Things I Like – Moose Hunting

I’ve been fortunate to have seen a wide variety of wildlife in their natural habitat, but my northern roots seem to have given me a particular affinity for the moose.

Although I’ve been lucky enough to actually see moose in the wild, I’ve never managed to get a photo during one of those encounters.

I’m not likely, however, to forget the incident involving two unantlered giants blocking the road with no inclination to move on.  We had to just sit and wait.  This is particularly common in the spring when they seek refuge from the torture of black flies in the forest.

I think of it a Moose-ian Standoff.  If you’ve ever experienced one, you know what I mean.

I don’t live anywhere close to moose country anymore, but oddly, I still catch a glimpse of the occasional moose in Toronto.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

There is this fashion-conscious dude who makes his home in an upscale neighbourhood in mid-Toronto.  He makes full costume changes at various times over the year.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

There is the moose I discovered unexpectedly one day at the main entrance of an east end hospital.  He looked like he had been recently attacked by child-sized predators but managed to escape with only slight scratches and *bruises*.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

While being detoured one day by road construction, I encountered a very suspicious-looking moose and beaver up on a second storey landing.

I’m more than a little curious about what kind of mischief those two were planning.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

I even had an unexpected moose encounter north of the city in Orangeville one day … bold as could be on the downtown street.

Moose3

They live among us and often go undetected because they hide in the open, relying on our preoccupied busy-ness as camouflage.  Although against the backdrop of a gray November day, they will stick out from the crowd.

3

… but I’m looking, and I’m watching, because finding moose is something I like.

About Joanne Sisco

Retired but not idle. Life is an adventure - I plan to continue to embrace it.
This entry was posted in Around Toronto, Nature, Things I Like and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

91 Responses to Things I Like – Moose Hunting

  1. ChristineR says:

    LOL. I reckon that last one would look good with fishnet stockings! 😀 ❤

    Like

  2. chattykerry says:

    I love the Moose – would love to catch site of one in the wild but they aren’t very common in the sub tropics. 🙂

    Like

  3. reocochran says:

    I liked the long legged metal sculpture moose and the blow up one, too. Such a great collection of them! 🙂
    My son has been called “Moose” since he was in high school. I am now so happy he has a 4 month old baby boy, there are stuffed moose and cute outfits with a moose on them. One is gray fleece with footies and a hood. Its moose is green and blue plaid.
    He is not big or overweight. They call my son this since they think he is calm and slow moving. (?)

    Like

    • joannesisco says:

      Actually one of the things that amazed me so much about moose is how remarkably fast they can be.
      They look slow and unflappable, but they are very powerful.

      I once stumbled onto a moose about 20 feet away from me. He was as startled as I was and raced down the hill, into the water, and swam across the lake in what felt like a heart beat.

      Congratulations on your new grandson. It sounds like the *moose* legacy is going to follow him 🙂

      Like

  4. Like you Joanne, I love seeing moose in their natural habitat, but I must be the unluckiest person on the planet, because in my many years, I’ve only seen one for about two seconds as the mom skittered through the brush with her young one. Strangely, this wasn’t in New England or Canada, but in Grand Tetons National Park in Wyoming. I just hope that I don’t discover one with my car. ~James

    Like

  5. Phil Taylor says:

    I love when cities do a theme like that. It’s funny you posted this. Just the other day, when I saw a moose head on the wall in a restaurant I realized that I’d never seen a moose in the wild. I’d love to and I hope I do one day.

    Like

  6. treerabold says:

    I love moose!! I have never seen one live (I’m sure I’ve told you this) and it has become quite the family story/joke.
    I am getting ready to post the pictures of our moose nativity…I skipped over to your page to share your URL and saw your moose post.
    They are all so cute!!
    This summer one of my friends asked a Trading Post owner….”how do you find a moose?” His response was, “How do you not find a moose.”
    Well apparently I am special because I can’t find a moose!

    Liked by 1 person

  7. LB says:

    My favorite animal in the wild! Thank you for sharing the results of your hunt!

    Like

  8. Love the random moose encounters. I’ve had a few wild moose encounters but none so well-dressed! In Vermont we had cow art in downtown Burlington. The creativity is fun.

    Like

  9. I love that moose who regularly changes outfits! I’ve noticed him a few times – hard to miss!- while driving by. What a relief to read past your title – I thought you might have gone back to your Northern roots and your car was sporting a rifle rack😱

    Like

  10. mickscogs says:

    I used to visit moose cam in Alaska every day, never saw a moose and gave it away. I’m not sure if it’s still going

    Like

  11. Timelesslady says:

    I didn’t know what to expect when I read the title…as I scrolled down an, “I love this…” burst out of me. Great post.

    Like

  12. Jay says:

    They may pale in comparison to the real thing, but I still wouldn’t want to hit one with my car!

    Like

  13. Officially my favourite post ever! I’ve been waiting for these meese (yes, I know, but I like meese better than moose for a plural….I find it amusing) Love these, Joanne. Your meese are a lot funnier than our frogs and fish I think…..How in the world they ever got a moose up onto a landing is beyond me!
    P.S. New Gravatar? Very cool!

