland and there is a great mailbox that I have been trying to get my hands on but it is always sold out when I am there – it’s a box with all of the colourful Victorian houses painted on it.

    Liked by 1 person

    • joannesisco says:

      I don’t know what kind of mailbox I’d like to have. My personality leans more towards “why pick one when I can have several’ … but that wouldn’t work very well with mailboxes 😉
      The Victorian houses sound really nice though!

      Liked by 1 person

  5. People get pretty creative. I’d like to make one out of a log, dripping with moss and one of those vegetable trolls sitting on top 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  6. bikerchick57 says:

    Even though the lighthouse is cool, I would so want a cat mailbox. I could see rigging one so that every time the mail carrier opened it, they would hear a lovely “meow.” Of course, the first time that happened, they would have to look to see if there was an actual cat inside.

    Like

  7. Mrs. P says:

    I love your family letters, what a treasure!

    We have a variety of coastal themed mail boxes…everything from sea birds and lighthouses to manatees and dolphins. 😀

    https://www.google.com/search?q=Florida+mailboxes,+images&rlz=1CASMAE_enUS620US656&espv=2&biw=1366&bih=633&tbm=isch&tbo=u&source=univ&sa=X&ved=0CBsQsARqFQoTCPjB0Nb6gMkCFYlkJgodxRwKPg#imgrc=w1DD9PcJ6fIfXM%3A

    Like

  8. Alex Hurst says:

    I love fun mailboxes. 😀 My partner’s grandfather is a carpenter and bought a bunch of bird-themed mailboxes to assemble. I hope I get to Canada in time to help him assemble some!

    Liked by 1 person

  9. RuthsArc says:

    A lovely collection of mail boxes. I’m keeping in touch with a couple of friends in the UK by hand written letters. We all like receiving meaningful snail mail but we do find we have forgotten what we have said in previous correspondence. It is easy to read what we wrote in an earlier email. We are very happy to keep sending letters and postcards though, even if we do repeat ourselves 🙂

    Like

  10. I agree, I miss letters. Our postal system is struggling apart from parcel post thanks to all the electronic ways to communicate. Love the letter boxes. We have a small district called Wilmot that’s famous for its quirky letter boxes. These ones are a good match for Wilmot’s.

    Like

  11. Such a great post and you’ve got a fun collection here! Timely too – will we or will we not get mail home delivery back??

    Like

  12. Sammy D. says:

    So glad you ‘posted’ this 😊 i’ve been collecting mailbox photos but, of course, that’s as far as I’ve gotten so I enjoy yours. And I have that ‘wish there would be a letter’ twinge even after all these years of no one writing anymore.

    Thanks for the nostalgia and smiles. 💖

    Like

  13. jannatwrites says:

    Those are some awesome mailboxes- what fun! I don’t see personalized ones where I frequent because they are either HOA areas or they have the big community mailboxes.

    Like

  14. hilarymb says:

    Ho Joanne – love the mailboxes – such fun … we don’t tend to have them here. Our mail still works … though is creaking! I’ve just had my post delivered, but suspect it’s full of bumph. I still get cards and letters occasionally …. perhaps because I still use them.

    When my mother was ill I used to write out to friends and family … which generated a card, or letter back with some news from them … it certainly helped my mother keep in touch … it also opened communication for me with people I might not have seen perhaps ever seen again. It gave us a positive input … like your parents card to your MIL …

    I like mail!! Cheers and now I’m going to check my own mail … Hilary

    Like

    • joannesisco says:

      Pretty soon I’ll be getting my stacks of Christmas cards ready. I love writing them and sending them out. Like you sending out notes, sometimes I get responses back. Each one is a thrill when it arrives 🙂

      Like

  15. badfish says:

    I miss mailboxes. I miss getting what comes in a mail box. Most stuff now comes on my laptop. How soul-less (is that a word?). We don’t have mailboxes here. We don’t have street numbers either. I like the kitty…and the fish. I think I’ll make one of a hermit crab for when I return to the real world.

    Like

    • joannesisco says:

      As much as I love technology most of the time, sometimes it would be nice to slow things down a tad. No electronic card can match a real card with a hand written note 🙂

      … and a hermit crab mailbox would be photo worthy – especially where there is no mail delivery 😉

      Like

  16. Sue Slaght says:

    Joanne how fun are these?! It looks as though you still have lots of mailboxes on the go where you are. Here in Calgary many areas have long gone to the group mailboxes. Even if that happens I think i want that box that looks like a fish. Still chuckling.

    Like

    • joannesisco says:

      Those community mailboxes are completely lacking in any style. If we have to have them, why do they have to be so sterile?

