Thursday Doors – Bling, Legs, and Weed

Thursday Doors is a weekly feature hosted by Norm Frampton at Norm 2.0.  It’s an opportunity to share photos of our favourite doors.

In keeping with my tendency to bend rules, I have 3 offerings to this week’s Thursday Doors that admittedly, are not about the door at all … but what’s around it.

I hope you enjoy this peek around downtown Toronto.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

2016 – Kinky Boots on stage at the Royal Alexandra Theatre

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

2015 – A splash of coordinated colour and a blinged up motorcycle on a frigidly cold day

cannabis

2015 – Kensington Market.  We’re open.

Whenever I look at that last photo, I can’t help but start humming from that Steve Miller Band tune … “I’m a joker, I’m a smoker, I’m a midnight toker”.

Check out Norm’s blog and this week’s serving of doors … perhaps you might be inspired to post a door of your own!

 

About Joanne Sisco

Retired but not idle. Life is an adventure - I plan to continue to embrace it.
This entry was posted in Around Toronto, Photo Challenges, photography, Things I Like and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

63 Responses to Thursday Doors – Bling, Legs, and Weed

  1. These are absolutely great doors. They shout out at you – hey, check me out. Great submissions. 🙂

    Like

  2. Great photos although my favourite is definitely that bling bike!

    Like

  3. reocochran says:

    Nicely presented, Joanne! I liked the movie, “Kinky Boots” based on a true story of a British shoe company choosing a new direction. The film features Chiwetel Ejiofor from “12 Years a Slave.” The other doors, pot smoke shop and the hippie green floral place were totally original! 🙂

    Like

  4. treerabold says:

    My era of music! Love that song 🙂
    I’m glad you are a rule “bender” it helps me feel less lonely in my world of “create your own rules”

    Like

  5. What a great selection of doors, brilliant.

    Like

  6. With your comment on the Steve Miller band I had to go get the music and take that walk down memory lane https://youtu.be/Eb1TIGvvWWE . I really loved the last door photo.

    Like

    • joannesisco says:

      Listening to Steve Miller brought back a lot memories … all good ones 🙂

      That last door is my favourite. I hope to get back downtown and re-explore this area. I suspect there are a lot of treasures down there 😉

      Like

  7. Kerry S. says:

    Great finds! 🙂 Xx

    Liked by 1 person

  8. Sue Slaght says:

    These are great Joanne. I love the boots but that Cannawide door just cracks me up. I think I will let H have the snowy bike. 🙂

    Like

  9. RuthsArc says:

    Such fun. Love the legs and the blinded bike in the snow.

    Like

  10. Mrs. P says:

    My, how times have changed! I was just hearing about a major ruling in 1967 that said forbidding interracial marriage was unconstitutional…and look at us now. 😀 I sure hope those guys who were jailed for marijuana have been released by now.

    Like

  11. Love the doors, every one of them. The legs: does she have to pee? Sorry. My first ‘concern’ maybe because of my time of life. 😀
    The song words remind me of the days when… 😀 😀
    You have me giggling while reading this post. Two thumbs UP.

    Like

  12. I love it that you bend the rules. A woman after my own heart. (Bizarrely, the quote on my Doctor Who calendar today? “I’d hate to live my life by some boring rulebook like you do.” – The Seventh Doctor. 😀 )

    I think you could guess my favourite. I’ll never tire of snow pictures. (Because I don’t have to live with it. I know. Yada yada yada.)

    Like

  13. jan says:

    A great bending of the rules, i’d say. Brilliant!

    Liked by 1 person

  14. bikerchick57 says:

    I love the rule bending! Actually, I consider this a very creative response to the challenge. The red kinky boots are fabulous!

    Like

    • joannesisco says:

      Glad you like my doors … or rather what is around them 😉
      A pair of kickass boots will always get my attention!
      Now, if only I could get that damn earworm out of my head …

      Like

  15. Heyjude says:

    Oh, Jo what HAVE you done? This post should come with an ‘earworm’ warning! I do like it when you bend the rules… 🙂

    Like

    • joannesisco says:

      I know!! That damn earworm has been following me all day! … and try singing it to yourself without a bit of a shoulder dance at the same time!
      I don’t want to know what people in the grocery store thought of me this afternoon.

      Liked by 1 person

  16. Dan Antion says:

    I like all three photos and the first one actually is a good looking door.

    Liked by 1 person

  17. I love the last shot! Is that a sculpture of the god of weed?

    Like

    • joannesisco says:

      Oh. Is there such a thing?

      I hadn’t considered that. Actually I hadn’t considered anything. I just thought it looked very unusual for what was an otherwise normal-ish street 🙂

      Like

  18. I’m still gobsmacked by that first pair of boots! 🙂 As for bending the rules, check out how many entries Norm has!!

    janet

    Like

    • joannesisco says:

      Thanks Janet – I really love those boots too! There is no question as to what is currently playing at the theatre 😉

      … and my comment about bending the rules wasn’t about the number of doors I was offering, but more about the fact that it wasn’t the door at all that captured my attention 🙂
      I’m glad Norm has no rules at all!!

      Like

  19. OK – I have Steve Miller as an ear worm now 🙂 Great choices! I think I like the ‘kinky boots’ the best!

    Like

  20. These are great! Really can’t decide which is my favorite. I love the colors but the Cannawide takes it for…well…reasons.

    Like

  21. The blinged up motorcycle would make my husband cry. I love the shoes 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  22. Geert Smits says:

    The third looks familiar … in Amsterdam we a see a lot of them 🙂 Nice shots!

    Like

  23. Norm 2.0 says:

    “Bend the rules”? What rules!!!???
    Nice ones, but the first is my fave. I wanna see that show (and that theatre!) next time I’m there.

    Like

    • joannesisco says:

      I like that attitude! No rules 🙂

      Kinky Boots was a lot of fun … it starts off a bit slowly but then it finds its groove. I recommend it 🙂
      … and I like the Royal Alex too.

      Like

  24. Love your reference to the Steve Miller band – perfect! And that green door – awesome 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  25. Jeff Bell says:

    I like your choice to bend the rules – these are more interesting than regular doors. I like them all, but the bottom one is funny.

    Like

  26. What great finds, Joanne. I do believe I like it even better when you bend the rules a bit!

    Like

Leave a Reply