    Like

    • joannesisco says:

      This post has been a year in the making. I just couldn’t “find the story”. I’m glad it finally came together and you enjoyed it 🙂

      I think of all the moose, that one on the landing with the beaver is my favourite … first, because of the sheer surprise when I found it and secondly, they are the quintessential Canadian couple 😉

      .. and yup, new pic. It’s about time I think 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

  14. jannatwrites says:

    I like that kind of “hunting”. I think they are fun and whimsical… reminds me of a colorful Elk I saw downtown recently (real ones walk through my yard often- they are beautiful!) I like your new avatar photo, by the way 🙂

    Like

    • joannesisco says:

      You have elk walking through your yard?!! How very special!! I would be excited every time I saw one – I don’t think it would get old 🙂

      I’m glad you like the photo. I’m glad to not see the old one anymore 🙂

      Like

  15. RuthsArc says:

    What fun. Love the moose with the wardrobe. Happy hunting, hope you get a photo one day soon.

    Like

  16. badfish says:

    Haha! very cute! too bad you haven’t seen one in real life. you need to go to Alaska…is that on your To Do list? It’s on mine. Where I live, they have camels, colored in all designs.

    Like

    • joannesisco says:

      I have seen moose in real life near the Northern Ontario town I grew up in.
      They are actually a huge night hazard for drivers – especially in the spring when the bugs are bad. Hitting a moose is guaranteed to total your vehicle, if not kill you outright.

      My brother was lucky. He walked away from an accident where he hit a moose on the road in the dark. His truck and the moose weren’t as lucky.

      … but Alaska is on my to-do list for soooo many reasons. Unfortunately my to-do list is longer than any time or money I have remaining :/

      I like the idea of camels roaming the streets too. They would be a sight to see!

      Like

  17. bikerchick57 says:

    I love whoever dresses the moose. On a corner near my office, there is a fire station and a dalmation dog statue that an employee would dress for the seasons and holidays. Then she retired. I miss the bunny ears at Easter.

    Like

  18. A moose always seems to me to be gormlessly friendly but that’s probably because my only exposure was Rocky and Bullwinkle….

    I love the one up on the landing with the beaver because, well, see above. 😀

    Like

  19. NancyTex says:

    I may have mentioned this to you before, but it’s relevant, so I’ll mention it again. 🙂 My husband’s business partner bought one of the original Toronto moose sculptures years ago. His is the Bay Street moose. After he downsized houses, he’s had it in storage. And now that we’ve upsized in propery/lot, hubby wants to buy it from Keith. I’m not quite sure how I feel about that. 🙂

    Like

  20. I love the tall moose hanging out in town. I’ve seen decorated fiberglass bears and cows like these in various towns, but never before moose.

    Funny that you mentioned having a stand-off with a couple of unmotivated moose(s?). I haven’t experienced that but my husband and I got in a stand-off with a herd of buffalo in Wyoming. They, of course, won. We weren’t going ANYWHERE until they decided to get off the road.

    Like

    • joannesisco says:

      hahaha – there is no arguing with buffalo!!
      My philosophy is that any animal that weighs several hundred pounds, isn’t very smart but can move quickly deserves a lot of respect from me 🙂

      Like

  21. Oh, these are awesome. I hope the one in the harlequin print knows he ain’t foolin’ no one!

    Like

  22. beeblu says:

    These are hilarious. 😂 My kind of moose-hunting. Great pics.

    Like

  23. Sue Slaght says:

    These are hilarious Joanne! I love the one that changes clothes with the seasons. That certainly beats a decorative flag in the front yard! It’s cows you find in Calgary but they are definitely smaller than Toronto’s moose collection. Which brings me to if it is one goose and two geese why is it not one moose and two meese?

    Like

  24. Glazed says:

    If you gently nudge them with the bumper of your car, will they move then?

    Like

  25. Norm 2.0 says:

    Great collection of mooses, or is it meese? Meeses maybe? Ahh, I dunno but nice pics 😀

    Like

  26. Mrs. P says:

    HaHa…moose hunting sounds fun. We don’t have anything like that down here.Great past time for kids…picture collection of moose spottings, better than trading cards.

    Like

  27. Margie says:

    Excellent moose discoveries – and super nice how they stand still so that you can take pictures!
    We occasionally have moose wander through the slough behind our house (Alberta). I always run to get my camera, hoping they will stay long enough to have their photos taken.
    We had a bobcat cut across the back of the yard of the place we stay at in Arizona. Unfortunately, he was moving faster than me and I didn’t get a photo!

    Like

    • joannesisco says:

      That’s the problem! Except for their city cousins, moose tend to be very shy and aren’t keen about having their picture taken.
      … and of course I’m usually so engrossed in actually seeing them, the camera is an afterthought at best.

      Like

  28. It takes considerable dedication and no small amount of creativity to keep a moose decked out for all seasons. The same dedication and creativity that I witness here on your blog. Nicely done.

    PS – someone’s looking svelte these days!

    Like

    • joannesisco says:

      Thank you, my friend … but you might need new glasses.
      Svelte is not a word that one would normally attach to a description of me …. unless of course you were talking about the moose from Orangeville 😉

      Like

  29. Heyjude says:

    I love your mooses or is that meese? No, I know it is still moose. Another example of our wonderful language! Happy hunting!

    Like

  30. Lynn says:

    I remember that whole moose campaign. Still find it funny when you stumble across one!

    Like

  31. Corina says:

    Love this! I have been lucky enough to enjoy one of those stand offs while on a trip to Alaska, years ago. They are amazing animals!

    Like

    • joannesisco says:

      I don’t blame them for trying to get away from all the bugs. It’s funny that no amount of horn honking will get them to move until they are good and ready 🙂
      Seeing them during daylight when you have plenty of time to slow down and stop isn’t bad. I think it would be terrifying to have that close encounter in the dark when you can’t see them until it’s too late.

      Liked by 1 person

  32. Oh your Moose post just came in when I wanted to go offline. I love Moose (and Mousse) 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

