Glitter and Sparkle – The Things I Like

Temperatures have finally dipped below freezing here and we’ve had flurries of snow since early morning.  I’ve been off to a slow start, but admittedly, it is starting to feel a lot like Christmas.

For the past week, I’ve been out running errands after dark … not hard to do when dusk sets in around 4pm … and taking mind-clearing walks around the neighbourhood.  My attention can’t help but be attracted to the Christmas displays.

The dull, dark days of December are made palatable for me by the magic of the lights, and the colours of Christmas.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

I love the sparkle and the glitter of … well, everything.

While other people may grind their teeth at all the glitter dust that seems to find its way onto the floor, furniture, our faces … I know that finding random bits of glitter at the end of January will make me smile.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

For now I will enjoy all this extravagant decoration for I know that after New Year’s Day we will simply have to wait out the rest of the cold season in the dark.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Deep inside, I’m still a 5-year-old who believes in the magic of Christmas with all it’s glitter and sparkle and promise of good things to come.  This is something I like.

Lights6

Our family home from a long time ago … now gone, except for the memories.

 

About Joanne Sisco

Retired but not idle. Life is an adventure - I plan to continue to embrace it.
This entry was posted in Random Stuff, Things I Like and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

65 Responses to Glitter and Sparkle – The Things I Like

  1. Such jolly decorations, Joanne. I saw so many Christmas lights here on our drive back from Miami airport. They were quite distracting to drivers on the highway, but very pretty indeed.

    Like

    • joannesisco says:

      Most people will be turning their lights off now after New Year’s Day. Then it will be the tough slough through the dark nights of winter. I’ll enjoy these last few days while I can 🙂

      Like

  2. LB says:

    Everything is so beautiful!!! I love all of your photos and all that glitter, too!
    I do hope you’ve enjoyed every little bit of the holiday.
    Best wishes for much health and happiness in the coming year!

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Joanne, Terri and I also enjoy Christmas lights, and there can never be too many – the more the merrier. We loaded up all the Lexington family and did a drive around all the posh neighborhoods to enjoy the spectacle. Luckily, I didn’t have to drive, and a bit of liquid Christmas cheer made things even more festive. Terri and I truly appreciate that you still follow along and we hope that you have a fun, relaxing holiday and a wonderful 2016. ~James

    Liked by 1 person

  4. reocochran says:

    Your wooden wall which is diagonally lined up intrigued my eyes and I really like the special way you decorated the swag around the doorway. The front decorations are outstanding, Joanne. 🙂

    Like

    • joannesisco says:

      Thank you. This was our family home when I was growing up. I think this might have been my mom’s last Christmas in this house before she moved into a senior’s apartment. My sister and I made a special trip home to decorate for her.
      This house was torn down shortly after and a new one built there. There are so few photos of the old house, this one feels rather nostalgic 🙂

      Like

      • reocochran says:

        By the way, Joanne, every moon has a special Native American name. It is funny how I noticed Diana said she made hers up. I used to have monthly calendars where I would list historical dates, as well as celebrations. This Dec. 25th was called the Full Cold Moon. I would look up the month’s date for full moons and mention Full Worm Moon, Full Pink Moon, Full Corn Moon, etc. You can find this on some calendars but I would check the Native American list online. Oh, how I loved the Full Wolf Moon. 🙂 I hope this is interesting and not too much information for a response. Hugs, Robin

        Like

  5. Beautiful photos. The one with the blue swath of stars on the house and lawn is so different. I too love the decorations, glitter and sparkle. Everything looks so magical and special. Merry Christmas. ❄️❄️❄️

    Liked by 1 person

    • joannesisco says:

      That photo is my favourite one too. These laser lights are a new thing here and gaining popularity. I’ve seen a few, but this one is by far my favourite.

      One more sleep to Christmas Eve. Let the chaos begin 😉

      Liked by 1 person

      • reocochran says:

        Oh, that is a sweet expression, “One more sleep till Christmas Eve.” This will be one I use with my grandies. We have a few days until I get to “play Christmas” since I head to my Mom’s and the weekend will be my brother, my Mom and I watching movies, eating. Sometimes my brother and I play Boggle while my Mom naps or reads the paper.
        My grown son and wife have their family Christmas and my oldest daughter does hers as games, Legos and eating with her 11 and 6 year old boys. Warm weather may mean outdoor activities. 🙂 Hope yours is fantastic!

        Like

  6. Sammy D. says:

    Merry Christmas, Joanne. Looking forward to your 2016 adventures!

    Like

  7. chattykerry says:

    I, too, love candy canes and glitter. I particularly like your bar…can we come visit when it warms up? 🙂

    Like

  8. We headed home last night from Toronto airport. We live 3 1/2 hours north west of Toronto and the Christmas lights were such a joy. I always hope people who decorate on the outside of their homes know they are doing it for not only themselves but thousands of holiday travellers.

    Like

    • joannesisco says:

      That’s so very true, isn’t it. We’ve done a lot of travelling around Christmas time visiting family and seeing all the lights during the trip were always greatly admired and appreciated!
      Merry Christmas to you and yours 🙂

      Like

  9. jannatwrites says:

    I’m with you- sparkly stuff and Christmas lights always get me. Although it was really difficult to make myself do any decorating this year (I did do a little, at the urging if my younger son) I haven’t lost my ability to appreciate the beauty 🙂

    Like

  10. NancyTex says:

    I was all set to bah humbug on Friday. I’d just flown in from Atlanta the night before (and had only been home 3 days prior to that trip) because I’d been in LV since Nov 14th. I had decided there was no way I was putting up a tree with less than a week until Xmas. Ed turned on the carols and heftier the boxes up from the basement. I was going to put up a fight but just took a deep breath and git started. We’ll, I’ll tell you that it was like a Christmas miracle. The following day I did our annual Saturday before Xmas trip to St. Lawrence Market with the in-laws, then made a major dent into my Xmas shopping list AND got some baking started. Christmas is magical! 🙂

    Like

  11. Lynn says:

    I love the glow of lights at Christmas, everything glittering so pretty. I must admit though, I have become like Gilles, when Christmas is over, I like to get it all put away & back to regular decor!