      I have a couple of neighbours who have traditional type mailboxes in their front yard instead of a letterbox at the front door. They make me smile because they are so unexpected in an urban setting. I think if I ever found a windmill mailbox, I would definitely put it in my front yard 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

  17. mickscogs says:

    Nice post Joanne. In country Aus, mail boxes are often together in a group at the start of a lane. Australia Post is horribly short-staffed and over-privatised. Sadly, the reliability of the service has diminished considerably. Check Ruth’s post here.
    http://ruthsarc.com/2015/06/28/weekly-photo-challenge-mailboxes/
    It’s a beauty

    Like

    • joannesisco says:

      thanks Mick … I really enjoyed Ruth’s post and got a laugh out of the eclectic mix of mailboxes. It seems that anything and everything was being used … old barrels, a birdhouse, even one that looked like a drink cooler 🙂

      Like

  18. Loved this! You’ve got me on the lookout now, Joanne. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  19. Joe says:

    These are some wonderful images Joanne 🙂 As the saying goes “What was once old will be new again” !

    Like

  20. I miss getting cards and letter. How much fun it was to open a letter and sit down and read it, over and over. We should bring this tradition back 🙂

    Like

  21. I love getting real mail, but the instant nature of texts, emails and Skype have seemingly put paid to that feeling of joy when a handwritten letter arrives…
    My parents send a postcard to my mother-in-law every two weeks, and it’s become an important ritual she looks forward to. Mail is so much more than just paper, ink, envelope and stamp: it’s proof that someone has taken the time to think of you.

    Like

  22. TheLastWord says:

    Lovely pictures of some very interesting mailboxes!

    The feeling you get when you get a handwritten letter these days is quite extraordinary. Those Airmail envelopes really took me back to the time in India when we would get letters from my brother all the way in the US. There was also, I remember something called an Aerogramme, a self-sticking, airmail form, that had markings for folding. “Fold here first” “Fold here second” until you had a sealed envelope. It only allowed you to write as much as you could fit inside the content box, but was cheaper and faster than regular airmail…

    Took me back to another time… 🙂

    Like

  23. I also miss receiving handwritten notes and letters, but I have to admit, I don’t write them very much either. Although, I always mail a note of thanks for a gift or a special act of kindness or hospitality. Email and texting is so much easier but it doesn’t carry the same weight as a handwritten letter. That belief will probably grow as anachronistic as those lovely mailboxes over time. Not everything gets better with technology, that’s for sure.

    Like

    • joannesisco says:

      I still send out a large stack of Christmas cards every year, but admittedly I get very few in return. Each one gives me a little thrill 🙂
      There was a time when the wall in the family room would be full of greeting cards.

      Like

  24. I LOVE to send out snail mail: get well, b.d., anniversary, thinking of you cards and cards just for no reason. And of course I love receiving cars in the mail. I think I’ve educated many of my friends on the importance of ‘real’ mail, because I have stacks that I’ve received and saved in my dresser drawer. Here’s to original unique mail – and mailboxes!

    Like

  25. These are really cute! Yes, I suppose we can only look forward to getting junk mail and bills, and maybe not even so much of that as paperless billing becomes more and more popular. I still enjoy seeing an email from a friend in my inbox but I guess a bit of something is lost here.

    Like

  26. Heyjude says:

    You are as bad as me Jo! With my recent post box passion. I love these individual mailboxes and have also seen them in rural New Zealand and Australia. I suspect they will disappear though as mail deliveries decline and everyone has to conform with a bog-standard boring grey post box at the nearest town post office 😦

    I still send postcards to my grandchildren – they love to receive them and read them and pin them to the notice board in their bedroom!

    Like

  27. Lynn says:

    Perhaps in my older age, I am just more nostalgic but I still feel a sense of excitement when I find a handwritten note/card in my mailbox. Most days it is only filled with bills & flyers!

    Like

  28. Chris Hale says:

    My mailbox is usually full of flyers or bills, too. Still, there is occasionally a treat from my wife’s aunt who always sends a postcard when she travels. The kids love seeing where she’s been and reading about the adventures. Grandma also sends special notes for the kids too. We treasure and keep these special acts of kindness.

    Like

    • joannesisco says:

      Wow! You’re really lucky. I didn’t think anyone sent postcards anymore. I remember what a rare and wonderful treat that was to receive!

      I hope that someday there will be resurgence of the personal touch associated with handwritten letters and cards.

      Like

  29. I always love those mailboxes too. Alas, I must agree….I think they aren’t long for this world. Sigh.

    Like

Leave a Reply

