A Thousand New Memories

A few months ago, Alex Hurst at Memoirs of a Time Here-After, posted about the holiday season in Japan where she has been living and working.  Her post included an opportunity to receive a New Year’s postcard and of course, I was game.

We exchanged addresses, I sent her a Christmas card, and then I waited with anticipation … until yesterday.  A colourful postcard for the New Year arrived as promised!

Japanese card

… but it was the hand-written sentiment that really caught my attention.  “Make a thousand new memories to share!”

I’ve been given – and have made – some audacious goals in the past, but this one made me blink.

A thousand new memories?

What a wonderful and thoughtful sentiment to give someone like me who is always curious, wanting to chase what’s around the next corner, trying to drag along family and friends with me.

memories - Dr Suess

So I share with you Alex’s wish for 2016 … many your new year also be filled with a thousand new beautiful memories.

I shall be busy making them.

About Joanne Sisco

Retired but not idle. Life is an adventure - I plan to continue to embrace it.
This entry was posted in 52 New Things, Memories, Random Stuff, Things I Like and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

63 Responses to A Thousand New Memories

  1. treerabold says:

    That is a beautiful thought…thank you!

    Like

  2. Alex Hurst says:

    I’m so glad the card arrived safely! I received your Christmas card as well, and it was such a nice thing to have during the holiday, when I was basically on my own in Kyoto. I’m also happy the message is inspiring you! I know you’ll make the most of every day, Joanne. Thanks so much again! ❤

    Like

  3. Last year 52 new things which you exceeded and this year 1,000 new memories…I know you can do it!

    Like

  4. A thousand new memories! What a beautiful and inspiring idea. Thank you so much for sharing 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  5. reocochran says:

    Wow! I may make a hundred new memories and this would be just perfect and amazing. My brother sends out his family’s New Year’s Greeting instead of at Christmas. It is really full of news and a positive letter. A photo montage with grandies is included, Joanne. I liked the Japanese art work. I would frame this and hang it to remember the 1000 goal. 🙂

    Like

    • joannesisco says:

      That’s a great idea – a visual reminder to keep me focused. I seem to be lacking a bit of that lately. Since Christmas, all I’ve wanted to do is cocoon with my colouring book :/

      Like

      • Alex Hurst says:

        Oooo, coloring book! I keep wanting to get one, but I’m worried I would just disappear into it. 😉

        Like

      • reocochran says:

        Go ahead and cocoon, Joanne. Someone recently wrote as a comment about taking time to “regroup” and “rejuvenate” giving meaning to the seasons in our lives, Joanne. To me, it gives me a Hall Pass to take it easy and enjoy a book, reading more blogs or taking cleaning as a one drawer at a time period of life. I do work physical labor, 8 years since retiring from teaching. I need the blogging to keep my mind active but the winding down during winter appeals to me. Hugs, Robin

        Like

        • joannesisco says:

          I’m happy that I’ve had more energy this week and closer to my normal self.

          I guess we do need to occasionally stop and rejuvenate … whatever form that takes. It sure feels good when I do 🙂

          Like

  6. Love both of the thoughts you shared, both are pretty provocative.

    Like

  7. What a cool card. I love it.

    Liked by 1 person

  8. Sue Slaght says:

    What a wonderful goal to work toward! Here’s to many marvellous memories waiting to be made.

    Liked by 1 person

  9. bikerchick57 says:

    Thanks for sharing, Joanne. I’ll do my best to work on a thousand memories, my only wish being that I’ll remember all of those memories! 😉

    Liked by 1 person

  10. My head immediately breaks that down into 3 a day, Joanne. How will I remember 3 things a day? My brain filled up about 8 years ago, and I’m going to have to forget some things to make room! LOL. Wonderful goal. Even the spirit of the goal is inspiring 🙂

    Like

  11. Su Leslie says:

    What can I add to this discussion. It is a beautiful card; an excellent sentiment (one I think I should embrace too), and I’m looking forward to you sharing those new memories. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  12. Mrs. P says:

    Beautifully said and written! 🙂

    Like

  13. Heyjude says:

    Simply perfect! You have probably already made a few…

    Like

  14. Mama Cormier says:

    I love this sentiment but I don’t think that all or most memories are planned. I like the Dr. Seuss quote and it’s those ‘moments’ that occur throughout your day that become memories. For example, the moment my youngest daughter announced she was pregnant and more recently the unexpected announcement my oldest daughter made of her upcoming wedding and the spontaneous suggestion my son and his best friend made to share a cup of tea and a delicious tart with me at the AGO, were all unplanned moments on my part but will forever be memories that I will cherish. My point is that I think making 1000 new memories in a year is absolutely doable.

    Like

    • joannesisco says:

      I agree with you completely. I don’t think we necessarily choose the events that become what I call “freeze frame” moments … those memories that are forever etched in our minds.

      Like

  15. What a lovely card and sentiment! 1000 memories, that’s only 19.23 each week… or, 2.74 a day. Sounds pretty doable! I like the idea of New Years cards much more than Christmas cards. They come to the recipient when things are much less stressful and chaotic.

    Like

  16. A thousand?? [starts calculating daily rate in head] As someone who has just realised that she has nothing planned for this year (in vast contrast to last year), this number scares me.

    But it’s a lovely sentiment. It is. Truly. Just not helpful to those of us who are challenge addicts.

    Like

    • joannesisco says:

      That’s a go-big or go-home kind of challenge 🙂
      … and likely to take a lot longer than a year. After all, I’m looking for quality too 😉

      … and in terms of not having any plans for the year, sometimes that is the best plan. It means that the slate is clear for an opportunity that comes along 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

  17. That is just beautiful Joanne.

    Like

  18. 1000…..yep, that’s exactly what you need in front of you…..a number that not only captures the imagination, but is a challenge befitting a go-getter like you. Bring on the spreadsheets!

    Like

  19. Lynn says:

    Love this sentiment Joanne. Let’s hope 2016 is a wonderful year to make a whole bunch of new ones!

    Like

  20. hilarymb says:

    Hi Joanne – what a lovely thought … I will definitely take the idea forward. Great idea to swap postcards .. and I too wish “everyone will make a thousand new memories in the year ahead and then onwards … ” Cheers Hilary

    Liked by 2 people

    • joannesisco says:

      I thought the card swap was a wonderful idea. It certainly brought a smile to my face yesterday when it arrived.

      I like that expression “ahead and onwards” … it sounds adventurous and that’s what I think life should feel like 🙂

      Like

  21. Love this thought, Joanne. Memories are so important, especially as we get older. What a beautiful card. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    • joannesisco says:

      Doesn’t the idea of New Year’s card have a very different feel to it? I really like it 🙂

      … and it’s true about memories. They become increasingly more precious. I started to appreciate that as I watched my mother’s world become smaller and smaller. It seemed her memories became more and more powerful.

      Like

  22. I cannot think of a more auspicious wish for anyone. What a wonderful friend you have. ❤ ❤
    Here's to your thousand new memories. ❤ ❤

    Liked by 1 person

  23. Yes, very fitting! Well, last year you made at least 52!! Ha, ha! Very cute card.

    Liked by 2 people

  24. Helen C says:

    And I will wait with anticipation to read all of yours 😉
    I like it, can you tell? 😉

    Liked by 2 people

  25. “Make a thousand new memories,” I can’t tell you how much I like this. Now I am smiling.

    Liked by 3 people

Leave a Reply