    Like

  12. I am with you. Christmas has to have some glitter and I need to see lights and decoration that brings sparkles in our eyes.

    Like

  13. I really love to see the light displays too when the days are so short…those awful blow up santas etc should be outlawed though…My granddaughters refer to them as vampire Santas since they deflate in the cold and rise again after dark when the homeowners return and blow them up again!
    Here’s an egg nog toast to your 5 year old heart:-)

    Like

  14. Mick has sort of already given the Australian alternative view but here’s mine: I can’t help but feel jealous of that sign of light and warmth in the cold dark winter. It’s just not the same when it’s 44 degrees Celsius outside.
    Bt there are still trees and gifts and food (even of it’s salad and seafood instead of Turkey and pudding) and, most importantly, friends and family. We’re not so different really. 🙂

    Like

    • joannesisco says:

      nope, we aren’t different at all. It really is all about the family and friends.

      On those periodic occasions years ago, when the boys were very young and we didn’t travel home to family at Christmas, it was pretty quiet and lonely. That’s how our Christmas Eve tradition of going to a movie started.

      As much as I stress over the details of wanting everything to be “perfect”, the truth is I love the chaos of Christmas morning now with a houseful of family and friends who have become part of our family over the years. The biggest compliment is that they want to be with us to celebrate 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

  15. hilarymb says:

    Hi Joanne – I love the glitter and bright lights done well – the naff ones I can leave out of my memory bank! It is fun – one can see half the population deep in the enjoyment and culture of Christmas, the other half frantic trying to get to that point – or just simply avoiding it.

    A family time with lots going on, good food, fun times, long walks, healthy discussions … amazed faces – quite lovely to see … cheers Hilary

    Like

    • joannesisco says:

      You make a good point about “the oth

      Like

      • joannesisco says:

        sorry Hilary — keyboard dysfunction this morning :/

        … you make a good point about the other half frantically trying or avoiding it all together. I have a few friends who are in that space this year for a couple of reasons. In fact, we are attending a funeral this afternoon. It’s not always a happy time.

        I do hope your’s is though. Very best wishes!!

        Like

  16. Joe says:

    I think deep down inside we all have a little 5 year old inside of us when it comes to Christmas Joanne 😀 The commercialization of Christmas does bother me though.

    Like

  17. Sue Slaght says:

    It looks so pretty Joanne. We have very few decorations up this year as we are going away. I can’t help but smile at the lights and decorations of the neighbours. Are the blow up snowmen and santas the rage as they are here.

    Like

  18. Mrs. P says:

    Although we have forgone most of the holiday traditions, I do enjoy the lights.

    Like

  19. I love it, I love it, I love it all too! Merry Christmas, Joanne, and here’s to our glitter love!
    Cheers!

    Liked by 1 person

  20. Heyjude says:

    I’m with you on the lights, anything to add brightness to these short dark days…

    Like

  21. Although we don’t contribute to the festive outdoor lights in our area (just a small lighted display on our porch), I’m happy that others have the energy and desire that we don’t. I don’t want my husband climbing on the roof and he is happy to comply. We are off to an annual open house given by a couple who truly are over the top with their decorations. Just the thought of their decorating schedule (they start in early November) exhausts me. But, I’m glad they do it because it’s always fun to see.

    Liked by 1 person

  22. mickscogs says:

    Spot-bloody-on. This is when Christmas should be celebrated, when it’s cold and the nights are long and the lights cheer up the long dark night and reflect off the snow and you can eat really hearty food and enjoy it so much. Christmas lights here just don’t get a long enough run.
    I enjoy our ‘seafood transformation’, however, and my mum’s pudding is to die for; and the kids love looking for the old pre 1966 currency.

    Liked by 1 person

    • joannesisco says:

      Lately I’ve heard a few Christmas carols Aussie-style, and reading about the heat wave you are suffering now, I’m getting a real appreciation for how different this holiday is in the Southern Hemisphere. It’s been a significant education for me!

      Like

      • mickscogs says:

        Yes, I think Ruth has put some little ditties up. The basis of family getting together is still there, as we tend not to do it so much during the year. My sister is holding it this year. She has a pool, so the kids will love that. Of course, if it’s too hot, these plans may have to change as she also lives in rural area. The host family always dreads their turn, as it has now turned into a monster. This will continue for as long as our 92 yo Mum is still with us. So its us next year and we are looking forward to it.
        Some people run a Christmas in July thingo (I would’ve thought it should be Christmas in June) I don’t go for this as one Christmas a year is adequate.

        It’s 7:47 AM. It’s already mid 30’s and windy. The change is arriving midday. Yay!

        Hey, your new PM’s a bit of winner, isn’t he? Sorry for the subject change.

        Like

  23. bikerchick57 says:

    I like to keep the Christmas tree up and lit through January and I always thought the outdoor lights should be the same for everyone. It helps alleviate the January doldrums.

    Liked by 1 person

  24. As much as I like to bah humbug about it, Christmas is pretty irresistible.

    Like

Leave a Reply

