Over The Rainbow – Things I Like

Is there anyone who doesn’t feel a certain sense of delight – however small – whenever a rainbow is detected?  It’s a perfect concentration of light that produces a fleeting burst of colour – beautiful, ethereal, almost magical.

For reasons I can’t explain, a rainbow always manages to lift my spirits.

RB3

I have a kitchen window that faces south and in this window are hanging 2 large crystals – both of them gifts from many years ago.  During the fall and winter when the sun sits low on the horizon, my kitchen will erupt in rainbows on a bright sunny day.

How can I not feel hopeful and optimistic about a day that starts with a fat burst of colour sitting on the blank page of the to-do list I’m about to prepare?  That same rainbow will wrap itself around my hand as I write across the page – a caress that I can see, but not feel.

RB1

They pop up in seemingly random places and will bounce around the room in a mad tango if the crystals are disturbed on the strings from which they hang.

RB5

They can be here one minute and then gone the next.

RB2

They will even stretch through the doorway to the front of house, found in the most unlikely of places … although I’ve discovered it’s virtually impossible to photograph a rainbow that has tattooed itself on Theo’s butt as he struts out of the room with his tail held high.

RB6

You may dismiss rainbows as fluffy stuff like butterflies and unicorns, but to me they are powerful symbols of hope, promise, and potential.  Maybe it’s just a wish for that elusive pot of gold, but even in mighty Norse mythology, it’s a rainbow that bridges the world between gods and humans.

For the next several months, I’ll be looking forward to those mornings when rainbows light up my world and I’ll be certain to smile … for rainbows are one of those things I really like.

About Joanne Sisco

Retired but not idle. Life is an adventure - I plan to continue to embrace it.
This entry was posted in Things I Like and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

79 Responses to Over The Rainbow – Things I Like

  1. jannatwrites says:

    I like rainbows too! I had to chuckle at the inability to capture the rainbow on kitty’s butt….that’s funny 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I like rainbows too, Joanne. The whole science of color is fascinating to me, and I love the idea that we only see a portion of what’s “visible,” and we only see the color that’s reflected – the color that something is Not. And that each of us sees colors differently…and… :-).

    Like

  3. Joanne, thanks to this inspiring post, I bought a rainbow crystal. It’s now hanging is a sunny window in our study, and casting tiny rainbows all over the room. It’s round, multi-faceted, and golf-ball size. I plan a mini-science experiment to monitor the color changes as the sun angle changes. This is my excuse for sitting on my butt and drinking coffee each morning. Thanks for the inspiration. Keep Warm and Happy Holidays. 🙂 ~James

    Like

    • joannesisco says:

      Oh thank you!! It sounds wonderful 🙂

      Just the other morning, I had a rainbow pop onto the kitchen faucet while I was cleaning up.
      In a matter of several seconds, it appeared, transitioned in colour, and disappeared.
      I just happened to be in the right place at the right time to catch it.
      When something like that happens, how can you not be simply delighted? 🙂

      Like

  4. Rainbows are very significant to the Inca (and Quechua) people in Peru. Still remember the rainbow flags everywhere we went. And Optics was always my favourite topic in Physics just so I could split light into its colours. Who wouldn’t love a rainbow, really?

    Like

  5. beeblu says:

    Those bursts of colour lift the spirits. I found a wonderful little gift for my husband on my travels to Vancouver this month: a miniature solar-powered kaleidoscope maker. 😃

    Liked by 1 person

  6. Excellent topic for a post Joanne and very cool photos. As winter bears down on all of us, sunlight and rainbows are something that everyone can use more of. Our study/guestroom faces east and has wonderful light after sunrise. It’s my go-to place for morning coffee. I may just have to go looking for a crystal. ~James

    Liked by 1 person

  7. Glazed says:

    My wife has crystals in just about every window of our house. So we get dazzled by iridescent colors throughout the year. Sometimes just watching rainbows dance on the walls is better than watching TV. Unless it’s a good football game.

    Like

  8. Since I was a young girl and saw the Disney movie Pollyanna with Haley Mills, I have been a rainbow/prism lover. In the movie, prisms are magical in the sense that the light is love. Moving magical love. I love your moving household rainbows! You’re inspiring me to put a crystal in my kitchen window also.

    Like

  9. Pingback: NaBloPoMo – Rainbow | Conversations Around the Tree

  10. RuthsArc says:

    Beautiful. I agree that rainbows are special. I may have to gat a crystal or two to hang near my window. Thanks for the post 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  11. Mrs. P says:

    What a delightful post! Your words captured the magic of rainbows so well and I too, would love to see a rainbow on Theo’s butt! Sometimes the simplest gifts bring about the most pleasure for surprisingly long periods of time.

    I saw a photo taken of a triple rainbow. I believe it was legit, not photo-shopped. I believe a commuter saw it on the drive home and snapped a picture. It got quite a bit of circulation on Facebook. It was very beautiful and seemed extra special because of it’s rareness.

