Thursday Doors: Oslo

This post is in response to the Thursday Doors Photo Challenge hosted by Norm 2.0.

Last summer I had the opportunity to spend a couple of days in Oslo.  The weather was beautiful and this gracious city showed her charming side, including a number of doors that caught my attention.

These are a few of my favourites.

Oslo - doors

Frogner Park

Oslo2 - doors

Akershus Fortress

Akershus Fortress is a medieval castle in downtown Oslo dating back to the 1300s.

Oslo3 - doors

A door, leading to a tunnel, leading to a door.

In spite of still being an active military area for the Norwegian Ministry of Defense, the Fortress is open to the public for tours … or simply walking around its beautiful grounds.

Oslo - military

I just loved this little blue guard station with what I assumed was a military crest over the doorway.

Oslo - military2

For more great photos of interesting doors, or to participate in the Thursday Doors photo challenge, please visit Norm 2.0.

About Joanne Sisco

Retired but not idle. Life is an adventure - I plan to continue to embrace it.
This entry was posted in Photo Challenges, Travel and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

69 Responses to Thursday Doors: Oslo

  1. Pingback: O = Oslo, Norway | My Life Lived Full

  2. Rebekah M says:

    Awesome stuff! As you may or may not have noticed [in Mara’s blog], I’m originally Swedish. Sadly, I’ve never visited our neighbouring Norway. One day I will …

    Like

    • joannesisco says:

      I remember you mentioning you lived in Sweden but I didn’t realize you were originally Swedish.
      I loved all the Scandanavian countries (unfortunately we never made it to Finland though)
      I would like to go back someday.

      Like

      • Rebekah M says:

        How come you went there? [I’ve only read a few random posts in your blog …]

        Like

        • joannesisco says:

          When I graduated high school, I went to university in Southern Ontario in Windsor.
          I was recruited out of university by a Toronto based firm and I’ve been here ever since.

          What triggered your emigration from Sweden? How did you end up in Atlantic Canada?

          Like

          • Rebekah M says:

            My [now] husband, was born here in Saint John, NB. He worked all his life, almost, at Uni. Laval in QC, so he lived there when we first met. I don’t speak a word of French, which was a bit of a challenge, to put it mildly, in QC. We moved here seven years ago. I fell in love with Saint John on our first visit, and that love will never go away. It’s a gem!

            Like

  3. reocochran says:

    I like when artistry appears in different forms. The nude men remind me of museum art, representing the Greeks and Romans. The fortress gates, with the prison look, are ancient (1300’s) which really remind me of beauty in strength.

    Like

    • joannesisco says:

      I’ve lived so much of my life in the pragmatic business world. Artistic expression just wasn’t a part of my everyday world.
      Now that I’m retired, I’m discovering a taste for all things creative … and I’m finding beauty everywhere!!

      Like

  4. ChristineR says:

    I love medieval-looking gates and doors, too, and that tunnel shot is awesome!

    Like

  5. Mrs. P says:

    Fabulous doors, especially the first one!

    Like

  6. Great doors! While I admire the Frogner Park gates – I’m a fortress kinda gal myself and would love to step through the Akershus ones.

    Like

  7. RuthsArc says:

    A delightful selection. Love the first one 🙂

    Like

  8. The fortress gates make me want to leap into the picture. As a fantasy writer, I love the old riveted gates and tunnels and stone walls. I want them on my house! The Frogner Park gates are wonderfully unique. I don’t know if those would fly in the US – too prudish on the whole. Thanks for the great pictures 🙂

    Like

  9. Pancho says:

    That first set of gates is incredible!

    Like

  10. hilarymb says:

    Hi Joanne – fascinating to find out about Frogner Park – amazing sculptures around. I must get to Norway sometime … looks just wonderful … like you say above I know very little about Scandinavian history .. but it is very intertwined with ours. Cheers Hilary

    Like

    • joannesisco says:

      Frogner Park really was quite amazing and we spent a lot of time walking through the park looking at all the sculptures.
      Hope you get to Norway sometime. I think it’s worth the visit 🙂

      Like

  11. NancyTex says:

    Love those iron gates!

    Like

  12. Sue Slaght says:

    Love that first set of doors Joanne. Amazing art in a functional piece. On another note I read on another blog that Oslo is extraordinarily expensive. Was that your experience?

    Like

  13. Those Frogner Park ones are beautiful specimens. Of doors. I was talking about the doors.

    Like

  14. Love those gates! Thanks for sharing them.

    janet

    Like

  15. Norm 2.0 says:

    Gates…doors…it’s all good 😉 and I’m very happy you could join us!
    A wonderful collection Joanne, that fortress must be something to visit. This is a part of the world I hope to visit myself one day.

    Like

  16. Dan Antion says:

    I love the iron gates, so much work and such artistry. The other doors are beautiful to and these are all great photos.

    Like

  17. Su Leslie says:

    These are great shots Joanne. I also like the way you’ve framed the red door, and I do love the first set of gates! Nothing like some naked, muscled men guarding the park.

    Like

  18. Joe says:

    Beautiful images Joanne 😀 They are crystal clear and the colors really pop.

    Like

  19. Heyjude says:

    Doors? Gates? Now I am wondering what is the difference…

    Like

  20. I live how you framed the red door in the background with the gate in the foreground in the second picture!

    Like

    • joannesisco says:

      Thank you for noticing that!! 🙂
      I’m rather proud when I try to take a particular photo and get the angle right 😉

      Old castles are wonderful for doorways leading to doorways.

      Like

  21. Paula says:

    Love the garden doors!

    Like

  22. Leave it to you to even have a photo collection of doors….and such UNIQUE doors too! Love the 2nd and 3rd doors!

    Like

    • joannesisco says:

      🙂 Of course I have a photo collection of doors 😉
      I’ve been following Norm 2.0’s weekly photo challenge for a while. If I wasn’t attracted to doors before, I sure started noticing them after I found Norm.

      … and how could you NOT fall in love with a castle and all its wonderful arches and interesting doorways? …. especially if they haven’t been replaced by utilitarian doors.
      I agree with you about the 2nd and 3rd photos. They look like they are right out of a storybook!

      Liked by 1 person

  23. bikerchick57 says:

    I love the park and fortress doors. They are unique and cool. The brother and girlfriend vacationed in Norway back in September and couldn’t say enough about the beauty of the country.

    Like

  24. The first one it beautiful, and the third looks like a dungeon where you would hold a princess in a fairy tale. Thanks for sharing them Joanne!

    Liked by 1 person

  25. Corina says:

    Certainly eye catching! I’m so glad you shared these. I know next to nothing about Oslo. What a surprise to see these beautiful doors…and blue skies!

    Like

    • joannesisco says:

      The weather was one of the best surprises of this vacation last summer. We were expecting cool and damp. Instead we got sunny and warm. In fact Oslo was outright hot while we were there.
      Like you, I knew virtually nothing of Scandanavian history. It was great adventure 🙂

      Like

  26. These doors look familiar somehow… 😀

    Like

Leave a Reply

