Changing Seasons: December Already!!

This is it … the final month of the Changing Seasons Photo Challenge hosted by Cardinal Guzman.  I can’t believe we are at the end of the year already.

I think of December as being all about lights, sparkly decorations and jewel tones.  With this in mind, I went down to Bluffer’s Marina at dusk with the expectation of seeing the house-boats and condos ablaze in Christmas lights.  I was disappointed.

With the exception of one tiny Christmas tree, there wasn’t a decoration in sight.

December1

The brightest light I could find was on the tiny lighthouse at the mouth of the harbour.

December3

But this December isn’t normal.  It’s not about the lights and decorations this year – it’s about the weather.

Last year we were in the middle of an Arctic blast that stayed around for months.  This year, it feels more like approaching spring.

So I’ve been spending considerably more time outdoors enjoying this unseasonably warm weather while it lasts.

Some of these photos were taken while cycling a trail running along the Don River on the east end of Toronto.

Don River bridge

DonTrail

DonTrail2

Some were taken while walking along the lakefront at Rouge Park.

Rouge2

Rouge Park-2

All of them tell the same story of a beautiful December in Eastern Canada.

Thank you for joining me each month as I explored the seasons in Toronto and thank you to Cardinal Guzman for hosting this photo challenge.

Best wishes and Happy Holidays!

Rouge Park

My previous posts on The Changing Seasons can be found at the following links:

January 2015
February 2015
March 2015
April 2015
May 2015
June 2015
July 2015
August 2015
September 2015
October 2015
November 2015

thechangingseasons_6367

About Joanne Sisco

Retired but not idle. Life is an adventure - I plan to continue to embrace it.
This entry was posted in Around Toronto, Nature, Outdoor Stuff, Photo Challenges and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

62 Responses to Changing Seasons: December Already!!

  1. You’re right: there’s not a lot of decorations there. We’ve had the same weather here and the snow finally came on the 25th of December, but since we celebrate on the evening of the 24th, it was one day too late for getting that white x-mas that people are always dreaming of. 😀

    Like

  2. “I love the sparkle and the glitter of … well, everything.”
    That’s make two of us 😉

    Like

  3. terryb says:

    I love that last photo of the lonely tree. Somehow I think it would look cozier with a blanket of snow 🙂 Happy holidays!

    Like

  4. ChristineR says:

    Lovely photos, Joanne. I loved seeing the change of the seasons through your camera lens, and it was the snowy ones that stick in my memory. The snow and the water looked magical. You picked a good location for the series. I love the bridges trail photo with that spiral-patterned ‘thing’ in the foreground. Just looks good in contrast with the steel structure, the lighter patterns of the railing on both bridges, and then there is the organic look of the stonework. I couldn’t help imagining that warning sign was really an owl! Beaut image, thanks for sharing.

    All the best to you and yours for the festive season and 2016.

    Like

  5. Beautiful photos Joanne!

    Like

  6. chattykerry says:

    Wonderful shots and glad you are warm for a little while… In Austin, Texas, you see this little decorated trees everywhere. Temperatures are dropping even in the subtropics. Today I will be wearing a sweater, tights and boots and you probably think it feels like spring. 🙂

    Like

  7. klara says:

    yes weird beginning of the winter all around. I am not complaining, just like you I am enjoying outdoors activities.
    nice set of photos.

    Like

  8. reocochran says:

    Beautiful post and will need to come back to check out the other months and seasons. Off to work, hope your day is a lovely one. Smiles, Robin

    Like

  9. Nice photo essay Joanne. I’m a big ol’ cold weather wimp, so I have to mentally prepare myself for winter. Our winter has been mild so far, which is a good thing, so I can ease myself into my first winter in a long time north of the Mason-Dixon Line. And I’m sure that even you hardy Canadians are also thankful for a respite from frigid temps and blankets of snow. Have a great Holiday. ~James

    Like

  10. I don’t miss the snow but to be fair, I like my seasons the way they should be.
    Lovely pictures as always. Your captures are always stunning. 🙂

    Like

  11. We had to mow our lawn, yesterday, in December. By now the ground we should have a freeze every night, but instead my roses are blooming. It’s a weird winter so far and I don’t like it…not a bit.

    Like

  12. hilarymb says:

    Hi Joanne – I’d like it to be winter proper – but not, because the snow, ice and hard frosts are too too cold – but then I’m a wimp! But the countryside needs it … yet I’m grateful I can walk out easily without totally wrapping myself up like a fat healthy teddy bear! So it’s ‘warm’ but grey! Cheers and enjoy the Christmas season and a happy 2016 ahead – Hilary

    Like

  13. Su Leslie says:

    Lovely images. Enjoy your mild weather while you can 🙂

    Like

  14. Sue Slaght says:

    These are beautiful photos Joanne. We here too are having an amazing winter. Today it was cold at minus 6! Wishing you the happiest of holidays.