    I love rainbows for all the reasons you mention! Now I want to get some crystals so I can have rainbows dance in my house!

    Liked by 1 person

  12. treerabold says:

    I also love rainbows!
    I’ve meant to write a post about the rainbow over the lake right before Tina and I walked down the aisle in Canada. Thanks for this reminder…I will be sharing that story soon!

    I think its great you have rainbows bouncing around your house

    Like

  13. NancyTex says:

    Rainbows are filled with magic. Love ’em!

    Liked by 1 person

  14. I love it when rainbows appear in unexpected places. The song played for our processional at our wedding was “Over the Rainbow,” sung by “IZ” Kamakawiwo’ole. I loved walking down the aisle (really just a strip of grass between the chairs) with my soon-to-be-husband to that beautiful song. Hope, promise, and potential… all of that, plus love.

    Liked by 1 person

  15. Nancy says:

    There is something magical about rainbows. Ask a child. Rainbows are one of their favorite things! Have you ever met a kid who didn’t like to draw rainbow So? They know..

    Like

  16. Sammy D. says:

    Yes!! As I scrolled through these, I felt like a cat wanting to pounce on those flashes of fleeting color!

    Like

  17. hilarymb says:

    Hi Joanne .. I love prismatic effects. However cautionary tale here-following: I put one up and around this time of year … the sun shone brightly, even though it was low in the afternoon … the prism hanging rainbowed gently … the lady owner reading quietly wondered where the burning smoking smell came from … a plastic file and some paper were gently alighting themselves. I’ve heard of other instances …

    I was surprised and so pleased I was here when it happened … love the colours though – so totally miss mine … cheers Hilary

    Like

  18. mickscogs says:

    Nice bunch of refracted light photos there Joanne. I’ve taken some here too. We have lead-light window in our front door which faces east so in mid Spring and Autumn we also get a show. Have you ever seen a Moon-bow? Because of our eyes at night, they are not very colourful but they are certainly beautiful. You also captured some rainbows at Niagara falls too, did you not?

    Like

    • joannesisco says:

      I can imagine what beautiful rainbows develop from your lead window!
      I have never seen nor heard of a moon-bow. I wonder if I’ve just never paid attention … now I’m curious to investigate.

      … and yes, capturing rainbows at Niagara Falls is quite easy. In fact, one of the bridges between the US and Canada in front of the Falls is called the Rainbow Bridge.

      Like

  19. badfish says:

    Yeah…gotta love a rainbow. Anywhere. But they are JUST like butterflies and unicorns! I have windows that allow sun in all year, and it’s cool to see how the sun moves across the horizon on different paths each day. Once in a while, I’ll get a rainbow.

    Like

  20. Now I’ll be looking for them everywhere! I know what you mean, though. There is something is magical about rainbows for all they are water drops reflecting sunlight, blah, blah, blah! 🙂 They are a reminder to me of nature’s perfection. Thank you for reminding me.

    Liked by 1 person

  21. Su Leslie says:

    I agree; rainbows are a very powerful symbol, and how wonderful to have some extra colour in your home as winter begins to bite.

    Like

  22. What a wonderful thing….you live in a house of rainbows! I totally agree with you too…rainbows are pure magic and obviously sent to only the very special-ist of people!

    Like

  23. Sue Slaght says:

    I agree Joanne. A special magical present with each sighting. I smiled at the rainbow hanging out by the note on the calendar ‘Basement windows’. I’m assuming that means cleaning them and for that a wee pot of gold to hire someone might be nice. 🙂

    Like

  24. bikerchick57 says:

    I have this image of Rainbow Brite Theo butt in my head. Not sure if it’s a good thing.

    Seriously, rainbows always send me to a happy place, just like a beautiful sunrise or sunset.

    Like

  25. I love rainbows and liked all your pictures. Can I make a suggestion please? Could you put a dust bunny on your floor or some finger prints on your microwave, then I would feel better 🙂

    I love your shoe calendar, it showed my birthday 🙂

    Like

    • joannesisco says:

      Awww – how nice I inadvertantly captured your birthday! I love that shoe calender … all the wild and funky shoes never cease to entertain me.

      … and I had to veto a lot of photos because of the fingerprints and clutter! 😉

      Like

  26. Joe says:

    Chasing rainbows all morning ? Life is good my retired friend 🙂 Great shots Joanne.

    Like

  27. How lovely, Joanne! Rainbows always lift my spirits too. 😀🌈

    Liked by 1 person

  28. Lynn says:

    Beautiful words Joanne. Wishing you many more rainbows my friend.

    Like

  29. Rainbows are definitely magical, especially when you see a real one as opposed to one that is on a Rainbow Brite doll or whatever they have nowadays. There are some things in my house the create rainbow images, but never so strong or constant.

    Like

Leave a Reply

