November’s Unusual Charm – The Changing Seasons

I think we might have caught Mother Nature sleeping on the job again.  Much like last spring when she was long overdue to herald in the warmer weather, this time she’s forgotten it’s late fall in my corner of Canada.

Above normal temperatures and clear skies have been the norm.  I am not complaining.

My monthly trip down to the Bluffer’s Marina was late afternoon on one of those gorgeous days that’s a rarity in November.   The sky had made a dramatic turn with dark storm clouds gathering over Lake Ontario and pockets of occasional sun breaking through the clouds.  The result was a photographer’s dream.

I hope I was able to capture some of the magic I found that day.

Nov5 Nov1

Nov8

Nov9

I was lucky to capture another wedding party, with the couple stopping for a photo just as the sun broke through to illuminate the scene.  Then there were the groom’s funky shoes.  How could I resist?

Nov11

My smile for the day though came from an energetic swan who seemed determined not to be outdone by a woman on her wedding day.  I call her Yoga Yami.

Nov2

The Changing Seasons is a Monthly Photo Challenge by Cardinal Guzman. My previous posts on The Changing Seasons can be found at the following links:

January 2015
February 2015
March 2015
April 2015
May 2015
June 2015
July 2015
August 2015
September 2015
October 2015

thechangingseasons_6367

About Joanne Sisco

Retired but not idle. Life is an adventure - I plan to continue to embrace it.
This entry was posted in Around Toronto, Nature, Outdoor Stuff, Photo Challenges, Random Stuff and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

60 Responses to November’s Unusual Charm – The Changing Seasons

  1. nimi naren says:

    Lovely lovely pictures. And loved the swan’s name

    Like

  2. reocochran says:

    I decided to once in awhile try a new month. It will be like an ongoing “quest” to check out past monthly season photos. I liked the boats, water rippling, sun lighting details as it started to set. The clarity of the images really made me become entranced. When you Saud you hoped to capture the magic, you reached this fine goal. Irresistible and beautiful, Joanne.

    Like

    • joannesisco says:

      Thank you! I really appreciate the kind words 🙂
      This project was both interesting and challenging. It forced me to pay attention and look for a story as the months changed. I’ve always been attuned to the seasons, but this really cranked it up a notch!

      Like

  3. Pingback: Changing Seasons: December Already!! | My Life Lived Full

  4. Becky B says:

    Stunning skies – just love it when the clouds are dark and then the sun finds a space to shine through.

    Like

  5. ChristineR says:

    Awesome photos, Joanne, particularly the row of white boats. I love the way they reflect in the water, the merging of reflection and dark water.

    Like

  6. jannatwrites says:

    Beautiful photos! That looks like such a peaceful place to visit.

    Like

  7. Such beautiful images, Joanne. I love that swan’s diva act. 🙂

    Like

  8. Mrs. P says:

    Great light for your shots! Very Nice!

    Like

  9. Some gorgeous shots here! My favourite is the 3rd last with the black sky and the light reflecting off the boats – haven’t we had a lot of those skies this fall? Had to laugh at the way those ducks seem to be wondering what that swann is doing too.

    Liked by 1 person

  10. Your pictures are dramatic – I love the dark skies as a backdrop when the sun is still lighting scene. You’re right, a photographer’s dream.

    Like

  11. hilarymb says:

    Hi Joanne .. they are wonderful shots .. and did it snow or bucket with rain – those dark threatening skies always look so foreboding – great shots .. and the swan with its foot up – just a great action shot .. cheers Hilary

    Like

    • joannesisco says:

      Thanks Hilary. It turns out that we got nothing from those storm clouds.
      As I was busy trying to capture as many photos as I could, the clouds seemed to disperse as quickly as they formed.
      Maybe Buffalo, NY got it 😉

      Like

  12. Su Leslie says:

    These are beautiful Joanne. It looks like an idyllic place; I’m not surprised the wedding couple were having photos taken there.

    Like

    • joannesisco says:

      Thank you Su.
      I’m not a skilled photographer, so I’ve never played with different light before. Having the sky change so quickly while I was there was a heaven-sent opportunity.
      I was thrilled with the result … and now I know that moody lighting can create some very dramatic photos!

      Liked by 1 person

  13. Oh, Joanne, you are really doing some magic there right along with Mother Nature…..love these pix!

    Like

  14. Such a beautiful day and your photos are magical; I love looking at them!
    xxoo

    Like

  15. Joe says:

    Beautiful images Joanne 🙂 You can really see the blanket of storm clouds rolling in with the second image. The lighting on the wedding couple is beautiful also.

    Like

    • joannesisco says:

      Thanks Joe. I don’t think I’ve ever seen a storm brew over a large body of water like that. It seemed to come from nowhere and then passed without incident. Dramatic and interesting to catch on camera 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

  16. Sue Slaght says:

    I love Yogi Yami! Haha makes my neck look to see her. 🙂
    Today Dave and I walked for a couple of hours. We could hardly believe how beautiful the weather.
    Likely we should both stay quiet or a Canada wide blizzard will hit!

    Like

  17. We are having a rather warm fall too (not that I’m complaining either). We had volunteer tomato plants this summer and they are still producing fruit. I’m looking forward to El Nino’s rain, but not the much cooler temps.

    I remember when I started taking pictures how I thought a bright, sunny day was best… now I understand that the interplay of clouds and sun gives you the best results. I love how the sun acted as a spotlight in a few of your images. Lovely!

    Like

  18. Heyjude says:

    Oh, yes, you did. Capture the magic. Gorgeous moody photographs with the most exquisite light on those boats and that marina. And who cannot smile at that pirouetting swan 😀 I hope your weather continues to be kind to you.

    Like

  19. Mama Cormier says:

    I can’t get over this weather. I remember a November like this in 1999 because it was my first year teaching grade fives and I was taking them outside to play soccer in November. Your photos are lovely. In my neck of the woods all the boats have already been removed from the marina. The crane was really busy last weekend lifting them out of the water.

    Like

    • joannesisco says:

      I’m hoping this sticks around for a while! No snow really works for me 🙂

      Since I started this project in January, I was really surprised by how many boats stay in the water all winter at the marina.
      In contrast, I went by the Yacht Club nearby and all the boats were out.

      Like

  20. mickscogs says:

    After your modest comments, I had a second squiz at your pics and I have to say the credit for them must go to the photographer. Bravo!

    Like

  21. You were able to capture the magic. Gorgeous pictures, I love them all. The light, the different angles, you captured it all. Watch out, one day I will book vacation in your neck of the woods. 🙂

    Like

  22. Certainly looks way too still for a November day in Canada! Love the pics!

    Like

  23. Anonymous says:

    Gorgeous pictures, Joanne. You are so talented!

    Like

  24. Victo Dolore says:

    Gorgeous photos. I love when sunshine breaks through dramatic clouds like that.

    Like

  25. Solveig says:

    Those are beautiful pictures!

    Like

  26. terryb says:

    Such a heavy sky! Beautiful!

    Like

Leave a Reply