    Like

  15. Hard to believe it’s been a year already. Whoosh!

    I was saying to Jude on her Seasons post how lucky you are that in the middle of winter when it’s grey and dark, you get the brightness and fun of Christmas whereas we just have to endure winter without such distractions. Admittedly, ours isn’t quite as dark and cold but it’s still grey and miserable a lot of the time. But how disappointing not to get a sea of sparkly lights at the marina. 😦

    I am happy for you that you are getting this mild weather but you know I miss the snowy pictures. 🙂

    Like

    • joannesisco says:

      No question about the gray and dark. I’ve never thought about your version of winter without any ‘festival’ like Christmas to break up the monotony of all that drabness.
      I think you should create one! 😉

      I’m finding overall much fewer lights this Christmas compared to last year. I think the warmer than normal temperatures are partly to blame.

      I have no doubts however that the snow will eventually make an appearance. So sad.

      Liked by 1 person

  16. Lynn says:

    Hard to believe that you are cycling in December! Although I have enjoyed the mild temperatures, I must admit I am missing the snow, particularly with Christmas right around the corner!

    Like

  17. Still pretty down there at the marina, even without lights (though lights would be gorgeous). I agree that the weather patterns seem to be changing, or perhaps it’s just a strange year. Enjoy the mild weather as it’s unlikely to last up there in Canada! 🙂

    Like

  18. Kind of odd that no one decorated there this year. I’d say it’s the unseasonal warmth but I know better since we are used to warm Christmases…although I must say, it never feels quite like Christmas.

    Like

  19. Corina says:

    I think this collection of challenge photos show us that there is beauty in the world, regardless of the season. That’s what I learned, anyway!

    Like

  20. Joe says:

    Great images Joanne 🙂 Enjoy the warm weather while it lasts because you know the snow is just around the corner. Today I was walking around in a T-Shirt taking photos, unbelievable for December 13th. I know I probably asked you this before but the house boats in your first image are so cool, do people live in them year round ?

    Like

    • joannesisco says:

      I wasn’t sure whether they were permanent homes, but I’m starting to think they are. They look *lived-in*, if you know what I mean. I think they would be a pretty cool place to live … especially if I had a boat 🙂

      It looks like these unseasonably warm temperatures will be around for at least a few more weeks. Love, love, loving it!

      Liked by 1 person

  21. bikerchick57 says:

    Enjoy the weather and biking, Joanne. You know the snow and cold will eventually show up.

    Like

  22. Pingback: Monthly Photo Challenge: The Changing Seasons 12 | Cardinal Guzman

  23. Heyjude says:

    Weird weather isn’t it? But I bet you are glad not to have the snow lying around for months. Of course who knows what is around the corner. I have thoroughly enjoyed visiting your part of Canada this year and truly hope you will share more of it next year. What was your best month then? I loved your snowy months and also October.

    Like

    • joannesisco says:

      I’m definitely loving this weather more than the past 2 years. I know the cold stuff will arrive soon enough, but at least winter won’t feel so brutally long this time.

      I’ve enjoyed this challenge and loved visiting Ludlow via your photos too 🙂

      I’m not sure which months I enjoyed the most. I think the winter months were certainly the most dramatic and a bit of an eye-opener for me since this was an area I wasn’t familiar with.

      As the year progressed, there were things I expected to see and didn’t. That was a surprise too … and a disappointment 😉

      Liked by 1 person

      • Heyjude says:

        I have liked that about the challenge, it made me focus on things I may have not seen before. I hadn’t realised how late it is before the trees get leaves and how quickly it happens.

        Like

  24. Absolutely gorgeous photos. Merry Christmas, and the happiest of holidays to you, however you celebrate them, Joanne.

    Like

  25. Lovely photos! I think I like the last one of the tree the best. Someone thought it would be a good idea to decorate a tree in the middle of nowhere… a solitary act of joy.

    Happy Holidays to you!

    Like

    • joannesisco says:

      I’m no longer surprised when I see a random tree decorated on a trail.
      When I first started hiking a few years ago, it was like finding a hidden treasure.
      Now that I’ve seen decorations on different trails in different parts of Southern Ontario, it just makes me smile … and of course I have to take a photo 😉

      I really like this tree because it looks like a Charlie Brown reject 🙂

      Like

Leave a Reply

